Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Come Relax at our House on Beautiful Sunset Lake

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom (Sleeps 6)

Our house sits on a half-acre lot located on a quiet street that rings 61-acre Sunset Lake. At 55 feet, this NO-WAKE lake is one of the deepest in Portage County, and the water quality is excellent. (Note that our Sunset Lake is not the lake with the same name located in the Chain of Lakes. However, from our house it's only a half-hour drive to the Chain of Lakes.)


CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING-- The Iola Winter Sports Club (open to non-members) is located about 5 miles from our house.

SNOWMOBILES-- About one-half mile from our house is a trunk trail that leads to a major snowmobile trail going all the way to Green Bay. (Note that you have to trailer your snowmobile for that half-mile.)

SNOWSHOEING-- on the nearby Ice Age Trail and in other close locations.

ICE-FISHING-- on Sunset Lake.

(Winter accessibility: The house is on a township road that is plowed regularly, and the sidewalk and driveway are cleaned after any substantial snow.)


Enjoy swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing on this no-wake lake.


RIDE BIKES-- on the low-traffic roads in the area.

HIKE-- on trails in the area.

You can do both also on the extensive Green Trail system in Stevens Point, located about 15 minutes from our house.


The split-level, 2,000 sq-ft house is cozy and comfortable. A master bedroom, two smaller bedrooms, and one bath are located on the top level. A game area with a pool table, a sitting area in front of a fireplace, and a second bath are located on the lower level. On the main level are the dining area, den, laundry room with washer and dryer, and kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped, including stove/oven, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, cooking pots and utensils, and dishware. Bath towels and bed linens are supplied. There is an attached 2-car garage, central heating and central air, WiFi, cable, a flat-screen TV, and local and long-distance phone service.

From the dining area, step onto a deck that looks on a yard with mature trees that slopes down to 100 feet of lakefront with a sand shore. The swimming area is also sandy until about 4-5 feet deep, where it begins to get somewhat mucky. An aluminum dock at shore level is in place from approximately April through October -- no stairs to climb. There's good fishing, including walleye, panfish, bluegill, and trout. A fire pit is in the back yard. (Note that, per State regulations, due to oak wilt and pests, firewood from a source farther than 20 miles from our house can't be brought in. You can buy firewood from our manager at a very reasonable price.)

Many annual events are held in the area throughout the year--such as the Iola Car Show in July, the Energy Fair in June, the Iola Winter Carnival in February, the Waupaca Festival of the Arts in August, and the Hidden Studios Art Tour in October. The Midwest Renewable Energy Association (MERA) holds workshops in the area. The Central Wisconsin Environmental Station, which sponsors camps and workshops, is located on Sunset Lake a short distance away.

Central Waters Brewing Company, located in nearby Amherst, brews a variety of great beers and is open Friday-Sunday evenings. On Saturday and Sunday mornings (8 am until noon), nationally known Ruby Coffee Roasters has a tasting room open in nearby Nelsonville. Great gelato and pizza can be had at The Millstone of Iola Mills in nearby Iola.

No smoking allowed indoors.

No pets allowed. (We had to change our policy, due to problems with pets not being kept on a leash.).

More Details

Property Manager
Susan Luton
Member since: 2013
Speaks english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2018


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Amherst Junction

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , private porch off master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , double on bottom; twin on top
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(68 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
13% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Come Relax at our House on Beautiful Sunset Lake
average rating of 4.720588 based on 68 reviews

Fabulous Setting

  • 5 of 5

Great place for a peaceful week of relaxing and getting away from it all. We had everything we needed and the people were wonderful to work with. Resturants were close by along with shopping . We took in a festival one night and a tour of the Point brewery which was fun. Highly reccomend.

  • Submitted: 5-Jul-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I loved it... Will go again...

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place. Stocked with everything you need. Will go again.

  • Submitted: 26-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house was great and the lake was wonderful. It is the perfect location for a family vacation

  • 4 of 5

The house was very clean and had all the accommodations we needed. It was plenty large enough to accommodate four adults and a 10 year old. It was well stocked with towels and kitchen wares. The lake was clear and my son spent hours swimming in it. I would recommend this house for any family get away.

  • Submitted: 20-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Why stay at a hotel, this northwoods getaway is a delightful option not to be missed!

  • 5 of 5

We were so pleased to pull up and see this lovely home. We arrived after dark, so imagine how nice it was to wake to the view of the lake. Actually, it was the sound of "Loons" that woke us up... the perfect alarm clock for a vacation. Birds, Deer and a view that couldn't be beat. This house would be perfect for a family summer vacation. Everything you might need was provided. Even a pool table in the lower level which surely puts it over the top! We were excited to find a location that was 5 minutes from the Iola Winter Sports Club. This is the location where my husband started his Ski Jumping career as a 10 year old boy. What a treat for him to climb up to the top of the big jump and take pictures looking down for his Grandsons. Needless to say, this is a great listing, surrounded by so much to do. A super Northern Wisconsin destination for new and old visitors alike!

  • Submitted: 14-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place for hunters

  • 1 of 5

This home was a beautifully situated on Sunset Lake and it was convenient for our family gathering. It was relatively clean and offered us enough space.That being said it was very basic and there was nothing special about it. For us the decor was disappointing with too many fishing decorations in one bedroom and fussy wallpaper in other rooms. The windows were dirty with dead bugs in them and the water was a bit smelly. I would not book a weekend there again. But if you do i hope you have a great time , I am sure it will be cleaner by then. In addition the charge for an individual person beyond four was uncalled for.

  • Submitted: 8-Jun-2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the tip about the smelly water. There's naturally occurring iron in the water, and we determined that a filter needed to be changed. Our property manager is going to monitor it with more frequency in the future. Because of the large number of big trees around the house (which we don't want to cut down), and the fact that storm windows don't allow us to access all parts of the track of the windows, there will always be some dead bugs around the windows. Sorry you didn't notice the fish hanging on the wall of the one bedroom with fish decor in the photos, which we have available on our VRBO page so that potential guests can see the type and character of the house that we're offering. Utility rates are surprisingly high, which is why we charge $10 extra per night per each guest over 16 years beyond the first four. It's a practice not at all uncommon among property owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home, owners very helpful and left complimentary firewood since we arrived after 30 in of snow

  • 5 of 5


  • Submitted: 26-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Central Wisconsin Airport, Wausau/Mosinee
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Central Waters Brewing Co., Amherst Junction
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Glacier Wood Golf Club of Iola
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
U.S. Hwy 10
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Ambrosia Bar & Grill, Amherst Junction
Nearest Ski
Ice Age Trail (cross country skiing)
Nearest Beach
Sunset Beach
Car: necessary

Ice Age Trail (hiking)

Tomorrow River (fishing)

Iola Old Car Show (every July)

Energy Fair (every June)

MREA (Midwest Renewable Energy Association) workshops

Iola Winter Sports Club (cross-country skiing)

Sunset County Park (swings, grills, sandy beach, swimming, sailing, canoeing and kayaking)

Iola Winter Carnival (every February)

Waupaca Festival of the Arts (every August)

Hidden Studios Art Tour (every October)

Central Wisconsin Environmental Station (on Sunset Lake)

Cycling (low-traffic roads)


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Amherst Junction

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High Season
Jun 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$13 per night, per additional guest
Mid-Season 2018-2019
Sep 1 2018 - Feb 28 2019
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$13 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning C$105.36


Rates are subject to change without notice.

Note that when VRBO calculates an Instant Quote it doesn't distinguish between adults and children to apply the policy that "Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10.00 per night, per additional guest." The owners consider people 12 and older as adults. Therefore, if children 11 or under are in your group, you will probably be given a small refund after your stay at our property.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager

Other Vacation Properties