Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Adobe de Artista 3 -Semi Secluded Million Dollar Views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,850 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 6

Mesa - Arroyo Hondo - 10 miles open highway to Town of Taos, NM and 12 miles open highway to Taos Ski Valley, 4 miles maintained gravel road to Rio Grande River, Gorge and John Dunn Bridge & hot springs

Stay at Adobe de Artista and treat yourself to a true Taos, New Mexico lodging experience – one of adventure, whimsy and relaxation.

Whether seeking pristine mountain / mesa views, unique architecture, artistic flair, the “must see” Taos Gorge Bridge, the Rio Grande del Norte National Monument or proximity to the quaint village of Taos, New Mexico or Taos Ski Valley, this home has it all. In addition, the best kept secret of all is the 3 mile drive down into the Rio Grande Gorge with the John Dunn Bridge and hot springs. One can spend the day having a leisurely picnic in nature, soaking in the river, fishing along the edge, hiking up the gorge or kayaking (if one brings one's own kayak).

Boasting 3 Master bedrooms, each of the home’s bedrooms provide total privacy from the rest of the living areas with their own shower bathrooms that can be closed off from entry or pass-through by others in the home. Two have direct access to the outdoors, where walking trails can be discovered nearby on the mesa. When rented to 6 guests the Den / Bedroom acts as a master bedroom with enclosed bathroom. When rented to 8, this bathroom offers a second entry door for 2 banco (Spanish for bed or bench) sleeping children.

A custom home designed and built by Taos’ famous painter, Ed Sandoval, this distinctive residence is built with manmade Old World style adobe bricks. Many interior walls glitter with straw and mica made from pure unadulterated New Mexico earth. Mica is a naturally-occurring element in surrounding land that gives Taos Pueblo pottery its characteristic glistening appearance.

Unexpected swirls of paint in bedrooms and bathrooms add a whimsical ambiance and a river stone shower/tub surrounded by plants make the master bathroom feel like a garden. This home is not just livable art but it is warm, inviting and nurturing to the soul.

Staying in for the day? Depending on the weather, put your feet up and read a book on the banco in the “conversation pit” next to a traditional wood-burning kiva fireplace; enjoy a glass of wine on the portal swing or ramada hammock while listening to birds and soft chimes blowing in the breeze; or prepare a favorite meal on the grill and dine beneath an umbrella while taking in the magic of Taos Mountain. For good weather (which is most of the time) you may prefer heading out for a mountain or river excursion, or some local culture? The river is only 4 short miles away. Not sure how you want to spend the day? You’ll find the home contains all the material you need to determine the best places to go for entertainment and dining to suit your every whim.

On return from your outing, no matter what the season, soothe tired muscles in the hot tub beneath a moonlit sky so clear you can see the Milky Way. Finally, sleep like a baby on beds appointed with foam or pillow-top mattresses within thick adobe sound muffling walls.

Whether this is your first or 100th visit to Northern New Mexico, Adobe de Artista promises a stay like no other in traditional Taos artful adobe living. Come and live like the true “locals” starting back in the 1920’s to current days.

More Details

Property Manager
Premiere Properties
Member since: 2004
Speaks english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Taos

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master bath #1 step down custom river stone sunken tub/shower combo, Master bath #2 step up walk in shower only, Master #3 den/bedroom walk in shower only can be locked off as private bathroom when no children sleeping in LR Handicap Friendly
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 Queen beds, 1 Sofa Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

37% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Adobe de Artista 3 -Semi Secluded Million Dollar Views
average rating of 3.875 based on 8 reviews
Helena, MT
2

Beautiful house, but difficult management

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We very much enjoyed the house and it is a beautiful space. Our family spent Christmas here and it was a perfect size for 6 people. The location was great for our active group - close the the river and the ski hill. The hot tub water left something to be desired, though that is generally expected at rental properties. However, the caretaker was extremely rude, borderline harassing, after we left. We accidentally broke a lamp shade and a decorative tile. She texted us well past midnight, accusing us of numerous things. We were charged extra fees in addition to the broken items and blamed for the state of the hot tub. While Premiere Properties said they would follow up, they have not and neither has the homeowner. We have stayed at several of their proprieties over the years and have never been treated this poorly. Due to the nature of our communication thus far, I expect a similar response on this website. It is a shame as we have enjoyed all of our experiences until now. So be warned - the caretaker and company will not handle incidents calmly.

  • Submitted: 9-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
San Marcos, TX
2

Will not return

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

After driving 12 hours, walking into problems right away is not what you want. My explanation for everything is too long to write about so I will make some bullet points. Mattress issues, water issues, overpriced, far out of town, not a correct description of what I thought I was getting, caretaker was the least helpful person I've encountered and was rude on top of that.

  • Submitted: 18-Mar-2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Paul, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review regarding your experience in Adobe de Artista. We are very sorry that you had such a disappointing stay and truly regret that our office was not contacted during your visit. We always appreciate the opportunity to rectify a problematic situation on the spot. After receiving your review, we have upgraded the well pump to eliminate any future water issues. We have replaced the mattress we suspect you addressed in your review with a memory foam. We want our guests to have a great experience in Adobe de Artista and we take all comments and concerns very seriously.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Moline, IL
4

Adobe de Artista rental

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The property was about 5 miles outside of town, the views were amazing. Floors were really dirty. The master bedroom had a spa bath, but we had difficulties setting the water temp in the shower, if fact the first day couldn't get the temperature down, and was unable to shower. Lack of a grab bar is a safety issue.

  • Submitted: 2-Nov-2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oxford, MS
4

Beautiful Home

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Adobe de Artista is a beautifully designed and decorated home. The art displayed there is engaging, and the beds are comfortable. The house is well-equipped with cooking and cleaning supplies as well as games and books. We really enjoyed our stay. A couple of considerations: Those familiar with Taos may know that many homes are not air-conditioned, but for those who are unaware, this home is not air-conditioned and does not have ceiling fans. It wasn't too much of a problem, but a few of the nights were very warm, even with all doors and windows open. Guests might want to consider bringing a fan. As another reviewer has noted, the road to the house is not paved and deeply rutted.

  • Submitted: 22-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Louis, MO
4

Adobe de Artista - June 2016

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The house and the location were exactly what I was looking for; in the middle of the mesa with plenty of space all around; convenient to town. The house itself is wonderful filled with pieces of art. More importantly, the view through the dining room windows across the mesa and to the mountains was spectacular. The dirt road getting in is a bit rough and could be tough for someone with a car prone to bottom out. However: The house could use a good cleaning, sweeping and dusting. Lots of dust in the desert but, that makes it all the more important. Also, we could not contact the caretaker to get in on the first day as we were instructed. I eventually contacted the office instead and that worked out. Not the way you want to start your vacation. That said, we would return but, next time, I would ask Premier to make sure the house is well cleaned before we arrive and would contact the office after no reply from the caretaker in the first hour.

  • Submitted: 2-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX
5

An incredible property

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The property was furnished beautifully and well beyond expectation. Everything was clean. The bed and linens were luxurious. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: 1-Jan-2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: Premiere Properties Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties