Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Little Gem In Golden Sleeps Up To 4

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Little Gem In Golden Sleeps Up To 4

This spacious bachelor suite occupies 800 sq. ft. on the ground floor of a unique two story building in the town of Golden.The suite has two XL twin beds that can be joined to make a king, plus two twin sofa beds. The suite is ideal for one or two couples or a family of four.

Little Gem has a full kitchen with all the utensils so you can prepare gourmet meals or, if you prefer, simply cook breakfast.

The suite can accommodate up to four people in comfort and is priced well below comparable accommodation located on the ski hill, is a mere twelve-minute drive to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, with some of the best downhill skiing in North America.

It is also central for three other ski areas: Revelstoke is one and three-quarter hours further west along the Trans-Canada Highway; world-renown Lake Louise is one hour to the east; and Panorama is two hours south along Highway 95.

For cross-country ski lovers, Dawn Mountain hosted the 2012 Canadian Masters Championships and has over 30 kilometers of groomed trails ranging from beginner to advanced. Cross-country trails can also be found at the golf club.

If you need a day to rest aching muscles then the Radium Hot Springs are one hour away, or you can book a massage right here in Golden.

Golden is also a great location to base your snowmobiling adventure with 240 kilometers of groomed trails, 13 distinct zones and 4 maintained areas. Snowmobile rentals and tours can be arranged with Golden-based companies. Staying in Golden will transform a simple ski-vacation into a winter adventure.

For summer and fall hiking, Yoho National Park is only forty minutes away. We may be biased, but in all our travels we've never found scenery more majestic and beautiful. Golden's incredibly scenic golf course is only a few minutes' drive away.

The Columbia Valley is a major bird migratory route. Bring your binoculars and walk to the bird watching platform at Reflection Lake, just south of town. For history lovers, an hour or two will be enough to learn something of Golden's history in the small museum. Book lovers will enjoy browsing the new and used selections at Bacchus Books perhaps along with a coffee or bowl of home-made soup.

Golden is nestled in the Columbia Valley at the confluence of the Columbia and Kicking Horse Rivers. Staying in-town means you are only a short walk from several good restaurants (so no worries about drinking and driving), burger joints and convenience food, a five-pin bowling alley, an outdoor swimming pool, outdoor tennis courts, a summer farmer's market, the cinema, grocery stores, an indoor skating rink, a skate board park and more.

Being in town also makes it possible to have catered dinners served in the Little Gem, or to order in pizza, if you are simply too tired after rafting the Kicking Horse whitewater, paragliding from Mount 7, floating through the Columbia wetlands, or strolling the Rotary Trail or alongside the Kicking Horse River.

More Details

Owner
Claire
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

About Claire

Born and schooled in the UK. My wife and I moved to Calgary in 1973, and raised our 3 children there, before retiring to Golden in 2002. We chose Golden because we love skiing, and the outdoors, and wanted to retire to a small ski town in the Rockies. Golden fit the bill perfectly.

Claire purchased this apartment in 2013

Why Claire chose Golden

Living in Calgary for close to 30 years, we would often vacation in the Columbia valley. When it came time to retire, we chose Golden as it is a small authentic town surrounded by six national parks, and central to the best skiing in North America. Kicking Horse Mountain Resort is only a 10 minute drive, Lake Louise Ski Resort only 60 minutes, Revelstoke an hour and a half and Panorama 1hr 45min.

Golden has several good restaurants, and other amenities, including a cinema and bowling alley, outdoor pool in the summer, and indoor skating rink in the winter.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation apartment rental in Golden, British Columbia

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • The open-plan suite features two XL twin beds, which can be kept as twins, or pushed together to form a king bed. In the lounge area, there are two twin sofa beds, which provide a sleeping space for a third, and fourth guest.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • long term renters welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

48% Complete
44% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Little Gem In Golden Sleeps Up To 4
average rating of 4.32 based on 25 reviews
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Very cozy place, and great location to view all the nearby Canadian Rocky National Parks.

  • Submitted: 8-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi John: Glad to hear that you, and your family/friends, enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Golden.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Adkins, Texas
4

Great Lil Gem!!!

  • 4 of 5

This was a perfect place to stay as our home base for Yoho & Banff! It was really well stocked with everything you might need and all the appliances are brand new. The bed was extra comfy made into a King and never had a problem with the Wifi at all. Very nice place!

There were only 2 downfalls.

1) The NOISY heavy footed neighbors upstairs got old, but that isn't the owners fault.

2) It was really hot and stuffy and not being able to open any windows on the bottom floor suite, we had to go out and purchase a fan to get some air moving. I was concerned about this when I made our reservation and the owner assured me that it would be fine. Well, approx. 2 days before we arrived, the owner sent a message that they were having unseasonable hot weather and suggested we turn on the microwave vent in the kitchen to get the air moving...Yeah, that didn't do a darn thing. I feel the owner could at least supply a fan in the suite for the guests since there is no A/C and the windows do not open, that way his renters do not have to suffer and/or go out and buy their own fan to be halfway comfortable.

Yes, I would stay here again and I would recommend this nice place to anyone!!!

  • Submitted: 19-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Glenda: I was glad to hear that you, and your family/friends, enjoyed your stay. In regards, to the upstairs renters, I wish that you would have let us know about the problem, while you were staying. We do have enforced quiet hours from 11pm to 6am, and we would have being willing to speak to the upstairs guests, about the noise level, and remind them about the quiet hours.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Immaculate studio apartment in a so-so location.

  • 4 of 5

When we arrived we were a little surprised at the location, as this unit is on a very industrial street, between auto mechanics and a mobile home park. There is a railroad track directly across the road (which we knew in advance). The property itself is a converted retail space, so it doesn't look residential from the outside. However, the inside is very well planned out and immaculately kept up. There was a large king bed for the grownups (convertible to two twins) and two separate sofa beds that made very comfy twins for the kids. There was plenty of space to spread out and relax, and the kitchen/laundry was well equipped. We had no safety concerns despite the location, and we did not find the train noise to be disruptive; it did not wake us (although some people may be more sensitive to that). The location does not provide a particular view, but the downtown area and grocery is only about a mile down the road - we recommend the Island restaurant in particular, for adults and families. Pros: solid wifi, responsive owners, lots of space, comfortable, parking, convenient to town and to the highway, laundry machines, full kitchen, DVD with TV and internet option. Cons: location, no cable TV (internet only), no AC or fans (which is probably only an issue on the very hottest nights; it stayed comfortable for us in July). Overall a good inexpensive home base for a family looking to explore the Golden area, with the flexibility to take care of your own laundry and meals.

  • Submitted: 1-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Diana: Glad to hear that you, and your family/friends, enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Golden.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We stayed at Little Gem for three nights and enjoyed the restaurants in town!

  • 4 of 5

The place was very clean and had everything we could think of. Charming decor! Claire responded to our emails quickly! Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Submitted: 20-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Joyce: Glad to hear that you, and your family/friends, enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Golden.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

This is NOT a summer rental or for those looking for some peace and quiet..

  • 2 of 5

We had 2 main issues at The Little Gem.. 1)The ad isnt completely forthright. The unit doesn't have a single window that opens. Neither does it have a ceiling fan and nor is a floor fan provided. Now in ski season this may be fine, but it was mid 80's F during our stay in July and forecasted to be in the 90s in a couple days. The only option is to open the doors to catch a breeze but the unit is on the ground floor in a nonreassuring part of town. When we contacted the manager about the heat they were kind in their response but did not offer to purchase a fan. Never would we, nor would I guess most people, think to ask if a rental has opening windows!!! If this is a shortcoming of your rental be upfront about it.

2)The second issue we had was the noise. If an important part of your visit is uninterrupted sleep this isn't the place for you. The rental is across the road from the train tracks tracks which runs often but far louder is the rental unit on the second floor. Every morning we were woken up to the people upstairs probably just moving around but it sounded like a family stomping it out to a dance revolution. We could hear every footstep, them up and down the stairs which are on the other side of the wall and even their conversations were understandable. The construction wasn't done well enough to allow adequate sound proofing. And without even a fan for white noise to drown it out....

As mentioned in other posts, the unit is very well furnished and well supplied and the manager is very responsive and kind. But if we would have know how uncomfortable we would be because of the heat and tired due to noise level.,.. it wasnt worth the originally great price point.

  • Submitted: 4-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brandon, our description of the unit is forthright and accurate. We do not claim to have opening windows, fans, nor air conditioning. As the temperature in Golden rarely gets into the 90’s, and always cools down at night, air conditioning is uncommon in most residential properties in Golden, and you would be hard-pressed to find a VRBO in Golden, which offers air conditioning. We do not have a ceiling, nor floor fan, as they just move air around and introduce more heat into the unit. Operating the microwave high volume fan, is the best way to move hot air to the outside. Unfortunately, you happen to have stayed in the hottest week of the year. Nowhere in Golden offers peace and quiet. There are 2 train tracks and the TransCanada Highway that run through town. I was recently in a small town, in Europe, and was woken at 5:30 am, by the church bells. That’s the price you pay for being close to the town facilities.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Funky litte stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at the Little Gem! It was an odd little place - maybe a storefront at some point. But none-the-less, it was comfy and clean! I read reviews that there was no AC, but as we were there at the beginning of June it wasn't a problem. All of the appliances worked wonderfully and I really enjoyed having a washer and dryer as we were traveling and hiking around. The bed was AMAZINGLY comfortable. The TV seemed to work but we didn't have much interest in it. The WIFI worked wonderfully. The Blue Bird Cafe was so delightful and we thoroughly enjoyed the Golden Cafe and Bakery. The ONLY downside is that, on our last night, there was a party of 3/4 that came to stay upstairs and they were SO loud. Not that this was Claire's fault and, had we stayed longer, I may have contacted Claire but we checked out the next day. Just be aware of that part! The train wasn't a problem for us. Overall, we would definitely stay again and to be back one day to do so. BOOK THIS PROPERTY!

  • Submitted: 21-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Chelsea: Glad to hear that you, and your family/friends, enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Golden.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
260 Kilometres
Calgary
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Golden & District Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Transcanada #1 Hwy
Nearest Ski
12 Kilometres
Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
Cedar Lake
Car: necessary

If you like the outdoors you will love Golden. Winter and summer you will enjoy this outdoor adventure hub. I moved to Golden as it has the best skiing in North America on par with Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Visit, and you too can enjoy this outdoor paradise.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation apartment rental in Golden, British Columbia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Springtime
Apr 14 2018 - May 14 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$90
From
C$105
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Springtime
May 15 2018 - Jun 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$90
From
C$105
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Season
Jun 21 2018 - Sep 8 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$115
From
C$145
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 9 2018 - Dec 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$90
From
C$105
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Season Skiing
Dec 7 2018 - Dec 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$90
From
C$105
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Season
Dec 19 2018 - Jan 4 2019
3 night minimum stay
C$195
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Main Season One
Jan 5 2019 - Feb 6 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$100
From
C$115
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Feb 7 2019 - Feb 22 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$140
From
C$165
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Main Season Two
Feb 23 2019 - Mar 15 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$115
From
C$135
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Skiing
Mar 16 2019 - Apr 13 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$100
From
C$115
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$115
From
C$135
Fri,Sat
C$805
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$250
Tax Rate 5.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable