Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Luxury Living in Harlem

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2BR/1bath in historic Harlem brownstone

Full floor apartment in historic Harlem brownstone. Master BR with 1 king-size bed, second BR w/full-size bed; living and dining area. Sofabed in living room sleeps two; custom mattress. Complete kitchen; cable TV and WiFi; one full bath. All newly renovated. Within walking distance of express and local subways; 20 minutes from midtown Manhattan.


Owner
Carolann Greenup
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 18, 2018

About Carolann Greenup

I was born and raised in NYC and have lived here almost my entire life. My dad's old office was literally right next door to the world-famous Apollo Theatre, so my love affair with Harlem began early. I love the diversity and excitement of NYC! I think it is one of the best places in the world to live, especially if you cannot afford to travel. There are so many different cultures on display in NYC. And Harlem is in the midst of a second (third? fourth? twelfth?) renaissance which makes every day an adventure. Since I've lived in this neighborhood, I don't think I've ever been bored a day in my life.

Why Carolann Greenup chose Strivers' Row

The patterned tile floor of the vestibule, the spectacular woodwork which distinguishes the hallway and staircase; the fireplace with its pillars and tile work; the bay windows in the master bedroom - a brownstone is more than a building; it is a historical snapshot, a beautiful example of the elegance of a bygone era. This property is a living, vibrant museum. We manage and maintain it with a great deal of love.

What makes this townhome unique

While I would never want to be bored, I also appreciate peace and serenity. The stately beauty of this building has a very calming effect on its residents which makes it very easy to relax after an exciting day of life in the big city.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We know how much you looked forward to your trip, and we did our best to make things nice for you as we do for all our guests. I am sorry if it is not ending in a way you would like, but we bear no responsibility whatsoever for that. We give FULL disclosure to the utmost degree to all our guests. Not one of our guests has ever come to harm while in our building. We are particularly proud of this part of our reputation, we intend to maintain it, and we cannot do so if we do not enforce our own rules. So to reiterate, yes, I am withholding your deposit.



Sincerely,



Carolann Greenup

Harlem Comfort
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation townhome rental in Strivers' Row, New York

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , renovated with new sink, toilet, showerhead, tub
  • 1 full bathroom; renovated w/ new sink, toilet and floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • 1 Master BR w/ brand new king-size bed and mattress; 1 smaller BR w/brand new full-size bed and mattress.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(92 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Living in Harlem
average rating of 4.8369565 based on 96 reviews
5

A beautiful, comfortable, safe, and historic place to stay to enjoy the best city in the US!

  • 5 of 5

We have been to New York City many times before and have always stayed at your typical tourist-centered hotels. Not this time! We really wanted to experience the city and the people of New York. So many people might think twice about staying in Harlem. If that might be you, DON'T! Especially here with Carolann! She made us feel welcome, safe, and always know she was a call away.

As soon as we arrived, she was there to welcome our family and gave us a tour of the property. She even had the refrigerator fully stocked with essentials (milk, water bottles, orange juice), and had chicken dinner ready for us after a long day of traveling. All homemade! There was even freshly made banana bread.

As far as the apartment, it was beautiful! The reviews posted prior to mine do a wonderful job describing it. We have absolutely no complaints. It is beautiful. It was clean and sanitary. It was stocked with enough supplies for our four day stay (and then some). We never had any problems, and if we did, I am positive Carolann would have taken care of them immediately. We were so happy to have stayed there and to have met both Carolann and Anthony. They are such lovely people with hearts of gold. Thank you Carolann and Anthony!

  • Submitted: 30-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and comfortable stay!

  • 5 of 5

Finally the dust has settled from our travels and I have time to review.

BLUF (Bottom Line Up Front) Book it and don’t second guess. It’s a very comfortable and well appointed apartment, perfect for the family of 4 or so. Carolann’s hospitality is second to none. We were greeted upon arrival and never had any doubt as to our safety and needs being met.

The master bedroom is very spacious. Big enough for all our luggage and room to move around. A family with infants could fit a “pack-n-play” in the room easily. Closet space is a plus!

The second room is not so roomy but the double bed sleeps one adult perfect and two would be cozy but not impossible. The fold out sofa was very comfortable for my 13 year old son.

Kitchen is great with coffee and snacks. We didn’t use it much but it was perfect for anyone that wants to cook at the apartment.

It is a 100 year old brownstone apartment so the age does show in the entry way but it’s so nicely updated and remodeled, you can barely tell on the inside.

Also, get a subway pass and walk two blocks to a clean and safe subway stop. Dismiss all the movies you’ve seen. The subways were always safe and even fun.( a few characters here and there) We never felt unsafe walking to and from the subway at all times of day or night.

Thank you Carolann and her team for the wonderful stay. We hope to do it again someday!

  • Submitted: 22-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Josh! We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves! And that you had a good time. You are welcome back anytime. That building is an ongoing work in progress. We've been working on it for years. Who knows; maybe by the time you get back, we'll finally be done with the hallway! Thanks again, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bromley
5

What a great apartment!

  • 5 of 5

Yes you can stay downtown in a faceless hotel - but why would you do that when you stay in a fab apartment like this in the heart of Harlem surrounded by real New Yorkers!

The apartment was quirky and comfortable with loads of space - and incredibly warm when outside is was -11c. It was a short stroll to the nearest subway station and the journey to central Manhattan was about 15mins. We came back late several nights and felt as safe as we would anywhere in the world.

Carolann was great - loads of contact beforehand answering any questions we had, met us on our arrival/departure and had a great array of food prepared for us when we got there - really welcome after our long journey from the UK.

We are a family of 4 and our two teenage children loved it - they couldn't quite believe they were staying in such a cool place and neighbourhood.

Thanks again, we would not hesitate to come back.

  • Submitted: 14-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nick, We really enjoyed having you! Thanks for the kind words, and you are welcome back any time. Happy 2018. Sincerely, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We could not have been happier with our stay. Carolann and the Anthonys could not have been more welcoming, kind, or accommodating to our family.

The apartment was clean and cupboards well stocked, and we were pleasantly surprised to find more than a night's worth of dinner that she had cooked for us, as well as some baked treats! All 3 were easily accessible by phone if we needed them. We were in town for an extended hospital visit, and everyone texted or stopped in to check on progress and status throughout.

Garage parking is available only blocks away and there is subway access close as well.

The circumstances of our visit were not ideal, but our stay with Carolann helped to ease one worry from our minds, and we will always appreciate the kindness and hospitality. Thank you from the bottom of all our hearts, especially the repaired one.

The Weston family

  • Submitted: 15-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jason, We are as happy and relieved at the outcome as you are. And there is true grace in the timing of it all. We wholeheartedly join you and yours in giving thanks. Merry Christmas to the Weston family! Sincerely, Carolann, Anthony & Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Tisbury MA
4

Warm, friendly and generous hospitality!

  • 4 of 5

Carolann and Anthony could not have been kinder or more helpful! They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We were greeted at the door, supplied with delicious homemade food, as well as basics like milk, butter and juice and treated like family. The apartment is clean and confortable with all the basics, and an easy walk to the subway. Thanks to our hosts for an enjoyable stay. We would definitely come back!

The king sized room is very spacious. We did find the second bedroom tight for our two kids - but a couple might find it an easier share.

Thank you Carolann.

  • Submitted: 28-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Elle, I feel like a real idiot - I could have sworn I told you about the sofabed in the living room. One of the kids could have slept there, and then they would not have been cramped. We find that boys usually prefer the sofabed because the TV's in the living room, and girls usually prefer the bedroom (privacy). But it sounds as though you had a good time, and we're glad. Have wonderful holiday season, and come back any time. Carolann, Anthony and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous New York getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Carolann's cozy apartment in Harlem was the perfect place to celebrate a reunion with our German friends! The apartment was very clean, roomy, and the well stocked fridge and cupboards made the vacation all the more special! What a treat! We felt spoiled! The full chicken dinner that she prepared for us provided more than one meal! Delicious!

The Harlem location was perfect for our metro travels to all parts of the city and we always felt safe in the area. We would definitely stay here again!

Carolann was an excellent communicator and no questions were left unanswered. She went up and beyond to make us feel comfortable and

informed . We highly recommend! Our experience was wonderful!

  • Submitted: 5-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Diane. We were glad to have you. Please come back any time. Also, thank you for the lovely pictures! We are going to keep them and figure out a place where we can display them. Sincerely, Carolann and Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
La Guardia
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Staten Island
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
#2 and 3 subway...B and C subway
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
FDR Drive
Nearest Beach
16 Miles
Coney Island

Property is located on a quiet, lovely, tree-lined block. Subway and bus transportation within walking distance. Various restaurants within walking distance. Grocery stores, fast-food restaurants and Laundromats within walking distance.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation townhome rental in Strivers' Row, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
XMAS
Dec 22 2018 - Jan 2 2019
5 night minimum stay
C$363
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
C$297
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$66 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$659.2
cleaning C$131.84

Rates are non-negotiable and will not be lowered. If you are unwilling to pay them, please do not contact us.
We do not give full or partial refunds for late arrivals or early departures under any circumstances.
We cannot accommodate smokers. We appreciate your interest and are sorry to lose your business, but please do not contact us if you smoke.
Entrance and common areas of this building are under 24-hour camera surveillance.
Apartment is not child-proofed. Not recommended for infants, toddlers or children below the age of 6.

Our website says that "This Owner Accepts Fewer Booking Requests Than Average." This is not accurate. We often have to cancel a guest's initial booking request and then redo it in order to lower the deposit amount. VRBO's system defaults to a large initial deposit, and we do not want to take a lot of money from our guests who may be booking several months in advance. You never know what can happen, and we do not refund deposits. We do not want to see anyone spend a lot of money up front which is non-refundable and then have to cancel their trip and lose a big deposit. So while it appears that we reject a lot of booking requests, we do not. We REDO a lot of booking requests.
For longer-term stay options, please see our sister property, Harlem Comfort II, under listing 1064276.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties