Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Peaceful Island Retreat With Waterview

Bedrooms 2
Space 88 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 bedrooms 1 bath

Peaceful island retreat with view of Mud Bay! Enjoy clamming, hiking, biking and fabulous sunsets on Lopez Island part of the San Juan Islands.

Our home features 2 bedrooms and 1 bath with a queen size pull-out couch in the living room. Sleeps six.

Barbeque, internet, DVD, VCR and more

Penny Fox
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Lopez Island, Washington

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 88 m²
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Twin beds can be made into a king size bed
  • Queen sleep sofa in the living room Baby crib
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Whale watching, kayaking, biking, boating, deep sea fishing, fresh water fishing, hiking, clamming, crabbing, shelling, golf, wildlife viewing, swimming, snorkeling/diving, sailing restaurants and shopping. Farmer's market in high season on Saturdays, local food and crafts Day trips to Sidney B.C., Vancouver Island, Canada


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

48% Complete
45% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Peaceful Island Retreat With Waterview
average rating of 4.4242425 based on 33 reviews

Very nice and peaceful place. Wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • 4 of 5

The place is about 20 mins from town and 15 mins to Watmough bay. Beautiful holes on Lopez. It's a nice get a away if you love nature and want to hike, bike, kayaking, and whale watching.

  • Submitted: 4-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not the greatest place I've stayed on Lopez

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was very spacious, large kitchen and large master bedroom. The beds, however, were not made with top sheets, only heavy quilts. As I'm sure the quilts don't get washed after every stay, it felt a bit unsanitary to me.

We were 4 people. One of the beds in the smaller bedroom was a futon type set very close to the floor. The young man sleeping on that bed found it so uncomfortable, he had to move to a living room couch to sleep.

A couple of appliances in the kitchen need to be replaced, i.e. the toaster and the coffee pot.

In the bathroom was a sign with instructions to use only 3 squares of TP per urination and only 6 squares of TP for bowel movements. Even though I understand there is a septic system, the directions seemed a bit ridiculous. We consequently felt uneasy using the bathroom and searched for other venues on the island to "do our business".

There were instructions to take all garbage and recycling with us at check out but with no directions as to where to take them.

Overall, I would have to say that the atmosphere did not feel welcoming, although the cabin was neat and clean. Our damage deposit was refunded promptly.

  • Submitted: 3-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Rick, Thank you for feedback about our vacation home. Your suggestion about a top sheet is taken care of by a duvet cover.The duvet cover is in effect a sheet (same size and weight as a sheet) and you can rest assured that the duvet cover is cleaned with every new guest. There are additional sheets in the linen closet that all guests are free to use. We were unaware of the coffee pot and toaster as the previous guest didn't say anything, but we will take address that immediately. Thank you for your feedback. The trash issue is an inconvenience for all of us. It is the reality of island living. Directions regarding the dump are in the contract you signed. We have reviewed the contents many times and it is normal practice for many of the rental houses in the island. The advice regarding toilet paper was done with humor. It is a poem that was once in the island grocery store. It was not meant to be taken literally. However we are very sorry that this caused you any trepidation. Regards Penny
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful, quiet and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a lovely, quiet couple of days on Lopez in this secluded cottage in the forest. We had 'peek-a-boo' view of the water, and lovely birdsongs in the forest around us. The kitchen was well-equipped in an open floor plan. The cottage and linens were clean and sufficient for four visitors. The plumbing is a septic system with careful hygiene required, which is probably the case for the entire island. Visitors should be prepared to remove all trash upon departure, or additional fees will apply. The garbage transfer station has limited operating days, which is clearly stated in the welcome materials. Overall, this was a very nice retreat.

  • Submitted: 30-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Such a cozy, private house with a nice view, kitchen, and deck amongst the trees. Lopez is a calm and peaceful island, perfect for enjoying the beauty of nature. Our little family had the perfect time. Thank you so much!

  • Submitted: 17-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Peaceful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

"Peaceful Island Retreat" is everything its name implies. If you're looking for a vacation stay that's a little off the beaten path - then this is for you! Located in a quiet residential area of Lopez Island, this cabin-in-the-woods really became our home away from home. We couldn't wait to get back from a day of hiking or boating to relax on the deck, watching the sun go down and listening to the wind murmuring in the monolithic trees all around us! The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and all the basic kitchen necessities are provided. (Just be sure to plan for an extra 20 minutes or so in driving time when scheduling other island activities.)

  • Submitted: 2-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet, peaceful and remote area

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. It was a good place to begin biking trips around the island and a pleasant drive to Lopez Village. Loved our stay.

  • Submitted: 12-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended

Beautiful peaceful island life. Enjoy clamming, kayaking, hiking and biking. Casual dining in town or barbeque at the house while watching the island's exquisite sunsets. This is your opportunity to relax and be in nature


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Lopez Island, Washington

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping fee C$128.12
Refundable Damage Deposit C$256.24
Tax Rate 10.01%

10.01% tax not included
$100.00 maintenance fee not included
Security deposit $200.00 refundable one week after departure once home has been inspected.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner