Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Big Mountain Chalet lower--Budget-minded, Family & pet-friendly

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Lower condo, 3 Bedroom 2 Bath, steps to slopes, sauna, wood-burning fireplace

Summer - A hiker/mountain biker's dream! Big Mountain is at your doorstep, and Glacier National Park a mere 33 miles away by car.

Winter - A skier's dream--walk 150 yards to Lift 3 and ski home to your door of the chalet's 1400 sq ft lower condo. Relax for après ski while viewing the slopes from the comfort of your spacious living room in the warmth of a wood fire in the grand stone fireplace. Or you might want to unwind in the Swedish sauna beforehand.

Dine at home preparing your own delicacies in a well-equipped kitchen or eat out at one of Montana's finest restaurants, a five-minute walk away. You are only a couple minute's walk from the village, if you need to shop for ski equipment or local gifts to take home.

In winter, you might want to board the free 'Snowbus' shuttle to explore the town of Whitefish, offering great restaurants, bars, theaters, and shopping.

Finally calling it a day, you will sleep in comfort in either the king-bed master bedroom, the cozy queen bedroom, or the twin-bedded room ensuring a good night's rest before hitting the slopes once again in the morning. There is a stackable washer/dryer in the entryway vestibule in case you need to do a load of laundry.

If you have a large group, please check out our upper condo, which also sleeps 6. It is property #335568.

From a recent review that nailed it: "This isn't the Four Seasons...and it's not priced to be. It's an older property providing convenient, affordable accommodation in a great location, perfect for families. "

Keywords: Chalet, condo, hiking trails out the door, Ski-in ski-out, Big Mountain, Whitefish Mountain Resort, Glacier Park, wood burning fireplace, resort, village, sauna, skiing, free winter bus, train, shopping, golf, water sports, lake, mountain biking, peaceful, seldom lift lines, family retreat, hunting, ice fishing, zip line, reasonable, best price, great reviews, historical charm, family gatherings, quiet, pets allowed.

More Details

Property Manager
Cynthia
Member since: 2004
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2018

About Cynthia

My husband and I are flatlanders from Nebraska, but have always loved to ski--mostly in Colorado. When we retired we set out to find the perfect ski mountain. We visited different slopes in Colorado, Wyoming and Montana.

Cynthia purchased this chalet in 2005

Why Cynthia chose Whitefish

Big Mountain caught our attention as we experienced excellent skiing with no lift lines, friendly folks, and the perfect chalet duplex right on the mountain.

We stay in the upstairs unit with our two hunting dogs, Stilton and Storm several weeks each season, renting it out when we are elsewhere along with the lower unit year-round.

What makes this chalet unique

We love sharing the experience of living in a private home on the mountain in walking distance to the village, the slopes and all the winter and summer activities. Come stay--you'll love it too!

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation chalet rental in Whitefish

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Has master bath
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

14% Complete
62% Complete
14% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
Big Mountain Chalet lower--Budget-minded, Family & pet-friendly
average rating of 3.7714286 based on 35 reviews
Pilot Butte, SK Canada
5

Lovely spot, great accommodations!

  • 5 of 5

I have been visiting Whitefish for well over 20 years and have stayed at many different properties. Big Mountain Chalet was absolutely perfect and also a great value.

Nice big bedrooms and living area, kitchen, deck and BBQ were lovely. Unit was as described and exceeded our expectations.

Cynthia was very pleasant to deal with and I would certainly stay at this property again.

  • Submitted: 1-May-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Lisa. We hope to have you back for future vacations!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Location, Affordable Accommodation

  • 4 of 5

I'm confused by the recent mediocre reviews; this place was as advertised and met our needs very well.

Location was Great - less than a 2 block walk to Chair 3, with the ability to ski right to the front door. Home was clean and heat worked perfectly well. Kitchen had all items needed for meals at home. Two bundles of firewood waiting for us upon arrival. We also parked in the wrong place, but the neighbor kindly directed us to the proper spot.

This isn't the Four Seasons...and it's not priced to be. It's an older property providing convenient, affordable accommodation in a great location, perfect for families. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: 14-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Circle Pines, Minnesota
4

Nothing Fancy Good Location

  • 4 of 5

The location is close to lift 3 and The Village. You can walk to the lift and ski back to the door if there’s snow on the parking lot. The house was clean. It appears the kitchen and bathrooms had recent updates. The remainder of the house could use some updates. The sauna was good though the bench seating layout is poor. The house worked well for the two of us - nothing fancy but close to skiing.

  • Submitted: 4-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hackettstown, NJ
1

well worn

  • 1 of 5

The home is thread worn and old.

Management was responsive. The location was good but it is not ski-out by any means.

Someone left the chimney flu open and it took about twenty four hours to get the house to warm up to the mid-60's.

  • Submitted: 22-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm happy to report that we just installed brand new carpeting as of March, 2018. We do not advertise that we are "ski-out"; you have to walk about two blocks to reach lift 3.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Place for the weekend

  • 3 of 5

Overall, the experience was a positive one. The beds were warm, heat worked and the water was hot! The best part of was the time it took to get onto the slopes. I will be heading there again for sure!

Note: this is not a 5 Start place. If you are willing to accept that, this is great.

There were a few issues, the coffee maker didn't work well. I could have grown my own beans and roasted them in the time it took to make a pot. Also, there wasn't enough fire wood to have more than 1 fire. You need to bring your own. if you want more than 1 fire.

  • Submitted: 21-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota
3

Over all ok

  • 3 of 5

I enjoyed the majority of my stay as well as the other 2 people that were with me. I did not appreciate the upstairs tenant and his friends/ being loud right outside the bedroom window at 1:00 in the morning. the other issue was the parking debacle. I could not see the house number due to all the snow, the snow for the pathway was high and deep, and the parking directions were not all that clear. Last thing, the one couch is extremely dirty and the fan in the king room bathroom does not work.

  • Submitted: 7-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
FCA Glacier Park International Airport
Nearest Golf
8.2 Miles
Whitefish Lake Golf Club
Nearest Train
7.4 Miles
Amtrack
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Bierstube
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
Whitefish Mountain Resort
Nearest Beach
7.3 Miles
City Beach-Whitefish Lake
Car: not necessary

Glacier National Park's West Glacier entrance is 33 miles from the chalet.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation chalet rental in Whitefish

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off-season fall
Sep 23 2018 - Dec 5 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$139
C$1,993
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$13 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas season
Dec 19 2018 - Jan 2 2019
5 night minimum stay
C$465
C$2,922
C$5,978
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
 
President's Day
Feb 15 2019 - Feb 22 2019
4 night minimum stay
C$399
C$2,391
C$5,712
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$206
C$3,321
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$132.84
Refundable Damage Deposit C$664.2
Pet Fee C$33.21

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties