Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Romantic Direct Oceanfront! Quite, Private & Central to All of Maui

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 670 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Huge panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and outer islands - Sleeps 4

You Can Not Get Closer to the Ocean on Maui!

This romantic getaway is quiet & private yet central to everything.

Please scroll through all of the information and photos below. Call or email us any time if you still have questions.

Look no further for a perfect Honeymoon or Anniversary get-away, whether it's your first or your 50th!

This location has some of the most pristine and lightly visited beaches on the island - it is absolutely the best kept secret on Maui!

For whale watching there is not a better location. You are just a stones throw from the edge of Ma'alaea Bay where the whales, dolphins and sea turtles all visit. We do keep a pair of binoculars in the living room but you may not even need them when the action is close by.

From our new counters, bamboo cabinets, remodeled bathroom, furniture, and new king bedroom suite and mattress to the unparalleled panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and outer islands, you will love this cozy home. You'll have a front row seat for viewing whales, turtles, dolphins and boating activities.

You can't get closer to the ocean than this unit that is ideally situated and centrally located for all points on Maui.

Ma'alaea is famous for the bay the humpback whales use each year to birth and mate, and you'll see it all during the fall and winter months. Thinking of coming in the spring or summer? Why not sign up for a turtle patrol and watch for nesting green and Hawksbill turtles as you walk the longest beach on Maui. Walk the pristine and hardly used beach to Kealia Pond or Sugar Beach one direction, or walk to the Harbor shops and restaurants the other direction.

Our beautiful 1 bedroom/1 bath unit is on the second floor so the ocean feels like an extension of the living room and lanai. It is perfect for a single user or couple that wants a quiet retreat, yet central to everything on Maui. There are two elevators and stairway nearby, a security screen door to allow wonderful cross ventilation all night long, King sized bed, large TV's in both the bedroom and living room; ceiling fans in the living room, bedroom, and on the lanai; free secured wireless internet. Eat out on the large lanai as you gaze at the great Pacific or walk to what may become your favorite Maui restaurant.

We have thought of everything to make your home away from home comfortable and inviting; there are beach chairs, umbrella, coolers, snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach towels and much more for your use and enjoyment.

Because we are on-island owners, we can attend carefully to the needs of our condo and our guests. In addition we employ a management company to be certain our guests can reach someone anytime of day or night.

* Our calendar is always up-to-date. So if it shows your dates available then you can proceed to book with confidence. If for some reason our place is booked then VRBO will not allow the booking to go through.

*If the dates you want are booked check out our other front-row direct oceanfront property VRBO # 631819.

A short stroll away you will find:

- Ma'alaea Harbor where you can book any of the many ocean activities available on Maui including whale watching, snorkeling adventure and sunset dinner cruises.

- A number of fine restaurants including famous Beach Bums Bar and Grill and The Waterfront.

- There are also a couple of stores with most grocery needs as well as delis and fast food options.

- Maui Ocean Center aquarium (voted best attraction on Maui)

- Maui Golf & Sports Park is perfect for family fun

- Haycraft Park and Sugar Beach, The Longest and one of the most pristine, white sandy beaches on Maui stretches five miles all the way to Kihei.

- Some of the other near-by beaches include:

Kama'ole

Keawakapu

Polo

Cove Park

Waipu'ilani

Kalepolepo

Makena

- The Shops at Ma'alaea offers a variety of shopping and snacking options.

- Great snorkeling and surfing is right off your lanai!

Public Transportation: Most parts of the island can be reached from Ma'alaea via Maui bus services for only $2 per route.

If the dates you want are not available, be sure to check our other property that is also front-row direct oceanfront, 631819.

More Details

Owner
Jim and Victoria
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About Jim and Victoria

I (Jim) grew up on the Big Island (Hawaii) and has lived on Maui for about 25 years. Victoria grew up in Santa Cruz, California and has also lived on Maui for about 25 years. We have owned and operated rental properties here in Hawaii for about 35 years so we know how to do it right. We take pride in the quality of our properties and the personal service we give. We feel blessed and lucky to be a small part of some very memorable experiences for our visitors. Besides always upgrading the property we have hired a full time management company to assure our guests can always reach someone if they have a need.

Why Jim and Victoria chose Maalaea

Ma'alaea is quiet & private yet central to everything and it has some of the most pristine and lightly visited beaches on the island - it is absolutely the best kept secret on Maui!

Having lived on Maui for roughly 25 years we could have bought anywhere on the island. But after looking at every direct oceanfront building, we had interest in only a couple and chose this one for it's location. We waited years for one of the perfect direct oceanfront units to become available, where we could enjoy the expansive ocean and outer island views throughout our home and step out to the beach any time of day or night. This was one of only six homes in the building that had all the elements we hoped for. Located in one of the smaller complexes on the island. it's location at Ma'alaea mean it's far less busy, quieter and more private than other like properties anywhere else on Maui. Our guests love it as much as we do and return year after year.

What makes this condo unique

This property is one of the most quiet, private and romantic locations on the island. We take pride in keeping the property clean and up-to-date. And unlike absentee owners, because we live on island, we have a unique opportunity to tune it up regularly! It's very important to us that our guests have a positive and memorable experience so they return and share our property with their friends. In addition we employ a management company to assure our guests that someone will be available at all times should there be a need. Warmest Aloha, Jim & Victoria

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation condo rental in Maalaea, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 670 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Clean and bright - entire home recently remodeled.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King bed, night stands & lights, overhead fan/ light, closet, dresser. The quality sofa / sleeper in the living room allows for 2 additional guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Special Services: We can help maximize your valuable vacation time with these convenient options*. Special Greeting: Have flowers, candy, card or other special greeting in room upon your arrival. Personal shopping: Have your refrigerator, or anything else, stocked per your instructions upon your arrival. Personal chef: Have a culinary expert prepare a healthy hassle free meal. All types of food options to choose from. Personal shopper: A local specialist can assist you or shop for you. And if you like, your gifts can be mailed home. Special Decorations: You can have the condo decorated for special occasions like wedding, anniversary, birthday, etc. * Cost for above services will be a flat rate plus cost of materials. We’ll get you an exact number upon request.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(62 traveler reviews)

98% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Romantic Direct Oceanfront! Quite, Private & Central to All of Maui
average rating of 4.983871 based on 62 reviews
4

Nice property

  • 4 of 5

Great location on the ocean with a beautiful, long, and uncrowded beach a short walk from the front door.

  • Submitted: 14-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at Jim and Victoria's place for 10 days. We were celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary and both of us turned 50 years old. This place was amazing. It is centrally located in Maui and it did not take us long to get any where we wanted to go. The full kitchen, the washer and dryer were awesome. We did not spend a lot of money going out to eat. We made a lot of our own meals and grilled out by the pool, overlooking the ocean. By far the best part of the place is the lenai. The views were amazing. We spent our evenings and early mornings on the lenai. You see turtles everyday, one morning we seen spinner dolphins, and most of all you see a bunch of whales. We cannot thank Jim and Victoria enough. We will definitely be booking this place the next time we are in Maui. Thank you Kenny and Shelly

  • Submitted: 4-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kenny and Shelly and thank you for allowing us to be a small part of your monumental 'Triple Celebration", 20 year Wedding Anniversary and 2 Birthdays, WOW! We love that you took time to enjoy the aquatic show that often takes place right out front of the lanai with whales, dolphins and sea turtles. Short of staying on a boat you cannot get any closer to the ocean than here. It's also good to know you saved "a lot of money" staying at our place. Knowing that "We will definitely be booking this place the next time we are in Maui." means we did our job to assure you have the best possible time on the island. Just keep in mind we run very full and that many of our guests book up to a year or more in advance. We hope you make the journey back to Maui from your home in Omaha, Nebraska very soon. Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect ocean front location.

  • 5 of 5

We found this property to be the perfect location. We liked that the area wasn’t congested and felt central to everything we wanted to do. We had plenty of space to relax and cook. We were very close to the ocean, as advertised, and we loved sitting on the lanai watching the whales! Our only regret is that we didn’t book longer!

  • Submitted: 23-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lynn for taking the time to leave us the lovely 5 Star review upon your return to Eagan, Minnesota. We're particularly pleased you loved the peaceful yet convenient location. And as you discovered, there is not a better place to watch the whales and sea turtles from - in the comfort of your home. We had to laugh when we read your comment, "Our only regret is that we didn’t book longer!" because we hear that from our guests all the time. Hopefully you'll have the chance to visit again soon. If you do be sure to book as far in advance as possible because as you can see from our calendar many of our guests book a year or more in advance so our calendar is quite full about 9 to 12 months out. Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portage, MI
5

gorgeous ocean view

  • 5 of 5

This condo is centrally located on Maui so that all points of interest are nearby, cruises are a short walk away, and yet it is situated in a quiet, non-hectic location, with the ocean mere steps away and whales and sea turtles visible from lanai. Here is a summary of some of the pros and cons of the unit:

Pros: 1. As close to ocean as possible, with great views of Haleakala, Molokini, etc.

2. Very well supplied with cooking needs, indoor and outdoor recreational

equipment, tv and audiovisual equipment, books, etc.

3. Located away from the hustle and bustle of Lahaina and Kaanapali resort

areas, but only a short drive to these and more when desired. Best of both worlds.

4. Very responsive owners

Cons: 1. We encountered quite a few insects in kitchen and pantries during our stay, but

the owners assured us that it would be treated and that some insects are

inevitable in a tropical environment.

2. There was no safe available in condo.

All in all, it is a very comfortable, convenient and scenic unit, with views to die for.

  • Submitted: 22-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stan and Gloria we are beyond honored that you chose to celebrate your monumental 50th Wedding Anniversary at our "Honeymoon Chalet" and leave us a 5 Star review. We live on Maui and could have bought a condo anywhere but chose this place for some of the very reasons you discovered, "Located away from the hustle and bustle of Lahaina and Kaanapali resort areas, but only a short drive to these and more when desired. Best of both worlds." and "mere steps away (from the ocean) and whales and sea turtles visible from lanai." You are correct that living in tropical paradise comes with some insects, mostly ants and that's why most condo, like ours, are treated every 3 months. The good news is they don't eat much, lol. We used to have a safe but after so many guests kept forgetting important belongings and because we have never had a security issue, we decided to remove the safe. It's been fantastic! Not one guest has forgotten their important items when leaving for the airport now. We always strive to improve on the experience for our guests because it's important to us that they have the most perfect time on the island possible. Thank you again for leaving such a lovely 5 Star review upon your return to Portage, Michigan. Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Don't miss this property!!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place. It is located very centrally to many activities on Maui. It is walking distance from the Maalaea Habor where we went whale watching, snorkeling and fishing. It is a very peaceful and quiet property. We never felt rushed or in a heavy commercial location. For us, it was perfect. The condo was very well furnished and gave a real feeling of being home. The views from the lanai were beautiful. The sounds of the waves were relaxing and the beach a few steps from the condo was wonderful and uncrowded. We would highly recommend this condo. The owners were terrific in keeping us informed with all the info we needed. We would stay here again in a heart beat.

Gary & Ruth Ann

  • Submitted: 5-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Gary and Ruth Ann! We feel blessed and grateful that you chose our place to celebrate your landmark 50th Wedding Anniversary - WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a complimentary 5 star review - much appreciated! We love to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful yet central location as well as the furnishings, beach by your lanai and the sound of the waves lapping on the shore. We enjoy going the extra mile for our guests by supplying Tips, Suggestions and Reminders before and during their time on the island. The highest compliment you could give us was to say, "We would stay here again in a heart beat." That means we have done our job to make everything as perfect as we could for your valuable time on Maui. Be sure to keep an eye on our calendar because we are typically booked about a year in advance because so many of our returning guests book before they depart or shortly after returning home. Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shelburne, VT
5

An amazing stay

  • 5 of 5

If one wants to stay in Maalaea then this is the condo. Jim & Victoria have thought of everything. All the emails to make sure our stay was perfect, and it was. Sitting on the lanai whale and sea turtle watching was great. One could not ask for better views.

People often complain about the beds when they travel. Not this place the bed was so comfortable. There is nothing that was not perfect while staying in this condo. There is so much to do here or just enjoy the quiet time. We can not thank Jim &. Victoria enough for all the thought they have put into making this a wonderful vacation.

Pat & Terry

Shelburne, VT

  • Submitted: 27-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pat and Terry for taking the time following your return home to leave such a wonderful 5 star review. We're happy beyond words that you found "nothing that was not perfect while staying in this condo". And most importantly you found the bed to be "so comfortable". We bought the same bed as we have because we like it so much. It's also nice to know that all of our Tips, Suggestions & Reminders helped to make your planning and time on Maui as perfect and stress free as possible. We hope you visit the island from Shelburne, Vermont very soon. Warmest Aloha, Jim and Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
8.3 Miles
Kahului - About 10 minutes away
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Beachbum's Bar & Grill - Walking Distance
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Molokai/Lanai ferries
Nearest Golf
2.63 Miles
King Kamehameha Golf Club Resort - 18 holes
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Several restaurant within walking distance
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Just steps from your Lanai

All within walking distance is Ma'alaea Harbor with some fine restaurants including Buzz's Wharf, Beach Bums Bar and Grill and The Waterfront. The area also includes various shops,including local crafts. The Maui Ocean Center aquarium voted 'Best attraction on Maui', miniature golf and bumper boat park for family fun. Ma'alaea Yacht Harbor is the primary harbor for snorkeling and diving tours to Molokini, fishing excursions, whale watching and sightseeing or dinner cruises. For a nice walk along the beach, you can walk to the end of Hauoli Street to Haycraft Park and Sugar Beach, one of the longest and most pristine, white sandy beaches in Hawaii. It stretches five miles south to Kihei. There is also great snorkeling in this area due to the beautiful coral reefs located close to shore.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation condo rental in Maalaea, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Special June 30 - July 3
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$176
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest
 
Special July 25 - 29
Jul 25 2018 - Jul 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$189
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest
 
2018-19 Peak Season
Dec 1 2018 - Apr 30 2019
5 night minimum stay
C$265
C$1,772
C$7,344
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$38 per night, per additional guest
 
2019-20 Peak Season
Dec 1 2019 - Apr 30 2020
5 night minimum stay
C$265
C$1,772
C$7,344
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$38 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$227
C$1,498
C$6,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

check-out housekeeping C$151.98 + Tax
HOA check-in- concierge C$44.33 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable