Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Waterfront luxury Private Paradise! Prime Location! Amazing views! NEW FIBER OP!

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,700 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bdrm 3bath spacious luxury waterfront home close to Cavendish!

Take a deep breath & be prepared to be wowed as you walk into this 4 bdrm luxury waterfront home featuring floor to ceiling windows with magnificent views of the water & rolling meadows beyond. Open concept, 20 ft cathedral ceilings in the living/dining/kitchen area. Wood floors throughout the house & high quality tile in all 3 baths. The shabby chic design features Quartz countertops throughout, an Austrian hand cut crystal chandelier centerpeice & solid wood furniture hand crafted by our Island’s famous Kerris Jeffrey. Enjoy all the luxuries of home with a 52' TV in the master bedroom and 60' in the livingroom. surround sound in the main living area and master bedroom. There's a large deck with outdoor speakers (connected to TV, CD, Iphone, Radio) overlooking the water and a sheltered area to have a bbq and enjoy the outdoors even on a rainy day. When you wake up in the morning and step out into the main living area, you will feel like you are standing outisde. The sun is beaming, the water glistening, and the birds are in full view. A sight to be seen! Even at night the moon shines in! Air conditioning will keep you comfortable inside when the hot sun is beaming outside.. Enjoy the 5 person hot tub under the stars while listening to your favorite music with the outdoor speakers. Roast some marshmellows at your tiled area campfire pit at the water's edge. Brand new build in the fall of 2013. This beautifully designed home has 4 bedrooms and 3 baths in total. 2 bedrooms and 1 bath upstairs and 2 bedrooms on the main level; 1 ensuite (shower, stand alone tub) and 1 bath with shower on the main level. Its a perfect vacation spot close to beaches, attractions, restaurants, boat charters, hiking, biking, canoeing, kayaking and more! Walk the shore when the tide is out and head to the local bar for a cocktail, or simply stay home and have a drink on the perch located just at the edge of the property and enjoy the view of the boats going by. The house is situated on a very private lot only 10min from Cavendish.

We have a shore in front of our property, not a beach. You can walk quite a distance and see our red sandstone cliffs, shells, and many birds when the tide is out. There is an oyster lease in front of our property so if you see our friendly fisherman, wave him down if you want to buy some oysters off the boat! If you want to swim, you have to be ok with walking down to Lot 12, (we are lot 18) to get away from the oysters or wear your water shoes. The ocean floor is soft and you may find some seagrass depending on time of year. You can wade in this clean water at anytime to cool off. If you want to go in the water direclty in front of the house, wear your water shoes! We also provide a canoe!! This boating waterway has several areas to explore. You can branch off to different areas along this river for a great advenuture! Take your cooler! We also have , 2 inflatable row boats for some fun. We provide water shoes, noodles,snorkel gear, horseshoes, and bocce ball for your use as well. . We are a short 8 min drive to a beautiful beach in French River or 13 min drive to Cavendish Beach and all attractions. And only 10 min to Kensington, 20 min to Summerside and 45 min to Charlottetown. There are several activities very close by. We provide a beach pass for all 3 National Park beaches. And we just got fiber op!

More Details

Laurie Carruthers
Member since: 2014
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 19, 2018

About Laurie Carruthers

Hi! My name is Laurie and i am an 'Islander'! I moved back home 14 years ago and purchased cottages in Stanley Bridge area. I loved the area so much that when i sold my business in 2012, i decided it was time to build my Dream Home! I always loved Anne's Land. My dog, Maxi and I spend a lot of time on the beautiful trails and beaches out here. Since i built this home, it brings me so much peace. This house/area really does something wonderful to you as you will see for yourself :) I owned 3 more small businesses but decided to start a new chapter last year and i sold everything and now i am a full time realtor on PEI. I With my business background especially in accommodations; along with being a Islander, born and raised, and being a tour guide, i can help make your experience here on PEI an unforgettable one!

Laurie Carruthers purchased this house in 2013

Why Laurie Carruthers chose New London

The view and the privacy of this property is unique. No neighbors, which means you can have fun and/or romantic days and evenings and not worry about seeing a single soul. We are close to all attractions ,beaches., restaurants, seafood and more! We also provide a FREE National Park pass during your stay valued at $100!

What makes this house unique

You can walk along the shore when the tide is out to the Sou'West bar and Grill They offer great food and local entertainment. Just down the old heritage road, you can find a popular restaurant called the Kitchen Witch. On the way to the kitchen witch you can veer off the dirt road to a beautiful trail in the woods. We are located on a private lot with no neighbors so you have complete privacy to enjoy your hot tub, campfire pit and gorgeous views of rolling meadows and red cliffs. You can get oysters from the local fisherman directly off the boat and canoe the surrounding wide river . This property has breathtaking views. You can see the eagles, osprey and herons fly right by your large windows. It's an amazing sight! The tranquility of this sanctuary will change you!


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in New London

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower , Ensuite bathroom
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • The 2 twin beds will comfortably come together to make a King for couples.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling
  • swimming


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront luxury Private Paradise! Prime Location! Amazing views! NEW FIBER OP!
average rating of 4.904762 based on 21 reviews
Washington, DC

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about how much we loved our trip to PEI and how much of that is attributable to this great property. Our group had four adults and four kids (ages 7, 5, 2.5, and 2). This can be a tricky group to accommodate, but the house did so beautifully. The location was great...easy access to the things we wanted to visit more than once: the beaches, hikes, and Anne attractions in Cavendish. We had no trouble making day trips further afield, and in doing so, never found a part of the island that would have been a better home base for us. As for the home itself, it was well-equipped with everything we needed to prepare most of our meals at home (with such easy access to fresh seafood, cooking at home made more sense than torturing a restaurant and its patrons with our crew!!). The large yard, hammock, canoe, and low-tide beach were enormous hits with the kids, who spent every possible moment outside exploring the beach, swinging in the hammock, or throwing a ball.

Laurie was easy to deal with and very responsive when we had any issues or questions. She does a great job of maintaining the home and keeping it immaculate. Thank you!!!

As for activities on the island, we did clamming with Experience PEI and lobster fishing with Top Notch Charters, both of which were amazing and highly, highly recommended. The beach at Cavendish is an easy drive from the house, great for kids, and free, thanks to the park pass provided with the house. The drive along the coast was beautiful, yielding a lot of the classic PEI vistas.

I wish we could go back tomorrow. If we did, we would certainly rent with Laurie again!!

  • Submitted: 14-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A perfect view!

  • 4 of 5

The property is beautiful. Exceptionally clean. Perfect place to relax. The Best Beds!

WiFi does not work - no streaming or even googling on any device.

The leftover open food in the cupboards and freezer from previous guests was not appreciated. Open Chips and half eaten bags of nuts, open ice cream in freezer etc - Gross. A habit that should be changed. Cookware is of low quality - some overused - fry pans that won't lie flat. Plates heavily scratched, heavy and worn. Not one nice salad bowl. Not a decent wine glass either.

The third party booking engine used by the owner did not calculate the taxes and pet fee into the charge. Had large unexpected payment at departure - so be careful!!!

  • Submitted: 2-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I will respond to all of this. . Firstly when we talked on the phone you were elated and extremely happy with the property and the 2nd last day of your stay you were asking about my availability for next year. I know that there was a problem with the quote sent by vrbo but this was not not my error. When you booked you saw the rate and the base rate is plus tax in Canada (And you are Canadian) which you did not want to pay. I have never had This issue before with a vrbo quote but from now on I will pay very close attention as I know with technology mistakes can happen. This very thing happened to me with vrbo in North Carolina and yes it was unfortunate the quote came to me without the tax but when the owner informed me after we had left that she noticed the mistake i was happy to pay. This time of year gets extremely busy for us seasonal workers . You wanted me to cover the tax or the fee charged by vrbo when you only paid the off sesson rate of 2900 and the house was full of people and noticeably so.. Also You also never disclosed that you had a dog. My husband saw the dog and I heard the dog barking when we talked on the phone.. so yes I asked you to pay a pet fee plus tax Not disclosing the dog permitted me to take all of your deposit but I didn't do that. As for the Wi-Fi.. when the previous guests use up too much it gets slower I could have increased the package if you had told me it was this bad. Sorry about that but if Wi-Fi was so bad why did u want to come back next year? You simply told me it was slow which is common in rural PEI. But..end of this month, we will have fiber op so no more wifi issues thankfully. The food must have been a mistake. We always clean this out but I guess this one time it slipped our mind. Sorry. The expensive wine glasses I buy every year (8 per year) are always broken and replaced with cheap glasses. Your stay being in Sept you had to use the cheaper ones. However there were 4 good ones left. The pots and aluminum pants are very expensive but the t fal frying pans can get scratched and we do replace when needed. I have been staying here for over a month myself and never noticed a pan not sitting flat??. I have a lot of people in this house so it is impossible to keep everything new all the time. We have very expensive plates as well and 2 very nice salad bowls (maybe u didnt see them? ) and several nice plastic salad bowls. We will replace the scratched plates. Thank you for your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Beautiful, inviting, comfortable. Celebrated a wedding anniversary.

  • 5 of 5

We picked this location because it was centrally located for both sides of the island. It felt like a brand new 5 star hotel with the comforts of home. Views are stunning and it sits on an oyster bed with local fisherman visiting daily. Very peaceful!!

  • Submitted: 14-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for families

  • 5 of 5

It has everything you need and more.

  • Submitted: 27-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful House in a lovely location

  • 5 of 5

Laurie's house is absolutely lovely and well equipped. It was the perfect spot for our family to celebrate a special birthday. Laurie is a very organized host and made it easy for us to get settled quickly and enjoy our holiday. The views are excellent and we especially loved getting our daily catch of oysters from the oyster man in front of the house. We would definitely recommend this beautiful place and would love to return.

  • Submitted: 22-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely lovely spot! Even better than the pictures -- property is amazing, and home was super!

  • Submitted: 19-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
47 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
3 Kilometres
Sou West Restaurant and Bar
Nearest Ferry
111 Kilometres
Wood Islands
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Anderson Creek, Red Sands, Eagles Glen
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Sou West Restaurant
Nearest Beach
6 Kilometres
French River/Cavendish
Car: necessary

We offer a free National Park pass that grants you access to the 3 National Parks


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in New London

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Off season
May 19 2018 - Jun 22 2018
5 night minimum stay
Week in July
Jul 14 2018 - Jul 21 2018
5 night minimum stay
August stay
Aug 5 2018 - Aug 5 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Aug 6 2018 - Aug 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
August stay
Aug 7 2018 - Aug 11 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
August 6 night
Aug 12 2018 - Aug 18 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
6 night minimum stay
Aug 19 2018 - Sep 8 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Fall Season
Sep 9 2018 - Nov 18 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$500
Pet Fee C$75 + Tax

Any events (small wedding party under 50 people etc) have a damage deposit of $1000.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner