Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Location, Location, Location. Historic Downtown And The Arkansas River.

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom 1 Bath 1/2 Block To The Arkansas River & Across From Robison Mansion

30 days or more ONLY! (no lodging tax). Built in the 1880s, this brick Victorian will be sure to amaze you in both amenities and location. Come stay in historic downtown, surrounded by parks, walking trails and weekly entertainment.

Located across the street from the historic Robison Mansion and only half a block from the Arkansas River and river walk. The perfect place for the rest of the wedding party to stay if you're attending a Robison Mansion wedding or event. Gold medal fishing, Gold panning, rafting, tubing and hiking is only half a block away.

This is the perfect location to stay for your rehearsal dinner the night before the wedding with both a formal dining room and an eat in kitchen. Outdoor patio seating for 7 to enjoy our beautiful weather, and an indoor sun room and screened front porch for the occasional foul weather day.

We welcome travelling professionals (extended stays)! Government Employees/Healthcare providers/Others can stay at seasonally adjusted PerDiem Rates and adjusted billing structure for reimbursement purposes. Please text or call to set this up.

We are rehabbing this brick beauty into a vacation rental for years to come. Watch us grow as we complete the upstairs area in the future to add more bedrooms and bathrooms.

Huge fenced yard for the children and pets to roam and a beautiful indoor oasis. I can't stress enough the location and the upscale feeling of this beautiful home.

More Details

Troy Fuhrman
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018

About Troy Fuhrman

My husband and I have fallen in love with Canon City and all that it has to offer with the perfect weather and the year round activities. We started buying rental properties in Canon City and decided that we wanted to share our love with Canon City with other "outsiders". This is our first home that we have created into a vacation rental and we are hopeful that we can continue to make this property into something as great as it is meant to become.

Troy Fuhrman purchased this farmhouse in 2015

Why Troy Fuhrman chose Cañon City

We found this property in April of 2015, I am a Realtor in the area and had shown it to a client. They had decided to pass because it was not move in ready. I saw right off the potential and the home was just begging to be brought back to its glory. Our first summer of rehabilitation is complete, come and visit the French country / Victorian pleasures of this home. The second floor rehabilitation is scheduled for this winter.

Little by little we will make improvements to the home to make it rival any home. It is our true desire to completely rehab the home to a country style charmer.

What makes this farmhouse unique

LOCATION says it all.. The Arkansas River and riverwalk is only half a block away. All summer long Veterans Park (just across the river) plays host to many events from the farmers market to music on the lawn. This home is currently one level living with the bedrooms on either side of the house.

The bathroom is adjoining the master bedroom and the kitchen is large but offers a formal dinning room. The home has a sunroom located off the dinning providing outdoor living during inclement weather.

We understand what is like to "live" on the road as part of your profession. Government and Healthcare workers on PerDiem / temporary duty assignments please contact us via text/email with your dates and we will work out the best rates for you and provide the billing formats you need for reimbursements.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation farmhouse rental in Cañon City, Colorado

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
30 Days or more- Downtown Canon City Historic area, 1/2 block to Arkansas River and riverwalk, across from the historic Robison Mansion, 3 blocks to Royal Gorge Railroad station, 7 miles to Royal Gorge Bridge and numerous attractions such as Rafting/Horseback Rides/Zip Lines/Helicopter tours. 1/2 Block from Veteran's Park that hosts regular music events and Tuesday farmers market. If you're attending a wedding at the Robison Mansion (one of Colorado's top ten historic mansions), this is the place to stay as the mansion sits just across the street from the home. With a fenced back yard and large side yard for entertaining.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Location, Location, Location. Historic Downtown And The Arkansas River.
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews

Great place to stay, loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Great location, house is great and very well maintained. My dogs loved the huge fenced yard, along with fun watching the deer share the yard. Sun room really heats up during the sunny afternoons. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: 6-Jan-2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Needs to be more welcoming

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I arrived at the house for a one week stay only to find one partial roll of toilet paper, one trash can liner and no dishwasher soap. I had asked where more might be and was informed there was none and we would need to get our own. The location was great and the house was very charming. Plenty of space in the bedrooms, kitchen and dining room. The separate laundry room is nice so you do not have to listen to the washer and dryer but it was nose-itable (noticeable) it had been a previous home for cats. We haul ATVs and found the drive a little challenging but doable if you can back up a trailer. Overall we were pleased with our stay.

  • Submitted: 23-Aug-2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Vagabond Retirees

Spacious and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

The part of the house that we stayed in has been restored and and nicely furnished. My two grand children (ages 8 and 4) especially enjoyed the big yard. One of the highlights was their seeing two fawns hopping around the backyard and then jumping a small fence to join their mother in the neighbor's back yard after which my grand daughter said, "This is even better than room service" - thus one of the benefits of VRBO over hotels! There is a great park with tennis courts, volleyball court, and children's playground just a few blocks away. We went to a farmers' market in Canon City, to Royal Gorge, and took a family rafting trip down the Arkansas River. Our hosts, Troy and Allison, were quick to communicate with us and that helped to make our stay even better.

  • Submitted: 13-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting Canon City! It's close to everything and the owners are just wonderful to work with. The only downside is that the bathroom is small but everything else was great!

  • Submitted: 3-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location, Location, eh

  • 1 of 5

Literally killed 8 mice in 4 days. One of the heaters didn't work. When it came time to leave, refund wasn't provided. All things being equal, it is a good location, but not worth the cost, and certainly not worth the hassle.

  • Submitted: 14-May-2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To our lodger who stayed at our home for 6+ months and gave us a poor review. Our goal for our rentals is to provide a high-end, clean, comfortable and private home for your stay. We do not wish to mislead or wrongly advertise the homes that we provide. We apologize for the terrible stay you had at this property for 6 months, we would of liked to have corrected the issue you had during your stay but you never alerted us to the issues while you were at the house. Since you decided to stay, month after month at the house and never called with problems we determined that the poor review was due to the fact that we had to charge you for multiple broken and missing items from the home after you moved out. You were not entitled to a refund of your rent for the following reasons; Broken windows, tables and equipment, missing linens, torn up sheets and duvet covers, model glue covered furniture and sink fixtures. Unauthorized large dog brought into property without prior consent which the pet caused damage to vintage wood doors, floors and sofa. We are surprised by your poor review since you begged us to allow you to stay when we wanted to part ways after trying to chance down rental payments. We could not rent the property for almost a month to repair and rebuild the property to the condition it was in prior to you taking possession. We have tried multiple attempts to contact you but you failed to respond.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Travel Nurse 13 week Assignment

  • 5 of 5

This place was home for 13 weeks. When we arrived the owners Allison and Troy had set it up perfectly for us to just move in and feel at home. Not one detail was overlooked or missed. IT WAS WONDERFUL!

The house is spacious and open with tall ceilings and large rooms, yet cozy with a fireplace and comfortable beds with luxurious linens.

The yard is large and fenced in , perfect for our four legged family members to roam and enjoy. We also had a resident deer family that regularly visited while I drank my morning coffee on the back patio. We were just steps to the Arkansas River walk and tunnel drive which were perfect to get out for a run or stroll into town, or to our favorite local ice cream shop "Cup and Cone" YUMMY!

We were also so close to many other things like the Royal Gorge, Rafting, Hiking, Pikes Peak and so much beautiful scenery that three month was not long enough to enjoy it all!

The owners were attentive to all our needs but never intrusive. They were so friendly and knowledgeable of the area with great suggestions from things to do and see to events in the area and places to eat.

This was a perfect property with wonderful owners. It felt like a vacation in a home. I would recommend this property, it really is a perfect spot to enjoy Colorado!

  • Submitted: 11-Nov-2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Colorado Springs
Nearest Train
0.25 Miles
Royal Gorge Railroad
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles

Centrally located downtown, shopping, dinning and outdoor activities. less than 1/2 a block to the Arkansas river 2 blocks to Royal Gorge Railroad station, 3 blocks to downtown. Across the street from the Robison Mansion


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation farmhouse rental in Cañon City, Colorado

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee C$128.44
Cleaning Fee C$160.55
Property Damage Protection C$75.78

NO LODGING TAX, Since this property is a 30 day or more rental, lodging taxes are not required. Rates maybe subject to change until booking is complete.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties