Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

2BR Norwegian Cabin with Retro Style - Walk to Restaurants, Sleeps 4

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 64 m²
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 0 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Experience living in the heart of South Lake Tahoe at our 2BR/1BA Norwegian-style cabin with a fun and stylish interior. Just a 3-minute drive to Heavenly and Ski Run Marina. Lots of food options within walking distance, too!

INSIDE THE HOUSE

The front entry leads right into the main, open living space with wood-beamed ceilings. A large wood-burning stone fireplace is the focal point and a natural gathering place. Many windows make the space cheery and bright!

A cozy L- shaped couch faces the fireplace where there is also a Netflix-enabled flat screen TV and BluRay player. Relax in the warmth of the fire after an exhilarating day of outdoor activities on the lake and mountains.

The small open kitchen is a retro cabin classic. It has all the appliances you need to rustle up a hearty meal or to prepare your favorite movie snacks. A chalkboard backsplash is handy for posting menus, grocery lists and leaving clever messages. There is an island workspace which doubles as an eating area with bar seating for two.

The two bedrooms are similarly cozy. Both have beamed ceilings, large windows, and queen-size beds. Storage in both is Norwegian-style: open and easy to get to.

The cabin’s bathroom is between the two bedrooms, and an attractive sink vanity, glass shower and stackable washer/dryer. After a long day of skiing or fishing or hiking, throw a few things in the wash to be ready for the next day!

THE LOCATION

This area of South Lake Tahoe is a nature-lover's heaven. Get ready to ski/snowboard, snowshoe, bird watch, swim, boat, and hike. Re-fuel at one of many restaurants and repeat! It's all within walking distance or short driving distance from the cabin— you are right in the thick of it! Winter provides skating, skiing, snowshoeing, sleigh rides, and more—we’re just 3 minutes from Heavenly Ski Resort. And, of course, summer in Lake Tahoe is sublime…and if you like to take in wildlife, the pines that surround us here are a tall, majestic home to many birds.

THE TURNKEY ADVANTAGE

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos, amenities, calendar, and rates are 100% accurate. We supply shampoo, soaps, paper products, and hotel-quality towels and linens to all our guests.

And we make it easy to stay with us! Drive straight to your rental and access the rental with a unique lock code that we give only to you. If early check-ins or late checkouts are possible, we will let you know.

When you book, we will send you our mobile app with directions, lock code, and instructions. We’re available 24 hours a day with live help.

All Turn Key Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Property Damage Protection insurance policy.

THE FINE PRINT

In response to City of South Lake Tahoe's ordinance on short term rentals, we are operating under STVR License #007998. As per the ordinance, this vacation rental cannot be used for any type of parties, including weddings and receptions. Maximum allowable City occupancy is 8 people and 2 cars; over occupancy will be subject to City citation/fine. Please note that we have a strict NO PARTY policy; failure to comply will result in eviction.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2006
Speaks english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
February 25, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Bijou 1, California

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 64 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • 2 Queen beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • recreation center
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

18% Complete
54% Complete
9% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
2BR Norwegian Cabin with Retro Style - Walk to Restaurants, Sleeps 4
average rating of 3.7272727 based on 11 reviews
Emeryville,
3

Older Property Suitable for 4

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The cabin is well located (though you need a car in Lake Tahoe) and is pretty much as represented (except it is no longer barn red!). The ad does not suggest parking on site but in fact there are two spots which is beneficial. Not suitable for more than 4 people even though more are suggested. As an older cabin, not sure how warm it would be in a cold snap. Being older, it is single pane windows and even at 32 degrees, you could feel the draft. Beds and linen were great, kitchen as shown but the supplied cutlery etc look like a mix from a student dorm, nothing matches and is cheap old stuff. The interior is rather dated and worn for the price; owner should spend some money on upgrades and perhaps not lock up so many cabinets, does not make you feel like a guest. For the price paid, I think there is better value elsewhere given the age issues stated. Thus I would recommend the unit if the price was lower.

  • Submitted: 14-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hi Ken, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We appreciate your feedback regarding the property and will be sure to pass your comments along to the homeowner for their consideration. Please know that we have since updated our listing information to reflect the correct maximum occupancy. Lastly, we would also like to note that the fireplace and central heating system are able to adequately heat the home. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out any time and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Elk Grove
2

average

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very unhappy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

this cabin is exactly how the photos show, however it was not at all enjoyable. I rented the cabin essentially to use to sleep and shower, however i didnt want my vehicle with my Kayaks strapped to the top of it sitting in some random hotel parking lot all night. So we rented this cabin to use just to sleep in, and shower. Unfortunately the two worst parts about the cabin are the beds and the shower. Pros: -clean -"insta hot" water heater -couch was comfy Cons: -One bed squeaked really bad, the other was rock hard. this resulted in my husband and i sleeping separately on our vacation. -The shower is TINY. I know other reviews say its small; and I thought it cant be that bad. Yes it is that bad. My husbands shoulders were touching both walls while in the shower. -if you stay Sunday night, you have to be up at 7AM on Monday to take the trash out. I didn't stay Sunday night, thankfully. -there is no private yard. -the neighborhood is questionable and this home is not in a community of cabins.

  • Submitted: 1-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi April, Thank you for the review and helpful feedback! Please let us assure you that we will check on both mattresses and pass your comments along to the homeowner for their consideration. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute little property

  • 4 of 5

Our first impression was that the little house was clean and quaint. LOTS of natural light added to the aesthetics. We did find what looked like dog hairs on around the couch and the towels smelled a bit funky. The drier is absolute crap: it took us 4 hours to dry a load of laundry!!!

If you're an EV driver, the outlets do not produce enough wattage to charge your car (the charger for our Volt didn't work... but it did when we got home, so it wasn't our charger).

  • Submitted: 26-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jim, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will address the cleanliness issues with our Housekeeping Team and make sure the dryer is repaired or replaced, if needed. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lithia, FL
2

Rustic!

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The cabin was Ok - not very well stocked kitchen - everything was very thrown together and OLD. No dishwasher and the drawers were dirty and cluttered. Rustic is the only way to describe it and not in the cute way. Beds were ok - very squeaky! Never got to make a fire - the weather was super warm. Not really an outside area to enjoy - very unkept and dirty. No cable -only a smart TV and DVD - tough with 2 kids for a week. No eating area - just 2 stools on an island. Shower was SMALL stall and the washer and dryer didn't work well - the dryer took multiple times to get things dry and they too were super small. No closets, just shelves and racks on wall. Overall, not a kid firendly place, super small and old with chipped paint and wood. Wouldn't rent again - also on a very busy side road that people FLY by.

  • Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Amy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service, and it is our hope that if anything at all comes up, guests are conveniently able to reach us 24 hours-a-day on our guest hotline. Unfortunately, we are only now learning of these problems, but wish we had known during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is addressed. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mission Viejo, California
4

Cozy little house near town

  • 4 of 5

This was a great place for my husband, son and I and a friend. Very convenient location and nice cozy atmosphere. Beds were comfortable and everything was clean and there were sufficient towels and bathroom and laundry supplies. Downsides are that there is no kitchen/dining table and the kitchen didn't have all of the essentials if you plan to do a lot of cooking during your stay. The rooms were small and the shower was very small. Also, the dryer wasn't drying clothes very quickly.

  • Submitted: 22-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Vicki, Thank you for the compliments, we love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We greatly appreciate your feedback and want to assure you that it will be passed along to the homeowner. You were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again anytime! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento,
4

A bit dated and cramped, but overall a nice stay

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The home is the right size for a family of four. Any more than that and it would be uncomfortable due to the small size of the home. The neighborhood was fairly quiet, with the exception of occasional traffic noise. The kitchen is dated. Shower is ridiculously small. Dryer takes forever to dry clothes. If you are looking for a basic cabin as an alternative to a hotel, it's a decent choice. Overall, we had a nice stay.

  • Submitted: 31-May-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hi Jason, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the home and will make sure your comments are passed along to the homeowner for their consideration. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties