Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Scenic Vacation Home On Mississippi River. Fantastic View!!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 8

A wonderful place to get a way from it all. Quiet area on the Mississippi back water. The fishing is some of the best in the area. Canoeing or kayaking among the islands is a favorite activity. Birdwatchers will love the variety of birds as we are on a major migratory corridor with nesting grounds for multiple types of birds . Just 7 miles outside of Brainerd, 15 minutes to Nisswa and 20 Minutes to Crosslake puts this home right in the middle of all the Brainerd Lakes activities. There are many great restaurants and shops nearby. The golf courses at the different resorts are only 20 mins away. Watch the sunset from the deck or the dock over the river in the evening. Outdoor amenities include a grill, a dock, fire pit and a canoe. Indoor amenities include 2 queen size beds, 1 full and 2 twin beds, linens, furnished kitchen and 2 gas fireplaces. All bedrooms have a view of the water. Great place to bring snowmobiles. Access to hundreds of miles of trails. Now is the time to come check out the birds!!! April and May we get a huge variety of migrating birds. Bring your binoculars!!

owner/property manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2018

What makes this house unique

Sit on the dock and watch the sunset. Listen to the loons cry at night.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Brainerd, Minnesota

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • long term renters welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling


Very Good! 4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
20% Complete
10% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Scenic Vacation Home On Mississippi River. Fantastic View!!
average rating of 4.0 based on 10 reviews

Quiet, deceptively large and cozy.

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful quiet family getaway. Our family of five was able to stay there with tons of space to spare. The location is nestled into the woods, facing a quiet river. Would be a great for a small family reunion, or a fishing trip with your buddies. Great restaurants and local shops are just a few minuets away. I would recommend this rental for any one looking for a quite getaway.

  • Submitted: 3-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Leaves were starting to change colors. The view was very nice and relaxing. There was lots of wildlife. We could hear owls and loons at night. We canoed. The wild rice was at it's peak so there were lots of birds hanging around. The grill on the deck was large and propane was provided. There were plenty of condiments. For 3 couples it was very affordlable. Love the fireplace.

  • Submitted: 2-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great space for a weekend away!

  • 4 of 5

Four of us stayed at the property for a girls' weekend. Got there just in time the first night to catch a beautiful sunset over the river with the leaves changing. The fire pit is at a bit of an incline but manageable. There was a bit of mustiness and it could have been cleaned a bit better (some dust and cobwebs) but all in all it definitely met our needs. Lots of room in the fridge/freezer and adequate space to cook. The dining room space was great for playing games, there was comfortable furniture in the living room to hang out in and visit, and we enjoyed some time on the picnic table on the patio when it wasn't raining. Will certainly consider this place again when planning another weekend away with friends or family. Thanks!

  • Submitted: 18-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not a great experience this time...

  • 2 of 5

The view wasn't great and lake was not accessible for Canoe as it was full of bushes and algea...Deck and outside the house it was full of spider nets..felt bed seeing all the spider nets...Outside of house there were many small snakes which scared us...couldn't go out much specially with minors...House was clean from inside except the Toilets...overall an average stay..

  • Submitted: 5-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The "bushes" in the river are wild rice at Cattails. The wild rice attracts and feeds many types of wildlife. The cattails are a nesting area for Red-winged black birds The snakes in the area are not poisonous. You should let your minors see them. We do not poison our area with bug killers. We are on a migratory route for many birds. The Osprey, Bald Eagles and Blue Herons eat fish right along the shore of the property. The fish eat bugs. There can be hundreds of Swallows zooming around catching food. We have turtles, raccoons, fox, wolves, bears, deer, muskrats, badgers, chipmunks, and skunks among many, many other types of animals. We cannot in good conscience put out poisons.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Overall our stay was average

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived the basement of the house is very musty smelling to the point when I returned home our clothes smelt of it. With anyone with allergies this is not the optimal circumstance.

There was dirty dishes in the dishwasher and there was dishes with mold on them. We had to hand wash and then run them through the dishwasher.

The one TV did not have any sound.

The front storm door handle fell of the first time the door closed. We fixed that on our own.

The house is very dated to the 70's.

The upstairs bathroom only has a tub with no shower.

It did however provide the space we needed for the 4 couples who stayed.

It was nice to have some of the basic condiments provided as well as basic linens and towels.

The pillows were comfortable.

  • Submitted: 1-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize for the dishes. It was missed in the turnover. We did come over when we were told the TV was not working. We offered to replace it immediately. A couple of people from the group said it was unnecessary since no one was watching it anyway. We would have replaced it the same day as we put in a new TV the following day anyway.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Had a great weekend

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time at the house

  • Submitted: 23-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
The Woods
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
The Woods
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Ski Gull
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Brainerd, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance C$75.38
Damage Deposit C$255.54

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties