Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon


Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 900 sq ft
Property type condo


About the property

Beach, Mountains, And All The Conveniences You Need For A Relaxing Vacation


If you find a better comparable* deal we will beat it!

(*Owners discretion stands on if the deal is comparable -[I.E. # of bedrooms & bathrooms, view, size, amenities, location, floor, availability, etc.] are all taken into account.)

This (RENOVATED in 2017) 2 bedroom (sleeps 6+), 1 and a half bath, top floor corner condo has a fantastic view of the Ocean, the island of Molokai, and the mountain! In 2017 we renovated the living room - including a upgraded memory foam sofa-sleeper, lanai with seating for 6, and loft with both a queen and twin bed. In 2015 we purchased a new Sealy Posturepedic firm pillow top Cal-King mattress to go with the totally upgraded master bedroom! A GREAT nights sleep awaits you!

Since we have a young family, we have equipped this as a Family Friendly 'Home away from Home.'

Come and relax knowing you have all the things you need waiting for you to make travel with children (both small and big) easier. For the little ones we have everything you need and MORE including 2 play pens (with infant mattress pads), changing pad, baby monitor, stroller that holds a infant car seat (bucket) and a toddler at the same time (Joovy Sit & Stand - accommodates 2 children at once), 2 high chairs, baby bath tub, Jolly Jumper, bouncer, baby gates, baby to big kid dishes, toys for both indoors and out, board games, etc. For the older kids we have boogies boards, snorkel sets & life jackets of various sizes, and floats. For the adults, we have the view you want, the amenities you want, and a well stocked condo that you need! Our kitchen is totally stocked for cooking. You will find everything you need and more to be able to cook a full meal for your family. As you enjoy the ease of cooking for your family in our full kitchen with quality cookware you can surf the net for free, enjoying our FREE Wi-Fi while being all together in the large great room with an even better view!

THE FINE PRINT! (The Contract!)

This should be at the end of my listing but this was the only place I could fit it in....


This rental agreement (“Agreement”) is entered into by the guest (“Guest” or “you” or “yours”) and Darcy and Loretta Mykytyshyn (“Owners”).


The property is located at 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761. This agreement is for the rental of Unit D407.


This agreement is between the Owner and “Guest(s)”. The State of Hawaii allows a maximum of three people in a studio, four people in a one bedroom, six people in a two bedroom, and eight people in a three bedroom.

Term of Lease

The lease begins at 3 p.m on the “Check In Date” and ends at 11 a.m. on the “Check Out Date”. No late check-outs. If you are in the room after check-out time there will be a charge equal to one night’s rent plus tax. If you have a late flight out of Maui we strongly recommend that you book the condo for 1 extra day so you can fully enjoy your last day and have the condo until you need to leave for the airport.

Deposit Policy & Cancellation

50% of the Total Rental shall be payable to secure the reservation, with the balance of the Total Rental due approximately 30 days prior to your arrival date.

Bookings canceled at least 60 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100% refund. All monies are forfeited if cancelled less than 60 days prior to the arrival date, UNLESS the unit is re-rented. If re-rented monies are refunded. All reservations cancelled after receipt of deposit, are subject to a $75.00 cancellation fee.

House Rules

This reservation is for quiet residential vacation accommodations only. Therefore, parties, receptions, luaus, events, and gatherings of any kind are strictly prohibited. No additional people beyond the maximum occupancy of the condo are allowed on the rental property at any one time. Absolutely no smoking.

Keys/Lockout Policy

Your check-in instructions with a key release request form will be provided to you prior to your arrival. It is your responsibility to bring this information with you.


Guest shall allow Owner, or Owner’s Agent, access to the property for purposes of repair and inspection. Owner shall exercise this right of access in a reasonable manner.

Lost and Found Items

We are not responsible for lost items. A $20.00 handling fee, plus postage, will be assessed for all lost & found items that have been recovered and returned to the guest.

Damage/Loss/Disturbance Policy

The unit is individually owned and decorated. Please do not remove any furnishings, equipment or items from the unit, including any linen, dishes or other items from the unit. Guest will be solely liable for any additional costs, charges or expenses resulting from any damage, lost or stolen items or excessive check-out cleaning. The owner of the unit will not be responsible for any lost, stolen, or damaged items. The Owner uses its best efforts to ensure that all equipment within the unit is in good working order, although the Owner does not guarantee that any equipment will not break down during your stay, and therefore such a breakdown does not constitute a breach of this Agreement or give Guest any right to any refund or rental adjustments for any such mechanical failure. In the event of a breakdown, Owner will use its best efforts to remedy the situation as soon as possible after notification of the breakdown. Guest understands that there is no guaranty that properties adjacent to the unit will be free from disturbances, including but not limited to noise or inconvenience from construction, traffic, or other guests or neighbors, and any such disturbance shall not constitute a breach of this Agreement or give Guest any right to any refund or rental adjustment. Guest also understands that Hawaii is located in a tropical climate, and that insects, rodents and lizards flourish in this environment. Although Owner will use its best efforts to hold to a minimum your interaction with these pests during your stay, Guest understands that any contact by Guest with such a pest within or outside the unit does not constitute a breach of this Agreement or give Guest any right to any refund or rental adjustment. Any issue that Guest has with the unit shall be immediately reported to Owner via the phone number listed here at 403.358.4279 or 403.896.6922. Guest understands that the Owner shall have a reasonable amount of time to restore rental to acceptable conditions, and that any issues presented to the Owner by Guest after check-out can not be remedied and shall not constitute a breach of this Agreement or give the Guest any right to any refund or rental adjustment.


The Hawaii legislature enacted State Law 295, effective November 16, 2006, which prohibits smoking in all enclosed or partially enclosed areas open to the public. Violations will result in fines.


This Agreement shall be governed by the laws of the State of Hawaii. Any dispute regarding performance or interpretation of this Agreement shall be held resolved by arbitration in accordance with Hawaii law before a single arbitrator in accordance with the prevailing commercial arbitration rules of Dispute Prevention Resolution, Inc. with the arbitration proceeding to be situated on the island of Maui; provided, however, that the arbitrator shall limit the proceedings in its discretion according to the economic nature of the dispute and that Owner may maintain an action in a court of competent jurisdiction in Hawaii with respect to any eviction or collection matter relating to this Agreement and for any injunctive relief required by Owner. The prevailing party in any such dispute shall be entitled, in addition to damages, to reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs. If any portion of this Agreement shall be invalid, void or unenforceable, such invalidity or unenforceability shall in no way affect the validity or enforce-ability of any other portion hereof. Any and all claims by Guest against Owner for costs, expenses, or damages of any nature shall be limited to the rental amount of Guest’s stay, and Guest shall not be entitled to any consequential damages of any sort. Any unauthorized stay-over in the Unit will entitle Owner to two times the rental amount, in addition to any other damages incurred by Owner.

The Guest is responsible for any damages to the property and will be charged for the repair of those damages.

Please review this Rental Agreement ('Agreement') in its entirety. It will govern your rental arrangement and legally binds you ('customer') to the terms set forth above. This rental is conditioned expressly upon your acceptance without modification of the terms, conditions, and notice requirements set forth above.

I have read the Rental Agreement listed above. By making a reservation I am agreeing to and accepting the terms of the Rental Agreement and to the Itinerary, Payment Schedule, Charges, and unit amenities as listed above in the reservation listed here in VRBO. I am also aware that I am responsible to pay for any and all damages I may cause.

Resort fee charges are $17/night and payable to the front desk at check out

More Details

Loretta and Darcy Mykytyshyn
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2018

About Loretta and Darcy Mykytyshyn

We, Darcy and Loretta, bought this place when we were expecting our second child. We wanted someplace safe to travel with our young children that would be fun for all of us. Loretta, having grown up in Newfoundland, really wanted someplace on the water where it was warm year round. Darcy, an avid golfer from Saskatchewan, wanted someplace with lots of great golfing nearby. Sam, our eldest wanted fun water activities and lots of sand to play in. Nate, our baby, we are sure will grow to love Hawaii as much as the rest of us.

Loretta and Darcy Mykytyshyn purchased this condo in 2013

Why Loretta and Darcy Mykytyshyn chose Lahaina

We choose the Papakea Resort because it is very family friendly yet not so big as to be over run with kids. It is still very quiet and peaceful. Truly the best of both worlds. It is also close enough to everything that we don't have to rent a car everyday that we are here.

This unit, D407 is a RENOVATED top floor corner unit - and very quiet, which also appealed to us. The condo has a loft that has both a queen and twin bed with plenty of room for a playpen if needed. In the living room there is a sofa that pulls out into a queen memory foam bed (new in 2017). The master bedroom has a new Cal. king bed (2015). The home has been furnished with everything new in the kitchen (2014)! Even a new washer/dryer (2013) laundry set. We added lots of water toys to the previous stash of supplies that came with the condo as well as a host of baby and toddler friendly items to make travel with kids easier on mom and day. No need to haul the play pen or stroller or highchair, or even toys. We have all that tucked away in the unit! Outside the condo, right on our property you can BBQ and have a meal right at the pool if you are looking for a change from eating on the beautiful lanai or in the kitchen. Old and young alike will enjoy practicing on the putting greens and watching the fish in the koi ponds. The pools are great for little ones and adults too. One of the two pools is heated and tends to have families and kids play and swim there, while the other pool tends to attract an older clientele. We feel that the Papakea Resort has everything a family could need or want and more. That is why we bought here. There is even baby sitting services near by for when we are ready to use it. We hope you will come to love Maui as much as we do and come back every year to enjoy the great weather and awesomeness that is Hawaii!

What makes this condo unique

Two pools (1 heated!), two hot tubs, and lots of activities on site including golf putting greens, 2 tennis courts, shuffle board, BBQs galore, koi ponds with viewing benches, paved walking paths, elevators... the list goes on! Super long sandy Kaanapali beach for beach walks, or board walks, in the morning. Awesome corner unit has extra large windows on TWO sides that floods the unit with natural light. High ceilings lets you feel like you are not in a condo, but a home. Equipped with lots of extras so you can travel lighter! We know everyone likes to have everything at their finger tips but no one wants to carry it all while navigating airports. :O) So we have filled the condo with all the comforts of home! From a spice rack to a crock pot. Our kitchen is STOCKED!!!


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation condo rental in Lahaina, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Sink and toilet ensuite in loft bedroom
  • No bathtub, other than a portable infant to toddler plastic bath tub.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 king , 2 baby crib , Master bed is a Cal. King and 2 playpens are in the closet.
    Loft - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , The sofa bed in the living room has a memory foam mattress.
  • The Cal. king bed in the master bedroom is on the main floor. The second bedroom is in the loft upstairs and has a queen and twin beds. (The sofa, in the living room, also pulls out into a queen bed with a memory foam mattress - new in 2017.) In the closets you will find two play pens (with extra foam mats) that double as cribs for babies or young toddlers.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.779661 based on 59 reviews

Great stay, great place!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first experience renting a condo in Maui and it was a great experience all round. The condo itself was well-stocked for anything you might want to do while in Hawaii. It had tons of stuff for those travelling with children, but was perfect for adults too. It has a direct ocean view - the picture does not lie! - so the balcony/lanai provides an added escape! The resort is beautiful, well maintained, friendly and has all the amenities one might want including a couple of different pool areas with lots of lounge chairs. It is within a 5 minute walk of the beach and the boardwalk. We would highly recommend renting this top-floor condo. The owners have gone the extra mile to ensure that there is something for everyone. Linda

  • Submitted: 11-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Linda for taking the time to write a review of our property. We try very hard to make our home away from home everything it can be for all types of travellers. We are glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay. We would welcome you back anytime and to encourage your return we offer repeat guests a special discount. :0) Thanks again for your business. Respectfully, Loretta
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice place to stay and has all a family needs to have a great stay on Maui.

  • 5 of 5

The property is beautiful and very well kept.

  • Submitted: 5-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, Alberta Canada

Paradise for our whole family!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for two amazing weeks and were so happy with the unit, resort and the location. The location of the Papakea resort is fantastic with the a supermarket and several restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance. Beyond that the resort is so well maintained and is perfect for families with kids of any age. We used the pools, hot tubs and BBQs almost every day.

The unit had everything we needed to have a great vacation with two small children and didn't need to go out and buy or bring anything. The beach toys and chairs were very handy and kept the little ones occupied. I can say that the pictures don't do the unit justice, the ocean view from the lanai is fantastic. The elevator is right near the unit so there was no issue with it being on the 4th floor.

The owners, Loretta and Darcy, are very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. Everything from booking through check-in and stay went seamless. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, highly recommended.

  • Submitted: 10-May-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Grant for your review. We do try Really hard to make each and every guest experience the very best it can be. We would love to have you back and to entice you we offer repeat guests a special loyalty discount! Thanks again for your business. I’m thrilled you loved Maui and The Papakea as much as we do. Loretta
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kelowna, BC

Very Kid Friendly and Comfortable beds

  • 4 of 5

This property made travelling easier for us because it supplied a lot of baby stuff (playpens, high chair, baby bath, dbl stroller, etc). Both beds were extremely comfortable and it did have a very nice ocean view. Only negative was the resort did not really have a beach, however, you could walk 5-10 min in either direction and be at some really nice beaches. I would recommend this property to friends/family as the pool and hot tub were also very nice and we enjoyed a few games of mini golf :)

  • Submitted: 22-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ellensburg, WA

Brother-in-law's Wedding in Maui

  • 4 of 5

My wife's brother got married in Maui last week and we have roughly 35 friends and family travel over for the wedding. Several people were planning to stay at Papakea, so while we were looking for places we found this unit. It was the first time we took our 2 daughters to Hawaii and they loved it. The condo was very good for us. The girls loved the pool and all the extra items provided through the condo. Thanks for having us!

  • Submitted: 10-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Papakea D407

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this condo and it is a beautiful resort. Loretta and Darcy were very easy to work with and the condo had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. It is very close to the ABC store and other grocery store which made it very convenient. If it had more beach area right by the resort it would make it even better but we realize that can not be changed :). I would recommend anyone to stay there and enjoy their vacation.

  • Submitted: 16-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Kulului (OGG)
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Nearest Beach
Ka'anapali to the immediate left of the complex
Car: recommended

Kaanapali is the perfect location for almost every traveller. Unless you want snow, you can find almost everything in Kaanapali. From fine dining to family friendly restaurants to the grocery store, they are all within walking distance from our condo! Our unit is also equipped with many features to help make your holiday as fun and enjoyable as possible. There is snorkel gear for adults and kids, floaties, coolers, boogie boards, and water toys. We even have 2 high chairs, playpen, stroller (holds 2 kids), change pad, and baby rocker stashed away in the closets. Plus lots of kitchen wear and little things that just make travelling with kids easier (toys, books, etc.). Want to sit out on the lanai and listen to the waves but worried you won't hear your little one asleep in the bedroom... don't worry, just use the baby monitor in the Rubbermaid tote full of kids stuff. Want to start your day with some music? No problem, just bring your IPod and plug it into our Bose IPod player for great sound.

Tired of cooking but don't want to wait a long time to eat out. Easy, just walk across the street and choose from a few great restaurants. We love the smoothies at Java Jazz. Their portions are really big too, so great for sharing. Go explore the board walk or kick your sandals off and walk the beach. There is plenty to see and do in Kaanapali!


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation condo rental in Lahaina, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Apr. 1 - Nov. 30, 2018
Apr 1 2018 - Nov 30 2018
1 night minimum stay
Dec. 1 - 14, 2018
Dec 1 2018 - Dec 14 2018
1 night minimum stay
Christmas Season
Dec 15 2018 - Jan 13 2019
1 night minimum stay
Jan 14 - Feb. 28
Jan 14 2019 - Feb 28 2019
1 night minimum stay
Mar 1 2019 - Mar 31 2019
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$235.13
Damage Deposit C$265.68

If you are travelling with little ones there is no need to haul or rent child items (playpen, high chair's, stroller, etc.) while you are on Maui as our home is well stocked. Our aim is to make our "home away from home" yours too! Beach towels are also provided.

Just a reminder the resort fee of $17/night (Maxed out at $170.00) is payable to the front desk upon check out. This is common practice in Hawaii and is in place in nearly every resort in Maui. NOTE - it is payable to the FRONT DESK upon check out. Everyone has to pay it, even us - the owners!

Wi-Fi and parking for 1 vehicle are included. Parking for a second vehicle is avail. for $5/day extra and is also payable to the front desk.

*** Our full contract is located on our VRBO web page. When you book with us you accept the terms of this short term vacation rental contract.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner