Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Across From Fairgrounds / Close To Wisp Golf & Ski Resort

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

~3 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen. 2 big flat screen TVs with cable & wifi.

~No pets allowed

~Short walk to Garrett County Fairgrounds.

~Large wrap around porch. Large yard for outside activities. Gas grill available for use.

~Enjoy beautiful mountain views of the Wisp ski slope from the deck.

~Great location -- close to the lake and close to golfing and skiing.

~Just a short drive in any direction will take you everything from numerous restaurants and cafes, nightlife spots, adventure filled activities, shopping, movies, golf, and the ski slopes.

More Details

Owner/ Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2018


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in McHenry, Maryland

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bath towels not provided
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bath towels not provided
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , sheets not provided
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , sheets not provided
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , sheets not provided
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • limited accessibility
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
Guests should plan on doing their on general cleaning before leaving. If you don't want to clean, add on a $100 cleaning fee.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
22% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Across From Fairgrounds / Close To Wisp Golf & Ski Resort
average rating of 4.4814816 based on 27 reviews

Clean and good location

  • 5 of 5

I booked this house before reading the reviews. After looking at the reviews I was worried about the smell and possible rodent issue. We did not notice any kind of smell and the house was very clean. It was perfect for our weekend

  • Submitted: 22-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location...comfortable house

  • 4 of 5

The house is very well located, close to the ski center and stores..big living room, kitchen and dinning room..very comfortable!!...It would have been nice if the heating had been on by the time we took around 8 hours to warm it up!!! but once the house warm up, the temperature stay well. We rented for 3 nights and during our stay, the house had a strong smell of smoke although we never lit the fireplace..

  • Submitted: 20-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It is clean and convenient to activities

  • 5 of 5

Outside of house could use some attention, but it is a great place and convenient.

  • Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location

  • 3 of 5

This was our second time staying here. We love the house and the location. This time though there were mice downstairs. My son and Grandson slept down there and a mouse ran across the pillows they were sleeping on. When they were watching TV downstairs a mouse ran on to the couch and went down between the cushions. They ended up sleeping on the upstairs couches. They could hear the mice scampering around at night and digging on something. We were afraid they would get into the luggage. Other than that the place is really nice. I contacted the owner who said they would set traps, but it didn't help us this time around.

  • Submitted: 5-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

beware of scam of cleaning deposit

  • 1 of 5

We spent two nights in this house but considered leaving after the first night because we did not like the place. It's not clean, the furniture looks old and run-down, sort of a grandparent's house that hasn't been lived in or cleaned for months. We ended up not using the first floor at all because the musty smell from high humidity was very strong. A humidifier was running non stop but could not take care of the bad smell.

We found dust and dirt under furniture and killed multiple spiders. I am absolutely certain that I left the house 10 times cleaner than it was. We were only three girls and used the house minimally. I spent hours cleaning before we left ensuring that everything was perfect. And then the owner came back with a claim that we did not clean the bathroom and that the bottom of the trash can in the kitchen was dirty. This was enough to reduce $65 out of the "cleaning deposit". Supposedly you get the money back if you clean yourself, but obviously this is a trap set by the owner who does not bother to clean the house properly and expects the visitors to do the job instead. And then you are responsible for messes that were there before your visit. I recommend to avoid this property at all costs unless you don't care about paying a cleaning fee while using a house that even my 10 year old daughter found too disgusting to live in. We had to sleep in one bed because the bedrooms downstairs were creepy and unappealing.

  • Submitted: 10-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This information is not accurate. $15 (not $65) was kept out of the cleaning fee to clean the bathroom and kitchen trash can.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It's was nice and beautiful view. The property was okay for the price. Will book again.

  • 5 of 5

Great view and location, the price is reasonable, the only issue, the mattresses were not that comfortable.

  • Submitted: 16-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in McHenry, Maryland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
May 16 2018 - Sep 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
Sep 16 2018 - Dec 15 2018
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

refundable cleaning fee C$128.78
Refundable Damage Deposit C$257.56

$100 cleaning fee will be refunded if house is left as clean as you found it

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties