Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

West Tisbury Home, Peaceful, Affordable, 3 BR, Near Bike Path

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Our home is located on a private road, nestled within a pine and oak grove. This location offers both quiet and convenience to town, beaches and attractions. Directly across from the entrance to our road is an entrance to the island bike path. The paved bike path runs all through the state forest and is perfect for that morning run, leisurely bike ride or a peaceful evening walk. Tennis courts are located just down the road. The large deck has a picnic table that seats 8, perfect for al fresco dining! There are also comfortable deck chairs for lounging. The large yard is perfect for a game of kickball, Volleyball, resting in the hammock or just bird watching. The house has an open floor plan with cathedral ceiling, newer kitchen, washer & dryer and an additional outdoor shower. The downstairs has 1 full bath, 1 bedroom with a queen bed and 2 dressers and another bedroom with a queen futon and flat screen TV. Upstairs is a 3rd bedroom with 3 twin beds perfect for kids. The main living room has a 42" flat screen TV with DVD player. WiFi is also included in the house. The kitchen is fully equipped and has a table that will seat 6. There is a Weber charcoal grill available for use as well. 12 minutes from Vineyard Haven and ferry. Flexible arrangements are available to accommodate ferry reservation availability.

Darla Glab
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 16, 2018

About Darla Glab

This is our family home, loving built mostly by my father and mother. We have added upgrades throughout the years to keep it updated. Generation after generation has enjoyed many happy times going fishing, going to the beach, bike riding on the bike path and all of the activities that Martha's Vineyard has to offer. We especially love to have our steamers (clams) and lobsters out on the deck as a summertime ritual. And taking an outdoor shower is must for a true Vineyard experience. We take pride in our home and want to share a wonderful Vineyard experience with others. We are always open to suggestions on ways to improve your rental time in our home. Please do not hesitate to call or email us during your stay.

Darla Glab purchased this house in 1970


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in West Tisbury, Massachusetts

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Cancellation Policy Revised - 30 days or less, NO Refund
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


3.3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
West Tisbury Home, Peaceful, Affordable, 3 BR, Near Bike Path
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 3 reviews
University Park

This home is in bad need of an updated overhaul

  • 1 of 5

We arrived at this home on a hot humid day only to find this home did not have real air conditioning as stated but rather they had a loud noisy spot cooler inconveniently placed next to the TV in the living room which blew a little bit of cool air but you only felt it if you stood over the spot cooler. Then we looked for fans to place in the bedrooms and they had a few old small fans that didn't really move the air and 1 standing fan and a large square fan that really didn't fit anywhere. Then the outlets were hard to get to and they weren't placed in convenient places. If we didn't have our own surge protectors, we wouldn't have been able to plug everything in. So, for the first hour in this home, we had to plug in all the surge protectors, lamps (as they were all unplugged for some reason and many of the lamps did not have bulbs in them and they were the source of light. We were hot and exhausted. I even texted the owner asking if there were additional fans and she said all the fans were in the home. We were very frustrated after the 1st hour there. Then, we assessed the bedroom situation only to find out the room off the living room was not a bedroom with a dresser and closet but rather a room with a very old futon. The futon was extremely difficult to open to a bed but there was no place to put our clothes and we were there for 2 weeks. The bedding was very very old and the bed spreads were shredded on the inside. The indoor outdoor carpeting in the house had stains all over, the refrigerator had ugly rust stains on the front, the bathroom shower curtain was old and ripped and the throw rugs were old and disgusting to the point, I had to wash them as soon as I arrived. The owners have broken down furniture stored in the house like, an old office chair next to the dining table (which is sagging horribly). In the loft area there is old furniture just stored there. It's basically a junkie place. The deck was nice to sit outside and drink coffee in the morning and the yard was a nice view. The location was centrally located so you could easily access Vineyard Haven. However, this house was not comfortable to live in for 2 weeks and it was way overpriced for the state of the home. I would suggest even inexpensive upgrades (new bedding, new mattresses, new bathroom upgrades, get rid of that horrific stained carpeting and upgraded chilled air to this home would improve it greatly.

  • Submitted: 28-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dona, Thank you for your honest review. We are aware that the house is need of some updates and are working to get those done. Keep in mind that the house is only used 3 1/2 months out of the year, June - mid Sept. So even if something was replaced 3-4 years ago, it is still basically new, as it is not heavily used. We replaced both TVs with Flat Screens 2 years ago. We added a BLU Ray player and purchased a new entertainment center table. We also upgraded the Cable Service to include WiFi. We replaced the microwave and clothes dryer (with new, not refurbished) 3 years ago. We replaced the deck picnic table this year (2017) with a new one and purchased a new Weber Charcoal grill. We purchased new 400-500+ thread count sheets and blankets last spring (2016) and this spring (2017). I am sorry if they did not meet your standards or were not placed by the cleaning service. We are also in the process of investigating a new cooling system. We had scheduled the carpet to be replaced this past Spring (2017) with laminate flooring, unfortunate events kept that from happening. We hope to do it next Spring (2018). We have already started investigating a new cooling system for the house as well. We are transitioning the care of the house from my mom to us, and we are doing our best to manage all of the updates and maintain regular care. I do hope that your time on the island was enjoyable despite the few issues at the house. It really is a special place. regards, Darla & Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to relax and to enjoy the Island

  • 4 of 5

We had a great family time! Mrs Glab made sure everything was ok for us when we arrived. We've enjoyed all the facilities at the house (clean linen, soap in the showers, spices to cook, towels), the house was clean and perfect for our party of 5 (3 adults and 2 children). The ground around the house is large and well kept, we hear birdsongs all day long and the house is close to the bike path.

  • Submitted: 12-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that everything at the house was beneficial to you. I hope that you and your family will return again. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Another Wonderful Vacation on Galway Road

  • 5 of 5

Our family has vacationed for many years at this house on Galway Road and always found it comfortable, clean, and a great place to relax. The location of the house is excellent with an entrance to the island's bike path directly across the street for biking, running, and walking. As the house is near the center of the island, it is an easy drive to any of the towns or beaches, hiking paths, Farmer's Markets or restaurants. The owners have furnished the house with comfortable beds, chairs and sofas. The kitchen has a full supply of dishes, pots, pans, baking pans, utensils, and glasses. There are plenty of linens and towels. The open floor plan allowed our family and guests to enjoy each other while preparing meals, watching TV or sitting on the deck while the bedrooms are set off to the side allowing privacy. The large yard with charcoal grill, Adirondack chairs and hammock is a huge plus. We enjoyed many meals at the picnic table on the deck watching the birds at the feeders and the turkeys who strolled through the yard. The neighbors on the road were all friendly making us feel at home during our stay. As the owners were very helpful in answering our questions and responding to emails promptly we felt cared for.

  • Submitted: 8-Sep-2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having you and your family every year at our home. Sharing the wonders of the island is what we strive for every summer! thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in West Tisbury, Massachusetts

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer Season 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Sep 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning C$164.8
Refundable Damage Deposit C$329.6

No smoking and no pets allowed. Check-in time is 3:00 pm and check-out time is 10:00 am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties