Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Irish Channel 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Apartment

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Charming 2 bedroom furnished apartment for rent in the Irish Channel. Recently completely renovated, this 1100 sq. foot apartment has hardwood floors throughout, 12 foot ceilings, stainless appliances and granite countertops in the kitchen, mantles in each room, and two full bathrooms. Bedrooms include 2 queen sized beds. Plenty of storage space, including a walk-in closet in the master bedroom. This apartment is in a great neighborhood, one block from Magazine St., and is in walking distance to all that Magazine St. has to offer - Starbucks, Stein's Deli, Tracey's, Parasols, The Bulldog, etc. Utilities - electricity, cable, water, and alarm - are included. Flexible lease offerings: weekly, monthly, six months and/or one year.

More Details

James Ludwig
Member since: 2015
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About James Ludwig

My name is James. My wife and I purchased this house in 2010 shortly before we got married. We lived in this house until 2016 when we moved next door.

James Ludwig purchased this house in 2010

Why James Ludwig chose Irish Channel

This house is in New Orleans' Irish Channel neighborhood. We're right in the heart of Magazine street, with lot's of restaurants, bars, coffee shops, and shopping nearby. Within a short walk, you can experience two restaurants consistently ranking in New Orleans' top ten - Commander's Palace and Coquette. There's also a Starbucks just a block away, not to mention our favorite deli - Stein's Deli.

What makes this house unique

We're so close to everything and you get the best of all parts of NOLA - Uptown, Garden District, Downtown, and French Quarter. The Garden District and all of its beautiful homes are just on the other side of Magazine Street. St. Charles Avenue, where you can catch the street car, is just 6 blocks away. The French Quarter and Central Business District are in walking distance - about 2.5 miles. The Universities - Loyola and Tulane - are also nearby.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Irish Channel, Louisiana

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Two full bathrooms - one with a shower, the other with a shower and tub.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen sized beds in both bedrooms. A queen sized air mattress is available at additional cost.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • festivals
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Irish Channel 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Apartment
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews

Beautiful home, perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5

Clear communication with owner, smooth check-in and check-out. James' home is larger in person and easily accommodated our group. The location is a short walk to St. Charles street car line and adjacebt to the shops and restaurants of Magazine Street. I highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: 11-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us, Lindsay! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very nice

  • 5 of 5

We would stay again. Very clean. As described, no surprises.

  • Submitted: 16-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Annapolis, MD

Very cool old style New Orleans home

  • 5 of 5

Clean, great shape, love Magazine street and all the charm, very attentive Hosts

  • Submitted: 2-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

We really wanted to love this rental, but it needs to be known we did find cockroaches in the kitchen. We googled every possible bug in hoping we were mistaken but sadly we just confirmed even more it was a cockroach. Everything else about this duplex was great (location, size, street parking, neighbors, and it was an adorable shotgun). The owner said this was common occurrence in New Orleans and they have an exterminator come all the time but our party have been to the city before with other accommodation with no issues similar to this ever. I would like to note, the owner was willing to offer a refund but in exchange for not leaving a review. At first I did consider this if we were refunded 3/4's of our money, but after couldn't fully except the 1/4th he offered and not leaving a review. I feel others need to know of my groups experience and be aware of what we found. It was extremely disheartening as our vacation was ruined and we left immediately upon finding the cockroaches and had to pay for extra hotel fees out of pocket, with no help from VRBO at all. I do have a case currently investigating this claim but no refund, extra hotel bills and a horrific experience. This perhaps was out of the ordinary and may never happen to anyone else in this rental, and the owner will probably resolve this issue immediately (we're hoping), but it should be known. New Orleans is a wonderful city with amazing people and we will return again soon, please don't let this review discourage you from visiting such a beloved vibrate city.

  • Submitted: 29-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is an unfortunate review that we have asked VRBO to independently investigate, as this guest submitted pictures that did not contain one bug of any kind and attempted to extort by threatening a bad review unless she received a refund that was 75 percent of the booking amount. This guest occupied the rental for 2 nights of a 3 night stay and was offered a refund of 50 percent of the fees that we received for the booking. Our offer to refund was rescinded after several attempts to reach an amicable agreement and the guest’s continued threats (which as mentioned above are under investigation by VRBO). Please read our other reviews and understand that many of them have been left by guests that stayed with us for several weeks at a time - if there was a bug problem, those guests would have noticed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great Neighborhood, great neighbors, helpful owners

  • 5 of 5

Location and southern charm make this rental a great place to stay. Walking distance to great restaurants and attractions in one of NO best loations. Owners were very helpful and made the stay special for us. Local restaurants galore with great food and plenty of street parking. Safe to walk at night and a very freindly lab (Lola) next door. We are coming back!

  • Submitted: 5-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful home in an amazing location!

  • 5 of 5

The home was well appointed and very comfortable. The neighborhood was peaceful and parking was easy. The owners were very nice and easy to reach for questions. The written instructions for use of the property were concise and helpful for finding nearby places to eat and visit. I highly recommend this home for anyone who wants to be centrally located and enjoy excellent accommodations on their trip.

  • Submitted: 14-Mar-2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Irish Channel, Louisiana

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Jazz Fest
Apr 25 2018 - May 9 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection C$100.81
Cleaning Fee C$114.85

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties