Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Golf And Sun Await In A Natural Sonoran Desert Setting With Heated Pool

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,650 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6, plus portable inflatable bed

The home was fully remodeled in 2013. Amenities include, full kitchen with new stainless steel appliances, new granite surfaces in the kitchen and baths, and new stone flooring in the kitchen, front room, and halls, new carpets in two bedrooms, and new hardwood floor in the master. The master bedroom is large and roomy and contains a slider to a private backyard and pool with a large walk in closet and private bathroom. All interior and exterior walls have been repainted!

The beautiful living room has a large HD TV and the home has free wireless internet. Air conditioning and ceiling fans are provided in all bedrooms plus the family room to allow individual temperature control.

The pool and landscape are maintained routinely by professional services. The pool has a heater to enable swimming during the winter, early spring, and late fall seasons when the air temperature drops at night. The private patio has a newly constructed outside dinning area with seating for 8 along with a built in aluminum ice cooler and sink. There are comfortable patio chairs and lounges and two portable shade umbrellas.. There is also a new stainless steel barbecue and an built in propane fire bowl and numerous exterior solar lights.

Two of the bedrooms have brand new queen beds and mattresses. The concrete off the sliding door has been recoated and a new aluminum patio cover has been installed over the outside dining area with exterior fan for added comfort.

The kitchen is well stocked and has a Keurig coffee maker.

More Details

Kevin & Beth Ostic
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 12, 2018

About Kevin & Beth Ostic

My husband and I have been married for 33 years. we reside in the Seattle, Washington area and have raised our 3 daughters here. We have always loved the Gold Canyon area, Arizona golf, MLB spring training, and sunshine! Now that we have a beautiful home in Arizona it's hard to decide where to stay!

Our daughters are all on their own now so we are entering a brand new, exciting stage of life.

Kevin & Beth Ostic purchased this house in 2013

Why Kevin & Beth Ostic chose Gold Canyon

This property has it all. Privacy, beautiful views, hiking trails, walking trails, world class golf minutes away, private back yard with heated pool, recently remodeled with modern finishes, and comfy beds! It is the wild west revisited complete with doves on top of the saguaros, lizards on the fence, and coyotes howling at night!

What makes this house unique

We absolutely loved the views and desert feel of this house. It is perfect for us and we are sure you will enjoy it too.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Gold Canyon

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bath
  • Two sinks and roomy shower in master bath Tub/shower combo in guest bath Granite counter tops
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Spacious master bedroom with slider to back yard. hard wood floors
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • long term renters welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
45 minutes away from MLB spring training parks, 35 minutes to ASU Stadium and Phoenix Zoo


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Golf And Sun Await In A Natural Sonoran Desert Setting With Heated Pool
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
Royalton, Minnesota

Excellent in everyway.

  • 5 of 5

Kevin and Beth have thought of everything for a most comfortable stay. The kitchen well stocked with everything for cooking and serving. The pool a very relaxing and pleasant area inviting you to swim or just sit and enjoy the weather. By the way the pool was sparkling always such a treat. We could not have had a better time relaxing and with choices for things to do . Thanks for a great month of getaway.

  • Submitted: 1-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike and Wanda were exceptional guests. As soon as they arrived they called us to let us know how happy they were with the home and how much they enjoyed the outside backyard patio and pool. We were in constant communication checking in to ensure they had a most pleasant stay. We sincerely appreciate their business and especially their friendship. They loved the area so much they purchased a home right down the street during their stay so we cant wait to visit our new neighbors. Our only regret is that we were powerless to send them back to Minnesota with a Vikings win so that they could return home to watch their favorite team play in the Super Bowl in their own stadium!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We always are 100% satisfied with our stay at the Ostic property.

  • 5 of 5

This prosperity has everything you need for a long or a short stay. Backyard is perfect for entertaining. The kitchen is well supplied with spices, dishes and all the necessities. We couldn’t ask for anything more.

  • Submitted: 4-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie and Roger are excellent guests and we love having them return each year! They are wonderful renters and great friends. They have lots of relatives and family visiting the area from out of state and they all enjoy the heated pool and patio! We really appreciate them and look forward to their stay again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We had the greatest experience at this home! The owners are caring and very nice people. The home is very comfortable and had everything needed for a long stay. It is clean and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful backyard....the desert view is great (amazing sunsets!!) and the pool was a huge plus for the July weather!! We felt right at home and really hated to leave! Can't wait to return!

Thank you Kevin & Beth for making us feel so welcome!!!

  • Submitted: 13-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nancy and family were exceptional guests and we really appreciated their stay! Gold Canyon is a special place for them as their daughter was married here and during their visit they welcomed a brand new grand daughter. We were just as elated as they were when the special event happened and appreciated the pictures of mom, dad, and their new addition. It was a pleasure to have Nancy and their family and glad they were able to enjoy the pool in July and August along with their new family addition! Lasting memories for all of us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ostic's Grand Canyon Home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have rented the Ostic home for three years now. We could not ask for a more suitable and beautiful home. The back yard is absolutely beautiful. When we leave at the end of March all the shrubs and flowers are in full bloom. It is the perfect back yard for grilling out and entertaining. The kitchen area is very well stocked with all the necessities for cooking and serving. And the three bedrooms are perfect for when our children come to visit.

Kevin and Beth Ostic are wonderful caring people who make sure we have everything we need while staying in their home. We couldn't ask for better people to rent from. They have helped us in so many ways to "live our dream".

  • Submitted: 4-Apr-2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie and Roger are wonderful guests and feel like a part of our family. They have spent 3 seasons with us and they take such incredible care of the home. Roger even proactively volunteered to reattach one of the storage cabinets that dislodged from the wall in the garage during their stay. We feel very secure when they are in the home, and are elated that they can share the house, patio, and pool with their extended family and friends that all travel south for the winter! Not only are they excellent guests, they are simply wonderful people! We really appreciate their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shickley, Nebraska

Wonderful Rental

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented this home for month of January 2017. We had a great time and the home is just as listed. We loved the heated pool. We hike and bike and Gold Canyon is great for all outdoor activity. January was a little cooler than we expected here. Very well-equipped home and patio and pool are a great asset to this home. Also loved the direction back yard faces for the sun.

  • Submitted: 31-Jan-2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely appreciate our new guests and wish to thank them for their stay. It was most unfortunate the weather was not more accommodating, but we were elated that they were able to enjoy the heated pool during a very cool January. We appreciate their personal email after their stay on opportunities to enhance the home for future guests and were glad to hear that given their experience they would be open to returning in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Not as it was listed. Not a Toscano Villa at all ,not on that location at all

  • 1 of 5

We had a rocky start to say the least. We found our place filthy. After calling the owners and them insisting the cleaning service was there, I sent photos of the filth. Then they said they would have it cleaned half way through our visit instead of have the cleaning service come immmediately. I explained that I wasn't going to clean someone else's filth. There was very detailed directions on the expectations of how we were to find and leave things on the property. Secondly, the gas fire pit and gas grill were to have new tanks. NOT. Empty. We were to fill them upon leaving. Thirdly, all patio cushions and fire pit cushions were to be stored in the garage. Not. They were out on the furniture. Lastly, this pool service guy has a great racket. The pool was out of chlorine pellets. He came checked the chemical dip stick and said yep it's low and was gonna leave without filling it. He said I don't carry chlorine on my truck?? That's like a firemen showing up with no water. He doesn't scrub the pool and if the cover is on. Which it wasn't when we got there DESPITE the direction sheet which clearly states to leave it on when not using it. The pool vacumn hose broke so it quite working, called the Pool guy said we would charge to come fix it so we took off a segment of tubing and got it working. If the pool guy EVER did preventative maintenance this could have been avoided. The gardener is allegedly to come a couple times a month. I was there 6 weeks saw him once. He never did anything like pick up sticks, leaves,etc he did dig 2 holes to repair sprinklers the first week I was there and those holes were still there week 6. Proof that he never returned. The cleaning service is a joke. 2 gals came and allegedly cleaned this 3 bed/2 bath house washing all 3 bed sets of sheets and cleaning two full baths in less than an hour. Not happening! There was no dusting! The floors were filthy. You couldn't go barefoot or the bottoms of your feet were filthy. The oven was nasty. Dirty dishes in dishwasher. A lot of this is truly not the owners fault, but you have to check up on your property. The owner was very defensive about his cleaners, pool guy and gardener. I think we spent enough time there to say that these service people are ripping the owners off. The icing on the cake were the neighbors that jump out the window-5 feet from the dining room window and smoke pot several times a day!! The smell comes into the home. 😬򛁔he kitchen was well stocked with items!

  • Submitted: 29-Dec-2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been renting our home for over 3 years utilizing the same professional service companies (cleaning, landscaping, pool) and have routinely received excellent reviews (5 stars) and positive feedback from our valued clients. We always seek opportunities for improvement and take great joy in every client leaving with a great experience. We have clients that continue to return each year for long durations. This is the first and only guest that has responded with a negative review. We certainly sympathize with them given the cleaning problem that occurred. As owners, we are responsible for making sure that each client has a clean home and a seamless vacation! We are constantly available via phone, text, or email on a 24 x 7 timeframe to respond to any customer concerns. We were extremely disappointed to learn from our new guests that the home was not cleaned to their satisfaction upon their arrival. This was very unfortunate as we had pre-scheduled the cleaning date and paid our invoice for service well in advance of the occupancy. Once we received the complaint, we contacted the cleaning company and they responded with 2 cleaners within 36 hours during the weekend. We requested that the cleaners consult with the client and do everything requested to extensively clean the home to their satisfaction. We followed up with the president of the cleaning company and the client immediately after the service for quality control. As home owners, we take full responsibility for the cleaning mistake and sympathize with the inconvenience that resulted. We apologized for this issue profusely and as compensation for the inconvenience purchased a gift certificate to their favorite golf course in the amount of $100. We received two texts during the stay regarding the pool and responded to both immediately. Our pool service tech returned to the home within hours of the first text to meet with the client and resolve their concerns. The 2nd text was responded to the same day and a new vacuum hose was installed 3 days later. We received a text about the previous tenant not completely filling the propane tanks and offered to mail our clients a check to their home address for the full cost of all propane used during their stay as an amenity. We also provided free meals delivered from Blue Apron. We value all our clients and urge any prospective customers to evaluate all of our reviews. We can also provide a list of many other clients as references if desired.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Sky Harbour Airport Phoenix
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 60
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Car: recommended

The greater Phoenix area has over 250 golf courses and one of best courses in Arizona runs adjacent to the property. The Gold Canyon Golf Resort clubhouse is one mile away and features 36 holes of championship desert golf. The Sidewinder and Dinosaur Mountain courses are hidden gems. The Best of Zagat rates the Gold Canyon Dinosaur Mountain course as one of the Top 3 Public Courses in Arizona based on: course conditions, service, facilities, and value. Sports Illustrated has ranked Gold Canyon in the Top 5 Public courses in Arizona for the past 12 years! The Dinosaur Mountain course winds across the mountains providing incredible elevation changes from tee to green and spectacular views of the Superstition Mountains to the East. The Sidewinder course navigates through natural arroyos and dry creek beds among the native cholla, prickly pear, mesquite and palo verde trees. Superstition Mountain Golf and Country Club, featuring the Prospector and Lost Gold courses, is less than a 5 minute drive, and has hosted multiple major LPGA and Champions Tour Tournaments. The Mountainbrook course is also within 5 minutes. Gold Canyon has a special discount card available for purchase (one free round and up to 50% off selected tee times), or you may consider buying a Southwest PGA card for discounts on up to 50 local courses including Gold Canyon. You can also obtain seasonal discounts online.

The city of Gold Canyon has some excellent restaurants nearby. Within a few miles mile are the Gold Canyon Resort Cantina, and Wahoo's. The Best Western Hotel on Kings Ranch Road is less than 2 miles away with a restaurant/bar that normally remains open late. Rosatti's has great Italian food that is very inexpensive. There is also a Basha's grocery store within 5 minutes and two Chinese food locations along with some local cafes. Basha's has a Starbucks coffee store inside.

Wildlife abounds on the Gold Canyon course and the surrounding neighborhoods. Bobcats, deer, coyotes, rabbits, lizards, doves and quail are often seen on the course or in the wash nearby.

Hiking is easily accessible on all sides of our home. Plenty of maintained walking trails throughout the neighborhood are available.

Gold Canyon living is special because much of the area is still undeveloped and remains native Sonoran desert. The local mountain ranges highlight the beauty and provide a great backdrop for sunset or sunrise photographs. This is true Arizona living with lots of wild birds nesting in a saguaros behind the house.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Gold Canyon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
High Season 2018
Jan 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
Summer Season 2018
May 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
Mid Season 2018
Sep 1 2018 - Dec 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$191.41
Damage Insurance C$75.29

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner