Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Oasis in Waikiki with Pool - Steps to the Beach, Zoo, Rooftop Deck, Views!

Bedrooms Studio
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Studio with full kitchen and living area,, pool, close to beach, great views

This is a charming studio apartment with a full kitchen that has been decorated with lots of warm aloha hospitality and furnished to meet our guests' needs while on holiday. In addition to having all the dishware, cookware, and serving ware, as well as the linens and towels, we also provide WiFi Internet, Cable TV, beach gear, pool/beach towels, etc. (We have three other units in this building so keep that in mind if you're traveling with a group. The VRBO property listings are #508345, #569348, #665659. Ask about a possible discount when renting multiple units.)

We are just half a block from the beach, in one of Waikiki's best locations. The building has a pool and a furnished rooftop deck with breathtaking views of the pristine turquoise ocean and golden sands of Waikiki Beach, an unobstructed panorama of Diamond Head, and a bird’s eye over Kapiolani Park, the beautiful 300-acre sprawl of lush greenery that’s home to the Zoo, the Shell, the Aquarium and many more recreational activities and island festivities. On the rooftop deck, you can relax in serenity above the bustling city, watch the sunrise AND sunset, and dine under the stars listening to the soft sounds of nocturnal zoo animals or possibly a world-class musical performance from the Shell.

We offer you an excellent home away from home in Waikiki, in a perfect location, for an incredible value!

Other units we have in the building are,, and

HI TAT# W51177223-01

More Details

Patty Bourne & Brad Knight
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2018

About Patty Bourne & Brad Knight

I am a native from Southern California who started my love affair with Hawaii as a repeat vacationer going back to the 80's. Now I call the island of Oahu home and take great pleasure in welcoming people to this island paradise with my own warm aloha hospitality. This particular apartment is a new listing, but it is not my first. Please see my other listings to see my excellent ratings and reviews. I take pride in earning 5-stars and repeat clients. I hope to earn your confidence too. Those VRBO property IDs are 665659, 569348, 508345, and 450805. I had one other listing I wish I could share to showcase the 5-star reviews I had earned, but that property was sold.

Patty Bourne & Brad Knight purchased this studio in 2015

Why Patty Bourne & Brad Knight chose Waikiki

The Waikiki Grand is a truly unique and wonderful property. It has THE BEST location in Waikiki, on the edge of the park and the Gold Coast. It has THE BEST views from the rooftop deck! It is just 1/2 a block to the beach! And it is close to everything and yet the location still allows one to find peacefulness and relaxation amid the hustle and bustle of the city. The people are all super friendly and regulars return to find the people here are one big ohana (family). I hope you are as charmed as I have been by this wonderful place!

What makes this studio unique

Please see previous comments.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation studio rental in Waikiki, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 5
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • The bathroom has a toilet, sink, and a combination tub/shower.
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Double Bed sleeps 2 - 1 double , there's also a sofa (not a sleeper sofa) 1 person could use
  • Bedroom area has a double bed and a wardrobe
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • long term renters welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
33% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Oasis in Waikiki with Pool - Steps to the Beach, Zoo, Rooftop Deck, Views!
average rating of 4.388889 based on 36 reviews

Parking is misrepresented. Overall great condo and location.

  • 4 of 5

My main complaint is that parking is included in the amenities, which is misleading. I was under the impression that I would have a parking spot, but I ended up paying $300 for street parking. However, the location is wonderful and pictures online are accurate. Super clean, easy to check in and out, and the beach towels and chairs are a great touch. Overall thumbs up.

  • Submitted: 15-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh no, I specify in the listing that I do not own a parking stall, but there is parking for rent in the building. I even offer all guests the contact information for reserving a parking stall before they arrive, since there are a limited number. And I offer instruction on where to park that's not in the building. There's ample parking in the lot across the street which is $1/hour and unlimited time. There's an app for mobile payments so you don't even have to return to your car to add money. And there's free overnight parking at the meters alongside the park and $0.50 cents an hour with time restrictions during the day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The location is terrific

  • 3 of 5

The location is terrific, but the unit itself has a shortage of drawers and space, as well as usable outlets; we had to purchase an extension cord as well as a stack tray. The living room only has a large upright armoir; the bathroom has stacking boxes on the sides; overall not very well put together. The kitchen and its facilities were great. Overall, certainly OK for a 2 week stay. We've stayed at other VRBO locations in Honolulu before, and this was somewhat disappointing.

  • Submitted: 20-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The location really is great, thank you! The unit is as pictured. It's a studio apartment and because there's limited space, there's limited space for storage. What the unit is furnished with is a tall wardrobe (also pictured) with a hanging rod, shelf and drawer. It's certainly not adequate for a complete wardrobe but this studio apartment is outfitted to accommodate travelers as best as we could do. My property manager does keep a stash of odds and ends that travelers might find need of during their stay. We always instruct our guests to contact us if they have any questions or find a need of something. If we are able to help we always will and it might have prevented you from buying something needlessly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was perfect for two people. The location was excellent.

  • 4 of 5

I would suggest a couple of small things to make the stay more enjoyable. Having coffee & filters available for at least the first morning would be appreciated. A small night stand with a small lamp would be useful.

  • Submitted: 11-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very dissapointed. This unit is in a Hotel privately owned Room No Support from Hotel Staff

  • 1 of 5

First the location was good. The person owns (VRBO) this room in a hotel "Grand Waikiki" because they own the room the hotel has nothing to do with the guests that rent it, so there is no support on location. The hotel is a little dated as in a window A/C which worked well, curtains were thin a barely closed to cover the windows with other hotels and balconies within our viewing area. The couch does not fold out so sleeping 3 as described must be a small child to fit on the couch. Limited closet space (an amour was the closet) no Bureau or drawers to put clothes in. I guess the worst of it was when we checked in my daughter took a shower and the tub would not drain we called the maintenance number in the "book" that was supplied for information and I asked if this was (the name in the book) and he said NO hung up. Next I called the :property Manager" and he sent someone over and they unclogged the drain which turned out to be temporary. To make a long story short It got only worse we would wake up in the morning and there would be 3 or 4 inches of water in the tub from someone else's tub, I am assume as we had not used the shower all night...Very unsanitary. Another maintenance man came and said he was going to send a plumber and asked me for the contact information for the unit, which I thought was strange?? Why wouldn't he know that? No plumber showed up EVER. Then I texted the owner of the unit and through a multiple texts the "Property Manager" called me back on the 4th day of our stay and said "why didn't you call me"? Then started blaming everyone including the hotel people and maintenance people. We at this point were not taking showers in the room (rinsing off at the beach showers, and made other arrangements to end our stay at this place a day early we tried to get out earlier but the Marathon was going on and rooms were scarce or VERY expensive. We left a day early and I asked for some sort of compensation like maybe the night I didn't stay due to the unhealthy conditions, to which the owner never replied. I considered calling the health department, and still may. Oh and the maintenance person that came the first day we were there said this happens after every guest leaves which tells me this is not an uncommon occurrence. So my suggestion is stay away from this unit and any unit in this hotel on VRBO and possibly the hotel in general.

  • Submitted: 11-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am truly sorry this was your experience. But I want to assure any travelers that this was not typical and making such a claim is a mischaracterization of my unit. All units in the building are privately owned. How one owner takes care of their unit does not speak to how another may take care of their unit. Unfortunately, this traveler told another unit's property manager of the plumbing issue and did not call me or my property manager until he'd already been given the runaround. Both my manager and I provide our contact information to every guest with arrival instructions and the information is visibly posted on the door inside the apartment and in the welcome book on the kitchen table. If he'd have called one of us the issue would have been resolved immediately as was the case as soon as we learned of the drain trouble. It can be confusing with an unaffiliated management company at the front desk, giving the appearance the building and every unit in it is part of a hotel when it is not the case, but my property manager has now set up a business office in the lobby which hopefully will help in eliminating such confusion in the future and keep us apprised of any possible issue in the building, so something like this would likely not occur again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX

Fantastic deal. Great location with respect to Beach.

  • 5 of 5

Room was clean, cozy and offered everything necessary to make the stay perfect. No car needed as supermarket was a nice walk and uber ride back. Everything else was within walking distance and special attractions offered transportation. The ONLY blemish was the Wednesday water shutoff for an hour or two to facilitate repairs. But even that was easily planned around. Beach in the morning and shower available once we got back.

Owners were very responsive as necessary but not really necessary as all was very well taken care of. I will definitely be back and would highly recommend to anyone. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: 7-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay! Can't get much closer to the beach.

  • 5 of 5

Cozy room, very nice and helpful people in the building.

  • Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Barpub
Hula's is in the building
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Ala Wai Golf Course & Driving Range
Nearest Restaurant
Teddy's Burgers in the building
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Waikiki Beach
Car: not necessary

World famous Waikiki Beach is a bustling neighborhood of Honolulu. I call it the Manhattan of the Pacific for its world class shopping, eclectic dining, exciting nightlife, and even places of historical interest like the Hawaiian Royal Palace or the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor; and yet it's also beautiful Hawaii, with a special kind of aloha spirit that warms the heart, and all the 'fun in the sun' activities like, surfing, swimming, snorkeling, sailing, wave-riding on outriggers, hiking mountain trails like Diamond Head, playing in waterfalls, hang gliding, parasailing, jet skiing, and so much more.

The golden sands and turquoise waters of Waikiki are literally just steps away from my building. There you will find beach boys to take you out on a surfboard or for a sail. After the sun sets, Waikiki's shoreline is like a jeweled necklace, glittering with lights, and on the sand is set up a giant screen for watching family-friendly movies certain nights of the week. Just across the street is the famous Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium, both of which are great attractions for children and adults alike, satisfying the inquisitive nature in all of us. Waikiki's Shell is also across the street, nestled within a tree-lined area of the park, and maybe more importantly somewhat within earshot of the building. You can sometimes hear the musical performances of the big acts visiting Waikiki, while relaxing comfortably under the stars on my building's rooftop deck. When visiting, you don't even need a car. Oahu has one of the country's best public transportation systems, with reliable and inexpensive bus service around the island. And you can easily hop on a bus right in front of the building.

Waikiki offers something for everyone, it's going to be more about whether you find the time to do it all...of course, we will welcome you back with warm aloha!


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation studio rental in Waikiki, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Winter Holiday
Dec 21 2018 - Jan 6 2019
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$114.85 + Tax
Pet Fee C$191.41 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit C$319.02
Tax Rate 14.95%

$250 due at booking and balance is due 60 days before check-in (90 days before holiday stays)
No Refunds guaranteed after the final payment is due, but will refund if reserved dates are re-booked
Damage Deposit of $250 is fully refundable after check-out if no loss or damage
Pets are considered with Refundable Pet Deposit of $150 (must notify owner, mandatory registration)
Rates are subject to change until reservation in confirmed

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties