Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Stonington Waterfront

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Just ten feet from the water, this house has the best views on the cove

Perched over the water with three decks on two levels, this house has the best views on the cove. The upstairs deck is massive and easily allows for hosting friends. The home has been remodeled from top to bottom and decorated in mid-century style. Have a cocktail on the massive upper deck deck after a day at the beach, then enjoy the ocean breeze as you dine in the screened thee season room. The clean and modern kitchen design contains all new appliances.

The upstairs master suite suite has a queen platform bed with a firm memory foam mattress, private 3/4 bath and spacious closet. Downstairs sleeping arrangements include a queen murphy bed and full twin sofa. The first floor also has a full bath. The laundry features new front load machines that make washing your beach towels a breeze.

The huge yard is fenced with spreading shade trees, while the driveway easily parks four cars. Get out on the water with kayaks at your disposal, or contact me about docking your own boat. The house is a short boat ride from Sandy Point and Napatree Beach. Fishing in the area is renowned, with anglers catching striped bass, fluke, bluefish and blackfish. You can easily catch blue crabs from the water in front of the house when they are running from July to September.

Stonington, Mystic, Westerly and Watch Hill offer amazing restaurants offering everything from local seafood to barbecue. Other attractions include Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, as well as Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun casinos.

More Details

Owner
Paul Goetz
Member since: 2016
Speaks english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 15, 2018

About Paul Goetz

I grew up spending summers on Wequetequock Cove. My brothers and I spent hours sailing and canoeing, fishing and crabbing on the cove. After moving around the U.S and Europe for 20 years I wanted to give my kids the chance to connect with this very special place too, so I bought a cottage as a summer home. A few years on I added this very special house next door to our original place and remodeled it from the bottom up.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Stonington, Connecticut

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , shower
    First floor bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Master - 1 queen
  • The master bedroom has a queen size bed, it's own bath and spacious closet. The master suite offers a very large deck with beautiful views.
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Stonington Waterfront
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
New York City
5

Tranquil inlet -- access to boating, beaches and quaint New England seaside towns.

  • 5 of 5

Paul is an excellent host. This is the second waterfront propert we have rented from him. Every amenity is provided - bath, to beach to kitchen.

The house overlooks an inlet to the Sound and is filled with birds and fish that you can watch from the lawn, one of three decks or through the windows. It comfortably accommodated our family of 4. The master bedroom upstairs is spacious and open and includes a lovely bathroom and huge upper deck for lounging. Note: there is no door from the master bedroom to the downstairs main living area. Downstairs contains a clever open floor plan with kitchen, living and convertible sleeping areas -- a double or queen Murphy bed and a couch to comfy twin bed. Dining room is screened in with a view of the water. If you are a boater, rent a boat from the neighboring marina and take a 10 minute ride to Napatree or Sandy Point -- same great beaches as Watch Hill without the crowds. The house comes with 2 kayaks. I cannot say enough about how perfect the inlet is for outings. A perfect way to see the wildlife -- birders will be in heaven -- and get out on the water. Doubles are available for folks with kids. Ours loved it!

Thanks Paul! We will be back and highly recommend your properties to others.

  • Submitted: 13-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

This is a ONE bedroom house and should be advertised as such. Plus the most uncomfortable furniture

  • 2 of 5

The upstairs master bedroom is the only private one. Murphy bed and rock hard sofa in living room makes up the rest. This isn't owner-occupied during the off season, thus the painful-to-use yard sale furniture. A trip to BOB's would at least solve that problem. Only master bedroom is air conditioned. Grill propane ran out after two days. And no cable TV ? Come on. Internet TV is another cheap-out example. Strange because the remodeling of the house is first class---fit, finishes, appliances.

Stonington restaurants are terrific. Charlestown beaches excellent. But I wouldn't stay in this house again, even if it were free.

  • Submitted: 1-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brian, Thank you for your feedback. In response I have added cable TV, in addition to the Amazon Prime we provided you. I do understand the Mid-Century furnishings are not for everyone, though some have made it the focus of positive reviews - see "Wonderful waterfront mid-century modern retreat" review. I regret you did not notice the house was advertised as a 1 bedroom and has a maximum capacity of 4. Had I known you were bringing a large group I would have recommended another place. All the best, Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
,
5

Wonderful waterfront mid-century modern retreat

  • 5 of 5

Gloria's Place is centrally located in a quiet area. Easy to get to Mystic, the beach, etc. The cottage is adorable. Furnished very nicely. And the decks are a highlight. An added plus, was having access to kayaks and paddle boards at Paul's marina next door. The kids and adults had an awesome time with these. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay in Stonington and Paul's great hospitality.

  • Submitted: 29-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Woodbridge, VA
5

Absolutely as pictured! Crisp! Clean! Convenient!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our family of 5. There was plenty of space and the beds were comfortable. The location was convenient for Mystic and Stonington and we got to see all of the sights and come home to relax and unwind. We hope to stay again the the next time we visit family in the area. Paul was also great and helpful and the guide they put together of local businesses was key! I would give it 6 stars if I could!

  • Submitted: 5-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Andrea, It was terrific having your family stay with us. Please come back soon! Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our stay was amazing!!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Paul for everything! We had an amazing stay from Thursday to Sunday, the home was extremely clean, had absolutely everything we needed to cook and entertain and the yard and deck was spacious enough to play multiple sports (kickball & wiffleball) and jenga on the deck!! We also had a social with 24 people on Friday night during the pouring rain, and the open floor plan made it because everyone was able to mingle nicely! Thanks again for the fabulous stay! I would recommend this rental to all my family and friends!

  • Submitted: 22-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa, It was such a pleasure getting to know you and your family as you prepared for the wedding. I hope to have you back again and thank you for the fantastic basket.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Providence
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Dog Watch
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
New London
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Pequot Golf Club
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Mystic
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 95
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Noah's
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Sandy Point
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Stonington, Connecticut

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2018
Jun 23 2018 - Sep 1 2018
7 night minimum stay
C$2,994
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$428
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$164.5
Pet Fee C$65.8
Refundable Damage Deposit C$329

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable