Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Waterfront with a great beach, fireplace and large yard

Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

One bedroom with a loft, kitchen, living room, bath and a screened in porch

This is a private Door County cottage on North Bay Shore Drive. What a retreat! You have to see it to believe it. You can see the beautiful sunsets right from your back door over the waters of Sturgeon Bay and Green Bay. If you go north about nine miles, you will come to Egg Harbor on your relaxing drive along Bay Shore Drive.

Thenell's Cottage is steps from the water and the panoramic view of Potawatomi State Park and Sherwood Point lighthouse. It is located north of Sturgeon Bay where you can visit the Door County Maritime Museum. We have attractive antique and gift shops, excellent restaurants, and more.

There are two casual dining rooms that are short walking distance from the cabin.

More Details

Property Manager
Thenell's Cottage Door County Vacancies
Member since: 2009
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2018

About Thenell's Cottage Door County Vacancies

This property is managed by Dreamland Properties, LLC

dba Door County Vacancies - Thenell's Cottage (920) 737-4823


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Loft area
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront with a great beach, fireplace and large yard
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews

A beautiful little cottage right on the lake

  • 5 of 5

Thenell's Cottage was exactly what we wanted. It's a low-key, no-frills rustic cabin on the lake with a decent amount of privacy. I won't restate all of the positives that others have pointed out. They are all correct and accurate; this is a lovely little lake cottage that took me back to my Wisconsin summers as a kid. It is functional, comfortable, and the location and view are spectacular.

I do want to address the detractors and those that worry that the cottage is run down or poorly maintained. It is not. It is as spotless as one can expect of a lakefront cottage on a wooded lot. The kitchen is small and simple, but is just fine for scrambling some eggs, making a pot of coffee, and prepping sandwiches for your daytime adventures. The bathroom is tiny, and perfectly functional. The electrical work is all to code, and could only be considered "sketchy" by someone who has a very narrow frame of reference. If you are looking for expansive indoor spaces, modern decor and the comforts of home, this probably isn't the place for you. For everybody else, don't hesitate. It's a cozy and functional shelter for the hours when you are not out exploring Door County.

Lastly, thanks to Mrs. Thenell, who stopped by to see how we were doing and to drop off a pint of fresh, local strawberries. They were easily the best we've ever had, and the kids devoured them in less than five minutes. You are a gracious host!

  • Submitted: 6-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location. Needs more TLC

  • 3 of 5

Generally speaking the location was great but the cottage itself could have used more maintenance and routine cleaning.

  • Submitted: 13-Oct-2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Great cottage right on the water, it suited our needs for the 3 of us. It would be benifical at some point and time for the home owners to update the electrical wiring. Everything worked ok, but as my daughter stated " it was a little sketchy". We would come back in the future.

  • Submitted: 27-Jul-2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not favorably impressed

  • 2 of 5

About the only favorable impression we had of Thenell was the view. We were sorely disappointed in the cottage and the response to a lighting issue we had. We were not expecting a campground bathroom, but we were expecting somewhere to plug in things like a hair dryer or chargers for our phones. We had to purchase a 3 to 2 prong adapter since the plugins are not grounded. I really was not expecting to have to bleach the dishes after being used and since no gloves were provided to do so, we had to go with disposable products which we also had to purchase. No extra linens were provided for the beds, so fortunately, they were not needed since responses to issues were not addressed. The light fixture in the kitchen was not working properly when we arrived, so we notified the manager immediately. The fixture was still not working when we left on Saturday, with no call back in response. I would not recommend this rental to anyone.

  • Submitted: 26-Aug-2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry the property did not meet your expectations. The cottage was built by the owners’ grandfather, and we take pride in maintaining the original look and feel of the property. We attempted to call you at the number on file to address your concern about the light fixture. I am sorry we did not connect. Upon your departure, we checked and the light was in working order. Thank you for suggesting outlet adapters. We will add them to the property.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Perfect week in a sweet log cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the natural feel of this cabin. You can tell that this cabin has been taken care of and loved for years, even loved by a few friendly spiders. We luckily had a gorgeous week of weather, so that helped. Even with the warm days in the 80s, the fans cooled the cabin down at night. Our 6 year old girl loved the place. The owners were available if we needed anything and stayed in touch with us. It was nice to have Birminghams right up the drive for dinner - but we also did lots of day trips to explore Door County. Hope to come back!

  • Submitted: 17-Aug-2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderfully Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from vacation here and it was wonderful! The best thing was the privacy- is has a really huge private yard (we’ve had a number of vacations where other people were on top of us practically). It was wonderful to be so close to the lake. We had fires every night next to the shore, and there was a huge amount of fire wood for us to use- definitely a noteworthy thing since firewood is so expensive.

We definitely hope to come back in the future- I’d absolutely recommend coming here. I’d recommend bringing paper plates, etc. though since there isn’t a dishwasher at the cabin.

  • Submitted: 13-Aug-2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit C$256.34

The price per night DOES NOT INCLUDE the VRBO booking fee, security deposit and the taxes.
October 2017 (2 night stay) rate is $225 a night with a $65 cleaning fee

Call the manager directly to confirm reservation details.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

60 day cancellation notice with a $75 cancellation fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager