Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Reflection Bay - Spectacular sunsets on Lake Kashagawigamog

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Beautiful renovated viceroy cottage with a 16 by 16 foot dock.

Recently renovated Viceroy cottage on Lake Kashagawigamog. The cottage has a brand new kitchen with all new appliances. Sliding patio doors from the kitchen provide access to a large deck with a propane BBQ and screened in porch. The porch has patio furniture and is ideal for enjoying meals outside. The family room has a beautiful stone fireplace and provides spectacular lake views from floor to 30 foot vaulted ceiling. All new furnishings provide an ideal place for family entertaining.

The large master bedroom is on the second floor and features a renovated 3 piece bathroom.

The are two bedrooms on the ground floor; one has a queen bed and the other has a bunkbed (single on top, double on the bottom). A recently renovated 3 piece bathroom is situated right beside the bedrooms.

There is a walkout basement that features a bedroom with 1 queen and 1 single bed. In addition, there is a large family room with large windows providing a great view of the lake. The room has couches, satellite TV and WiFi.

The cottage has a wraparound deck and easy access to the lakefront. There are two docks with the largest extending out 50 feet with a large 16 by 16 foot area to enjoy the sun.

A canoe with paddles and a paddle boat along with safety equipment are provided. The bay is quiet and an ideal location for those who enjoy canoeing, kayaking and fishing. There is a boat launch located less than 1 km away. The bay is shallow but we easily dock a large pontoon boat.

More Details

Susan and Michael Martin
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2018

About Susan and Michael Martin

We are a family with two teenagers. Our daughter has been going to camp in the area for the past 9 years and we fell in love with the Haliburton Highlands. We are an active family so we enjoy the many activities in the area including swimming, canoeing, kayaking, hiking and skiing.

Susan and Michael Martin purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Susan and Michael Martin chose Minden

We chose to purchase this property as we enjoy the quiet bay, great fishing and beautiful sunsets. Lake Kashagawigamog is part of a five lake chain and you can boat right into Haliburton to pick up groceries, check out the local stores and enjoy festivals in the park.

What makes this cottage unique

We have spent many nights sitting on the dock watching the sunset. It's a great way to unwind after a busy week. We have another cottage nearby and spend a lot of time up north so we are always around if you need anything.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Minden, Ontario

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • En-suite - toilet , combination tub/shower , newly renovated, sparkling clean
    Main floor bathroom - toilet , shower , Newly renovated maple cabinets, very clean
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - upper level - 1 queen , Master-upper level with en-suite, doorway overlooks lake
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen bed, with closet, next to main bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , lower level bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , double/single bunkbed, with closet; room next to bathroom
  • 3 main bedrooms have brand new matresses and frames. all newly renovated rooms with closet organizers. Bunk beds have extra large slide out drawers.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Cottage is waterfront, lake is very clean, fire pit in front of cottage, large dock 16' x 16', goes out 50 feet to view amazing sunsets. Cottage is newly renovated and professionally decorated


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Reflection Bay - Spectacular sunsets on Lake Kashagawigamog
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews

This is a beautiful lake house on a large lake: perfect for families and a peaceful getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This is an absolutely beautiful lake home with plenty of space for our large family! Susan and Michael ensured that we were able to step through the door and immediately begin our vacation, with all the necessities provided. My granddaughter was able to play with us in the shallow water near the dock while trips out on the lake in the paddle boat and canoe were enjoyed by everyone. The location between Minden and Halliburton is convenient, making easy access for quick trips to town or fun afternoons of shopping. We had a wonderful week enjoying the beautiful surroundings (as well as the lovely bottle of wine provided by our hosts!) We highly recommend this HomeAway experience!

  • Submitted: 26-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sylvi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are pleased that your family enjoyed our cottage so much. It is wonderful to hear that all of you were able to enjoy the lake and the attractions in Minden and Haliburton. It would be our pleasure to have you back, Susan and Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay.

  • Submitted: 2-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful getaway cottage with gorgeous views!

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a clean, well-maintained cottage with awesome views and great customer service, this is the place for you! The owners were attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. The fishing was good and the sunsets were spectacular! The views from inside the cottage are great too...especially from the dining area and family room. The kitchen was huge and fully stocked with all utensils and tools. The screened in gazebo was an extra surprised! I highly recommend this property for families or just a couple wanting to get away for some R&R. We will be back!

  • Submitted: 1-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so happy that you enjoyed spending your vacation at our cottage. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Lovely clean cottage.

  • Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mark We were thrilled that you reserved our cottage for a second season. We are always happy to have you and your family stay at Reflection Bay. Thank you for leaving the cottage in great condition, it is always appreciated. Hope to see you soon Michael and Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Terrible experience

  • 1 of 5

Before I made a reservation I wrote mails, SMS and called personally Michael( the owner) just to make sure that Reflection Bay is a very quiet cottage. The owner said that he has only two quiet neighbours. When we arrived (8th July) to our surprise one of the neighbors build a big new cottage. From outside that was clear that he is not finished yet with the works. After a quiet Sunday on Monday came a worker and he started to work at 9 a.m. with a circular saw just few meters from our patio, and started to knock until 5 pm. The next day I was asked the worker if he could move the saw on the other side of the house. He sad that he will do that for 500 CAD. I sad to him that sure that I am not going to pay it. The third day two persons came probably the owners, the only difference was that the worker was working until 5 p.m like every day and after that somebody started to work with the vacuum cleaner for another hour. The first day I contacted Michael, he was very sorry...but nothing is happened. He sad that we have enough activities in Minden and Haliburton!!!!!! I sad to him that for my wife and 4 children it is hard to explain that we suppose to leave between and 5 pm the cottage, not to mention that we paid few thousand CAD just to stay there. That was clear to us that we are only tourist for a week and he for him the neighbor had priority .

The big problem is that he did not told to us that the neighbor build a house and we going to have noisy days. For us that was a foul play from the owners side. In this case he should write a notice, or give a sale price, probably somebody would have interest to rent this cottage despite those conditions. Sorry Michael and Suzanne, I am visiting Canada 28 years and I just never had until now such a bad experience with Canadians. Money Michael , is not everything. I am asking VRBO to look over this case. I think nobody wanted to have similar experience. Generally that is a overpriced cottage. Be careful if you are sitting down, one of the old plastic chairs simply just broke down- luckily nothing is happened to me. Be careful if you are walking down to the lake plenty roots could made it difficult. What is very dangerous is to use the wooden steps on the left side which is after rain extreme slippery, that have we experienced with my daughter, thanks to be God nothing happened. And you can forget to use the basement that is wet and extreme cold. Zoltan.

  • Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always adhere to the highest professionalism, car and comfort for our guests. We vet any questions that may come up and answer emails that we receive to ensure an unforgettable experience. As Canadians, we try our best to accommodate our local and foreign guests and we act on any concerns that arise as soon as possible. We do not have the power to control what people do on or off the lake. to address concerns of our renter's in this case, we made a decision to pay the contractor to assist with the "noise" that our renter was complaining about. We were happy that this situation was resolved. We did hear that our renters went out on a rental boat for the week and enjoyed the 5-lake chain of lakes as a family. This would have been an amazing experience while in the Haliburton Highlands. Having respect for everyone in the bay is key. We work together as neighbours so cottagers go away with a great experience as 99% of our renters did over the years. To create an unforgettable experience, Michael and I have renovated Reflection Bay top to bottom. We often get asked if we would sell the cottage because renters love it so much. Repeat renters are another sign for us that they loved the experience so much, that they want to visit again and again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great week on reflection bay

  • 5 of 5

We all very much enjoyed our week at the cottage, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. The cottage itself is big, tastefully decorated and furnished, and with a lot of tongue and groove pine paneling it gives it a real nice cottage feel. The large kitchen is very well equipped, very functional, and the layout has been well thought out, and it has a large kitchen table able to accommodate everyone. There are many large windows facing the lake, and despite having a few hot days it was usually breezy at the cottage, and the evenings were comfortable for sleeping.

The owners are a pleasure to deal with, and were very clear in answering questions, and in providing instructions on how to care for the cottage.

  • Submitted: 29-Aug-2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Richard, it was a pleasure having you and your family stay at our cottage. We do our best to provide a "home away from home experience". We do hope that we see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Bonnyview Rest., or downtown Haliburton & Minden
Car: necessary

Reflection bay is a bountiful area for all types of wildlife including deer, beavers, blue herons and ducks. Enjoy fishing, canoeing and watching the sunsets from a large dock. A boat launch is a 5 min. walk, and the towns of Haliburton and Minden are both only a 10 min. drive where you can find almost everything you could possible need.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Minden, Ontario

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties