Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Knarly Oaks Midpines Manor, Spa, View, 2 Decks, 3000 Sq Ft, 2.5 Private Acres

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3000 Sq Ft, 3 Bedroom, Den, game room, 3 Bath Close To All Weather Hwy 140

The Midpines Manor is a secluded cabin on a private 2.5 acres. It has 3 bedrooms, den, game room, and 3 bathrooms, 3000 square foot, central air conditioning and heating, high speed internet, WIFI, well stocked kitchen, wood burning fireplace, HDTVs with satellite, Netflix/blu-ray/DVD and WII, washer, dryer and iron/ironing board. Beds for 10 and sleeps 16 with queen sofa beds in living room, den and game room. The outside has two private decks, high end spa, propane BBQ, and.

During the day you will have plenty of birds, squirrels, pines, manzanitas and you may spot deer, bobcats, bear, coyote, mountain lions and rabbits. During the night you can star gaze and watch the Milky Way from the spa.

The cabin is located in Mariposa County, California, and is 26 miles from Yosemite National Park's Arch Rock entrance, and is 48 miles from Yosemite National Park's south entrance

We are pet friendly for house friendly pets. The upstairs living space is NOT wheelchair accessible.

We offer weekday, weekly, additional nights, children, active military (verification required) and other discounts. Email us for current deals and discounts.

The large master bedroom has a king size bed, dresser, bookcase, ceiling fan, and attached master bathroom. The spacious master bathroom has two sinks, bathtub with fantastic view, shower, toilet, and walk in closet. The two other upstairs bedrooms share a full bath with tub/shower combo located right outside their bedrooms doors. The king bedroom has a king bed, dresser, closet and ceiling fan. The bunk bedroom has a double bed, two twin beds in a bunk bed frame, dresser, closet and ceiling fan. The den has a double sofa bed and privacy screens. The living room has a queen sofa bed, ceiling fan and wood burning fireplace.

The downstairs game room has a mini pool/ping pong/air hockey table, queen sleeper sofa, and an adjoining bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Additional air mattresses are available on request.

The hallway has our Ansel Adams collection, and the manor has other local nuggets such as an 1896 map of Yosemite drawn by the 5th Calvary.

The kitchen is stocked with dish, glass and flatware sets of 18. There is stoneware set and a plastic ware set (for outside use). There is a double oven, four burner stove, pots and pans for cooking, along with a rice cooker/steamer, microwave oven, blender, hand mixer, toaster, coffee maker and coffee bean grinder. The refrigerator is equipped with filtered ice and cold-water dispensers. There is a dishwasher with provided environmental friendly dish washing soap.

The living room has a wood burning fireplace with insert, 56' HDTV, satellite and Netflix/blu-ray/DVD player, theater surround sound, love seat and matching queen sofa bed, and 4 recliners. Adjacent den has computer and cell phone hookups, double sofa bed, and privacy panels if the sofa bed is used.

The dining room tables seats ten, and can be expanded to seat fourteen with our two extra leaves. Four folding chairs are included, along with a folding table for inside. A 39' HDTV with satellite is on swivel bracket for dining room, kitchen or breakfast nook HDTV viewing.

Breakfast nook seats four, has the 39' swivel HDTV, and is next to kitchen, dining room, laundry room, and outdoor kitchen deck.

The spacious upstairs laundry room has washer, dryer, vacuum and cleaning products.

We also provide the following useful items for your use during stay:

• Well stocked kitchen, with stove, double oven, dishwasher, microwave, and refrigerator with chilled water and ice maker.

• Paper products, soap and shampoo

• WIFI, Hi-speed internet, and local phone service.

• Cell service: Good Verizon, OK Sprint, poor ATT, and unknown other cell providers (let us know and we'll update)

• 56 inch HDTV with Satellite, Netflix enabled/Blue-ray/DVD player/ surround sound in living room

• 39 inch HDTV with HD Satellite on swivel bracket for kitchen, breakfast nook, dining and living room viewing

• 32 inch HDTV with WII, HD Satellite in down stairs bonus room

• Washer, dryer and ironing board in laundry room High thread count sheets

• Firewood for fireplace during winter

• A 60-quart and 10-quart quart ice chest

• A good supply of beach towels

• WII games, board games, DVDs and Books

• BBQ (propane fueled) and full spare tank

• 64 oz growlers to take fresh beer home to enjoy from our local Yosemite Ale Werks microbrewery

• Backup generator for those winter storms

More Details

Owner
Kim & Keith
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2018

Why Kim & Keith chose Mariposa

Spacious and secluded.

What makes this house unique

Private, but close to town and Yosemite.

Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Mariposa, California

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower
    Upstairs Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • King Room - 1 king
    Bunk Room - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 bunk bed
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed
    Game Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed
    Den (privacy screens provided, see pictures) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Private, secluded manor with spa and great view. Large living room with fireplace and stocked firewood. Backup generator for those winter storms. Fully equipped gourmet kitchen, with stove, double oven, dishwasher, microwave, and refrigerator with chilled water and ice maker. WIFI, Hi-speed internet, USB cell phone power cables, and local phone service. Cell service: Good Verizon and Sprint, poor ATT, and unknown other cell service (let us know we'll update). 56 inch HDtV with Satellite, surround sound in living room, with HD Satellite/HBO, Home Theater, Blue-ray/DVD player. 39 inch HDTV with Satellite on swivel bracket for kitchen, breakfast nook, dining and living room viewing. 32 inch HDTV with Satellite and WII in bonus room Washer, dryer and ironing board in laundry room High thread count sheets A 60 and 10 quart quart ice chest A good supply of beach towels Board games, WII games, DVDs and Books BBQ (propane fueled) with awesome deck view 64 oz Growler from our local handcrafted

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Knarly Oaks Midpines Manor, Spa, View, 2 Decks, 3000 Sq Ft, 2.5 Private Acres
average rating of 4.632653 based on 49 reviews
5

Wonderful Stay At A Lovely Home!

  • 5 of 5

The home was perfect for our family with three young kids (ages 8, 6 & 4). We were 8 in total, but there is enough room to have a much larger group comfortably. The house is in a peaceful area where you can relax on the deck and not hear anything but the birds. We saw many types of birds, deer's and wild turkeys, it was a great escape from the city. It is also central to both Yosemite Valley and Mariposa Grove, about an hour drive to each. The game room was perfect for our kids, and the living room was huge so they could roll around. We loved this property and will hopefully return!

  • Submitted: 30-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very disappointed. Old, filthy, not well maintained property. Avoid if you are going with family.

  • 1 of 5

We chose this place to some amazing reviews. We have stayed at different placed through VRBO. However our stay was not pleasant due to multiple reasons listed below.

Major points:

1. House was in pretty unhygienic condition (major major point). There were stains everywhere on the carpet. The bed sheets and blankets in the bedrooms were very old and weary.

2. Kids’ size ping pong, table tennis and pool table in the basement was like a joke. Again they too were so much dusty and not usable at all.

3. Dishes and utensils in the kitchen were really dirty and not cleaned properly. We had to clean them again before using it.

4. TVs had no channels. We tried really hard to tune on to some sort of entertainment in TV (it was supposed to be our vacation trip) but no luck for all 3 days. This was really disappointing.

Minor points:

1. Shower in master bed had really low water pressure throughout. Water was low and very slow everywhere on the last day of our stay.

2. It was pretty much gambling with all the showers. Either they would run too cold or too hot before you finally win the battle getting pleasant temperature after a while.

3. Bedroom in the basement was almost not usable at all. Nobody could sleep down there in our entire stay.

4. Bunk beds in all the rooms were really old, dusty and almost about to break down. No one from our trip could trust those beds to climb up the 2nd tier. It for sure would have crashed down had we tried so.

5. The outdoor jacuzzi tub - one or two seat head rests were so dirty and oily that we had to clean with the towels before using it.

For the amount of money we paid, we have had way better stays elsewhere in the past.

  • Submitted: 11-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We request that our guests notify us as soon as reasonable, of any condition that needs to be addressed. On your departure date, you called and said the water pressure was low. I was there within 30 minutes, apologizing that the refurbished sprinkler system was going off that morning, my mistake that I had not changed the timer to real early morning once they were working. When I got there, the timer was automatically off, your entire group had showered, and you said you had a fantastic stay, great house thank you very much for letting you stay there. I returned your damage deposit that day, and inquired, as I do with all of our guests, if anything needed attention. Three weeks later, we get your draft of your negative review, and you stated that you were waiting on a response from us. I did return the cleaning fee realizing you were trying to get some money out of us. House was clean before your arrival, checked it myself after the cleaning crew left. Also, it was hot for your stay, no blankets put out, used, nor needed. Dishes put away from previous were clean, although sometimes we get bad guests who will stick dirty plates under cleaned ones, but at this point you have lost all credibility. All the bunk beds had been slept in, some at least a few found them useable. I checked them all, and all the nuts, bolts and screws were tight, and the frames were in structurally sound as they day we bought them. I don’t believe that your kids could not climb up when I, an old guy, had no problem climbing up after your stay. We advertise combination game table, not full size: I grew up with an outside ping pong table, only folded up and put in the garage when it rained. Never knew anyone who had to dust a ping pong table to play. All TVs, satellite receivers and remotes were in good working order before and after your arrival. You would be the first set of guests with kids that did not know how to use a satellite receiver remote control. I’m not buying it, I met your kids, and they seem intelligent. The lawn sprinklers did go off for 40 minutes during your last day. Pressure is maintained at 45 psi by a secondary pump, which is enough for the house if the sprinklers are not on (it has been reset to go off in the middle of the night). The spa is cleaned between each group of visitors by myself, and there were no oily cushions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place in a beautiful wooded area

  • 5 of 5

Our big group of 17 was able to stay comfortably! The jacuzzi was awesome. The size of kitchen and living room was great.

  • Submitted: 12-May-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Disappointing

  • 3 of 5

We arranged to stay for 4 days , reservation was made way in advance , only to find that the day we arrived , the spa had broken down, really disappointed as the reason we had chosen these accomodations over and above others available was..... the spa. The evening we chose to use the barbeque , it was filthy and unhygenic , I guess the cleaning crew never ventured outside after this venue had been used. After spending the best part of an hour cleaning the barbeque, it was sort of ok for use . And who guessed we actually pay a cleaning fee , after all the instructions of what to do before you leave at the end of your stay.

The instructions for the use of the TV"s are really difficult to understand , we had to resort to our own devices to watch TV

Everything else , like the accomodations , kitchen , bathrooms etc were great , lots of space , clean and tidy , lots of indoor games hidden in the closet.

Just disappointed at the lack of communication prior to our departure.

  • Submitted: 16-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Peter, I let you know the day of your arrival, previous guest caused some mischief (stuffing paper towels in spa intake after removing filter), let you know that new spa heater was being FedEx'd overnight, and offered to come by next day to install. You said don't worry about. I also replied to your follow up email on not figuring out the TV, that I would come by same day and check it out, but your follow up response was you had figured it out. We gave you a discount/refund for the spa not working, although we had paid the extra $90 overnight shipping and offered to have it working 3 of your 4 nights, but you said no. I'm not sure how much better we could of communicated. We were honest on all issues, and offered 'real time' remedies to resolve.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious for groups & great Yosemite location

  • 5 of 5

This is a great property for a large group with pets and for Yosemite day trips, which is exactly what we were looking for! Super spacious with multiple beds/bedrooms, big kitchen with 2 ovens, large dining table, and big living room for group gathering and kids playing. Abundant dishes, silverware, and linens for everyone. Easy drive to Yosemite (45 mins in off-season). Well-maintained hot tub was also a favorite for the group. Kim & Keith were very friendly, responsive & accommodating. Great experience and would recommend for a group get-away! Thank you for a great visit!

  • Submitted: 17-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house for a large group

  • 5 of 5

The house is is a beautiful setting and is very large and accommodating.

Our extended, multi-generation family of 18 had plenty of space. There were abundant towels, sheets, blow-up mattresses and kitchen supplies.

Kim and Keith were very fast at responding to all of our queries. I would highly recommend their house.

Michele

  • Submitted: 26-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
81.7 Miles
Fresno Yosemite International Airport
Nearest Barpub
10.4 Miles
Mariposa
Nearest Golf
35.1 Miles
River Creek Golf Course (Awhanee)
Nearest Train
49.1 Miles
Amtrak (324 W 24th St Merced, CA 95340)
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Yosemite All Weather Hwy 140
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Nearest Ski
51.7 Miles
Badger Pass (Yosemite National Park)
Nearest Beach
8.1 Miles
Briceburg (Merced River)
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Mariposa, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak 2018
May 18 2018 - Aug 9 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$394
C$2,238
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
 
August
Aug 10 2018 - Aug 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$275
From
C$302
Fri,Sat
C$1,579
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$26 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
C$394
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 4 2018 - Oct 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$275
From
C$302
Fri,Sat
C$1,579
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$26 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 16 2018 - Nov 25 2018
4 night minimum stay
C$329
C$1,976
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Holiday
Dec 14 2018 - Jan 2 2019
4 night minimum stay
C$394
C$2,238
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Mar 15 2019 - May 16 2019
2 night minimum stay
C$302
From
C$328
Fri,Sat
C$1,711
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$26 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season
May 17 2019 - Aug 8 2019
3 night minimum stay
C$394
C$2,238
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$33 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$236
From
C$262
Fri,Sat
C$1,316
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee C$26.34 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit C$526.8
Cleaning Fee C$197.55 + Tax

Children 4-17 only $15 per night rent, under 4 free.

Cancellation Policy: 90% refund if greater than 60 days, less than 60 days depends on new bookings for same days.

We wash all linens and towels, empty trash, empty clean dishwasher, and clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Guests are to leave all other areas as they found it.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable