Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Lorelei Cabins: 'Not just a place, but an experience!' The Aster

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Upper and lower level, 2 bathrooms, pull out couch, 3 season porch

This beautifully decorated cabin is situated on a 400 acre property with 5 miles of trails. Great for family reunions, couples retreats, weekend getaways, honeymoon getaway, or people coming to visit for business. Ten minutes from downtown Dubuque. Fully equipped with outdoor hot tub, air conditioning, microwave, cable TV, gas grills, fire pit, and games. We also have an indoor gas fireplace. The cabins have two levels with two full bathrooms and two living rooms. Each cabin has an outside deck and a front porch to relax and watch nature. If two cabins are rented, the cabins are close enough to go back and forth, but far enough to offer privacy. The outdoor hot tubs are open all year round.

Member since: 2010
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Laura

The Lorelei Cabins have been taking care of guests for 5 years with many return customers. You will find the site to be a relaxing and an awesome way to unwind. The owners take great pride in providing a great experience for all who stay. The property has been privately owed since 1930, and remains isolated and truly in nature, yet a few miles away is downtown Dubuque.

Laura purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Laura chose Dubuque

This cabin is beautifully decorated, warm and inviting with a gas fire stove, hot tub, deck with grill, outdoor fire pit and many included amenities. This is a two story cabin, roomy, yet cozy. Everything is provided from sheets to towels, to a fully equipped kitchen with coffee ready to brew. Bring your own food and never leave the area! A great alternative to hotel style getaways. Lots of land to spread out on and explore. Games on site as well as snow shoe equipment to utilize!

What makes this cabin unique

Beautiful hiking trails, two fishing ponds, gorgeous Catfish Creek surround a beautifully decorated home to enjoy and relax. There are big decks, and a yard to play games or just lounge around. We ofter see deer and turkey in the hills, and recently saw our first eagle. The wildlife is awesome any season. Sunsets are beautiful. Close to Sundown Ski Resort and Downtown Dubuque.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Dubuque

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Big bathtub and shower 1st floor shower outdoor hot tub 2nd floor
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen bed 1st floor bathroom Queen bed 2nd floor bathroom Pullout couch 2nd floor with a queen size mattress.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • long term renters welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
This cabin is fully equipped and beautifully decorated. The outdoor deck is spacious with a scenic overlook, and lots of room to relax and sit. Big outdoor fire pit. Properties are far enough apart to have privacy, but close enough together to have a family reunion or a getaway with friends. There is over 400 acres to explore, whether hiking, snow shoeing or just finding a place to have a picnic with a beautiful view of the valley. The pond is full of natural spring water. We invite you to use our paddle boat or canoe. Fishing is always an option!


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lorelei Cabins: 'Not just a place, but an experience!' The Aster
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews

Great view and Location. Lots of wildlife

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was very spacious and cozy. Plenty of room for 2 couples or if we decided to bring the kids. Lots of deer, ducks, and geese to watch and plenty of hiking tails to boot. The deer ran by multiple times of the day and geese every morning landed on the pond. We chose this place for 2 reasons, the hot tub and location.

I was disappointed with a few things during our trip. We noticed that it was drafty the first night. We found 2 windows unlatched and slightly open. This was a quick fix. The hot tub had quite a bit of dirt settled to the bottom of the seats. This didn't keep us from using it, but would have been nice to not see the dirt. We like to cook, so we brought a couple of ribeye's with us to grill. We were quite disappointed that the grill was out of gas. The tank was left with the valve open and one burner to the on position. I don't know if the people before us ran out or not, but it was empty for us. This added about 60 dollars to our trip since we had to eat out a second night. A little more attention to detail and cleaning from the maintenance crew and this would be a 5 star rating.

  • Submitted: 15-Apr-2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi! So sorry you had some glitches. Unfortunately, we can’t keep an extra tank down at the cabins because it’s a fire hazard. We would have gladly brought one to the cabin, we are always a phone call away. And the sediment in the hot tub is something we can’t control based on wind, etc. The hot tub is cleaned after every use. As for the windows, we will make sure in the future to check them more carefully.We hope you liked the cookies, they are Jim’s special recipe! Hope the rest of your trip was good.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I got away for a weekend at this little cabin and loved it. It was very homey and the views are great! We enjoyed the fireplace, hot tub, and fresh cookies. It is the perfect distance from town and there is a nice little bar down the road with excellent apple pie shots!

  • Submitted: 29-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Inverness, IL

Adorable cabin in great location

  • 5 of 5

My fiancé and I wanted to take a last minute weekend trip to the Iowa wine country and were hoping to find a place with a hot tub and fireplace to make it an extra cozy and fun trip. We were absolutely delighted with the Lorelei cabins! It was just perfect - so nicely maintained and cozy. The surrounding valley is beautiful and we were only 15 minutes from all the fun restaurants and breweries in downtown Dubuque. I wish we’d had more time to spend here. We definitely plan to come back with the kids because they will also love the surrounding nature, fire pit, and fun things to do nearby. Felt like glamping :)

  • Submitted: 25-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful setting in Dubuque

  • 5 of 5

Set down in the valley next to a small pond. Great place to relax around a fire or in the hot tub.

  • Submitted: 10-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed yourselves, it was great having you! Looking forward to your next visit. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5


  • Submitted: 28-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for our anniversary and loved it!! Absolutely gorgeous. Close to town. Close to Wisconsin, close to Illinois, hot tub is amazing. Cabin has everything you could possibly need. Pots, pans, towels like crazy. I would go back any time.

  • Submitted: 2-Mar-2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Dubuque Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Lansing,Iowa- Cassville, Wisconsin
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Train
90 Miles
Galesburg, Illinois or mount pleasant, Iowa
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hyw 151/61
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Downtown area restaurants
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Dubuque, Iowa

Located 10 minutes from downtown Dubuque, Iowa, and the Mississippi River Museum, the river walk, casinos, bars and restaurants, Sundown Ski Resort and great hiking trails, snowshoeing, and Swiss Valley Nature Center. You must ride the Fourth Street Elevator in downtown Dubuque!


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in Dubuque

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low season
Jan 7 2018 - May 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$38 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$38 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.0%

Our rates are based on two people- each additional person is 25.00, and children under the age of 13 are free. If you have any questions, call at: 563-599-9916, or e mail at If not available for your specific dates, please contact owner for other listings. We have a damage deposit of 225.00- that is refunded 7-10 days after your stay. There is an optional cleaning fee, and a 5% tax.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner