Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Great Reviews, Close to pool and tennis, freshly decorated, wonderful location

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq ft
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom 2 Bath, Sleeps six, With Great Kitchen And Beautiful Living Spaces

Traditional Roundette built in the Chalet Village style of the 60's. The entire house has been newly renovated with great attention to detail. House is situated on a quiet cul de sac in one of the most sought after areas of Chalet Village. Very close to the Chalet Village clubhouse and directly below the ski slopes of Ober Gatlinburg. Each bedroom has direct access to a bath and the bath on the main level has handicap features to assist the more mature traveler. Wonderful kitchen with everything you need to never leave. Inside the house you are surrounded by the beauty of the area as well as the construction of years gone by. The house has two wonderful fireplaces. One on each level. The master bedroom on the main level with no steps from the driveway has a king size bed, downstairs with a private entrance, one bedroom has a queen size bed and the other has a beautiful antique double iron bed. There is a sofa bed in the main level living room which is perfect if parent's have small children and do not feel comfortable with them downstairs. Off the lower level is a wonderful deck to simply relax and enjoy yourself. This is a great place to eat al fresco or to enjoy your morning coffee. The house has a living room on the main level and a den on the lower level. Both have entrances to the driveway. The house has flat screen televisions in every room and is equipped with high definition cable as well as WiFi throughout the entire house. There is a washer and dryer and you have all the comforts of home. The driveway will easily park four cars. There a slight slant to the driveway but it is easily maneuvered. This house is perfect for families that are coming to enjoy all that the Great Smoky Mountains has to offer. It is meant to be enjoyed for the surroundings and the close proximity to all the attractions that Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park have to offer. Please note when looking at this house that there is not a hot tub or a pool table. We wanted the extra space for families and multiple groups to be able to spread out and enjoy themselves. As an extra bonus, when you book at the weekly rate you are receiving one night free. If you need more room, check out our sister property, 'Mother's Condo' VRBO number 652915. This one is located two blocks from the Little Round House. The two houses together make perfect space for larger groups or family reunions. The Chalet Village Clubhouse is in between both properties. If both properties are rented there is a multi house discount. Due to the quality of renters that we have had we are no longer requiring the CSA non-refundable damage deposit. We have added a small totally refundable damage deposit that is fully refundable.. We have also added two larger homes if you are looking for something bigger, The Perfect House, 678279 and A Rivers Edge, 570067.


Owner
Russell G. Glasgow
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2018

About Russell G. Glasgow

I am a United Methodist minister serving in Birmingham, Alabama. Gatlinburg has always been a favorite vacation spot for our family and it has been for me since I became an adult. I never grow tired of the ever changing scenery and the wonderful events that the City of Gatlinburg is famous for. I have always felt that the worst of days is a good day in the mountains.

Russell G. Glasgow purchased this chalet in 2011

Why Russell G. Glasgow chose Chalet Village

This house was purchased sight unseen from an older couple that had built the house. The original name of the house is 'Precious Memories' If you notice the tourist tag in the window it is the 32nd house that went on the rental market in the City of Gatlinburg. I had looked for several years and had contacted this couple some years earlier. They called one day and over the phone we settled the deal. It is amazing in the fact that I had looked for several years to find one in this area and near the five way stop sign. This house was the perfect size to get away from the business of the world and it holds all my odd collectibles perfectly. You will notice as soon as you step through either door that it is a house that we took treasured items, repurposed them, and made our vacation home from pieces and collectables that had graced our homes throughout the years. It was our desire to never have a house that had a 'Kit' look to the scheme of decorating. We wanted great mattresses, great linens and all the amenities it takes to have the ability to step back in time and simply relax. Our goal is something will remind you of your past and you will create memories that travel with you throughout your lifetime.

What makes this chalet unique

I love the history of the house and the fact that it has stood the test of time. I also love the fact that this house has not one but two of the original river rock fireplaces that were so common in the 60's. There is nothing prefab when you drive up to this house. It was also important to have the ability to have all living on one level which this house does.Nothing is prettier than when it is a cold winter night and the snow begins to fall and you have a wonderful fire in the fireplace. Modern fireplaces are lovely but this house has fireplaces of substance. It is just a nice place to be close to EVERYTHING but far enough away to feel secluded. All the roads are maintained, paved and plowed by the city and all utilities are city utilities which gives you a feel of safety when the weather makes a change. I love the fact that no matter how bad the weather becomes Ski Mountain road is always open, The best restaurants and night spots in Gatlinburg are at the beginning of Ski Mountain Road. The location is perfect as you can go back roads to Pigeon Forge, ride easily to Cades Cove and be in downtown Gatlinburg in a matter of minutes.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation chalet rental in Chalet Village, Tennessee

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , features raised toliet and a walk in shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , raised toliet, for security
  • Both bathrooms are brand new. They are spotlessly clean and have wonderful towels. The walls in each bathroom are bead board to give you an authentic cabin feel. You step back in time but with very modern amenities.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Beautiful main level master with flat screen tv
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Lovely queen bedroom off downstairs den with flat screen tv
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Antique iron bed with great view and a flat screen tv
  • All mattresses are new and we use only high tread count Egyptian cotton sheets. Extra pillows for sleeping comfort as well as heated mattress pads. Each bedroom has the ability to be self contained. Televisions with cable in each bedroom. Down and alternate down comforters are on all beds October through March. Each bedroom is private enough to hibernate and take a great afternoon nap. The evening temperature in the summer can easily be in the 50's so the beds have light cotton blankets throughout the summer. Each bedroom also has a full hanging closet with luggage storage.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
This is a great vacation rental to simply relax. You will generally see bears and you will have wonderful places to walk and to simply unwind. If you are looking for a house that is a mini-amusement park with indoor pools and miniature golf this is not the house you need. It has been redone so that you can simply forget the stress of everyday life. One of the very best features is that it is quiet. Bears are frequent visitors and all forms of wildlife are in the vicinity. Great place to watch each of the four seasons change.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Great Reviews, Close to pool and tennis, freshly decorated, wonderful location
average rating of 4.7966104 based on 59 reviews
Netherlands
5

Complete house with sometimes bears in garden

  • 5 of 5

We want to thank Russell and his family for the hospitality. Everything was in good order. One night there were two bear families around the house.

It was clean and everything was tought of.

Thanks again!

  • Submitted: 5-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. You were a great family to host. I'm so glad you got to see bears. That always makes a trip more memorable. I hope you can come again in the future. Again thank you for your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy but needs a little maintenance like paint. View is not that good.

  • 4 of 5

At the time of our stay we saw bear every day. We saw a total of 18.

  • Submitted: 2-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place in a great location close to strip...

  • 5 of 5

I brought some family that had never been anywhere like this before...they absolutely loved it. House was in good location close to everything we wanted to do while in town. Owner was very good about communicating back to me on any and all questions. House very clean and very cozy. We felt right at home the entire stay. We will be back and hopefully in same location.

  • Submitted: 31-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice older house...very comfy beds!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The beds were incredibly comfortable, they even had

electric mattress pads, which I enjoyed on the couple colder nights we had. The towels were very soft and fluffy also. The kitchen had everything you could need. My only complaint was that all if the pots and pans were stainless steel, I wish there had been at least one non-stick skillet for eggs. This seems pretty common in places we've rented though, maybe I'm the only person who needs non-stick. The views are nice, the decks are nice. The downstairs bedrooms and bathroom are quite small but adequate, and again, comfy beds! The steep driveway takes some getting used to.

  • Submitted: 15-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wish I had known about the non stick an. I would gladly have gotten you to pick one up and then reimbursed you for the pan. It is a bit of a conundrum in that many people dislike the non stick when a metal utensil is used in them and they get scratched up. I'm glad you had a great time. Thank you for mentioning the mattress warmers. They are liked by everyone. I hope we host you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Smoky Mountain Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Once you make it up the mountain, you feel right at home! This house was perfect for four people. Beds were comfortable and kitchen big and well-stocked. We especially liked playing games each night at the downstairs game table. Due to the wet weather, we didn't spend any time out on the deck, but we did grill a few times. The view is incredible and the neighborhood quiet. My son and I even played catch a few times in the street among the trees, just like we do at home. Thanks for letting us share your house for the week.

  • Submitted: 3-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were a pleasure to host. I need to add that the mountain is a paved road that leads to Ober Gatlinburg which is heavily traveled. Many of the roads in the area can be quite treacherous. I am glad you and your family had a good vacation. This is a lovely home that has provided many memories for families over the last few years. I hope we are able to host again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent property

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time

  • Submitted: 4-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Tyson McGee Airport
Nearest Barpub
2.4 Miles
Smokey Mountain Brewery
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Gatlinburg Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
17 Miles
Interstate 40
Nearest Restaurant
2.3 Miles
The Peddler
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg
Car: necessary

Gatlinburg is the gateway to the great Smoky Mountain National Park. You are 2.4 miles from the main street of Gatlinburg as well as the entrance to the National Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation chalet rental in Chalet Village, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$225
C$1,065
C$3,729
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$113.19
Refundable Damage Deposit C$266.34

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. No reservation is confirmed until deposit is made. This house is in an area that the City of Gatlinburg plows the roads should it snow. There is no refund if the weather prohibits you from traveling. Your deposit will apply if you rebook and stay within six months

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable