Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

3 Story Riverfront Custom Home With Stunning Views and Separate Apartment

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 325 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautifully Unique Property That Creates Dream Vacations And Memories

This beautiful, well-appointed mountain retreat sits on the bank of the American River with its back doors just feet away from the water’s edge. This home sits on a secluded, wooded ¾ acre lot with 75 feet of private riverfront providing an unmatched tranquil setting for a Tahoe getaway. Summertime swimming and fishing just out the back door in the trout-filled American River, winter snow skiing is minutes away, and the historic town of Strawberry brings charm and outdoor activities to fill the days.

The property sits on Strawberry Lane just behind the historic Strawberry Lodge off Highway 50. An easy walk to Strawberry Lodge provides dining and exploration of an historic 1858 hotel that was once a Pony Express stop. The home is also within walking distance to the historic Pony Express Trail and Lover's Leap, a hot spot for rock climbers and hikers of all experience levels. Nearby Echo Lake is a wonderful spot for boating, kayaking, fishing and hiking. Sierra Ski Resort is only 5 miles up the road from the house. Additional nearby ski resorts include Kirkwood and Sierra at Tahoe, along with Hope Valley for cross-country skiing, snowshoeing and more. Snowmobiling and off-roading parks are also nearby.

The main house is decorated top to bottom with custom furnishings, framed with dramatic cathedral ceilings and loaded with additional appointments all creating a cozy and warm mountain feel. The home's front door leads into the main living area providing an instant Tahoe allure as the beautiful interior decor mirrors the stunning outside landscape. The custom chef's kitchen boasts a large cook top island, quality appliances and ample counter space for preparing meals. An open design unifies the kitchen with the dining and living areas. There are comfortable couches, a large HDTV suspended from the ceiling for optimal viewing, grand natural-stone hearth with a wood burning fire place and three large sliding glass doors leading out to a wrap-around porch with patio seating and a gas BBQ.

The master bedroom, located just off the main living area, hosts a comfortable queen bed, plenty of storage, a full bath and easy access to the back deck through a sliding glass door. The home's laundry room is also on the main floor with full size washer/dryer and additional storage. Large windows throughout the home provide a perfectly framed view of the surrounding woods and river.

Head down to the home's lower level and find a large, cozy bedroom just steps away from the American River through a beautiful sliding glass door. A timeless large brick hearth houses another wood-burning fireplace in this bedroom. A second set of large windows provide beautiful views of a lower deck and sitting area framed by beautiful trees.

Upstairs from the main living area is a third floor loft, a third bedroom and another full bathroom. The loft is a well-appointed relaxation and social area with two convertible couches for extra sleeping spaces. A dartboard along with a table and chairs provide indoor space to gather or seek quiet time. The third floor bedroom has a comfortable queen bed along with a bunk comprised of a full size bed on the bottom and twin bed on the top. The home's beautiful vaulted and exposed beam ceilings continue throughout the third floor.

This property also boasts a detached one-bedroom apartment. The apartment has easy access from a set of stairs near the driveway and from an elevated walkway off the third floor loft. The apartment/s bedroom has a beautiful and comfortable queen size bed. The living area has a convertible couch, wood burning stove and TV. There is a full size kitchen and bath making this a great get-away for your additional quests.

If you are looking for memories that will last a lifetime, this rental property will exceed every expectation.

More Details

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Strawberry

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 325 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1, main level - toilet , shower , Nice bathroom with walking in shower, toilet and vanity
    Bathroom 2 upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , The bathroom upstairs is large with a duel vanity.
    Apartment Bathroom - toilet , shower , Full bath in the Apartment with a walk in shower and vanity
  • The bathrooms are all tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathrooms and bedrooms all include towels and linens for all our guests.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 Lower Level on the edge of the American River - 1 queen , This room has a sliding glass door out to the backyard.
    Bedroom 2, Master on the Main Living Floor - 1 king
    Bedroom 3, Upstairs just off the loft - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , This is a fantastic room on the 3rd floor
    3rd Floor Loft - 2 sleep sofa /futon , The loft area has two convertible couches
    Apartment with bedroom, full kitchen and full bath - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , The apartment has a queen convertible and a queen size bed
  • This property gives you tons of sleeping options. All the beds are comfortable and all the beds are fitted with nice linens. Lots of extra blankets are provided for your comfort.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
Notes:
The house is AMAZING. The back doors sit on the bank of the American River!!!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
3 Story Riverfront Custom Home With Stunning Views and Separate Apartment
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 15 reviews
5

Another Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay again this year in Strawberry. The location is just wonderful, especially with the river running strong after this past winter's significant snowfall. Already looking forward to next year.

  • Submitted: 18-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Heaven

  • 4 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay. A bit disappointed not to have been able to use the hot tub. Kind of annoyed there were no face cloths provided in bath linens. Found blood stains on one master bed pillow case. The loose wall cover piece near the frig needs to be reattached. Kind of tight fitting our eleven around the table. But the property is lovely in spite of the scary river rapids in the back yard! The basement bedroom needs to be aired out; rather mildew smelling. All in all, we would recommend this property.

  • Submitted: 30-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are excited that you enjoyed our beautiful river front property. We apologize for the hot tub not working, it was damaged after the 2016/2017 storm season and getting parts was challenging. We are happy to report the hot tub is back up and running and the river is back down to its normal flows. Weather your vision is to enjoy the river while dining on the deck, soaking in the hot tub or sitting along its edge, this property provides a "once in a lifetime" experience. Thanks again for the booking and we hope to have you back soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great house and setting

  • 5 of 5

Splendid place with great deck overlooking the river. Couldn't have asked for a better spot for our annual boyz get together. House comfortably fit all 11 of us. Recommend it highly.

  • Submitted: 30-Mar-2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks again for booking our property. We are happy to share our property with you and your guests and we welcome you back anytime!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Yearly family trip

  • 5 of 5

It needed a little up keep. Lots of spider webs this year than the year before. Overall, its very roomy and we still had a great time. Love the location. This is our 2nd year coming here. There will be a 3rd.

  • Submitted: 13-Mar-2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice house but no hot tub or wifi

  • 3 of 5

We rented this home at the beginning of February, following a bunch of big snow storms. There were 12 of us (6 adults, 6 kids under 8yo). The main house was nice, though the kitchen could use some better pots/pans and cooking tools. I never got to see the apartment because the walkway was so icy that nobody wanted to risk sleeping over there. So at the last minute we all crammed into the main house. This was disappointing. The down side of all the powder was that the owners/property managers didn't clear the snow from the hot tub or the satellite dish, meaning no soak after the slopes and no TV. The hot tub was a huge bummer because this was the key reason why we chose this house over many other (less expensive) homes. The property management tried to convince me that we wouldn't use the hot tub anyway, but I'd rather make that choice myself than be denied the comfort outright. I asked for a discount, and was denied. I was told I should feel lucky for being able to rent the house because the weeks prior it was closed altogether. I STILL think I should have received a discount for not being able to enjoy one of the features I paid for, not to mention having to move one of the families out of the apartment because it was unsafe to walk between the house and the apartment. It was all inconvenient, and embarrassing as the hostess of the weekend.

  • Submitted: 13-Feb-2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry you had some issues, it was a very difficult time for us because of the big storms of 2017. Many people living in the basin experienced suffering like we are not accustomed to and we did our best to accommodate everyone. When this guest arrived, the hot tub and the back deck were buried in 6 ft of ice/snow. These guests called me and they spent 1/2 a day digging out the hot tub that had been buried for almost 3 wks. They called me and said that they could not get it working. When i arrived it was not only not working but it was heavily damaged from the 6 ft of snow and ice that had been sitting on it for a few wks. It was such a rough season that we were advising guests not to go out on the decks for their safety. The the constant mix of snow and rain made the areas surrounding our properties very dangerous. I can understand that they would be upset because they spent so much time breaking ice and we were sympathetic to their feelings, that is why I drove to the property. The other issue is the TV which runs off Satellite and when it is buried in snow, it does not receive a signal. We have filled the DVR with many random shows and movies for young and old in case of this situation and there is a DVD player. When we met with the guest our comment to lighten the situation was "i guess we can look on the bright side and it is the best snow in 15 years". The guest seemed happy and content and i am not sure how it changed into this review. This is a fantastic home on the edge of the South Fork of the American River that offers a "Once in a Lifetime" vacationing experience. It is the nicest home on the river in the entire neighborhood. We work very hard to provide guests with every possible avenue to maximize their experience.This winter was very difficult for everyone but our guests pleasure while staying at our property is most important. Please look at the other reviews and you will see that everyone is satisfied and loves this house. We want, more then anything, our guests to feel relaxed and comfortable, that is what is most important. Please give me a call anytime if you have any questions, i would love to chat. Have a great day!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Fantastic and very relaxing trip!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time, didn't want to leave and want to go back !

  • Submitted: 21-Oct-2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property Manager

Dale Stephens
Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 13, 2018

About Dale Stephens

We manage a few different properties in the South Lake Tahoe area. We take great pride in providing clean, comfortable vacation properties. It is very important to us that you have a great vacation experience. Feel free to contact us anytime if you have any questions or if we can assist you in any way.

Dale Stephens purchased this house in 2013

Why Dale Stephens chose Strawberry

This property is the top property in the Strawberry area. Fish along the home's private riverbank or relax in the hot tub overlooking the scenic American River. Numerous activities within walking distance provide ample entertainment and relaxation for all guests. Explore the historic Strawberry Lodge which was once a Pony Express stop. Sierra Ski Resort is 5 miles up the road and there are many outside activities in the area including Echo Lake, Lover's Leap for hiking and climbing, winter sledding and much more. Lake Tahoe, City of South Lake Tahoe and the casinos are only 20 minutes away.

What makes this house unique

Nestled on the bank of the South Fork of the American River, the sounds and woods surrounding this home are truly amazing. Complete comfort resides within every aspect of this mountain retreat. This well-appointed property takes care of visitors from the inside furnishings and charm to the outside beauty and private riverfront. Swim, fish and relax on the bank with the house only steps away.

Location

Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Sierra Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Just as you enter town on Hwy 50, the Strawberry Lodge is on the Right and a small Market is on the Left. The locals that own the market are great and you will find them enjoying time with others in the evenings. There are very limited supplies in the area so be sure you pack everything you will need before heading up the mountain. The house come with enough basics to get renters started. If you have a big group or are staying more then a couple days, be sure to bring some basics with you including trash bags.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Strawberry

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Presidents Weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$816
 
 
Presidents Week
Feb 19 2018 - Feb 22 2018
4 night minimum stay
C$628
 
 
Winter
Feb 23 2018 - Apr 26 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$534
From
C$722
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$502
From
C$691
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$282.56 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit C$627.9
Pet Fee C$56.51
Tax Rate 10.0%

We have great Daily and Weekly rates. If you have dates in mind, please send us a inquiry and we can put together a rate package that will be the lowest in the neighborhood.
$500 fully refundable damage deposit that is returned 7 days after check out
Guests are required to sign a standard Rental Agreement upon booking, provide a valid ID and Credit Card. By booking this property, you agree to our terms. Contact us directly if you wish to cancel, cancellations will be charged a admin fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable