Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Peace & Quiet, Views, Wine Bar, Poolside Spa

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Space 600 sq ft
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Large Studio Apartment, sleeps 2 to 4

There is one large private rustic suite with a queen size TempurPedic bed, Grand Piano, and Hammond B3 Organ, a musician's paradise. Ideal location for Artists, Musicians and Lovers of Nature. Full kitchen/dining area and living room area. With 2 additional single beds or a king size bed, your choice. Accommodates a family of four, one couple or two couples. There is only one large suite on the second floor and it is not a 1 bedroom, but a very large spacious accomodation. Wood burning stove, new gas burning fireplace insert, and electric fireplace. Air conditioning, and overhead fans . We offer Television, WiFi, VCR, and DVD. On the property, views look out over 14 acres of organic mountain vineyards down into Alexander Valley to the south and Anderson Valley to the west. Private deck overlooking some of the organic vineyards with views. The Inn is very quiet and private and away from the main Ranch House. Stroll down the country road, lit by street lamps to the spa area, on a balmy summer night. From the Spa one gazes out towards the west with incredible sunsets views into the valley and seven mountain ranges. The Spa area is a block from the Inn and is private for your use only. You can walk or drive there. Truly a retreat property. Seven miles west of Cloverdale on Highway 128 west. Close to Geyserville, Dry Creek, Alexander Valley Wine Regions. It is 1 mile on a dirt road that is maintained. Best to stop and buy groceries on your way up. Once you get here you will not want to leave.

The Winery family consists of four generations of organic farming and winemaking, since 1983. Experience the Award-Winning, Gold Medal Wines. Visit the tasting room below the suite. Private Wine Tastings must be reserved ahead of time, includes a private wine and olive oil tasting with the owners at the Indoor tasting room. Travel Highway 128 to other wineries in this area, as well as visiting the Mendocino Coast or make reservations for Dinner in nearby Healdsburg, only 30 minutes away, or Cloverdales' finest restaurant Piacere's. Only 20 minutes to Coppola's Rustic restaurant in Geyserville. The suite is spacious with tropical decor, high ceilings, skylights, and fans. Living room, kitchen, and family dining area, full bath with skylight. Guests have their own Sauna with Sauna cooling room, Jacuzzi, Swimming Pool, and 1/2 bath changing room at the Spa area. Guests can hike up on the property experiencing spectacular views in all directions. Relax and enjoy this quiet setting. Make this a romantic and memorable getaway from it all. The property is a rural setting, don't expect the Hilton. Make yourself at home.. Nice trails and roads with no traffic on Mountain House Road for bicycling. We are dog friendly. If you have an older dog who may have trouble going upstairs, that could be problematic. Most dogs have no problems with stairs. This 164 acre ranch is wild and beautiful for nature lovers, northwest on Hwy. 128 out of Cloverdale 7 miles. Lovely countryside and an adventure for sure!

Keywords: Winery Suite

More Details

Holly Harman
Member since: 2005
Speaks english, spanish, swedish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 14, 2018

About Holly Harman

Holly Harman is a Graphic Designer and she designs wine labels for clients all over the world.

Holly Harman purchased this barn in 1993

Why Holly Harman chose Cloverdale

This location is central to many areas in Sonoma and Mendocino counties. Close to Cloverdale, Geyserville, Healdsburg, Windsor, Hopland, Boonville, Ukiah, Navarro and Philo. Experience the best of both worlds! In Alexander Valley and Anderson Valley. In the heart of both Wine Tasting Regions. Or take a day trip east to Napa or west to the Village of Mendocino along the coast or south to the Sonoma wineries. The wine regions are at your fingertips.

What makes this barn unique

The benefits of staying here is complete quiet, views in many directions, overlooking several mountain ranges. Get away from it all or get into town in 15 minutes. You have your own Wine Tasting Bar, experience award winning wines! Why go anywhere, when you can relax and enjoy this peaceful setting with a glass of wine on your private vineyard deck, BBQ and dine outside. A relaxing sauna and soak in the hot tub. Create your own adventure!


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation barn rental in Cloverdale, California

Property Type:
  • barn
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • cell phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Sink, plenty of towels, spa towels, and amenities
    Half - toilet , sink
  • 1.5 Bathrooms. There is one full bathroom in the suite and a half bathroom at the Spa Area, for your use only.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , 2 singles can make into a King. It is a large open suite.
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed is the main bed for guests. New top of the line TemperPedic mattress and box springs. very comfortable., Twin or Single Beds (2) 2 twin beds or optional as a King size bed in same studio apartment.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • alternative lifestyle
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming
The suite has a Grand Piano, Hammond B3 Organ, Ceiling Fans, air conditioning, 164 acres, hiking trails. Jacuzzi, Pool, and Sauna. New Deck in the back garden overlooking the vineyard. Outside dining. Street Lamps.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
15% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Peace & Quiet, Views, Wine Bar, Poolside Spa
average rating of 4.605263 based on 38 reviews

A Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for an enjoyable, unique place to stay, with terrific hosts, this is the place! The pictures are accurate - the views are amazing and the room is cozy and welcoming. The pool, spa and sauna are private and such a nice treat to have waiting for you whenever you want to use them. Don't expect the pool to be warm unless you visit during the warm weather when it can be heated by the sun's rays, but the spa and sauna are always just right. If you're looking for a fancy hotel, this isn't the place for you, but if want a place a little bit rustic (and a place for your dog to run around if you have one), this is the place. And, if possible, plan to taste some wine with Holly and Eric. They have lots of great stories to tell and are wonderful, wonderful hosts.

  • Submitted: 30-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We really enjoy guests like you coming to enjoy our little piece of paradise here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointing Experience

  • 1 of 5

Although the owner specifically said to alert them when we arrived they were not there and seemed puzzled/irritated when we did contact them. We found an insect in our bed and there were hundreds of ants in the kitchen. The grounds were overgrown and untended. The swimming pool was very small and extremely cold. Apparently from other reviews they have been saying that they are going to fix the front deck but that was not fixed and there was a heater that was not working. Yes, the views are spectacular, but that is about the only positive thing I can say. They could have a special place, but it needs maintenance and care.

  • Submitted: 19-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I almost did not even want to respond to this unfair, terrible review, but I feel compelled to correct a few things. Check in time is 3:30. I waited until 4:30 for you to arrive. I had a very important meeting I had to be to by 5:20. You called me on the phone after I had left the property and I told you to call me if you had any questions. Also, my husband was there at the property and I called him and told him you had arrived. So he was there to answer any questions you may have had or helped you with anything you may have needed. We like to give guests their privacy. You must have missed the star gazing, with no light pollution here it is a favorite. Guests bring telescopes to see the planets and love to star gaze. I left detailed instructions for you. In the description we explain that the Inn is rustic. The Inn is very clean and spotless. There is also a notice about keeping all of your food in the refrigerator as to not attract ants. I was there yesterday and today and I did not see one ant. We did have a very large limb on a large oak tree go down last week, across the road, and they are still clearing the area. So sorry for this, but it is being taken care of. The swimming pool is a small kidney shaped pool and is heated by the sun and with the temperatures over one hundred the cool pool is very refreshing and easy to get acclimated to. The water is a perfect temperature. The gas wall fireplace is waiting for new parts that were ordered as I stated. There are 3 other sources of heat in the house, 1. an electric heater, 2. an electric type pot belly heater with flame, and 3. a wood burning stove that was ready to light. In this heat wave, I really don't think you even need to use any of the 4 heaters, let alone complain about it. All four fans and the air conditioning unit are working fine. That is really what matters this time of year is staying cool. The plans for the deck are in to planning and building as well as another deck on the back side. This takes time with plans and revisions. The building department is 6 to 8 months out on inspections, I have no control over this. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. It is very rare for us to have guests so upset as you are. We take all constructive criticism to heart and we continue to better our best for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great property and experience

  • 5 of 5

We celebrated New Year 2017 here with a group of 5 people. The location is incredibly beautiful, the room is large and comfortable, everything was clean and worked. The hot tub, sauna, and pool made the experience even more special. Thank you, Holly!

  • Submitted: 17-Jan-2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you all had a wonderful stay. Thank you for the nice review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome getaway!

  • 5 of 5

One of the best vacations we ever had.

  • Submitted: 16-Jan-2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your awesome review! I was so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I wanted you to have your own space, so that you could enjoy the beauty of the ranch to the fullest. We strive to make improvements to the ranch and the grounds. Winters can be a challenge, although the whether was pretty nice the last few days, almost like Spring.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice cozy place

  • 4 of 5

We had a very nice stay here over Thanksgiving weekend. The suite was well equipped with everything we needed, and was very cozy and comfortable. It was kind of cool also to be staying above the barn where wine is made. The owners were not there at the time, but emailed us very good detailed directions, and left other instructions in the room (such as how to operate the fireplaces/heaters). Although we did not get to meet them, they seemed to be very thoughtful and warm hosts.

The views were amazing, unfortunately the weather was not great during our stay but we did get to see enough of the views each morning, watching the sun poke out and the fog move through the hills and valleys. Even the views driving down the long driveway were amazing. Truly beautiful. We only wished that on the kitchen side of the suite there was a deck where we could have sat out and enjoyed the view (under a blanket, with coffee!) Or at least had a nice, large window to sit in front of inside. If the owners do add a small deck there it would be great. To really see the view from the suite, we had to stand by the small window in the corner by the microwave. During warmer nice weather though, they have set up multiple nice outdoor spots to take in the views.

It was great that we could bring our dogs along, and they enjoyed walking with us & running around the large grassy areas around the barn. Very thankful that they were allowed.

We would definitely recommend staying here. Our only caution is that it's kind of remote (which is part of the charm). But in our case, we had planned to spend much of our weekend visiting Dry Creek Valley. It took us 45 minutes to get to and from Healdsburg each day. And at night after dinner and a day of wineries, it just felt a bit far particularly with the rain. You have to drive through the very windy parts of 128 to get to the suite from Healdsburg or Geyserville. It's beautiful country, just slow going, and once we left in the morning we couldn't really just run back to the suite for a nap, to change, or to feed the dogs, we were out for the day.

  • Submitted: 29-Dec-2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We are sorry we were not here to do a wine tasting for you in our tasting room. We spent Thanksgiving with our family. We are building a large deck off the kitchen with more windows in the spring. Maybe you did not see the deck out back of the barn, but maybe it was too cold to go out there. That has nice views and the views at the jacuzzi are amazing too. Plus the hiking trails up through the Italian Cypress are nice. You did not have to go all the way to Healdsburg to get to Dry Creek Valley. Dry Creek is only 20 minutes to the wineries by taking Dutcher Creek road one exit south of Cloverdale. Also it is only 30 minutes to Healdsburg. Our winter rates are less in the winter all the way to May 1st. If you ever decide to visit us again we can schedule a wine tasting with you. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, quaint, the most beautiful views I have ever seen!

  • 5 of 5

The inn is very cute and cozy! Exactly what we were looking for!!!! They supply everything you need as far as shower stuff ect. we bought a few groceries with us, it was perfect. The place is clean, plenty of towels for the spa! We loved the spa, The view from the hot tub is breath taking. It was exactly what we wanted for a long weekend get away! There are a few wineries near by, we did tastings at all of them! Le Vin has the best view around. I would recommend this place!!! We loved it!

  • Submitted: 4-Oct-2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you really enjoyed yourselves and your stay here. Our wine tasting with you was fun. You were great guests. Hope to see you back here again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Sant Rosa Airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 128
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Nearest Beach
75 Miles
Mendocino Coast
Car: necessary

Jacuzzi and Sauna, Sun Bathing, Picnic Areas, Swimming, Bikes available for biking. We are 20 minutes from Francis Ford Coppola's place where you can swim and dine at Rustic Restaurant and taste wine at their tasting room. There is also a gift store there and a movie museum, There are some great restaurants in Cloverdale, Geyserville and Healdsburg.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation barn rental in Cloverdale, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$79.1
Pet Fee C$32.96
Damage Insurance C$77.79

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties