Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

An area of outstanding natural beauty, child and pet friendly , very private!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Mountain views, 3 bedrooms ,2 bathrooms, self equipped kitchen , large garden

If you are looking for a glorious get away from it - all - haven of tranquillity and peace then look no further.

Restored in 2013 to its original traditional tranquillity but still offering the comforts of modern contemporary life. Our cottage is welcoming and cosy, offering all the character of a traditional old cottage with all modern convenience you expect from a luxury escape. We aim to provide not just a self catering accomodation but a country living experience like home, where you can bring your dog and walk out your door into the countryside undisturbed by traffic and let time stand still.The cottage is tucked away in picturesque views of Lough Derg surrounded by the stunning countryside.

If walking is your niche there are a number of local ring roads to enjoy the beautiful breath taking views. If you wish to travel a little further afield you can take a boat trip on the unspoilt Eastern shores of Lough Derg.

For the angler, the Nenagh river is very popular for trout and perch, whist Lough Derg for May fly fishing season.

Bikes are available and we can arrange additional biker hire to enjoy routes in and around Lough Derg.

For those interested in history, Nenagh town is a short distance away with its castle and local heritage centre, or further afield The Rock of Cashel and Cliffs of Moher, or nearby cities of Limerick and Galway.

The Dairy Cottage is between Puckane and Nenagh with Tennis clubs and Nenagh Golf club making it a perfect location for the sports enthusiast.

The cottage is provided to cater for every need for the holidaymaker. The cottage is open plan with classic wooden beams featuring throughout the lounge and master bedroom.

It is designed with full interior package,central heating system, traditional country styled designed kitchen containing all top of the range electrical appliances. The kitchen opens out onto a patio and landscaped gardens surrounded by picture perfect views of the unspoilt rural Irish countryside. Free WiFi included.

A spacious lounge with a large open stove fireplace giving a homely and warm ambiance to the house.

Nearest traditional Irish Pubs (regular music/entertainment) and the vilage shop is only half a mile away, 10 minute walk from the cottage.

The cottage is 4 star approved by Failte Ireland Tourism Development Authority, it has been inspected and approved 2014.

More Details

sheila fogarty
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our small family stayed at The Dairy Cottage for 3 mid week nights in August whilst visiting family and from the moment we arrived it was an excellent experience. We were given a very warm welcome by the owner, who showed us round the beautiful cottage. There was home made bread for us as well as a freshly baked Tart! Once left to fend for ourselves we found the cottage to be beautiful, finished to a very high standard, with everything you could need. It was like we were the first guests, very clean and fresh with hugely comfortable beds and stunning views from the patio. Our children loved the cows and the safe and private space around the house. Pocan is a lovely village and a visit to Kennedys for live music is a must do! We would definitely recommend over any 5 star hotel and will definitely be coming back.
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 5


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Blackfort, Ireland

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Family
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • 1 king size bed with maghony furnisturer together with soft furnishings. 1 double room with soft furnishings and en-suite. 1 triple room with double and single bed together with soft furnishings and en-suite
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
An area of outstanding natural beauty, child and pet friendly , very private!
average rating of 4.7 based on 15 reviews
Brooklyn N.Y. Mims,Florida

Great location, wonderful people and fantastic view

  • 5 of 5

Staying at the Dairy Cottage was a wonderful experience for my grandchildren. They interacted with Michael while he was milking the cows. The cottage is in a great location for all tourist areas.

Will highly recommend staying there. Shelia and Michael are a wonderful couple and they will make your stay worth while.

  • Submitted: 17-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Such a great stay my family will return again, even if it's just 3 of us!

  • 5 of 5

Before reviewing the Dairy Cottage, I wanted to address the negative reviews as let's be honest, those are really the ones we read first, not just the ones talking about the gorgeous view of the valley (which is does have).

The kitchen is well stocked & supplied with both a microwave & as many utensils as you could possibly need. The comments about Michael and Sheila as owners completely baffle me which leads me to draw my own conclusions about those who spoke poorly about them as hosts. You'd have to be a pretty miserable person to find the Fogerty's anything but wonderful (sorry, tried to bite my tongue but just couldn't!).

If you expect close/daily interaction with the owners of your cottage it's probably best to ask those questions before booking, if you expect a B&B situation, communicate that or ask if that's the type of place you're renting!

Now onto the good stuff:

The Cottage is impeccable. The pictures are completely accurate, and yes....the view out the back patio of the cottage is everything your Irish holiday/vacation dreams are envisioning and more. The beds are firm, comfortable, and put you into a deep sleep. Bathrooms are very well equipped, clean, and modern.

The baked goods upon arrival and milk in the fridge are perfect for that quick snack/boost you need before taking your jet-lagged self to the Tesco nearby for your groceries for your stay. The fact that Sheila finds time between her work, her young child, and the cottage to bake (from scratch) delicious treats for the arrival of her guests is just awesome.

I stayed in the cottage with my husband, 1.5yr old daughter (travel cot and highchair provided), my mother-in-law, and my mother and father. We were very comfortable, found more than enough space to cook dinners in the kitchen together as well as retreat to our bedrooms to relax for some quiet time was great.

We also arranged to tour the dairy farm on one of our more relaxed days at the cottage. My daughter loved it (as did we!) and it was so nice to have that extra time to get to know Michael a little better.

My husband and I have used Homeaway to rent apartments/homes/cottages in Adare, Ireland; Cortona, Italy; Bolonga, Italy; The Cape in the USA; Cinque Terre, Italy, & downtown Boston, MA, USA. I TRULY & HONESTLY can say, without bias, the Fogerty's are the most kind, genuine, and passionate hosts we've ever had.

You will have no regrets with this cottage, the owners, or the location. All were beyond perfect!

  • Submitted: 15-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Emily for such a wonderful review. Michael and I are so touched by it . Thank you for the beautiful photo you sent us , it was lovely to have met you and your beautiful family . I hope our paths cross again in the future . All the best , Sheila, Michael and baby Conor xx
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely Home, but...

  • 3 of 5

The Dairy Cottage is a lovely property, just wish we could have enjoyed it more. The day before our arrival Shelia emailed me and asked what time we would be arriving and that they were looking forward to meeting us. Since the arrival instructions say check-in is at 4 I emailed her back and said that we would be there around 4. We arrived at the house at 3:55 and no one was there. At around 4:30 we checked the front door and it was unlocked and the house key was on the table along with a sweet treat. We wandered around the house and figured out all the little details that it would have been nice to have explained to you. Around 8:30 Michael rang the door bell and said hello what time did you get in? I said 4 and he said he must have just missed us. That was the extent of our contact for the entire 6 days we were there (other than me emailing Shelia that there was no hair dryer). As I said the house was lovely and I do not have any complaints in that department.

We have been renting homes in various countries and localities for several years now, and I have never once arrived at a home that I was renting and not been greeted. Honestly we felt like an annoying house guest that you are just hoping will leave (we almost did).

  • Submitted: 13-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Terry We are disappointed that you feel that way about our hospitality . It was not intentional not to meet you on arrival , I was there but obviously due to timing we both missed each other and I sincerely apologies for that and I did not see or hear you passing in nor there was no contact from you to say you had arrived . Sometimes guests do not arrival on the expected time of arrival due to traffic and unforeseen circumstance so I left and returned later . When I did meet you I found you very pleasant and I was about to show you around the house but you assured me you had it figured out . However , I could not say the same for your partner Dan . When I welcomed Dan he remained foscused on the Television , I walked over to shake his hand and welcome him , Dan briefly lifted his head to shake my hand and returned watching the TV. At this stage I was feeling very unwanted in my very own house . So feeling that uneasy I returned to you and asked if you needed to know anything else and then Dan spoke up and still remained focused on the television his exact words to you were “ ask him how the god dam coffee machine works “ the manner and tone this was said in I really felt that it was excessively rude so I once again asked if you needed anything and told you if you need anything contact myself or Sheila anytime . I fear I could not be more obliging than this and felt that you really wanted to be left alone and I did so . So I apologies for our break down in communication and we are upset that you feel you were not welcomed and we will note your comment and take note for the future . Thank you for your constructive criticism . Regards Michael and Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Wonderful cottage in the country!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here and made it a 'home' base for our travels. Location is 1 1/2 - 2 hrs away from most all the must see places in Ireland. Sheila and Mike are wonderful hosts, gave great recommendations on places to go, and directions as well. Cottage is exactly as seen in pictures warm and welcoming.

  • Submitted: 2-Nov-2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great house with great views!

  • 5 of 5

What they don't tell you on the site is the great views the house has overlooking the valley. Gorgeous! All in all a very nice place to stay!

The house is very homely and the beds are comfortable. The kitchen lacks microwave and utensils (for stirring etc). Nice to have a washer dryer as we have seen some rain ;-). Groceries and all the other things you might need in Nenagh, a 15 mn drive. Nice big Tesco supermarket! But also a Lidl supermarket on the other side of town.

Sheila greated us very briefly on arrival had to get back to work in a hurry. Her husband came a day early to say goodbye. Thougt we were leaving the next day, which we weren't. Not the greatest hosts we've seen.... But... Maybe we're the exception to the rule as other reviewers were very enthousiastic about their hospitality.

  • Submitted: 12-Aug-2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nelleke Really disappointed that you thought I rushed your arrival . I went through all the house with you and informed you of all the workings of the house and local places to eat as I did not want to intrude on your time . And I did greet you with home cooked baking . I had given you both our numbers to contact us if you ever needed us. We do have all kitchen utensils , their is two drawers fully equipped for kitchen purposes ie stirring . We do apologise for the mix up of the dates and Michael did apologies for that . I am very disappointed you have given us a review like this Regards Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A little part of heaven on earth! Lovely cottage newly renovated in a gorgeous setting...

  • 4 of 5

Dairy Cottage was a perfect home base for our five night stay in the Irish countryside. Location made day trips to Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle (Woolen Mills), Rock of Cashel, Kylemore Abbey and Ashford Castle easily accessible. Groceries and other necessities are close by in Nenagh. The kitchen is well appointed for cooking meals. Would recommend following owners directions vs following GPS directions to avoid several miles on one lane roads. Can easily sleep 7-9 people. We also enjoyed hospitality of the owners. Very responsive and gracious!

  • Submitted: 3-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Shannon Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
115 Miles
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Nenagh Golf Club
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Whiskey Still
Nearest Beach
45 Miles
Salt Hill Co.Galway
Car: necessary

The Cottage is siutuated on the scenic Lough Derg for its wonderful walking country and excellent views of unpsoilt countryside giving you the opportunity for walking, cycking,fishing and water sports on Lough Derg.

The Cottage is 6 miles from Nenagh town with excellent restaurants , coffee shops , beauticians , fashion shops and pubs.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Blackfort, Ireland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit C$154.08

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner