Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Executive Character Home in Very Quiet Neighborhood-Walk Downtown/Hospital

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,700 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Sumptuous Three Bedroom, 2 Bath Home Exquisitely Finished and Newly Furnished

Charm and Character - This beautiful character home is solidly built with attention to the smallest detail and the highest quality materials and workmanship. All newly furnished with class, comfort, convenience and relaxation in mind.

Class – All furnishings are new and suited to an executive lifestyle. Enjoy simplicity without clutter, hardwood flooring, professional photographs throughout, an efficient floor plan that lends itself to quiet and privacy in any room, and an atmosphere of timeless elegance.

Comfort - Enjoy the beautifully landscaped and fully fenced three lot yard with many mature trees, BBQ and dining set on the back deck, the warmth of in-floor heated slate tile flooring, European style custom drawers and cabinets, heavenly comfort bedding, plush towels in two three piece bathrooms, his and her robes in the master bedroom, and weekly maid service if required.

Convenience – Catch up on business in the solarium home office with free WiFi, keep up with laundry with the in-suite washer and drier, or create a meal in the fully equipped gourmet kitchen. The kitchen was designed by renowned Master Design Architect Paul Zanette of Versa Design and boasts clean, crisp lines with attention to details. It has all stainless steel appliances including a professional Italian six-burner gas stove and oven, a wine refrigerator, an ice maker, beautiful custom made cabinetry, as well as a custom made maple dining room table and butcher-block island. This kitchen will inspire the chef in you with all of the high quality kitchenware supplied. All you need to bring is the food and the wine!

Relaxation- Stretch out and watch a movie on a Natuzzi leather sectional, listen to music or play a game in front of the gas fireplace in the media room, curl up with a good book in a cozy leather touch-sensitive recliner, soak in bubbles in the cast iron claw foot tub off of the master bedroom, enjoy a glass of wine in front of the fireplace in the quiet of the formal living room, gaze at stars from your bedroom through the upper floor skylight, and while you sleep soundly in one of the three sumptuously comfortable queen or king size beds knowing that the house has a security system, your vehicle can sleep soundly in the secured parking in the garage. You'll never want to check into a hotel again!

Solid Foundations is most suited to travelers / professionals who would like all of the conveniences of home, those who require extended accommodations near The University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (UHNBC) medical facilities (Regional Hospital, UBC Northern Medical School, Cancer/Oncology Center), or business travelers who would like to be within walking distance to downtown offices/retail.

Bus service is available within a block of the house and all city services are within 2-10 minutes driving time. The location is surprisingly quiet for being close to downtown, and within walking distance to your favorite restaurants.

All are welcome to call this home but for the comfort and consideration of all of our future guests, no smoking or pets are allowed.

More Details

Paula Madsen
Member since: 2014
Speaks english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 19, 2018

Why Paula Madsen chose Prince George

Solid Foundations is centrally located and has a reputation for being one of the stateliest homes in Prince George. It is located in a quiet neighborhood between downtown and the University Hospital of Northern B.C. and is a short walk to downtown offices, retail and restaurants as well as University Hospital of Northern British Columbia, UNBC Medical Training Center and The Cancer and Oncology Center.

The house is well suited to business travelers who stay in the area for extended periods, as well as those requiring accommodations near the hospital. It is a solidly built home in a well established neighborhood. Anyone visiting has loved the warmth, comfort and the solid feel of this home. We just know that if you stay once, you'll start calling it home. We know, we did!

What makes this house unique

Prince George is home to over 80,000 people. It is the service center for many surrounding communities, home to the University of Northern British Columbia, College of New Caledonia, and the newly built Cancer and Oncology Center for Northern British Columbia. The area is surrounded by natural beauty with the many mountains, lakes and rivers in close proximity to the city offering numerous opportunities for outdoor recreation such as hunting, fishing, water sports, snowmobiling, golf and hiking. The list is endless for outdoor enthusiasts and there are also many recreational opportunities within city limits.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Prince George, British Columbia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Main level with beautiful glass tile shower, in floor heat.
    Ensuite Bathroom - toilet , tub , Master Bedroom ensuite with cast iron claw foot bathtub.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master Bedroom Is Located Upstairs with Ensuite Bathroom
    'The Blue Room' - 1 queen , 'The Blue Room' is on the main floor next to main bathroom.
    'The Skylight Room' - 1 queen , 'The Skylight Room' is located upstairs near Master Bedroom.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Located in a quiet and mature neighborhood, this beautiful character home is perfectly situated for business/professional travelers who would like to be within walking distance of downtown or for those who are visiting or working at the University Hospital of Northern B.C. as it is within easy walking distance to the hospital, the UNBC Medical Training Center and the new Cancer and Oncology Center. Each room of this home has comfort designed into it. Whether you are coming for business or coming for a holiday, this is a home where you can be certain that you will be able to relax in comfort. After staying, we just know you'll never want to stay in a hotel again!


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Executive Character Home in Very Quiet Neighborhood-Walk Downtown/Hospital
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 33 reviews

Even better than it sounded (and it sounded awesome!)

  • 5 of 5

You know it's high praise when my husband says "I've never seen a better equipped kitchen ... next to ours that is". :-)

We came to Prince George for a four day volleyball camp for our teenage son ... and instead of staying at yet another all-the-same hotel we booked this lovely home instead. What a treat! This home is beautifully decorated, well appointed, cared for, and centrally located. The owner and the property manager are communicative, warm and responsive. It made for a very special stay as opposed to one we just tolerated. Yes, a bit more expensive than a hotel ... but we think we're worth it. Highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: 2-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Amy and family, It was my pleasure to host you for a most memorable event with your son. Thank you for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to Solid Foundations anytime. I’m glad your trip home went well despite the incredible “spring weather”! Kind regards, Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bad communication, not worth it.

  • 1 of 5

The space is beautiful, but small for the price. They were very disorganized with check in and unprofessional. I explained what my stay entailed and they told me how much it would be, then proceeded to take $100.00 from me for two extra sheets that nobody slept in. First, it does not cost that much. Second, they were not used. Extremely disappointed, not worth the money. Do not recommend.

  • Submitted: 25-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Amanda, On initial contact you requested the house for two nights. Although it is clearly stated that minimum stay is three nights, you told me you were coming to the area as a photographer on business and that you didn’t require the house for three nights. After offering you the house for two nights, I explained I don’t usually rent for less than three nights because of the cost of housecleaning and that extra laundry above two people would incur extra charges. Your reservation was made based on only two guests. At check out, housekeeping advised me that you did use all three beds. This requires extra time for laundering; linens, duvets, pillow slips, matress protectors, blankets. This requires approximately 4 extra hours to put through the washer and drier. I called you personally at that time to let you know I would need to deduct funds from your damage deposit to cover the extra laundry. You informed me that you did have extra guests at the house, that they hadn’t stayed overnight, but that they had only been sitting on the beds. You also told me at that time that you had used the house to do boudoir photos. This was new information to both myself as owner as well as to my property manager who checked you in. Had I known you were doing boudoir photos I wouldn’t have allowed you to rent for two nights for two people, knowing there would be other guests at the house using all bedrooms. At that time, I told you that even if you had only had people sitting on the beds, all bedding would still need to be sanitized for future guests. Unfortunately, the house cleaner informed me that she found rose petals between the sheets, that there was nail polish on the leather sofa, and a stain on the king sheets that she was unable to remove. In response to your own failing to disclose your accurate usage of the house, having had more guests at the house who were not registered, and having incurred excess laundry charges, you were deducted funds off of your damage deposit. VRBO owners and renters have the right to review each other in a fair and truthful way. Since you are new to the VRBO system as renter, it would be advisable for to you familiarize yourself with rental rules. The VRBO system is rewarding for both home owners and travellers when rental rules are respected. We have hosted many wonderful guests, which our past reviews reflect.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous Stay!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful home and incredibly equipped. Super helpful when traveling a good distance from home with an infant.

  • Submitted: 18-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Katy, It was a pleasure having you stay at Solid Foundations. Thank you for caring for the house so well. I hope you had a good trip home and I look forward to your next visit when you are in the area! Kind regards, Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great place to stay in Prince George!

  • 5 of 5

The house was a great base for the weekend. We were in town for our son’s wedding and we hosted many family get togethers during our stay. It is a beautiful house and was well set up for all our needs! It is well equipped with everything you need. Paula was very helpful with any questions we had. We highly recommend this house.

  • Submitted: 20-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your compliments and for choosing to stay at Solid Foundations! We were happy to host you during this special time and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes to your son and new daughter! Kind regards, Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canmore Alberta

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing provision for our family last month. The home was beyond what we could have asked for. Every kitchen essential was neatly and conveniently stored. The entertainment room was cozy and inviting with all that was promised. With a small office off the kitchen, we were all able to easily communicate even with the old fashioned doors on every room. The doors added times for privacy too. This home became an amazing place for my mother as she dealt with dad's recovery in the hospital nearby. We will treasure our time spent with her in this home away from home. Many thanks for opening your home to us.

  • Submitted: 5-Mar-2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Esther and extended family, We were delighted to provide you with a relaxing and comfortable home in which to care for your mom during this time. What an incredible family you all are to take rotating shifts and coming from all directions to be with your parents during your dad's hospitalization! I'm sure your parents were most blessed to have so much time with each of their children and for the wonderful memories you made. Please know you are always welcome to call our home your home and we look forward to having you again. We wish you all the best as you work through the remaining recovery. Blessings, Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely family Christmas getaway

  • 5 of 5

This house is wonderfully comfortable and SO well equipped. It literally has everything you could possibly need and is one of the best rentals I think I've ever stayed in. We stayed here over the Christmas break with our extended family and we all had a lovely time. The house has lots of different social areas, so people had plenty of space to mingle or do their own thing if they needed some peace and quiet. And Paula very generously offered to decorate the house for us for Christmas, which really helped us all get into the Christmas spirit. Thank you for a wonderful stay, Paula!

  • Submitted: 8-Jan-2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear C.S., It was my pleasure to host your family over the Christmas holidays! I'm so pleased to hear that your family time at Solid Foundations was very memorable and that you enjoyed a relaxing holiday together. Also, a huge thank you for taking such great care of my "home away from home". It would be a pleasure to have you visit again anytime! Have a great 2017! Kind regards, Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
14 Kilometres
Prince George Regional Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Aberdeen Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
Highway 97 (North/South) & Highway 16 (East/West)
Nearest Ski
60 Kilometres
Purden Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
22 Kilometres
West Lake Provincial Park
Car: recommended

Prince George is located near the geographic center of British Columbia. It is conveniently centered between B.C.'s West Coast (Prince Rupert), South Coast (Vancouver), Alberta's Jasper National Park to the east, and it is the entry point to the province's gateway to northern British Columbia through the Pine Pass and connecting to the Alaska Highway.

Prince George is surrounded by an abundance of outdoor recreational opportunities such as fishing, hiking, camping, boating, and hunting with the many lakes, rivers, mountains and a large variety of wildlife in the area.

However, you don't have to step too far out of the city to find recreation! There are many well groomed hiking trails, cross-country ski trails and golf courses within the city as well as many indoor recreational facilities.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Prince George, British Columbia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Standard pricing
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$500
Cleaning Fee C$150

We offer a family discount rate for families travelling with children under the age of 18. Please enquire for details.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner