Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Minutes from downtown Blacksburg and Virginia Tech

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 4,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautifully appointed 5 bedroom/3 bath house. 4500+ sq ft on three level living.

Master on main with jetted tub. Open main floor living centered around a big screen tv and gas fireplace. Fully equipped kitchen. 3 bedrooms/1 bath on top floor. 1 bedroom/1 bath and spacious living area on lower level. Kitchenette, big screen, and air hockey table on lower level. Laundry room with front loader washer and dryer. Back deck equipped with gas grill, dining and lounge furniture, and a chiminea. Our home sleeps 10 comfortably.

THIS IS OUR PRIMARY RESIDENCE AND IS FURNISHED AND STOCKED AS SUCH. YOU WILL NOT WANT FOR ANYTHING!!

***Please note we are in a family friendly neighborhood. No house parties. We ask that any travelers considering our home please know that you will need to be respectful of our neighbors and the neighborhood. No more than 5 cars are allowed (as a consideration to our neighborhood). All cars except 2 must be in the driveway. Maximum number of ADULT tenants (as per town code) is 6. Per HOA rules tenants must be related. Due to town code and neighborhood regulations we can no longer accept "friend groups". If you are a family looking for the perfect home to enjoy each other's company and our beautiful town, we are the home for you!!!***

More Details

Owner
Christy Lee
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 15, 2018

About Christy Lee

My husband graduated from Virginia Tech in the 90's. We moved to Blacksburg in 2002 and have been here ever since!!! We love the area and are fortunate to be able to call it home! We have 3 kids. Twin girls born in 2005 and a little boy born in 2009. We have one dog, a golden doodle named Jenny.

Christy Lee purchased this house in 2008

Why Christy Lee chose Blacksburg

Live in comfort while visiting your favorite town. The house is beautiful and comfortable making you feel at home.

What makes this house unique

If rented for three or more VT football games during the season, 8x8 area and refrigerator space in garage can be accommodated to leave tailgate supplies.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Blacksburg, Virginia

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 1/2 Bath on the Main Floor - toilet , 1/2 bath in the main hall on the main floor.
    Top Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sinks with a separate toilet and tub/shower area.
    Basement Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Basement Bathroom accessed from the living room and bedroom.
    Master bath - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Features double sinks, shower and spacious jetted tub.
  • All Full Bathrooms feature tile floors and tub/shower surrounds. All bathrooms are light and airy.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Top Floor Bedroom #1 - 1 double
    Top Floor Bedroom #2 - 1 double
    Top Floor Bedroom #3 - 1 double
    Basement Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
    Basement Living Room Sleep Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size sleep sofa in the basement living room area.
  • Master bedroom on the Main Floor features a queen size bed, ceiling fan, flat screen TV and an attached bath. All 3 bedrooms on the Top Floor feature a full size bed, ceiling fan and a shared bath. The Basement Bedroom Features 2 single beds, ceiling fan and a TV with an attached bath. There is a pull out sleep sofa in the basement living room area.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Historic and Beautiful Mountain Lake (where Dirty Dancing was filmed) is just 20 minutes from the house. Winterplace Ski Resort in WV is just 65 miles from the house. Blacksburg has MANY local eateries, as well as some chain establishments. A Franks Cinema with Bar and Restaurant, Bowling and Arcade just recently opened. VT features sports year round, live entertainment year round at The Moss Arts Center as well as other venues on campus, many local restaurants have live music most nights. There are several wineries in the region. One just 15 minutes from the house. Other fun close by destinations are Floyd, Roanoke, Draper, Christiansburg and New Castle to name a few. We welcome you to use any spices, condiments and baking items. Please replace any that run out. All dishes, pots/pans, etc are available for use. There will be extra paper towels in the pantry. There will be extra toilet paper in every bathroom. There will be firewood on the deck for use in the chiminea.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Minutes from downtown Blacksburg and Virginia Tech
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 38 reviews
Leesburg, VA
5

Graduation Touchdown!

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect landing place for graduation weekend. Our family found comfortable surroundings, a fully equipped kitchen, relaxing outdoor space and ample dining facilities. We took advantage of the grill and kitchen, avoiding the crowds at local restaurants and enjoying family meals just like at home. The attention to detail for guests in this home was appreciated. Highly recommended for large families who want to enjoy game weekends and especially graduation. Finding this place was a Hokie win for this family of six Hokies!

  • Submitted: 16-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking such good care of our home. I’m so glad our home worked so well for your family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely home.

  • 4 of 5

Lovely home, well taken care of. Smartly decorated, and appointed. Clean and spacious.

The only thing that made us feel a bit uncomfortable was that the owner came to the home while we were (not home) attending my son’s graduation to retrieve a leaf blower.

Very insecure feeling.

We felt like we were being checked up on.

  • Submitted: 9-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments about our home. We work very hard to prepare it for rental. I’m glad you enjoyed the space and that it worked well for you. I am VERY sorry about my husband stopping by. I was NOT happy with him when he told me he stopped by. He did knock on the main door before he entered the garage. He never entered the home. So sorry. Thanks again for your postive feedback and voicing your concern about my husband retrieving something from the garage. I hope you’ll keep us in mind for future trips to Blacksburg.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montpelier, Ohio
4

The house was large and comfortable making for a wonderful family time.

  • 4 of 5

The house was very clean and the owner was very acessible through the phone.

We had problems with the screen door of the front entrance. The owner had a neighbor come by to take a look at it and the very next day was able to resolve the issue. The owner was very concerned for our safety and showed a deep desire for us to enjoy our time there. She gave a 10 percent discount for the inconvenience.

Blacksburg is a town where vacation homes are rented for customers who are in town for the weekend to watch a football game. I have always used vacation homes for a week or two. The difference between the two environments was that we found the bed room dressers full if their clothes, the coat closet full of their clothes and the bed room closets about 3/4 full of their clothes. There was only two shelves in the refrigerator and in the freezer that were emptied out to store our stuff. The pantry was full but there was a laundry room next to the kitchen where we stored our food. The owner did give permission to use anything we wanted as far as food and spices with the stipulation that we replenish it if we used the last of it. I did express my concerns, and the owner said she would think about

giving more closet space for those customers staying a longer time.

Upon our arrival, there was a nice sized welcome basket on the kitchen island filled with a variety of things including a $5.00 Coupon for Carols doughnuts, one of my favorite places in Blacksburg. This was a very nice touch that I had not seen before.

Even though there were a few surprises, I would not hesitate renting this house again. The house was spacious and tastefully decorated. We were able to enjoy a wonderful family time. Thanks Christie.

  • Submitted: 19-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very Nice Personal Residence for Rent

  • 2 of 5

This VRBO home was very nice and the owner was generous and welcoming however, we were surprised to learn when we arrived that this is not a vacation home for rent. We were not aware or informed that this listing is actually a private residence and the owner vacates the premises before your arrival. It was somewhat unsettling to have access to someone's personal belongings (towels, bedding, food, etc.) We have rented through VRBO and those listings were always a "vacation" home that was rented to the public and used privately by the owner for vacation purposes. Also, although the cow pasture behind the home was quaint and we enjoyed seeing the animals, the donkeys brayed each night which kept some of our party awake.

  • Submitted: 30-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m very sorry you were disappointed with our home. It states “home” in our listing multiple times. Since your review I have added (in all CAPS) that this is our residence and is furnished as such. Many other renters, including me as a fellow VRBO renter, enjoy the amenities a “home” provides. I’m very sorry you did not. I’m also sorry you and your guests did not enjoy the cows and donkeys on the adjacent farm. Our family and many others that have stayed here have thoroughly enjoyed them and the noises they make, even in the middle of the night. The donkeys have been removed from the farm as of the end of March. I would like to clarify a few things for anyone reading this and considering renting our home: As stated, our listing says “home” many times and I have now added very clear language that it is our primary home/residence. With respect to personal belongings.. we have an office and a storage room we lock and include any items we don’t want renters having access to. Anything else is normal clothes, linens, food, etc you would expect to be in someone’s home. We supply separate towels and sheets that are only used for renters and bleached after each use. But there is access to our personal towels and such, should a guest need more than we provide as the separate rental linens. We completely clear out the fridge in the basement and mostly clear out the freezer in the basement allowing for food storage separate from our food. The fridge in the kitchen and garage are very neatly organized and cleaned before every rental allowing for as much storage in there as possible. Some room is left in the kitchen and garage freezer for storage. We have generously allowed renters to use items like spices, baking items, condiments, dishwasher and laundry detergent (if they wish) so that they do not have to bring all of that with them. I work VERY hard to clean and prepare our home for rental. I think those efforts are clear by the 34 5 star reviews and one 4 star review we have received prior to this 2 star review. I again apologize our home did not meet your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect for a large group attending a VT event

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed over a weekend to attend a VT football game. The house was conveniently located close to campus (about 15 minutes). We had enough room for our family to enjoy meals together. The house was very clean and the host responded promptly to any questions. I would definitely stay here another time!!

  • Submitted: 24-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! And thanks for taking such good care of our home!! I would like to add for anyone reading this that is considering renting our home because of our proximity to Virginia Tech. We are only 2.6 miles from Virginia Tech and 3.1 miles from Lane Stadium. Game Day traffic might make that drive 15 minutes. It usually about a 5 minute drive. Thanks again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mechanicsville
5

Gorgeous home and location was perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

We could not have asked for a better situation. The home was spacious, bright and very clean! They had everything in the house that you would possibly need -- I think they have thought of everything!! It was perfect for our get-away football game weekend and was conveniently located only 2 miles from our daughters' apartment complex and maybe 5 miles from campus and our other kids. We definitely would like to come back and rent this property again! Checking in and out was a piece of cake and the owners had a nice little welcome package for our group. Thank you so much, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay -- we just wish it could have been longer! So, until next time . . .

  • Submitted: 25-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!!!!! We look forward to having you back! Thanks for taking such good care of our home!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Roanoke
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
A lot of bars!!
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
The River Course or Virginia Tech
Nearest Train
90 Miles
Lynchburg or Staunton.
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
622
Nearest Ski
65 Miles
Winterplace, WV
Car: recommended

Nestled in the foothills of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, Blacksburg, VA offers a variety of activities. The stunning colors of fall provide the perfect backdrop for Virginia Tech tailgating and football games. The winter months will feature the Buzz Williams intensified, Virginia Tech basketball program. And of course, spring is time to celebrate all the hard work at graduation! Summertime is exquisite in the Burg. Come and play like a local and visit VT while the students are away! Visit all the local festivals, lakes, and historic attractions the New River Valley has to offer. Or just relax, at sunset, on our spacious deck overlooking the open field with a bottle of local wine.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Blacksburg, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
VT vs William and Mary
Sep 7 2018 - Sep 9 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$1,055
 
 
VT vs East Carolina
Sep 14 2018 - Sep 16 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$1,055
 
 
VT vs Notre Dame
Oct 5 2018 - Oct 7 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$1,450
 
 
VT 2019 Spring Graduation
May 16 2019 - May 19 2019
3 night minimum stay
C$1,714
 
 
VT 2020 Spring Graduation
May 14 2020 - May 17 2020
3 night minimum stay
C$1,846
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$791
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee C$197.76
Damage Insurance C$77.79

If you rent for 3 or more VT Football Game Weekends we will provide an 8x8 area in the garage and a fridge in the garage for storage of tailgating supplies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties