Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Family & Dog Friendly, Pool Table, Canoe

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Lakefront, 4 Bedroom, Sleeps 6

Cedar Key Escape is a lakefront home nestled in a wildlife preserve, looking right at Smith Mountain and the lake. This Smith Mountain Lake vacation home offers four bedrooms and three baths. The home also features a private dock with capability for swimming and boating in this quiet, no-wake cove. It's perfect for children and adults! Relax at night by one of the propane fireplaces either upstairs or downstairs and enjoy one of the books offered from the library or play a game of pool.Pool table, foosball, game table and more. You'll enjoy spectacular views of Smith Mountain and the lake from every room in the home, including all bedrooms. Sleep at night in the plush king or queen-size beds. This home is perfect for up to 3 couples or for an extended family. There is enough space for everyone. Three TV's, including one in the master bedroom offer several Direct TV channels to choose from. Swim right outside at the dock in the no-wake zone.

Please note during the summer the owner does use the owners boat occasionally on the weekends. This involves crossing the back yard to the lake, but not entering the home.

No smoking allowed; limit 2 dogs allowed. There is no high speed- however - everyone uses their phone's hot spot now - so just turn yours on to receive any data you may possibly need on vacation.

More Details

Property Manager
Cedar Key Escape
Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2018


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Huddleston, Virginia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Full - toilet , shower
    Full - toilet , tub , shower
    Full - toilet , tub , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed , Full / Twin
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Family & Dog Friendly, Pool Table, Canoe
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews


  • 5 of 5

AMAZING!! Every aspect about this home and our vacation was absolutely amazing!! The home was peaceful and clean with comfortable beds, plenty of supplies, and loads of space. We were greeted with Wonderful Cinnamon Bread and Cupcakes due to our difficult travels from Florida. Leslie was so precious! She took such great care of our needs. We enjoyed fishing, canoeing, campfires, grilling out, and relaxing in the game room. Our oldest, who is applying for Med School at Liberty and our 15 yr old were very pleased with the pool table! WE will definitely be visiting this home often!!! Thank you for sharing your Blessed home with our family!!

  • Submitted: 8-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback. Happy to hear your stay was relaxing and peaceful. This home is located in a wildlife refuge and is very private, quiet area. Canoeing in a deep water cove , enjoying a game of pool, and you were close to Lynchburg for your son's appointment. Glad it all worked out for your family. Leslie is looking forward to your return...the home cooked meal was fantastic! Thanks to each of you and visit again! Thanks so much , nothing makes me happier than knowing another family has enjoyed this beautiful piece of God's creation. I hope you will visit us again when your son is in school, we may run into eachother through Liberty Medical School. I enjoy being a preceptor for Liberty Med Students!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs some tlc to get everything functioning properly

  • 3 of 5

Great place to disconnect at! End of a no wake cove so very little to no boat traffic. The house is dated, and so is much of what’s in it. Pool table was level, so it made for some great matches. Out of the three showers only the one in the upstairs hallway was usable for our stay. The other two just trickled out water. We adjusted and timed showers so it worked out for us. Had only one canoe on the property, pictured two in the post. Other than those two things it was family friendly, had beautiful views, and was very peaceful.

  • Submitted: 18-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We wish you would have reported the water issue, we certainly could have gotten a plumber out to assist if only we had known. The location is great and peaceful- natural too, wild life refuge. This is considered a budget home. Delighted you could compete in family pool tournaments. Come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family get away!!

  • 5 of 5

We would rent this place again!!

  • Submitted: 9-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying ! This is a great spot, and the owner is updating each year a bit more . Thank you for taking such great care of the place as well ... we would love to have you back ! Call us for any repeat specials in the future !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dump on the Lake

  • 2 of 5

This property has an awesome boat dock. The kids and I caught so many fish. However, the home was not kept up with basic maintenance. It was dated with old TVs and dirty carpet. The lacking internet ability was daunting and unacceptable in today's world. Home needs lots of care. Lawn was clean cut and impressive. Driveway is an issue with uncut branches that can damage cars. Not worth the money.

  • Submitted: 7-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Charleston, WV

Nice and quiet- but

  • 3 of 5

Place is very secluded and quiet- house is dated but clean. Unfortunately the new looking grill didn't work so our cookout plans were scrapped. Also the pans were very small,old and pretty much useless.

Overall we enjoyed our stay because nothing can ruin the lake but this home needs to upgrade the basics.

  • Submitted: 29-May-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying. This is a budget home, and we will pass on the comments to the owner. We can come over and assist with the grill, we do know it rained alot as well this past weekend, so perhaps there was not enough time between rain showers. Again thank you for your comments and we will let the owner know Thank you for taking such great care of the home.. this is a great spot.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Lovely home, beautiful setting.

  • 4 of 5

The company that you had to lease your linens from, delivered the wrong size bed linens. An expensive piece that put a damper on the stay. Although I paid for linens for the king size bed, we were provided sheets for the queen beds. Property itself was very nice and beautifully situated.

  • Submitted: 16-May-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry, the linen company we understand did not know your circumstance, also you have 3 choices from our area- this is the best one (that you chose). Let us know as well - we can have it delivered within 15-30 minutes. thank you for staying with us ! The linen company you chose apologizes also .. next time - call us direct- let us know, as well as the company- ..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Contact Manager

Other Vacation Properties