Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Nicest location to explore the best of Calgary

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Upscale newly furnished 2 bedroom condo in a great location

This particular unit is a main floor 2 bedroom condo with direct access onto 17A St - the nicest street in Bankview. It's across the street from a small park. There are only six townhouse units in the building each with it's own private entry unlike an apartment building. It's a very secure property with decorative steel screen doors and full video surveillance for your security and peace of mind. I've owned the property for nearly twenty years and have full time maintenance people to fix irritants and keep it in pristine condition.

All the furnishings in this unit are brand new this year.

The master bedroom has a queen size bed with a firm mattress. It features six feet wide mirrored closet doors and a large dresser. Likewise, the second bedroom has an identical queen size bed with a firm mattress. The unit can sleep four.

The kitchen has tons of upgraded maple cabinets, an oversize fridge, range, over the range microwave, double sink, garbage disposal and dishwasher.

The living room boasts an instant on gas fireplace. WiFi (25MB) is included at no charge. There is a new 40" LED 1080P Smart TV so you can connect to your existing providers like Netflix. The dining room features a natural pine table with four chairs.

There is a patio window onto the front deck which has a gas powered BBQ.

More Details

Owner
Gordon Freedman
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2018

About Gordon Freedman

I was a co-founder of a medical software company in the eighties which we took public in a reverse takeover in 1995. With the proceeds I purchased some properties in Calgary. This is my absolute favourite building because of it's interesting architecture and great location.

In business, the customer is king. It's extremely important to me that you both enjoy and speak highly of your stay. To this end you can text me at any time if there are problems or issues and I'll get them fixed. I have no business without happy customers ...

Gordon Freedman purchased this townhome in 1997

Why Gordon Freedman chose Southwest Calgary

You're in an amazing location to explore the best that Calgary has to offer. You're staying in a ground floor, single level stacked townhouse and not an apartment. The unit has it's own forced air heating system unlike the hot water heating systems in apartment buildings. You have considerably more privacy and isolation from neighbors compared to an apartment - you won't smell your neighbors cooking in the hallways.

It's a clean well cared for building with an owner that cares about you both enjoying your stay and feeling you got great value for money.

What makes this townhome unique

We're looking for guests who are singles, couples or families with children. While we want you to enjoy your stay we expect you to respect the 'quiet enjoyment' of other residents in the building.

It's my first venture into renting out short term furnished units and all other tenants in the building are under long term leases. The demographic in the building is 25-45 white collar professionals.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation townhome rental in Southwest Calgary, Alberta

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4 ...
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom has a deep soaker tub and stacker washer / dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 queen
    Second Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Main Bedroom: A queen size bed with firm mattress. Large dresser. Six foot closet with mirrored doors. Second Bedroom: A queen size bed with firm mattress and a closet with mirrored doors.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Nicest location to explore the best of Calgary
average rating of 4.8 based on 55 reviews
Calgary, AB
5

Amazing place to stay in Calgary!

  • 5 of 5

I have nothing but positive things to say about this cute condo. I rented it for my parents while they were visiting me in Calgary, since my 440 sq ft apartment doesn't really offer much flexibility. This condo is located just close enough to downtown to make walking an enjoyable option, but is far enough outside the core to be nice and quiet. While we did enjoy some of Calgary's restaurants, both of my parents love to cook, so we took advantage of the the fully stocked kitchen as we wanted, which is a great option while travelling. Mom and Dad reported that the beds were comfortable and they had a wonderful time. Thank you for everything!

  • Submitted: 16-Feb-2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the kind review - we hope to see you again
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect for our needs!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect apartment in a great location! This functional apartment had everything we needed and more. It was comfortable and clean, good television, dependable wifi, washer, dryer, BBQ.

  • Submitted: 17-Jul-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice 2 bedroom apartment

  • 5 of 5

Ample street parking. ( Park up the hill or a neighbor will complain. ) Apartment clean, 2 small bedrooms with queen bedrooms,good size kitchen and living room. Close to downtown. Owner responsive when I realized there were only 3 towels. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: 10-Jul-2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice area to stay

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, very accessible to downtown - either by walking or by car - as it is close to the major access roads.

  • Submitted: 3-Jul-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington DC
5

Great apartment in a fun location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and our dog spent a great week at the apartment. It's close to funky 17th Avenue to walk to restaurants and bars. The apartment is well furnished with everything you need for a stay. The bed is super comfortable. Parking is easy right out front. I would recommend it for a stay in Calgary. Close enough to everything but in a quiet residential neighborhood with a nice small park across the street. The owner was quick with responses to questions when we had them. The electronic access, to having to keep track of a key, made it easy.

  • Submitted: 30-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Clean, good location but not much else

  • 3 of 5

Advertised that you could smoke on the deck, but when we arrived found out it wasn’t 420 friendly... place was very clean but didn’t have many extras. Four people staying and only two bath towels provided. No real cooking supplies or basics provided. Good for a quick stay, but wouldn’t want to spend more than a couple nights.

  • Submitted: 8-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize for our 420 policy, it was written three years ago. I don't think anyone would object nowadays to smoking marijuana on a private deck where cigarette smoking was allowed. All you had to do was text and if you had I would have told you that there are extra towels and blankets in the linen closet in the hallway. The kitchen has every utensil anybody could need - pots, pans , plates, silverware, mixing bowls, kitchen knives. We even bought a special pan for cooking pancakes for a family from the Nederland's that stayed there for a month. When you first arrived you texted and said the place was very clean - it was actually spotless and because of that you are only my second three star review out of fifty reviews. Up until your review, 98% of guests rated the condo higher. So please next time text so I can look after you. It's my primary method of supporting you whilst protecting your privacy ...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
24 Kilometres
Calgary International
Nearest Barpub
700 Metres
The Pint
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Crowchild Trail
Nearest Restaurant
600 Metres
Chianti Restaurant
Nearest Ski
12 Kilometres
Canada Olympic Park
Car: recommended

Located in an architectural outstanding building, opposite a small park on the nicest street in Bankview - a gentrified neighborhood . It's only a short walk to all the shops and restaurants of 17th Ave without actually living among the noise and bustle. Walking distance to LRT (light rail transit). The location provides a central location to malls, parks, hospitals, the university and college of art.

The rocky mountains are an hour drive away with world class skiing and sightseeing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation townhome rental in Southwest Calgary, Alberta

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$107
From
C$117
Fri,Sat,Sun
C$697
C$2,797
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$50

Your quote includes a $500 damage deposit which automatically refunds 7 days after checkout. We recommend you purchase the inexpensive 'Vacation Protection Services', insurance package available on this website which protects both your damage deposit and even more should your rental suffer damage during your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable