Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Just Around The Corner From Chesterman Beach

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,050 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

*VRBO lists all rates in USD- please go to rate page and click on Canadian flag for CAD or go to HomeAway. We have a 2 night minimum stay requirement in the winter until March.

Holidays and Long Weekends are a 3 night minimum stay.

*Summer is a 7 night minimum stay requirement*

Beautiful, private 3 bedroom vacation rental with hot tub, jetted tub and 2 full bathrooms within a 5 minute walk to South Chesterman Beach.

1 king bdrm, 1 queen bdrm and 1 bdrm with single over double bunkbed, fridge, stove, microwave, washer, dryer, fireplace outside shower with a large hot tub on very private deck.

More Details

Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2018

About Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle

Brian and Julie completed construction on this vacation rental in June of 2006. Built by themselves, it was created to provide a comfortable lodging for family and friends when they come to visit in Tofino. It has proven to be extremely well liked by numerous groups and always has repeat guests.

Why Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle chose Tofino

The Abalone Inn is situated on an amazing 2 acre property that is completely surrounded by trees which makes it very private but still very close to the beach. You feel like your in your own little paradise here surrounded by ancient cedars. Still lots of sun on deck and you can here the surf.

What makes this house unique

The Abalone has beautiful fir logs supporting the ceiling which were salvaged and milled by Brian and Julie. The ceilings are cedar tung and groove and the floor is solid hardwood.

There is a beautiful large jetted tub in the master bathroom to provide that spa- like atmosphere.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Julie, it was great dealing with you and arranging everything for our weekend. The place was great for 6 people, the location being steps away from the beach was perfect and being so close to everything one would need. Great to be close to surf, rental shops, coffee shops and restaurants.

Loved the hot tub and the kitchen had everything we needed. 2 bathrooms!! One with soaker, excellent!! Being nestled in the forest provided the perfect getaway. Thank you for everything,

Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Tofino, British Columbia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • We will not tolerate loud noise or music past 10pm. We live her on the same property and do not want our neighbors or other guests disturbed.
  • No oils, soap, bubble bath or sand in the hottub. Please shower prior. The floating dispenser is there to keep the tub clean. Leave it in the tub
  • Max 2 pets. Not allowed on furniture or bedding. Do not leave your pets unattended in our rental. Pick up after your pets inside and out.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bath linens and hand soap are provided. We do not provide shampoo or conditioner
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King bedroom - 1 king , Upstairs beside large bathroom with soaker tub
    Queen Bedroom - 1 king , Downstairs across the hall from 2nd bathroom
    Bunkbed room - 1 bunk bed , Single over double bunkbed and Packnplay
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
31% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Just Around The Corner From Chesterman Beach
average rating of 4.6 based on 46 reviews

Cozy and quiet

  • 5 of 5

In the trees off the main road. Just a short walk to Chesterman Beach. We slept 7 people there comfortably. Hot tub was hot and kitchen well stocked. Would come back again!

  • Submitted: 2-May-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect surf getaway!

  • 4 of 5

Super clean and had everything we needed for a great weekend of relaxation, surfing and fun!

  • Submitted: 8-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Property was very private and ideal to enjoy the forest and short walk to Chesterman Beach.

  • 3 of 5

We were two couples. The cabin was comfortable for 4 and we enjoyed the hot tub. We had two surprises: First. there was no shampoo or conditioner and the small rounds of soap were inadequate for a shower or bath. This is unacceptable given the nightly rate charged. Second, the book instructions stated that internet access was from 3 p.m. onward. This did not work well for us because we wanted to go on the internet in the early morning to decide our plans for the day. It would have been better if we were given a choice of time for the internet. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: 23-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate any feedback. Our vacation rental rates are a great value considering it has 3 bedrooms, a hot tub on a large spacious deck and a jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom. We have a fully equipped kitchen and have a washer and dryer for your convenience. We provide hand and facial soaps that are never fully used. We do not provide shampoo or conditioner as it comes in small plastic containers. Our internet is working perfectly and can be used 24 hours per day. Please email, text or call us if you have any questions when staying with us. Our phone #s are provided in guest info booklet. We are more than happy to answer questions that will help you have the most comfortable stay possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Well appointed cottage in a great location

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is comfortabel and well equiped including gas barbeque and hot tub. The beds are good, so are the bathrooms and the kitchen

  • Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect little cabin stay for our family!

  • 4 of 5

This is a very clean and comfortable accommodation. We really enjoyed the hot-tub on the deck as well as the heated outdoor shower. A 5 minute walk to Chesterman's beach, which the kids really enjoyed. Super private with trees all around, feels like you are nested in the forest. Well stocked kitchen with all the tools that you need, as well as lots of extra towels and linens. The upstairs master bathroom is large and gorgeous. We visited with our 2 toddlers and 2 babies, but you could easily accommodate a family with kids plus grandparents or another couple. We put 2 playpens in the master bathroom (need to cover the lovely skylight if you do this); any of the bedrooms are large enough for a playpen also. The bedrooms have good blinds that keep it really dark! The owners were very responsive to email/text leading up to our stay. We would stay here again :)

  • Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely place to stay in Tofino!

  • 5 of 5

We went up for my 25th birthday with a group of girls. The place was absolutely beautiful! Very easy to get to, great location, and the house itself was everything we could have asked for. Clean, spacious, private, and convenient. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Submitted: 7-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended

beautiful beaches, excellent hiking, Pacific Rim National Park, whale, bear, wolf and couger watch and tours

surf lessons, kayak rentals and guided tours, bird watching


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Tofino, British Columbia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Pre Summer
May 21 2018 - Jun 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$30 per night, per additional guest
Summer Rates
Jun 29 2018 - Sep 7 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$30 per night, per additional guest
Fall Rates
Sep 8 2018 - Oct 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$30 per night, per additional guest
Thanksgiving Weekend
Oct 5 2018 - Oct 8 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$30 per night, per additional guest
Late Fall Rates
Oct 9 2018 - Nov 8 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$30 per night, per additional guest
Christmas Break
Dec 21 2018 - Jan 2 2019
3 night minimum stay
Rememberance Day Weekend
Nov 8 2019 - Nov 12 2019
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee C$30 + Tax

Rates are in Canadian dollars. GST is 5% and an additional 3.5% booking fee for a total of 8.5% will be added to the nightly rate.
Rates are based on 6 people- We are not permitted by local bylaw to accept more than 6 people, including children.
Summer Months are a minimum 7 night stay.
Holidays are a minimum 3 night stay.
Christmas break beginning on the Friday prior and up to and including Jan 1st is a 3 night stay.
If cancellation occurs prior to the 30 days of arrival there will be a small fee of $3.5% charged.
If cancellation occurs within 15 and 29 days of arrival you will receive a refund of 50% of the amount paid if we are able to rebook all of the dates you cancelled.
If cancellation occurs within 14 days of arrival there will be no refund.
CLEANING: There will be no cleaning fee charged unless the following does not occur prior to checkout.
The dishwasher must be loaded and started. Other dishes should be cleaned dried and put away.
A load of laundry should be washed and started in the dryer and another load started in the washer.
If you have pets you should ensure that their hair is cleaned up by using the vacuum or sweeping the unit.
Please ensure that you have cleaned up all of your pets mess outside.
Please ensure that your garbage has been placed in a tied garbage bag and put in the bear proof container.
All of your recycles should go in the 2 Rubbermaid bins provided by the garbage can.
Please have respect and leave the cabin tidy prior to leaving.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner