Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Waterfront, rustic cottage for a perfect Whidbey getaway (172)

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4

Cove Cottage, a low bank waterfront property, sits on the south shore of Penn Cove with views of Mount Baker and the Cascades. Complete with fireplace, outdoor four person whirlpool hot tub, full kitchen, and two bedroom, one queen and one king, each with their own bathroom. This cottage is quiet, secluded and has a ramp and wheelchair accessible shower adjoining the king bedroom. TV, Cable, High speed internet, phone, Audio CD, and DVD system. Sleeps up to 4 people. This is the casual, easy living beach cabin you have always dreamed of escaping to! (This unit has a mandatory $50 Hot Tub Maintenance fee.) 4 night minimum in July/August


Property Manager
Tara Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Coupeville, Washington

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • 1 King bed, 1 Queen bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

29% Complete
32% Complete
21% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
Waterfront, rustic cottage for a perfect Whidbey getaway (172)
average rating of 3.7027028 based on 37 reviews
Gleneden Beach, OR
1

Unacceptable lodging

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very unhappy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

House is in great need of remodeling and repair. 2nd bathroom toilet was propped up on wedges. Shower walls moldy and peeling. Master toilet ran all night. Hot tub soapy and dirty, unusable! Smelled awful. Towels were so mildewy, we had to re-wash. Unable to sit in stuffed chair in living room due to one side being completely broken down. Best way to describe this property is UNKEMPT. The disrepair was totally unacceptable. Also, cannot walk to the water, as it's a 3 foot drop. Parking is difficult and tight. Cannot say enough about the horrible condition of this place. Everything is in disrepair and definitely not worth your money to stay here.

  • Submitted: 24-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Tara Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Our apologies go out to this guest for the problems they encountered. Both toilets were fixed shortly after their check out and we were unaware of the living room chair being broken and have fixed it now. The prior guests had overused the hot tub and the hot tub servicing company tried to clear the water and were not able to without draining it. These guests chose to have us wait to drain it until they checked out. We had several conversations with them and a refund was issued for their trouble. These guests also came in on the same day other guests checked out and all the towels were washed that day for them prior to their arrival. We guarantee our cleanliness services and ask guests to let us know if they encounter an issue. We will always offer to send in a cleaner if needed as well to fix any problems. Cleanliness is a big priority to our business! There is a small bluff to the beach. Owners are looking into building a permitted staircase. Please stay tuned and check in for updates on that. Many island properties have small lanes into their driveway. This property is nestled in some trees and there is not a lot of open space for parking, but there is plenty of parking for a couple cars. Turn around can be a little tight. Thank you and again our apologies go out to these guests for any inconveniences they encountered!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mercer Island, WA
4

Labor day

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great spot in a beautiful little slice of heaven.

  • Submitted: 20-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. Thank you for enjoying your stay so much on Whidbey Island. Please let us know if we cna help with your next stay on Whidbey Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Any city, NA
5

Secluded Cottage with Fantastic Cove View

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This cottage was perfect for us. It was centrally located ( Coupeville ) on the island which made exploring anywhere very easy. It is a modest but well appointed with everything you need. Having two bathrooms was a real plus. It is right on the cove so the view from the living / dining room and the deck was just what we came to Whidbey to experience. Sitting in the hot tub in the evening with a glass of wine watching the boats in the cove was wonderful. We came from Georgia and we reserved online. The folks at Tara were wonderful to work with. They had everything under control and were very solicitous of our needs. The whole experience was perfect, and everything went just as planned. I will definitely stay here again if I get to come back to Whidbey. We were visiting a family member who lives and works near Coupeville and she was amazed that we had found such a perfect little spot that was within our budget.

  • Submitted: 1-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Tara Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We are happy this was the "perfect little spot" for your vacation. Please let us help you with your next stay on Whidbey Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Las Vegas, NV
5

Great Cove Views

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We enjoyed our stay at Cove Cottage. Very quiet and private.Good views of the water and and sun rises. easy access to Coupeville and Oak Harbor. The weather was perfect.easy access for handicapped.

  • Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We are happy you "enjoyed" your stay on Whidbey Island. We hope to help you with your next stay on the Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
MATHER, CA
3

Nice, but...

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I will sum this up on what we liked and what we did not like. What we liked: Scenery was awesome, beds were super comfortable, kitchen was well stock with cookware, dishes, and cups. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do. What we did not like, the back bathroom toilet is loose, not sure if it is rotted out or what but it is most definitely not attached. The decor is very dated, the leather seat had a broken slat inside of it, the drive way was overgrown and rubbed on the body of my vehicle, that is until the landscapers came cleaned it up (could this not have been done before we got there?). The TV could be larger, I mean we did not use it much but a computer monitor for the main TV? That could be better. The rain gutter were overflowing with leaves and pine needles, and windows were dirty, plus during this heat wave there were no fans in the house, they did say we could pick some up, but never had time to.

  • Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and feedback and our apologies go out to you for any problems you had. We will get the handyman to work on the toilet and the leather seat right away! We are sorry we were not aware of this. The gutters have been scheduled for cleaning but the company that does them was booked out a ways, so it will be completed very soon! We do have a regular landscaper for this property and we are sorry the driveway was overgrown when you arrived. We will promptly deal with all the comments you provided. Also, we are so sorry about the fan. We encourage guests to call us if they need anything so that we can arrange whatever is needed. We can usually deliver or drop off needed items like a fan if you can't get to our office. thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Payson, Az
4

Very Quaint cottage

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The cottage was as described. Plenty of bedding and towels. However- I chose a cottage/house so I would have a kitchen to use. The utensils and Hobbs were a little sparse. And one of the toilets leaked.

  • Submitted: 2-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Tara Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We have notified the owner of your comments and appreciate the feedback. Please let us help you with your next stay on Whidbey Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • We often will allow 2 night reservations in July/Aug if we are w/in 2 weeks.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable