Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Central, Updated, and Charming - Bouldin Bungalow!

Bedrooms 2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Open Concept Cottage Sleeps 6

We'd love to have you enjoy Austin in one of Austin's coolest neighborhoods!

This comfortable 2BR/1BA house is located just south of downtown Austin and minutes from Zilker Park. The house is walkable to South Congress (SoCo), the popular South First street, and South Lamar.

The house was completely remodeled in 2009. The kitchen features stainless steel appliances and has amenities for cooking. Dunkin Donuts coffee is featured, as well as flavored creamers for coffee.

In Spring 2015, we did some cooking upgrades, including a new knife set, and redecorated throughout the home. We hope that you enjoy the new cookware we've provided in order to make your stay more comfortable.

The house has two bedrooms, one with a queen pillow-top bed and one with a king posturepedic bed - both exceptionally comfortable. Both bedrooms offer closet and drawer space for guest use. The living room couch pulls out into an additional full-sized bed. Sleep sound machines are provided in both bedrooms of the house for sensitive sleepers.

The bathroom has both a shower and a tub and the house is stocked with clean towels and linens.

There is a TV with a Roku system. The Roku allows you to sign into your video streaming accounts, such as Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and HBO Go. There is an antennae for basic/local channels and wireless internet.

A front porch with two chairs offers a great spot for relaxing and enjoying the Austin vibe, and the shaded table on the back porch is perfect for enjoying the private backyard.

There is a drive way for 2 cars as well as off-street parking. There a full-size washer & dryer in the house available to guests with stays over 4 days.

The house is a 5-minute car ride to downtown Austin, Lady Bird Lake, Zilker Park and the Barton Springs Pool.

Three nights stays are preferred (and required for special events such as ACL, SXSW, F1), but two-night stays will be considered for an additional $50 fee (except if booked within a week of stay or if booked for weeknights only, excluding holidays/festivals).

Pet stays are accepted on per guest basis and charged a pet fee (typically, $25 per night, per pet).

There is a train nearby but it does not blow its horn. If you are a lighter sleeper, you may hear the train passing by.

Myself and my property manager, Natalia, work hard to respond timely and quickly to your inquiries or any needs during your stay. We will make sure you are taken care of while staying in my home.

This property is permitted by the City of Austin and complies with Austin's short-term rental laws.

Please let me know if you have any questions and I look forward to your stay!

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 16, 2018

About Natalia

I own my own business and am from Austin, TX. I love to travel - I'm trying to get around to seeing as much as I can! I've traveled to all fifty states and thirteen countries.

I've been renting out my home for about 3 years now and love meeting the many people from all over, as well as hearing their stories why they're visiting Austin.

Natalia purchased this bungalow in 2009

Why Natalia chose Bouldin

I purchased my house to be an active part of Austin. When staying at my house, you are in the middle of it all - you are a quick walk, bikerride, or car ride from almost anywhere. The neighborhood, Bouldin Creek, is also one of Austin's quirkiest neighborhoods - in the heart of the infamous 78704 zip code. You will love your stay here!

What makes this bungalow unique

Walking to breakfast or lunch at neighborhood cafes and fine dining restaurants, hopping on the City bus one block away, walking to the neighborhood park one block away, a twenty minute walk from Auditorium Shores and Ladybird Lake, a quick bike ride to Zilker Park, staying in the same neighborhood as residents movie star Elijah Wood and musician Robert Plant!


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation bungalow rental in Bouldin, Texas

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • long term renters welcome
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Central, Updated, and Charming - Bouldin Bungalow!
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
Wheeling IL

Close to so much!

  • 5 of 5

Property was clean and close to everything we wanted to do. We walked to Zilker, First and SoCo. Short cab rides took us to 6th street and more. Nice, quiet neighborhood. Property manager was very responsive and offered recommendations for neighborhood businesses.

  • Submitted: 18-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you - we enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, Clean and amazing management

  • 5 of 5

We visited for a few days. The house is in a great location, central to everything. The house was very clean and everything worked perfect. It was just as advertised. I forgot my car key and they emailed me the next day and are sending it back. They are awesome and their kindness is amazing like everyone we met in Austin. Great house and city for a family vacation

  • Submitted: 25-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Northglenn, Colorado

Cute little property

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for our family of four including two teenage daughters. The train was hardly noticed just a low grumble in the distance. Clean. The property manager was very patient with me as this was my first time booking through VRBO. She was very responsive when I had any type of question.

  • Submitted: 11-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dallas, Tx

Very disappointing - We do not recommend this property

  • 1 of 5

This house was a very disappointing experience. My boyfriend and I have stayed at many VRBO properties over the past several years and have never run into issues...until our stay at this property. When we walked in, we were greeted by 85 degree heat in the house accompanied by an incredibly unpleasant odor. The entire house smelled of pet urine. It was in the carpets, the furniture, the curtains. We called the property manager and asked her to stop by the house so we could walk her through the issues we had with the property, but she said she was unavailable to do so. We left the doors and windows open to try to air it out as well as purchased candles to try to combat the odor. Nothing worked. In addition, the air conditioning didn't cool the house to a comfortable temperature. The walls were dirty throughout the house and in need of a fresh coat of paint. The walls and baseboards in the bathroom had visible water damage and mildew. The furniture in the living area had stains. The bathroom was in dire need of updating. Toilet handle was broken. The shower was dirty. We were so uncomfortable and displeased with the property that we ended up cutting our trip short and leaving early. It was a very disappointing experience.

  • Submitted: 27-Apr-2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We worked extensively with this guest to try to accommodate her during her stay, but to no avail. Despite her complaints being unwarranted (see below), we offered her a substantial refund to compensate her dissatisfaction. She demanded more of a refund, which we simply could not agree considering the length of her ultimate stay and the amount of work she required. She then threatened to stop payment altogether. Despite her many complaints, she stayed a second night, then almost stayed a third, which is ran counter to her allegations. This home is booked every week and we maintain over 100 great reviews on our other vacation rental sites. We have several guests that book it annually every year. We work very hard to make the home comfortable and inviting, and we go out of our way to make our guests happy. It is also located in a highly sought out location. We had guests right before and right after her stay, who were all very pleased. We are happy to share the link that could show you. The AC works great. The guest was operating it incorrectly. We verified it was working the same day she checked out. We were able to cool the house down to 59 degrees within 20 minutes. We had had the carpets steam cleaned immediately preceding the guest which might have stirred up an ‘odor’, though neither the housecleaner nor owner could detect anything immediately before or after the guest checked out. The toilet handle works fine, but has had a quirk for four years that is detailed in the house manual and requires four extra seconds of maneuvering. Any stains that the guest saw have never been pointed out by previous guests. Unfortunately, we feel this review is her way of lashing out because she did not get thr refund she desired. We take great pride in our home and have been renting it out as a vacation home for over 5 successful years. We have a real interest in providing a great getaway as we are regular travelers ourselves. We have years of great reviews on our other websites that we will gladly show, it is evident that this review sticks out like a sore thumb. We are incredibly disappointed that this guest is handling it this way and that we have to respond in this manner.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Awesome home-away-from-home atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

It was fun to return to Bouldin Bungalow and see some updates that made this comfortable home even better! Natalia is so friendly and responsive to our questions. Our new favorite coffee place is Picnik's on S. Lamar for butter coffee and blondies. We're looking forward to our stay again next year.

  • Submitted: 26-Apr-2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable, convenient.

  • 5 of 5

For the second year, my husband and I stayed in this charming little house for the month of February. It is very comfortable for two people and OK for 4 (relatives visited for a few days). The kitchen is nicer this year (new pots and pans, dishes, glasses, knives, etc.), and the ancient TV (so old it would not work with Apple TV) was replaced. The location is great, and the neighborhood is pleasant.

  • Submitted: 24-Apr-2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Train
1.5 Metres
Amtrak Station
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation bungalow rental in Bouldin, Texas

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Fantastic Fest
Sep 20 2018 - Sep 26 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
ACL 18
Oct 5 2018 - Oct 6 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
ACL 2 18
Oct 12 2018 - Oct 13 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
Oct 19 2018 - Oct 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
Nov 21 2018 - Nov 24 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
Dec 21 2018 - Dec 25 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
Dec 28 2018 - Jan 1 2019
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
Mar 8 2019 - Mar 16 2019
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
ACL 19
Oct 4 2019 - Oct 5 2019
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
ACL 19
Oct 11 2019 - Oct 12 2019
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$199.26
Cleaning fee C$79.7

We work hard to make sure you have an enjoyable stay at my property in Austin.

I am on a Strict cancellation policy. However, depending on how far out your reservation is, I am often able to work with you. Please contact me if something arises prior to your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties