Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cuyahoga Valley Natl Park Luxury Home ~ GPS 1802 W. Streetsboro Rd 44264

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

primarily adult home in Cuyahoga Valley National Park & arts village

Nestled in the heart of the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, in the picturesque town of Peninsula ~ formerly home of designer Robert L. Hunker. This unique property that once served as a Barn for a family farm, is now a beautiful living space filled with unique artistic treasures, one of a kind furnishings and relaxing outdoor spaces to enjoy. This property is available for use as short term rental, perfect for a restful retreat for adult guests looking to get away in a private, unique setting in the heart of the CVNP.

Children under the age of 14 are not permitted; there are open balconies and stairways.

With permission, additional guests beyond 10 overnight requires $30 per night per person.

LOOK for us on INSTAGRAM: #thedesigenrsbarn

The home is within walking distance of area art galleries, the towpath trail, the historic G.A.R. Hall featuring traditional music most weekends, two restaurants, the Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railway, nearby wineries and additional hiking trails and seasonal food markets only minutes drive.

The Village of Peninsula is located 9 miles North of Akron and 23 miles South of Cleveland, making this a perfect get away in the park.

The Designer's Barn was the Aug. 2014 Home and Garden feature in Akron Life Magazine and the Home and Garden feature in the Saturday January 31, 2015 Akron Beacon Journal. Peninsula was voted Best Northeast Ohio Community 2012-13, by Ohio Magazine.

Guests at the Barn may not host an event or invite additional company during their stay without prior permission by manager and with fees as agreed upon. Catering for guests when pre approved (Please call 330 657 2528 for details)

Perfection location for:

- Adult Family gatherings

- Day or overnight corporate retreats

- Small meetings

- Adult Rehearsal dinners

- Friends Reunions

- Adult Girls' Night Out

- Romantic getaways

Ask about our special January, February and March rates each year !

More Details

Property Manager
Lois Unger, Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Lois Unger, Manager

The Peninsula Foundation was formed in 1997 by the late Robert L. Hunker and serves area residents, visitors, and school children by promoting historic preservation, maintaining archives, preserving artifacts, and providing tours of our historic buildings.

Why Lois Unger, Manager chose Peninsula

Easy access from Ohio Turnpike, I 271, I 71, I 8 and I 77 and set at the PREMIER TRAILHEAD to the Cuyahoga Valley National Park/ nestled in green space between Cleveland and Akron.

What makes this house unique

The Designer's Barn sits in a private green oasis with easy access to the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, walking to trails and scenic railway, Village restaurants, cultural arts and shops.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Very cool place!
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Peninsula

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom #2 - toilet , shower , Bathroom #2 is part of Suite #2 on the 3rd floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom #3 is part of Suite #3 on ground floor
    Master Bath #1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom #5 - toilet , a powder room with toilet and sink on main living floor
    Bathroom #4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , located on main first floor within apt/bedroom suite
  • Paper products, soap, emergency toiletries, linens
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Suite #1 - Master - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Vaulted ceiling, stained glass , third floor, spare twin bed
    Suite #3 - 2 twin/ single , New mattresses, located on ground floor
    Suite #2 - 1 queen , New queen mattress, located on the third floor
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , new queen mattress and ensuite within apt has sleeper sofa
  • Three bedroom suites have a walk-in closet and private toilet separated from main bathroom. The fourth is a complete en suite but does not have a separate toilet enclosure; it includes a sitting area with a sleeper sofa. Additional guests use a sleeper sofa and inflatable mattress. Guests numbering higher than 10 add an additional per person per night $30.00
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Cuyahoga Valley Natl Park Luxury Home ~ GPS 1802 W. Streetsboro Rd 44264
average rating of 4.7959185 based on 53 reviews
5

Unique and impressive property. Spacious, comfortable and very well-appointed.

  • 5 of 5

This was the most intestine house our group had ever seen. Gorgeous views from the windows and a lot of communal space was great for group dinners and “hangout” time, and large and private bedrooms (each with own bathroom) gave lots of privacy. Lois was very kind and helpful, and we had no issues or complaints at all with the property. We also loved the proximity to the hiking trails along the river. Nothing but good things to say about our stay at this property!

  • Submitted: 5-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK YOU! ladies~ We loved your respect for and enjoyment of our home and hope you will find a reason to return in more pleasant season weather! Best wishes, Lois
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and unique!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our one night stay at Designer’s Barn. It’s a gorgeous home with an amazing collection of eclectic artwork and antiques. This home is unique and part of its charm is the property manager, Lois. She is a gem. The small touches around the house such as water bottles everywhere and plenty of towels make this home a perfect getaway for our group of seven ladies. We plan on returning in the summer to sit outside on the deck area.

  • Submitted: 4-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK YOU for your compliments ~ we love that you loved your stay and hope to see you again! Lois
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Massillon, Oh
5

Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5

The designer barn is truly a unique property and Lois was a wonderful host, she was full of knowledge of the house and the area. If you have a chance to visit the beautiful home you should explore this property!

  • Submitted: 13-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: much appreciation for your stay and for the compliments hope you will return ! Lois
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Solon, OH
5

This house definitely has a "Wow" factor!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 8 friends had a fabulous time for our "girls" weekend to celebrate our friend's milestone birthday. We really loved the fireplace in the living room ~ a perfect gathering place. We walked into town for lunch and shopping even though it was cold and snowy outside. It was great to come back and start the fireplace ~ warm and cozy! Lois was very helpful and knowledgeable about the interesting history of the house. Thank You!

  • Submitted: 16-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANKS to all you were special and awesome guests and we hope to see you again in another season all the best; you will be highly recommended guests for any other host anywhere! Lois
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointed.

  • 1 of 5

Nice house but...

 Don't recommended this house because...

Too much notice in the house with " don't touch, don't  look,don't turn on.

On the first floor was very very cold, 3rd floor very hot we was there for 3 night every morning we fell very tired and uncomfortable, we was almost ready to go home after 2 night.

I and my family we are very disappointed,next year we gonna look for another house for holidays.

We leave the house very clean and nice but I don't know why  deposit was not returned.

1☆from 5.

Thanks.

  • Submitted: 12-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As noted on your email declining any refund: 30 Dec – Tue, 2 Jan·3 nights 9 adults·0 kids HA-R4V2MZ· 604872 • Damage claim$300.00 • Date of claim1/2/18 • Guests brought in and used grill on wood deck despite verbal communication, warning upon arrival while touring kitchen and written notice of no grilling permitted (anywhere on our property) in 5 places on our house rules VRBO site ~ additionally, child in home as noted during departure along with bags of used diapers in trash and possible pet in home, both not permitted, clearly noted in house rules candles were burned despite rule to not light any candles; these are all safety violations clearly on site in advance of any booking and listed in sign in rules for home and signed by guest who booked Additional information discovered: misuse of home post this above VRBO note: misuse of fireplace leaving soot over mirrors above and paint and marble trim ~ many moved items to apparently do baby proofing of child staying on premises, foods left behind and finger prints low level throughout the home Disputed using the grill with neighbor behind home and asked to not tell the manager what was going on, eventually left with box from weber grill in entry bushes along with grill left on the deck. Extra blankets were not used for rooms that may possibly have been chilly but there are also extra 4 heaters in the home and 3 places to adjust temperature settings even during the deep freeze temps during December. Rules are to NOT to open any locked cupboards ( there are 2 fine glassware cupboards for display) and DO help yourself to all kitchen items; the third floor jetted tub is not functional and as noted on our site we do not advertise having one; safety rules listed above are common sense safety well described pre renting our home We prefer our guests do NOT consume piped in city water and provide bottled spring water. On the day of move in I mentioned that decks were snow covered and slippery and should be not used for that reason, but immediately a guest went outside before I left that room. Otherwise, we do not have a list of do NOT’s Guests did not ask for optional walk through for potential damages or forgotten items.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Perry, OH
5

loved, loved, loved our stay

  • 5 of 5

A group of 10 women had an amazing time at the "barn". The house has everything and much much more. Everyone loved it. A special "thank you" to Lois for the early X-mas decorations, it made our stay that more special. We will be back!

  • Submitted: 4-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: YOU ALL were excellent guests and respect and tidiness appreciated as well as your compliments ~ SO GLAD you enjoyed !! and looking forward to your return in the summer months! THANK YOU ALL Lois
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Train
0.1 Miles
Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Peninsula

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter/Spring
Apr 1 2018 - May 15 2018
1 night minimum stay
C$385
C$2,569
 
 
PRIME l
May 16 2018 - Dec 29 2018
1 night minimum stay
C$642
C$3,853
 
 
NYE/ NY Night
Dec 31 2018 - Jan 1 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$642
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
C$642
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning per stay C$89.91 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit C$385.32
Tax Rate 6.75%

There are additional fees of $25.00 per hour for early move in or later check out, if time allows. Every effort will be made for this accommodation to our guest schedules.
Any events planned during the guest stay at the barn ( exceeding overnight guest maximum of 10) requires permission from owner and applicable fees rated by number of guests and by hourly use; please ask manager for details

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable