Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

The Best Of Both Worlds

Bedrooms 1
Space 452 sq ft
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Come try something new and adventurous. Stay at our yurt and enjoy the best of both worlds. You can feel a closeness to nature while not skimping on amenities as our yurt is outfitted with everything you need to have wonderful retreat in a secluded woodland mountain setting. Though you will feel like you are in a remote location, you will only be 5 minutes from groceries and restaurants, 10 -15 minutes from Biltmore and eclectic downtown Asheville, and within any hour from most of what Western North Carolina has to offer. If you want to take a hike, the Mountains to Sea Trail is only 150 yards from your doorstep. If you head south, it is a 45 minute hike to the Folk Art Center. If you head north it is only a fifteen minute hike to an awesome overlook. When you get back you can lounge on our spacious deck and take in the mountain scenery before you start grilling dinner. You might then want to make the 15 minute drive to downtown Asheville to hear some good music at one of Asheville’s many venues. Another option would to be to head 20 minutes east to quaint Black Mountain for a walk around. Needless to say this is a romantic spot for a couple to reconnect or bring your kids or another couple as there is plenty of room for them. If you have never been in a yurt, you are in for a comforting experience that living “in the round” creates. So don’t hesitate and come stay with us for a few days or a week and return home feeling relaxed and renewed.

Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Simms was a great host and very accessible. The yurt is a truly unique experience, and the hot tub was amazing! Pizza delivery found us fine... Uber was spotty, but that to be expected. Totally would stay again.
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 6


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation bungalow rental in Haw Creek, North Carolina

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 452 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • There is a full private bath with a shower unit.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • The yurt is basically one large circular (24 ft in diameter) room with an enclosed area for the bathroom. There is a queen bed, a queen futon and a queen mattress in a sleeping loft.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
15% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
The Best Of Both Worlds
average rating of 4.2105265 based on 25 reviews
Manteo, NC


  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the serenity yurt! It was everything we wanted! It was perfect! It was almost conviently located in Asheville to go downtown, Biltmore, and the lazoom tour! We loved it-- and I can not wait to go back!!!

  • Submitted: 5-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Awesome property with lots of privacy!

  • 5 of 5

This rental is amazing. It's close to downtown Asheville but is also in the middle of the woods. It is really private and has all the comforts of home.

  • Submitted: 29-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Be informed

  • 1 of 5

It is a yurt on the side of a mountain, up a long thin rocky, ROUGH road. Would not stay here again unless you have a truck or Jeep. I inquired about the road b/c I have a decent car. We won’t recommend due to road and hot tub was extremely dirty in fact a health hazard. Otherwise loved the privacy and pics were accurate.

  • Submitted: 30-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are meticulous about the sanitation of our spa. I do not know what kind of issues they were having as we were not notified of any during their stay and could have surely taken care of any problem that might have existed. As far as the the road goes, it does not require 4wd unless there is snow. This road services multiple properties and is frequently graded. There is a bit of a trade off when seeking remoteness and views up here in the mountains as you have to get off the beaten path. I guess it all depends on your expectations as the renter from the day prior to this guest’s arrival said our yurt was the “best rental in Asheville".
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Best Mountain Rental in Asheville!

  • 5 of 5

Great stay, awesome accommodations. If you want a more affordable rental that is truely in the mountains, yet 12 minutes from Downtown AVL, then you should stay here. Has all the essentials of a hotel, but more interesting than any hotel you'll find around town.

  • Submitted: 28-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location!!

  • 3 of 5

This yurt was in a great location. 20 minutes from downtown and the Biltmore. I just wish it was more private. The way the hot tub is sitting on the deck you have to stare at the yurt directly across from you. I only have it three stars because it needs more cleaning. The outside of the yurt is covered in mildew. Doesn’t effect your stay but it’s not a good first impression. The shower has been stained orange from the water. A previous reviewer mentioned the dust. The sad thing is it’s still dusty. It would have been nice to see the owner listening to his negative reviews. The hot tub needs to be cleaned. It’s full of chlorine but still had a film around the water line. Every other place we have stayed at drains the hot tub after every rent. On the plus side after a good scrub this can be a great place and a great value for the location.

  • Submitted: 19-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do listen. We have given the yurt a “good scrub”’. The mildew on the roof will have to wait until spring which is when we usually do the annual roof cleaning which is a process unique to a yurt. I guarantee it will have no effect on your stay. I hope renters will realize that the nature of a yurt pose unique cleaning issues that we are constantly addressing. Also a partition wall to give you more privacy while in the spa is in the works.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Dusty and full of cobwebs and bugs, live and dead ones, Picture does not show the full story.

  • 1 of 5

My family was looking foward to staying at this seemingly extraordinary accommodation. It was a weekend vacation to celebrate my daughter's birthday. She couldn't wait to sleep on the loft. She climbed up excitedly and came down freaked out because of the bad musty smell and dead bugs all around the mattress. I don't know how they did it, but all the photos shown on this listing gave such a pristine condition of the interior. Dust, dust, dust EVERYWHERE!!! I could understand that it would be difficult to clean this place. But that task falls on the owner and he should see to it. Cobwebs between the celing rungs were very evident, in several places. Tapestries that looks so cool in the photos were layered with visible dust so THICK, it made me gag. My guess is they never get taken down to get cleaned. It was disgusting!!! I tried not to move too much in case I disturb the dust. People with asthma issues, definitely should not stay here. Main floor area was clean enough, but the walls were crawling with stinkbugs and spiders. We killed at least two dozens of them during our short stay of two evenings. I understand that we were in the woods, but we didn't pay to sleep in the room full of bugs. Shower doors had a sheen of orange, I could only guess from lack of cleaning.

We appreciated the archetecture of the yurt, but not the cleanliness of the interior at all. Thoroughly disappointed experience. I wouldn't stay here ever, nor would I recommend it to anyone. My daughter was relieved that we had to descend the treacheous dirt path only one last time as we were leaving. For that's what it was, a path, not even a "road", back to the secondary road down the hill. If you have a Hummer or Yukon, you'll get stuck. Path not wide enough. If you have a sputtering car, don't attempt the climb. It truly is a scary journey up there. We should be refunded for our unplesant stay. We dusted and debugged our sleeping area of the cobwebs. The owner charged us like if we were staying in downtown Asheville with all the conveniences. It is definitely overpriced and is less than secondary accommodation. Stay away, unless it is offered for free. Even then, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Submitted: 24-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I really don’t know what to say about this review as it is so over the top. The fact that their review is in such contrast to what people usually write should be a hint that it is grossly exaggerated. Obviously these are not yurt people and should probably stick with 5 star hotels in the middle of town. Perhaps we could have made a difference for them if they would have let us know of their dissatisfaction while they were here. Here are some facts you can trust to help you decide if our yurt is right for you. Yurts are much “closer to nature” and ours is in a somewhat remote mountain setting so bugs are a fact of life, some times of year more so than others; like right now everyone up here has to deal with “stink bugs”. We also have a pest control contract so we don’t ignore the problem. Our road is not treacherous. Every kind of car, cement truck. box truck, crane etc has been up the road without problems. To suggest a larger SUV could not make it up the road is totally inaccurate. The stains on the shower door are from the high iron in our well water which is not a health or cleanliness issue. We actually upgraded our water system very recently to get rid of the iron problem but it takes a while for the discoloration to fade. So if you think you are a “yurt” person I welcome you to come stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Wolf Ridge

Access to the property is by a 1 mile gravel road that does not require 4 wheel drive. We are 15 minutes from Biltmore and downtown Asheville


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation bungalow rental in Haw Creek, North Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Rates include all fees except for 7% tax. Minimum length of stay varies with time of year and will always be at least 2 nights. We give discounts for longer lengths of stay with our maximum length of stay being 2 weeks

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties