Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cozy Private Lakefront Cottage Surrounded By Lush Trees

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Family Friendly! Located Between Kings Beach & Tahoe City

Lovely 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage sits on a large and beautifully landscaped lakefront parcel. Private lakefront accommodations are fully separate from the main house with a private entrance. Cottage is also very convenient to shopping, dining and North Shore venues. Lodging features include beautiful lakeviews from the open living and dining area, large fireplace with firewood included and during the summer enjoy strolling among the bright and sunny lawns and flower beds along the lakeshore.

Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2018


Tahoe has been the place of countless many family gatherings. We are happy to share the beauty of Tahoe with our guests.

ERIN MYERS purchased this cottage in 1989

Why ERIN MYERS chose Carnelian Bay

Originally, in the early 1920's the main house was a loggers boarding home and the cottage was the manager's home.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Carnelian Bay, California

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • Living Room has two pull out couches - great for kids!
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Cozy Private Lakefront Cottage Surrounded By Lush Trees
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews

Great location.

  • 5 of 5

Great location, lakeside, with access to a private pier. Everything worked perfectly in the unit. We enjoyed the outdoor table overlooking the deck and used the grill several times. The washer/dryer was crucial for young kids who went through several outfits per day.

Very happy with our stay.

  • Submitted: 15-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location! Beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful family trip here! This house was awesome & better than I expected. Great lawn for kids to play, beautiful view, beach area for kids to play. House was stocked up with anything you would need. Will definitely come back here.

  • Submitted: 24-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great lakefront cabin with everything you will need for a quick getaway

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is very comfortable and spacious . Everything you need is there.

It is a Lake front property and there is a lot of space in the backyard to play - at least that is what we did.

The beds are very comfortable and the great fireplace is gorgeous. Washer and dryer makes it even more convenient . There was ample towels, plates , utensils and cookware.

As an added bonus , it was really convenient to make the transaction thru Erin. Thanks so much for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: 19-Feb-2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The definition of a getaway

  • 5 of 5

Erin left detailed instructions on how to manage the water and heat in the place that was very simple and detailed. I did not expect such a beautiful view from the port looking over the lakeside. The back yard was beyond spacious for my group to do build cheesy snowmen. The area around was serene and we were able to take serene and timeless photos with our drone. There was a generous amount of wood left for the fireplace, we hardly ended up going out because of how warm and cozy it was inside. This cottage was the cozy hidden gem frozen in time where we forgot about the real world and just succumbed to the relaxation Erin's cottage gave us. Thank you so much!

  • Submitted: 19-Feb-2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location and comfortable house

  • 4 of 5

Great set up. Comfortable with a location on the lake you can't beat. Minor things were no grill (probably because it's winter) and no wifi. Firewood for days out front. Fully stocked kitchen. Plenty of hot water. Thanks

  • Submitted: 13-Jan-2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
mill valley calif

very disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Sorry Erin,

I was so disappointed when i walked into your cabin.

There is so much deferred maintenance there. Carpets were full of black stains, door screens hanging by a thread,slider did not lock, many, many other problems.

Needs an upstairs window covering as main road is so close to the property, anybody can see in.

The very next day I went out looking for another place to stay. Because I prepaid for 4 nights, I stuck it out.

I am returning to the Lake, but would not stay at your cabin again. You were so nice on the phone that i didn't want to complain.

  • Submitted: 31-Jul-2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a huge disappointment, and I wish you had called me rather than "stick it out." We had a great rapport, I gave you a discount, and your BBQ request was fixed within the hour. The house is not 100% perfect, but what vacation rental is? I wish people treated a vacation rental well, but in reality it's often the opposite. The carpets are cleaned every 6 months, so stains, yes, but dirty, no. We've been doing work little by little as budgets and guest stays allow. The couches are brand new as well as other furnishings, and the dryer is brand new. The window coverings are on order because we just repainted the room I had no idea the sliding door doesn't lock or perhaps could it be user error? Letting me know of things that need attention is one thing, but lack of understanding and nit-picking doesn't seem fair. I have repeat guests that come year after year, and never have I had such harsh reviews. However we had great communication and I would have remedied the situation before it became hurtful. I believe the right thing to do would be to amend your review, but that is in your hands. I am sorry that you had such a horrible time and even more sorry you didn't give the chance to fix that.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Reno-Tahoe International (RNO)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Wet Woodys at Garwoods
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Old Brockway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Garwood's Restaurant
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Northstar Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
This is waterfront property!!!
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Carnelian Bay, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$166.46
Damage Insurance C$78.57

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner