Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Kaanapali Beach Whaler - 11th Floor Ocean View Studio - Remodeled

Bedrooms Studio
Space 560 sq ft
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 5 - 11 nights


About the property

Luxurious, Ocean View, 11th Floor Courtyard Studio - Kaanapali Beach

Aloha from the beautiful #1113 at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach.

We just purchased and listed this condo, so take advantage of our relatively large amount of availability during the Holiday & Peak Seasons!

This gorgeous, ocean view studio condo is newly remodeled and located on the interior, courtyard side of the 11th floor. The lanai provides stunning views of the ocean and the world famous Kaanapali Beach. The beautifully remodeled kitchen is fully equipped, allowing you to enjoy either the beautiful sunrise or sunset on the lanai with a fresh cooked meal.

Unlike many studio condos, our unit has a large, comfortable king size bed! And there is a pullout couch for an additional bed. The condo also has a new flat screen HDTV with cable and DVD player, and there is complimentary WiFi.

The Whaler provides the luxury and convenience of combining the amenities of a hotel complex with those of a personal condominium. The Whaler is comprised of two 12-story towers. Over the last ~3 years, the property has completed over $30 million in renovations, including a newly renovated courtyard with koi ponds, as well as a new hot tub and new tile and railings on the lanais. The Whaler has a beautiful, oceanfront pool, complete with lounge chairs and shaded cabanas, a hot tub, and towel service. Immediately adjacent to the pool deck, is the towel cabana, where you can get a fresh towel to use both at the pool and on the beach. Also on the property is a fully equipped exercise room, business center, sauna, salon, 5 propane BBQs, convenient underground parking, and a bellhop.

The condo is located 11 stories above the paved promenade that stretches the length of Ka’anapali beach. Along this promenade are many of Maui’s premier stores and restaurants, as well as many of the exciting activities available on the island. There is an almost infinite amount of tropical activities at your fingertips. Surfing lessons, paddle-boarding, catamaran excursions, luaus, scuba diving, whale watching, and two top-class golf courses are just some of the many options that are available right outside the condo. If you are feeling even more adventurous, there is a plethora of day-trip adventures you can embark upon. You can take guided, sunrise/sunset tours of Haleakala (or even mountain bike down it!), go zip-lining, horseback riding, hiking, or take a helicopter tour of the island. There is always something incredible to do on Maui, and this condo on Ka’anapali beach is located at the heart of everything.

We also have the adjacent studio -#1115- available for rent (#640485) -

We also rent a gorgeous, large 2BR/2BA (#452723) ocean front condo and another ocean view studio (#480768). These other two units are across the hall from each other on the 10th floor. So, If you have a larger party and would like additional space while staying in close proximity, please let us know.


HI Tax ID: W94605203

More Details

Black Rock Rentals
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About Black Rock Rentals

We own and rent three different condos at The Whaler. Two studios--#1113 & #1061, as well as a gorgeous ocreanfront 2-bedroom--#1052

Black Rock Rentals purchased this studio in 2013


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation studio rental in Lahaina, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 11
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 560 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Resort
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower , Gorgeous, Recently Remodeled Bathroom
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
2% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Kaanapali Beach Whaler - 11th Floor Ocean View Studio - Remodeled
average rating of 4.847826 based on 46 reviews

Our stay was fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

The property is absolutely beautiful and the view from the condo could not be any better! We loved every minute and can’t wait to stay here again! Thank you

  • Submitted: 27-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice accomodations

  • 5 of 5

Middle of Kanapalli close to everything

  • Submitted: 5-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect place on Maui to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this condo. It was just the right size for the two of us. We’ve been to Maui probably 12-14 times and have never stayed at the Whaler. This was a lovely unit, with everything we needed. The unit and development have just been remodeled, so everything is just like new.

We have always stayed up in the Napili area (which we still love). But do enjoy the variety of restaurants and shops within walking distance.

We most definitely would stay here again.

  • Submitted: 7-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Week in Maui

  • 5 of 5

Location is perfect for this condo. We walked to tons of stuff and easy driving everywhere else. The owners have really prepared the unit to be just like home away from home for the visitor...everything you likely would need in the kitchen, bathroom, laundry supplies, entertainment and online amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the unit was super clean. We would definitely stay here again...

  • Submitted: 28-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bitter sweet.

  • 3 of 5

Let us start by saying: This is a fantastic unit, well equipped, well maintained, in a wonderful location. If we are really neat-picky, we'd say that the stove top fan --incorporated into the microwave above the stove top-- that does not seem to work at all and that the toilet flusher, remains stuck indefinitely unless manually returned to the up/off position. However, short of these 2 minor and highly-fixable problems, everything was perfect. And we would highly recommend this unit and we would easily give it 5 stars... However, there was construction, right above on the 12th floor, starting at 7am daily and lasting throughout the day, every day. And we're not talking about light remodeling work either. Daily, we were woken up by electric drills, saws, hammering, which made the experience very irritating. We talked to the front desk manager who informed us there was nothing that he could do. He emphasized that owners of every unit at the Whaler were informed that this would happen and that noise would be an issue. In fact, even a whole elevator was reserved for the sole use of construction workers. However, we were not warned about the construction and associated noise. So, we are a bit torn about our stay.

  • Submitted: 20-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice view

  • 3 of 5

I'm torn on the review for this unit. Plusses: fantastic view, quiet, comfortable bed, beach chairs in the closet for use, can't beat The Whaler as a location - we've rented here through VRBO numerous times. Minuses: kitchen could use better cookware, no space for food items except in the fridge. We are a couple who use the heck out of a kitchen when we go. I cook breakfast and make lunch usually each day and we usually eat a few dinners in as well. I was disappointed at the kitchen's contents: 2 coffee mugs only; a saute pan that was not large enough to lay a slice of bacon; no place to put food items that didn't go in the fridge. I'm resourceful, and I made it work. But it could have been easier. The first day I tried to run the dishwasher, it kept giving me some beeping sounds and I could not figure out how to turn the dang thing on! An email to the management was responded to quickly - saying that it wasn't me, it was the dishwasher. Ultimately, the dishwasher had to be replaced, so we were 2 days without one. Hand washing dishes is not the dream on vacation but it wasn't the end of the world. I was disappointed, though, that the cleaning crew who came through before us didn't do a light load to make sure everything was in working order. While we were in communication with the management during the appliance replacement arrangements, they did not check back to see that the work was done and that everything was copasetic. If you are expecting to use a kitchen every day quite a bit, this may not be the unit for you. If not, then don't hesitate to rent this unit.

  • Submitted: 25-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer, We are very glad that you enjoyed the gorgeous view, and appreciated our plush mattress and Tommy Bahama beach gear. Unfortunately, appliances do occasionally break, and on those very rare occasions we work hard to promptly rectify the issue. On this occasion, we sent a repairman to fix the dishwasher the next morning after receiving your evening email, and when he was unable to fix it, we had it replaced in under 24 hours. We were in contact with the maintenance staff and appliance installer to confirm install. We take care to make sure our kitchen is well stocked, and we have a selection of saute pans, sauce pans, as well as a stock pot in the condo. Mahalo, James Black Rock Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation studio rental in Lahaina, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spring 2018
Apr 1 2018 - May 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
Summer 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$192.66
Damage Deposit C$385.32

There is a $150 cleaning fee

There is a $17/day ($20/day in 2018) resort fee charged by The Whaler resort that includes parking, high-speed internet, cable TV, small work-out facility, and use of the tennis courts with complementary racket/ball rental. This fee is paid to the front desk at check-in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner