Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Small Plum Island Cottage-Perfect Family Vacation Rental

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 41 m²
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

The "Little House" is a one bedroom cottage on Plum Island. We have recently done renovations to the cottage so it now has new appliances, shiny hardwood floors and two skylights. There is a full size bed in the bedroom, a set of bunk beds and a pull out couch for sleeping. The kitchen has basic utensils and cookware (if cooking will be part of your vacation plans). If your vacation doesn't include cooking, the island has 3 restaurants to choose from that are a bike ride away. Downtown Newburyport is approx 4 miles away and there are many dining options there. Newburyport also has festivals and outdoor concerts throughout the summer months. The island itself has some of the best striper fishing around and is well known for its many habitats of birds and the Reservation that is on the southern portion of the island. There is a small sandy beach on the river a short walk away from the cottage. This beach is the perfect beach to watch a summer sunset!


Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Plum Island, Massachusetts

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 41 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom has a shower stall, toilet and sink. There is a window in the bathroom that looks into the side yard.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size built in bed with under storage. A coffee table and small closet for hanging clothes. The bedroom has two windows and a door to the yard.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Renters will need to supply their own linens.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
30% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Small Plum Island Cottage-Perfect Family Vacation Rental
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
4

Small and efficient greeat access to riverside beach.

  • 4 of 5

This is a small cottage that has everything you need. Very good use of the space with a small yard for bbq, fire pit and outdoor enjoyment. About a mile from the Ocean side beach.

  • Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a pleasure dealing with the owners. They went above and beyond !

  • 5 of 5

The property was perfect in location, size and accommodations. Again, the owners go above to make it a great vacation . My family already wants to make to go back.

  • Submitted: 22-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very cute cottage. A few improvements and it would be great!

  • 3 of 5

There were tons of cob webs everywhere when we arrived, I had to spend money and time cleaning, the vaccum cleaner hose kept coming detached from the floor attachment making it basically useless and there wasn't a single broom in the house, making clean up of beach sand impossible. The curtain rod above the sliding glass doors was a cheap thin rod made for a valence and not paneled curtains. The rod fell down constantly and hit my children several times. The outdoor water spicket did not work so we couldn't wash our feet off after returning from the beach. Lastly, we had to throw half of our groceries away after ants got into the cabinets. Regardless we had a great vacation and the kids had a blast!

  • Submitted: 5-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry to hear of your experience at our cottage. I wish you had made us aware of these problems either by text/phone or when Steve came over midweek to check in on you. I have bought a new curtain rod and hanger for the shade over the slider. I will drive over and check in with our current tenants to see if they want me to put it up now or after they leave. While I am there I will check on the ant situation. We have never had a problem like you have described previously, so we will want to fix that as soon as possible. The broom is in the shed so I will move that into the cottage. Thank you for wanting to take care of the cottage by vacuuming and sweeping. I have to admit I didn't think that any of our tenants used those so they were not readily available. Thank you for your comments and I really hope that these unfortunate events didn't ruin your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wedding weekend

  • 5 of 5

5 of us stayed for a family wedding. Wonderful cottage! Cozy, clean and comfy great location! Great price ! The owners are lovely to

Talk to. They answered my questions via e mail and phone! Stay!!!😎😎😎

  • Submitted: 7-Oct-2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great weekend getaway!!!!

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was really lovely. Everything was clean and modern. Great location to walk to the beaches or a short bike ride to downtown Newburyport. We had a great weekend and would absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone!

  • Submitted: 18-Sep-2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado
5

Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was lovely. Plum Island provided for wonderful adventures. Newburyport is also beautiful, rain or shine! The cottage was clean and comfortable. We will definitely look to repeat our rental! The beach within walking distance made for great fun in the water.

  • Submitted: 30-Aug-2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Julie and Steve Ostrander
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
February 8, 2018

Location

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Beachcoma or Plum Island Grill
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Newburyport T Station
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
US 95
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Plum Island Beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Plum Island, Massachusetts

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Oct 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
C$1,390
C$4,737
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$189
C$1,263
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance C$125.07

Availability is subject to change until reservation is paid and confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable