Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

4 BR Cabin, 2 Living Rooms, Wifi, 8 per Spa, Endless Hot H2O ~ 15 min to Ski!

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

If you are looking for a GREAT MULTI-FAMILY CABIN close to everything, with an ultra-modern kitchen that can easily serve a crowd, with separate living areas for some peace and quiet, but remains conducive and family group activities, equipped with an 8 person Hot Tub on a huge deck flanked by 100 foot trees, and is offered by trustworthy experienced owners who host more than 250 families in their Tahoe and Hawaii properties per year...... then LOOK NO FURTHER ~ YOU'VE FOUND THE PERFECT NORTH LAKE TAHOE CABIN!

This spacious and well-appointed home is a perfect rental for a family vacation or retreat with a group of friends. Located 1/4 mile from pristine Lake Tahoe near Carnelian Bay, the Redwood House is ideally situated to take maximal advantage of all that the Tahoe Basin has to offer. The home is available on a nightly, weekend and weekly basis.

Located on Tahoe's north shore in prestigious Agate Bay, you will have excellent access to the north shore beaches and all major ski areas in the North Tahoe/Truckee area. (4 beaches are within 1/4 - 2 miles). Northstar, Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows, Diamond Peak and Homewood Ski Resorts are all less than 15 miles.

This is the ideal home for one or multiple families and groups of friends. There are two living rooms with fire places, a huge outdoor deck, as well as a 750 square foot BONUS-BUNK room complete with wet bar, wood stove, full bath, TV, foosball, and sleeping for 8 or more. This room also functions as a romantic and private master suite.

We have hosted many families and groups at the Redwood House, and our guests really appreciate this floor plan which allows space for everyone to be together, while still having four separate 'living areas' where adults and kids can do their own thing, giving everyone a place to have ample peace and quiet when needed!

We also have an endless hot water system that can supply 4 showers simultaneously and never run out hot water!

Agate Bay is a highly desired residential area that has retained the beauty and serenity of the Tahoe basin. Beautiful and well-kept homes, with many permanent residents are situated on large forested lots. We are located 6 miles east of Tahoe City and 2 miles west of Kings Beach near Carnelian Bay. North Lake Tahoe has minimal traffic, with none of the crowds, congestion, and commercialism of the south shore. (There is just one traffic signal for an 8 mile stretch of the North Shore, where this home is located!) Our family has kept other homes in Agate Bay for almost 40 years...this is without a doubt one of the best locations in the Tahoe basin!

The neighborhood is quiet, very friendly and great for walking. The Redwood House is only 1 block from National Forest Land, where you will find a wonderful walking or biking trail through the woods to Patton Beach on Carnelian Bay (where dogs are welcome!). Or one can hike or mountain bike uphill through the forest to Brockway Summit for panoramic lake views and access to a maze of Forest Service roads! In the winter, cross country or forest road snowshoeing and skiing is right outside your door.

Furnished with many antiques, this spacious home has 3 bedrooms upstairs. The private master bedroom overlooks the trees, and has a large walk-in closet and bath, a VERY comfortable king sized bed with down pillows and comforter. The master bedroom is private, sharing no common walls with the other rooms.

The second bedroom is furnished in a mountain cabin log bed, a VERY comfortable queen sized bed with down pillows and comforter. The third bedroom upstairs also is furnished with a queen bed. The bonus-bunk room serves as a fourth bedroom, and is equipped with two queen futon beds, 4 twin bunk beds, and ample room for additional queen air beds and foam sleeping pads. The bonus/bunk room has a full bath, wet bar, refrigerator, wood stove, separate deck, and the best feature of all.... is placed that the end of the house on the second floor when a lot of raucous laughter and game playing can go on without impacting the other living areas!

The Redwood House has a kitchen designed with the serious cook in mind (that would be Darla in our family!). You'll find top end appliances, including a double oven, warming drawer and a 6 burner gas cooktop. A huge GE monogram refrigerator and a second refrigerator/freezer and oven/range in the garage will meet the needs of large groups and big holiday meals. The kitchen is very well equipped with high quality cookware, utensils and serving dishes. There are place settings for 14 or more, with a dining table that will seat up to 16.

The Redwood House has a huge redwood deck surrounded by 100+ foot trees, and receives full sun in the mornings throughout the year. This is a HEAVENLY place to bask in the morning sun with coffee and a good book or conversation. In the afternoon, when the Tahoe summer sun can be intense, the deck is mostly shaded by trees and the house. Deck furnishings include a teak wood table that expands to seat 10 (with 10 matching chairs) and a large umbrella. You can also bag those summer rays in lounge chairs or a bamboo love seat.

We have a state of the art Hot Springs Grande 8 person Spa is on this deck, in a perfect location for star gazing, and shielded from the street and neighboring houses.

The Redwood House is designed with large windows or sliders in all rooms, where you always feel the presence of the mountain light and air. In the dining room, our 54 inch oak table expands with 3 leaves to seat 12-16 for a sit down meal. The 4th bathroom (with shower) is on the ground level, with the other 3 full bathrooms servicing the second floor bedrooms.

The Redwood House has a one car garage, where bikes or other recreational equipment such as skis can be safely stored. There is ample parking in the driveway for 4 cars and a boat. There are 3 boat launching ramps within a 6 mile drive of Agate Bay. Peter's parents have a 3 bedroom cabin two doors from the Redwood House, “Knob Hill,” VRBO 403863, that we also offered for vacation rentals. The Redwood House can entertain a pretty large group, and when 7 or 8 bedrooms are needed, Knob Hill can be those additional bedrooms and living area.

We are very experienced in vacation rentals with six vacation rental properties in Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. You can trust that your stay with us will be a good experience handled in a very professional manner. Welcome to Tahoe!

Keywords: Cabin Mountain Home Redwood Hot Tub

More Details

Owner
Peter and Darla
Member since: 2004
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 15, 2018

About Peter and Darla

This is Peter and Darla, owners and hosts of the Redwood House in Agate Bay. Our full time residence is in Auburn, CA. Peter's parents build a cabin in Agate Bay in 1970, and he's been coming to Agate Bay now for 45 years. We purchased the Redwood House in 2001, and over the years have been systematically remodeling the home.

We are very experienced and professional in our offerings of top notch vacation rental homes. In addition to the Redwood House, we own and personally manage our oceanfront home "Hale Honu" and the Hawaiian Oasis Bed and Breakfast Estate in Kona, on the Big Island of Hawaii. We also owned and offered 2 oceanfront condos in Kona from 2002 to 2014, averaging close to 200 vacation rental bookings per year overall.

We are both physicians, in private specialty practices in Roseville, Folsom and Yuba City. We're active gardeners and travelers. Between us we have four children, making their way in the world as a fine arts painter, film maker, fashion designer and early childhood educator.

Our extended family honors Tahoe as the place we converge at least yearly, and our time in Agate Bay has been one the pillars of love in our big family. Our relationship with Tahoe and this home is evident when you stay with us!

Peter and Darla purchased this cabin in 2001

Why Peter and Darla chose Carnelian Bay

Our family has had a home in Agate Bay for 45 years. Peter's brother also owns a home in Agate Bay. The two brothers 'came of age' during summers in Agate Bay. All 11 grandchildren of Peter's parents have their earliest memories being in Tahoe. There's no other place we treasure more than this!

What makes this cabin unique

Peace. Quiet. Serenity. Being within the forest. Stars at night that children living in the city or burbs never knew existed. The purest water you could ever swim in. One of the most beautiful places in the world, any time of the year.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Carnelian Bay, California

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2) Two + Queen futon + Queen sofa sleeper + queen air mattress bed, Twin or Single Beds (4) 4 twin bunk beds in bunk room, Baby Cribs (1) a pack-n-play is available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (4) Queen Futon in bonus room, Queen sofa sleeper in living room, double air mattress, 2 single thick foam floor pads, Bunk Beds (2) 4 singles in two bunks, new mattresses, made by Peter!
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
3 Fireplaces, Full Kitchen (Cooking utensils provided) Microwave, Refrigerator with Ice Maker, Quality Linens provided, Dining Table will seat 14, Full sized Washer & Dryer, 'Bonus Room' with Foosball, Large deck with hot tub, wired for outside music, Dogs OK!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
20% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
4 BR Cabin, 2 Living Rooms, Wifi, 8 per Spa, Endless Hot H2O ~ 15 min to Ski!
average rating of 4.6444445 based on 45 reviews
Santa Rosa, CA
4

spacious

  • 4 of 5

I had a recently stayed for 3 day, we enjoyed the house and the amenities. The house was spacious with one room perfect for all the kids. We had a blast. we will definitely rented it again

  • Submitted: 2-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy, great location and responsive owners!

  • 4 of 5

This house is in an awesome location, close to the water and 30 mins to both North Star and Squaw. Very easy instructions for check in and maintenance and Peter was super responsive to my questions during the stay. Great hot tub as well! The house is a bit older but we were lucky enough to have fresh carpet installed the weekend before we arrived. I wished the backyard was fenced in and the hot tub was a bit more private. Those were the only downfalls. Otherwise great stay!

  • Submitted: 13-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place for groups, but in need of better maintenance

  • 4 of 5

Overall this place was solid. Lots of space for a large group, great outdoor area and plenty of beds. However, it did come with a list of a few complaints.

When we arrived we were greeted the nasty smell of fish and found out that the previous guests had left their garbage bags full of crab legs in the garage. When we went to our rooms we also found out that only about half of the beds had been stripped and we had to strip the dirty sheets ourselves and throw them in the laundry along with a pile of other linens that had been left on the ground. Then to add to the list, after making dinner on our first night we found out that the garbage disposal was completely clogged and not working, so we had to manually scrape out all the food scraps and scoop the water to the other side of the sink.

Many of these issues were the fault of the previous renters and not the homeowners, so hopefully they will not happen to anyone else during their stay. That being said, the cleaning staff may be a recurring issue!

  • Submitted: 7-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nathan for your review. As I discovered when you called me after checking out, our housekeepers missed cleaning the house after the prior checkout. I'm not sure what happened because they have been with us several years and this is only the second time they have missed a scheduled departure. They did tell me they had both gotten sick, but I think they just missed it on the rental calendar. That's why the smelly garbage was in the garage (when the previous guests should have put it outside in the bear box regardless) and the beds were not made. I did refund your cleaning fee in full immediately. The garbage disposal side of the sink was not actually plugged up.... rather the metal stopper was in the sink drain, as evident in the picture that you sent me after checkout. Unfortunately that was recognized before you loaded that side of the sink! The garbage disposal worked and sink drained normally when the housekeeper removed the stopper!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property loved it instructions were easy to follow plenty of room.

  • 5 of 5

This was a fantastic family vacation loved every minute family had a great time weather was perfect, beautiful area want to do this again property owners have everything set up to make your stay easy and comfortable. They are great thumbs up for this property.

  • Submitted: 28-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
portland oregon
5

Great place, I have nothing to add. All other reviews have covered the Pros and Cons

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic location and cabin. Loved it!

  • Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect getaway house

  • 4 of 5

I stayed here with a big group of friends for my birthday and loved it!! The neighborhood is nice and quiet. The house very spacious and fit all 16 of us very comfortably. There were enough rooms for everyone to have privacy when needed but large common areas for us to all congregate. The back patio is very expansive and the hot tub was a nice touch. Peter and Darla have really thought of so many things to make this home perfect for a vacation. They had virtually every thing you could need aside from food. We were surprised to find the kitchen stocked with seasonings, zip-lock bags, coffee, flour and every essential cooking utensil and pan. They also had games, blankets, towels, shampoo and some cleaning supplies. I would have given this house 5 stars but there were a few things that needed improvement. The house was clean when we arrived but was a little dusty. We had to wipe all the tables when we arrived and air out the rooms. We had some issues with the fridge. We put all our food into it but the fridge would not get cold. It took all night for the fridge to get cold. This probably had some thing to do with the elevation though and not an issue with the fridge itself. Just be patient when you're waiting for the fridge to cool down. Also, the back patio has a BBQ grill but only one side of the burners are working.

  • Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you your comments, and we're glad you all had a great time at the Redwood House. I checked out the BBQ and one of the 5 burners was not working. I'm contacting the company to order a new valve. The fridge can be temperamental. For a $5000 refrigerator it thinks it's smarter than we are. If one leaves it open for too long while unloading boxes of food, it will shut itself off. It takes a while then to come down to temperature, especially when filled with food. We've actually never had this problem ourselves, and only occasionally it is reported, from our many guests, always with a group of 14-16 (which I figure is a lot of open time loading a lot of food that was just transported some ways from home). We have a second refrigerator in the garage that we keep going during the rental season, so there is a back up if needed for a few hours. Peter and Darla
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Reno-Tahoe
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Carnelian Bay, Tahoe Vista
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Northstar at Tahoe
Nearest Train
17 Miles
Truckee, CA
Nearest Motorway
17 Miles
Interstate 80
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
Garwods
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Northstar at Tahoe
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Patton Beach, Carnelian Bay

Sledding are all within minutes, Casinos are located 4 miles away at Crystal Bay and Incline Village, 35 miles away in South Lake Tahoe, and 45 miles away in Reno

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in Carnelian Bay, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Ski 2018
Jan 2 2018 - Apr 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$496
From
C$622
Fri,Sat
C$3,453
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2018
Apr 2 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$345
From
C$421
Fri,Sat
C$2,072
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day WE 2018
May 25 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$471
 
 
Summer 2018
May 29 2018 - Jun 21 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$496
From
C$622
Fri,Sat
C$3,391
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2018
Jun 22 2018 - Aug 19 2018
5 night minimum stay
C$534
From
C$622
Fri,Sat
C$3,579
 
 
Summer 2018
Aug 20 2018 - Aug 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$496
From
C$534
Fri,Sat
C$3,133
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day 2018
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$496
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
"Indian Summer"
Sep 3 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$370
From
C$490
Fri,Sat
C$2,637
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
Shoulder Season
Oct 1 2018 - Nov 19 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$345
From
C$408
Fri,Sat
C$2,198
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2018
Nov 20 2018 - Nov 25 2018
4 night minimum stay
C$534
 
 
December Ski
Nov 26 2018 - Dec 17 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
C$408
From
C$496
Fri,Sat
C$2,505
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas Holiday 2018
Dec 18 2018 - Jan 1 2019
6 night minimum stay
C$741
C$5,017
 
Notes: Rates are based on 15 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$377
From
C$534
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add C$31 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and Laundry C$207.21
Property Damage Protection C$74.09
Pet Fee C$25.12
Refundable Damage Deposit C$376.74
Tax Rate 10.0%

Peter and Darla have been vacation renting their home in Tahoe for nearly 10 years. We have homes in Kona, on the Big Island of Hawaii, and host close to 100 family vacations per year! Please see our attached rental agreement for detailed terms of your reservation. We always email our guests from our email account as we want to establish a relationship with our guests.
Balances are due 60 days prior to arrival for Christmas Holiday reservations.
Placer County Transient Occupancy Certificate #4681. Lodging taxes are collected and paid to Placer County by owners. These taxes support the infrastructure of the Tahoe Basin and keep our roads plowed so everyone can enjoy this year-round wonderland!
This is a family home that can accommodate a group, but it's not a party house. Guests MUST respect the peacefulness of the neighborhood ~ meaning it's quiet outside at 10 PM. Guests are required to turn off any outside music by 10 PM, and keep voices down in the hot tub after 10 PM. This is a particular issue in the winter, when your voices, whoops and laughter will be heard for several blocks in the cold night air.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable