Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cozy Mountain Cottage Walk to National Forest Trails, Two Rivers & Trout Fishing

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Please Read The Entire Description:

This is a cute 1 bedroom cottage that is walking distance the national forest. There are several trails and rivers within walking distance of the cottage as well. We bought it in 2012 and lived in it for a couple of years and with five girls we needed a bigger house so we moved on to a larger house.

The living room has a real stone (hand picked) fireplace with a 150+ year old hand-hewn barn beam mantle. There is a wood stove in the fireplace (firewood provided for a fee). The one bedroom has a queen size bed with Western Red Cedar walls. There is a small 19' TV in the bedroom with a DVD player.

The cottage sleeps two in (in the queen size bed). The maximum occupancy is listed as 5, but at least two of those would need to be a child sleeping on the floor and air mattresses.

The bathroom has a full size shower/tub, toilet and sink.

The cottage has free wifi. There is a 39' flat screen TV in the living room. No cable. There is also a sectional couch, not couchbed, in the living room for extra sleeping.

There is a floor unit ac in the dinning area. The dining table seats 3. The kitchen has a cute little gas stove/oven. There is an over the range full size microwave and a full size fridge too. There is also a toaster and a coffee maker. Sheets, toilet paper and towels are provided. Paper towels are not.

There is a fire pit outside where you can have a small fire if you'd like as well (firewood must be purchased on site). Pets are always welcome but do require a pet fee(s) $55 each pet. Remember the website only charges for one pet at booking. Payment will need to be made for extra pets, including request to book, if more than one pet is coming.

We do allow for one night stays, but there is two night minimum for weekend stays (either Friday and Saturday night or Saturday & Sunday nights). Pets are welcome but we do require a Pet Fee $49 plus tax per pet.

The Cottage is a great place to see the stars. On clear nights, you can see thousands of stars overhead. It is a beautiful sight. Also during the spring and summer months, you can see humming birds everywhere. We place feeders off the front porch of the house and have personally seen upwards of 20 birds feeding on them at one time.

Check in time is 4:00 pm until 10 pm and checkout is 11 am. Early checkins, before 4, or Late checkins, after 10 pm, and late checkouts, after 11 am, require a $20 per hour fee. Please ask in advance about late checkins. Pre approval, before booking, required. $30 an hour and possible cancellation without pre-approval. There will be a charge of $30 an hour for guests arriving more than 30 minutes later than the arrival time that they give us on the day of arrival. Arrival times must be sent in the message thread upon booking.

No smoking in the cabin. No beer pong or Hookahs. Noise must kept to a minimum and quiet hours are 9 pm to 9 am.

Guests are required to sign a rental agreement upon arrival and a photo ID. For this reason, the person who makes the reservation has to be the there at the time of check-in, unless the contract is signed and arrangements are made for someone else to check-in in advance.

We came to Virginia from Texas so I (Steven) could finish my college degree, but got into the vacation rental business by accident. :) We have four daughters under the age of 6. We have 6 rescue dogs, 5 rescue cats, 3 ponies, 14 goats & about 10 chickens.

We believe service is what sets us apart in the vacation rental industry. Katie & I personally own every cabin that we manage. We check-in all of our guests personally (sometimes even as late as 2 or 3 in the morning with prior approval and a fee). When you arrive, the lights will be on and you will be welcomed and shown around the cabin, unlike most other rentals where you access a lock box and walk into a dark cold house. We are always available. We really mean it when we say that we are always available. If you need us at 4 am or have a problem, please do not ever hesitate to let us know. This is all we do 24/7 and we want all of our guests to have an amazing stay. If something is wrong, we really want to know. We would be honored if you would allow us the opportunity to serve you.

Pets are welcome at all of our properties. If you or someone in your group is allergic to pets or anything else (detergent, air fresheners, etc), please let us know in advance so we can discuss this prior to your booking and then also prior to your arrival. Because this is a real cottage, there are things you should expect to find in an older real cottage such as spider webs (we clean them for every guest but they do reappear quickly), ladybugs, insects, tiny critters & stink bug(s) during certain times of the year.

All pet fee(s), early/late check-in or late check-out, firewood or extra person fees are not refundable once paid.

Failure to show up/check in or contact owner before midnight of day of arrival will result in cancellation. Host reserves the right to rebook property if guest does NOT contact owner.

Illegal drugs will not permitted on our properties under any circumstances. Smoking is not permitted inside any house or cabin or on any screen porch. There will be a $750 charge for any smoking in either of these areas. Illegal drugs being used anywhere on the property will result in a $750 charge. Kegs and hookahs are not permitted anywhere on property under any circumstances. There will be a $500 charge should either of these items (kegs or hookahs) be found on the property (this includes outside areas too). If smoking (inside or on screen porches), illegal drugs (meaning what is illegal in Virginia), keg(s), hookah(s) or fireworks (there is a $500 fine for having fireworks or for shooting firearms at a property) are found on the property the guest will be asked to leave and there will be no refund whatsoever for any portion of the stay (including any future days/nights). Guests failing to check-out by 11 am agree to pay $50 an hour for a late check-out beginning at 11:01 am. If the guest is still there at 12:00 noon then then the charge is another $50 and so on with each additional hour the guest overstays their reservation. Late check-outs require prior written permission and applicable late check-out fees to be paid.

Owners are not responsible to mail or hold on to left items.

No check-ins or checkouts on Thanksgiving or Christmas Day. Owners only have the right to cancel a reservation without refund for reservations made to check in or out on these days. If owners allow the booking, a charge of $100 will be charged to check-in.

More Details

Owner
Katie & Steven Robert Jones
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About Katie & Steven Robert Jones

We came to Virginia from Texas so I (Steven) could finish my college degree, but got into the vacation rental business by accident. :) We have five daughters under the age of 7. We have 6 rescue dogs, 4 rescue cats, 5 ponies, 20 goats & 4 chickens.

We believe service is what sets us apart in the vacation rental industry. Katie & I personally own every cabin that we manage. We check-in all of our guests personally (sometimes even as late as 12 or 1 in the morning with prior approval). When you arrive, the lights will be on and you will be welcomed and shown around the cabin, unlike most other rentals where you access a lock box and walk into a dark cold house. This is all we do 24/7 and we want all of our guests to have an amazing stay. We would be honored if you would allow us the opportunity to serve you.

Katie & Steven Robert Jones purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Katie & Steven Robert Jones chose Hinton

We bought this cottage in 2012 and lived in it for the past couple years and with 5 daughters it was time for a larger house so we are letting others stay here and enjoy it.

What makes this cottage unique

Great stone fireplace with wood stove and very cute and cozy.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cottage rental in Hinton, Virginia

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • 1 bedroom with queen size bed in bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Cozy Mountain Cottage Walk to National Forest Trails, Two Rivers & Trout Fishing
average rating of 4.296296 based on 27 reviews
3

It was very cozy an rustic stay.

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay an location was perfect for our stay.

  • Submitted: 8-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Beware - One Star is Being Generous

  • 1 of 5

While I believe every person needs to decide for themselves where and how they spend their hard earned money, I feel obligated to share our experience with these owners and possibly save you money and frustration.

-We booked our stay from December 27-December 30th. On our way to Harrisonburg we tried to contact Katie to set up an arrival time--no response.

-Upon arrival (approximately 20 degrees) we walked through the cabin only to find we were provided with two small heaters. While there is a stove within the fireplace, the website says there was heat (not portable heaters). Therefore purchasing wood was necessary to stay warm (35.00) a night.

-While waiting for wood to be delivered, we realized the wi-fi/internet was not working. When the owner returned with wood I informed her it was not working and she said, "Comcast has turned it off in all our cabins." She said she would call them and have it turned back on for us. I texted Katie twice that evening to follow-up--no response.

-Upon waking up the next morning there was ice present on the inside of the windows. Luckily there was a little wood left to make another fire. I called Katie twice, sent two text, and emailed to request more heaters and wood--no response.

We finally reached out to VRBO when we realized we were not going to get any response from the owners and cut our losses at one night. The folks at VRBO were kind enough to salvage our vacation and put us up in a hotel within Harrisonburg. After approximately 9 emails, texts and phone calls, we did receive a response from the owners--within 7 minutes, after we told them we were leaving and to expect a dispute and bad rating.

Bottom line, beware of renting from these folks.

  • Submitted: 9-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
2

Poor communication due to wifi troubles

  • 2 of 5

This cabin is cute, but the frustrating thing was, due to no wifi we could only communicate with the hosts by driving down the mountain(5-7 miles till we got a signal) and then if they were busy and couldn't respond right away we'd drive back up....only to find out later (or the next day) they'd sent us messages back - even though we told them we couldn't get messages. They supposedly tried calling Comcast to fix the wifi, but never let us know what happened.

Also, I understand there was a trouble with lack of heat at another of their properties, but we only had two space heaters and not much wood, and the temps dropped into the teens that night.

And lastly, I know this is a rustic cabin, but the shower curtain had mildew and there were wasps in the kitchen and ladybugs in the bathroom. Maybe a touch more polish before each new set of renters would be a good idea.

  • Submitted: 13-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for what we wanted. The set up inside was homey and cozy. We didn't spend much time in the cabin due to being out hiking and traveling to see the sites. However, the time spent in the cabin was relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Submitted: 5-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Cute Little Cottage Nestled In The Woods

  • 5 of 5

Just a cute little cottage in the woods which is just what the listing describes. We slept great. It was nice and relaxing by the fire-pit in the evening. Cutest little kitchen. I could live here year-round and be extremely happy.

  • Submitted: 30-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Wanted to get away with my fiance for a while, this was the perfect solution to our fast paced lives. So quiet and comfortable, we didn't even want to leave at the end.

  • Submitted: 3-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cottage rental in Hinton, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
April
Apr 20 2018 - May 2 2018
1 night minimum stay
C$79
From
C$125
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$23 per night, per additional guest
 
JMU Graduation 2018
May 3 2018 - May 6 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$227
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$129
From
C$252
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$23 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Insuranc C$63.31 + Tax
Pet Fee C$63.31 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.3%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable