Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Family Friendly Unlimited Opportunity For Fun!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bdrm 2 Bths Log Cabin and 1bdrm 1 bth with beautiful valley views!

Our cabins are located just one mile off of Hwy 21. They are just 2 miles from the Fort Davidson Civil War Museum and Park in Pilot Knob, MO. Both cabins have spectacular views from a rustic front porch. Both cabins are perfect for a couples getaway, family vacation, or small business retreat! This property is very unique because it is located a mile from town yet it is very private. You can enjoy the sounds of nature, listen to the frogs, and the crickets and look up at the stars while you have great conversations with your loved ones. Sitting around the fire is also a plus while toasting marshmallows!

The three bedroom cabin has a modern kitchen with microwave, stainless steel full-size refrigerator and stove, toaster, coffee maker and oven. The kitchen is stocked with pots & pans and cooking utensils. This cabin also has modern bathrooms plus central heating and air. Bedding and towels provided. Master bedroom has a king sized bed. Second bedroom has a queen sized bed, the third bedroom has a full-sized bed. The second cabin available starting August 18 has one bedroom and one bathroom. It has two queen beds in the bedroom and two futons for addition guests. There is a full sized stove and refridgerator in the kitchen. Modern kitchen with microwave, full-size refrigerator and stove, toaster, coffee maker and oven. The kitchen is stocked with pots & pans and cooking utensils. This cabin has modern bathrooms plus heating and air. Bedding and towels provided. Restaurants available in town. Please send a request so that we can provide the most up to date availability for you!

More Details

Owner
Melinda
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

Why Melinda chose Ironton

Our family has lived in this area for many years. We realized how beautiful the Arcadia Valley and surrounding areas are. We wanted a place for others to come and enjoy this beauty. This property offers seclusion with opportunities to kick back and relax.

What makes this cabin unique

There are two cabins on this property. This property is secluded, yet close to town and many state parks. The views are amazing from the front porch no matter what season you might stay. This would be the perfect place for you to kick back and get some much needed relaxation!

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Ironton

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
The cabins are located in the beautiful Arcadia Valley. Our valley is surrounded with beautiful parks and rivers.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Family Friendly Unlimited Opportunity For Fun!
average rating of 4.7173915 based on 46 reviews
5

Big cabin :-) Had a lovely time.

  • 5 of 5

Brought parents, kids & hubby for getaway wkend to enjoy each other's company. Never been to the area before. So much outdoors to see/do! Was close to it all! Elephant Rocks, Fort, Shutins,etc.Food in town was quite good & little gas station 1 mile from the cabin had craft beer! Cabin was quite clean & spacious...pictures don't show the space or rooms very well. It is sizable & comfy. Slept well in the beds. Nice & cozy! 2 areas to sit outside. One by a firepit w/ chairs which we enjoyed a lot. FYI no firewood is provided.. have to get it yourself. Found it for I tk $6 a bunch at the aforementioned gas station.. hence why i know it has good beer. There were games to play & lotsa DVDs which was fun. There are TVs to watch in 2 rooms which was great. We got to sit together and also split up. One cold morning we went outside and as the warm sun was hitting the tops of the trees the leaves started to let free from the branches one by one. it was SOOO lovely to see. We had a great time. Really nice place.Directions are SUPER easy from STL. Basically 55-67-221 &you are there. I admit I was nervous about booking b/c of the $1500 deposit upfront or pay $59 insurance fee. Hubby just came bk visit'g family in Europe. we didn't have an extra $1500 to pay the credit card company ahead of being reimbursed. My family has 2 AirBnBs & I've stayed many times US & Europe & never had to pay that much. If we did it was only a hold. That's the reason for my initial apprehension. But luckily timing was so that if we waited to book for a couple more days I would have more than enough time to get the $ bk on my credit card and not have to worry about paying it ahead. Melinda was very helpful in making this happen! I was very grateful. In fact she was very quick & responsive to all my questions which was great. It is true as some mentioned that you are supposed to 'clean up' but it really wasn't anything.Strip the sheets/dirty towel & put by laundry, put trash in can right outside the door, remove your stuff from fridge. Easy peasy!

Also you are supposed to supply your own soap & paper goods. We were only there for the wkend so it wasn't an issue. I brought PT and soap, trash bags and TP but didn't need it. Had pump soap & a start of everything else so we were good. there all week might extra.. in my experience this is expected. OH did use dish soap from home Very nice experience. If you choose to stay you will enjoy as well!Happy Travels!

  • Submitted: 9-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for staying with us! Please come back again! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful family get away!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of five had an amazing two days at Melinda's cabin. The location is close to so much - historic sights, state parks, great hikes - yet you feel like you have gotten away from everything when you're there! Lots of room inside for us and everything you need, plus games and movies for the kids. And we had fun roasting marshmallows at night outside! Melinda answered all of my questions quickly and everything was as described when we got there. We'll be back - thank you!

  • Submitted: 25-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a great time! Please come back and stay with us again soon. There are many more marshmallows to roast! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rustic charm and comfort

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is definitely a favorite for our family. The kids love being here and exploring the area from this beautiful base camp. Lots of space and very clean. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Submitted: 12-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much fo staying with us! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing cabin in a gorgeous area

  • 4 of 5

We so enjoyed our stay in this cabin. We plan to return soon! The Arcadia Valley is beautiful and full of so many things to do outdoors. The cabin was located within a quick few minute drive to both a gas station and grocery store, but at the same time far enough away from town so all you heard was the peace and quiet. The owner was helpful and quick to respond to questions. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Submitted: 20-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very clean and comfortable. Very nice cabin.

  • 5 of 5

I am giving a 5-star rating because the property was very well cared for and the cleanliness was excellent. Everything went very smoothly. The only negative comment I would have would be the fact that the TV in the main room did not work, and the wood burning stove was not available for use. Other than that the experience was very good. We will definitely be considering another trip there this summer.

  • Submitted: 27-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lindale, TX
5

Cozy Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

This is a very beautiful cabin. The inside is fabulous. Beautiful wood floors and ceilings. The cabin has everything you would need. The directions they send you are great but try to arrive before dark. It is VERY dark - but that's great for stargazing.

  • Submitted: 2-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with us! Please come back again. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
St. Louis, MO
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Arcadia Valley Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 21
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Fort Davidson
Car: necessary

The country cabins are located in the beautiful Arcadia Valley. Our area has many scenic parks, hiking trails and waterways which include Johnson Shut Inn's State Park, Elephant Rocks State Park, Fort Davidson Civil War Museum and Battlefield, Silver Mines State Park, Mill Stream Gardens Park and walking trail (which is where the state whitewater kayak races are held), Taum Sauk Mountain (highest point in Missouri) and much more. This is all located within 20 miles.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in Ironton

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$167
C$3,848
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$76.96
Property Damage Protection C$75.67

Shepherd Cabins will not rent to persons other than families, married couples and adults who are 25 years of age or older. The renter must closely and personally supervise all occupants of the property under the age of 25 years. Single persons under 25 years of age will not be permitted to check-in. Any reservation obtained under false pretenses will be subject to loss of rent and/or eviction.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable