Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Otter Lodge - Mountain retreat w/Blue Ribbon fishing in front yard!

Bedrooms 3
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Lodge, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Bath (Sleeps 6 in beds, max 8 in home)

The Otter Lodge occupies one of the most unique locations in the U.S. Its five acres are situated on a family homestead and the property is fronted by Duck Creek and the Duck Creek pond, both of which offer some of the best blue ribbon trout fishing in the West.

The property is less than 1/4 mile from Yellowstone National Park on its east side, and offers easy access (within 1/4 mile) to both Yellowstone Park and Gallatin National Forest.

This home offers breathtaking views of nature at its finest and is in a truly spectacular setting.

Wildlife Viewing: Duck Creek Retreat and the immediate surrounding area is rich in wildlife, including bison, elk, deer, moose, grizzly bear, black bear, otter, beaver, muskrat, Canadian geese, ducks, Trumpeter swan and Sandhill cranes.

Fishing: World class fishing is available on private Duck Creek and Duck Creek Pond. A professionally installed fish ladder permits runs of wild Brown and Rainbow trout from the Madison River and nearby Hebgen Lake. Native Brook trout also inhabit the pond and Brown trout up to 32 inches have been caught and released. A Montana fishing license is not required to fish on the Pond, but it is on other Montana waters. A Yellowstone Park license is required to fish inside the Park.

The west entrance to Yellowstone Park and the town of West Yellowstone are only a short 8.5 mile (14km) drive away, W. Yellowstone offers everything you'd hope to find in a destination resort town, from restaurants, live theater, museums and shopping to equipment rentals and guide services.

We can offer recommendations on a variety of local guides and outfitters - call us to find out more!

More Details

Property Manager
West Yellowstone Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2007
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About West Yellowstone Vacation Rentals

This privately owned home is managed by West Yellowstone Vacation Rentals where we specialize in providing you with your home away from home! Vacation rental homes, cabins, and condominiums to suit any group or budget, only minutes from the entrance to Yellowstone Park… We have the place!

In business since 2007, we pride ourselves in working with our homeowners to offer unique, clean, well maintained properties that offer our guests a great value while experiencing Montana living. We are uniquely situated in an area that offers the most central access to all that Yellowstone National Park and the incredibly beautiful surrounding National Forests have to offer.

We have just the place for you, whether it be for a once in a lifetime adventure or a return visit to this truly amazing area. Please have a look at this and our other VRBO and HomeAway listings, and call or email us for more information.

Happy Trails!

David, Marta, & the WYVR Crew

Montana licensed property manager

What makes this lodge unique

Beautiful, custom home, hand built by the owner with fabulous rock and timber construction. Located on a 5 acre portion of an original family homestead that abuts Yellowstone Park - A one of a kind!

Summer or winter, this unique and gorgeous retreat is perfect for some Montana mountain play time. It's one you'll fall in love with and won't want to leave!


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation lodge rental in West Yellowstone, Montana

Property Type:
  • lodge
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared between Bedroom 2 and Bedroom 3
    Master Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Entry from Master Bedroom 1, black granite walk in shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - Master - 1 king , Attached master bathroom has black granite walk-in shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Shares full bathroom with Bedroom 3
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
No phone in home, renter is required to have a cell phone for telephone access. WiFi available. However, internet and cellular services are limited here, no matter who the provider or where the location, in town or out. We have frequent outages, poor/slow performance, and many areas where cellular does not work, or works poorly, depending on your provider. Don't plan on doing business via internet or telephone while you're here! It cannot be counted on, no matter who tells you otherwise. We do not provide refunds or discounts for internet or cellular connectivity problems that are beyond our control, but we will do everything we can to help you maximize your uptime! Please note that the indoor fireplace is not available for guest use, however the outdoor patio fire pit is available and is great for enjoying our Montana summer mountain nights! Firewood is not provided but can be purchased in town.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
23% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Otter Lodge - Mountain retreat w/Blue Ribbon fishing in front yard!
average rating of 4.571429 based on 21 reviews

Yellowstone Get-Away

  • 5 of 5

Rather than spend the same or more money for a room in the park, packed with visitors, we'd recommend you look a little further north of West Yellowstone at this property. Tucked back off the road (287/191) about 8 miles north of the town is this family get-away.

Our two grandchildren, their parents, my wife, and I had plenty of room to spread out, talk, play games, cook, watch TV, and sit by an outside fire in the evenings (for the grandchildren's first s'mores experience).

A herd of horses greets you each morning from the pasture across the way out the front door and deer strolled through the back yard. My grandson and I excused ourselves to the pond for a bit of fishing, and if it weren't for our substandard Ninja Turtle pole, would have landed a nice brown trout just below the spillway.

Excursions into town for meals or to visit the park were a quick drive, accompanied by their own wildlife sightings - fox and deer during our trip.

  • Submitted: 25-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to having you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location for West Yellowstone, but the property could use some work.

  • 3 of 5

We booked this property for part of our honeymoon because of its amenities and closeness to the park. Upon arrival, we noticed the home could use some work outside. We cooked the first night there and most of the cookie sheets and pans are in need of replacing. I had to wash what we used because I found mouse droppings on the shelves where the cookware was stored. We removed the cover to the hot tub and it was full of bugs and brown stuff ran down around the sides into the tub (we assumed it was dirt). We called the agency the next day and did receive a call back, but lost service because we were in the park. We never received a voicemail or another call with a resolution. Needless to say, we didn't get to enjoy the hot tub. Windows could use washing inside and out to enjoy those views! The fountain did not work as shown on the website. We did, however, appreciate how close the drive was to Yellowstone. This is a beautiful property that just needs a little more love and upkeep. We feel we paid a little more and got a little less.

  • Submitted: 11-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry that you had problems with your stay! The owner is planning to replace kitchen items this winter once the season winds down. The home is professionally cleaned after every stay, and we've made sure that the pantry will be checked top to bottom for any signs of mice. The hot tub was cleaned within the week prior to your arrival, and then again after you called while you were away in the park. The wind can blow dirt into the gaps around the cover, but it was very clean before your call and re-cleaned after your call. I'm sorry that you felt it wasn't a proper response, but not sure what else we could have done? The windows are washed regularly, but the birds are just as quick to dirty them again. The owner is planning to install bird deterrents in the eaves this winter, so hopefully that will help the windows stay clean. The fountain has had intermittent problems with the pump this summer; it's another item on the owner's repair/replace list this winter. Congratulations on your marriage, hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hudsonville, MI

Beautiful, spacious, comfortable home with convenient access to Yellowstone

  • 5 of 5

Our family very much enjoyed staying at Otter Lodge during our Yellowstone adventure. It only takes 10-15 minutes to reach the west entrance of the park, and it was so nice to have a comfortable, homelike place to stay and cook our own meals! The beds were very comfortable, lots of common spaces, fully equipped kitchen suited our needs perfectly! This place exceeded our expectations and we would happily stay here again- we were sad to leave!

  • Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location and house!

  • 5 of 5

Loved the location. House was clean and staff super helpful when we had a wireless router issue! Only downside was my son didn't catch any fish in the little pond! 😀?

  • Submitted: 9-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Unbelievable location but property in need of some "TLC"!

  • 3 of 5

Fantastic, absolutely gorgeous location!!! but... when entering the driveway the house looked derelict. There were chest high weeds all the way around the house and right up next to the house. This is a bug and major fire hazard. After entering the house we started a list of things that needed to be addressed on the inside and outside of the house to give to Marta. The list ended up being 13 items long. Starting with the outside... The spa was not working. Once it was worked on it never did heat to the point that we could use it plus the weeds around the spa were chest high, in desperate need of being cut back and the rose behind the spa actually had grown partially over the spa. Weeds around the Kid's Pond were chest high which made it very hard to even navigate down to that pond and Duck Creek. Marta did send someone out to mow the weeds around the spa and down to the pond (thank you Marta; you were always helpful). The windows facing Duck Creek were covered with bird droppings from the swallow nests over the windows. The nests needed to be removed and the windows cleaned. We actually went out and cleaned the windows so we could sit and enjoy the view but the windows were loaded with bird droppings by the next day. Now for the interior... Side windows in front room are broken and do not open. The sliding door does NOT have a screen door. Per VRBO the way to cool the house in the summer months is to allow cross ventilation by opening these windows and the sliding glass door so... we could NOT open the side windows and leaving the sliding door opened allowed tons of bugs to enter the house. PLEASE, at least, replace the screen door on the slider! When I read some of the guest comments on VRBO I noticed that this was an issue a full year before and had not been addressed by the owner. Fountain in entryway did not work. Garage was locked when we arrived. Marta did come by and open the garage so we could get the canoe paddles out. Interior of house is just run down and in need of some loving care. Carpets were dirty and thread bare in the front room. Leather furniture faded by the sun (no blinds in front room so carpet and furniture are sun damaged). Hall bath needs a rubber mat in the tub. There were several other issues that were documented in the list given to Marta. The owner DID allow Marta to give us a 10% discount but please... Give this home some love!


  • Submitted: 27-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fenton, Missouri (St. Louis County)

Cannot wait to return to this beauty!

  • 5 of 5

Our trip to West Yellowstone was fantastic, and we could not have been more pleased with our choice to stay at Otter Lodge. This home has something for everyone. My husband and son couldn't wait to fish every evening after returning from the park, and the fish were plentiful. We ate fresh fish off the grill 3 of 7 nights we stayed. And it was delicious!! My favorite spot in the house was the kitchen with an enormous window looking out at a field of beautiful horses. The taxidermy throughout the house was tastefully done, especially for the region of the country it sits on. This was our first HomeAway vacation, and I would certainly do it again. They thought of everything here at Otter Lodge. If you had forgotten toiletries, they had them. Spices? No need to rush out to buy any. Bear spray? Covered! We just made sure we left behind something others may not have thought about...a pedestal fan! We cannot wait to return to Yellowstone, and we will be staying at Otter Lodge.

  • Submitted: 5-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
7 Miles
West Yellowstone Airport-KWYS with SkyWest service
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
High Country Tavern, or in W Yellowstone (8.5 mi)
Nearest Golf
35 Miles
Island Park, ID - 35mi or Big Sky, MT - 45mi
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
US HWY 191
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
N Shore of Hebgen Lk, West Yellowstone (8.5mi)
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
USFS 0.25mi, Rendezvous Nordic 8.5mi, Big Sky 45mi
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Hebgen Lake beaches (closest about 5mi)
Car: recommended

The home is only 8 miles from the resort town of West Yellowstone, MT, the road entrance to Yellowstone National Park that offers the easiest access to everything the Park has to offer.

Five miles away is the West Yellowstone airport (KWYS), which has a FBO for any size corporate jet and is serviced by SkyWest/Delta Connection. Air Force One has landed there many times. Only 8.5 miles away is the resort town of West Yellowstone, MT, the most centrally located entrance to Yellowstone National Park.

Other Activities: Golfing and downhill skiing at Big Sky Ski and Summer Resort is 35 miles north from Duck Creek Retreat, Golfing in Island Park, ID is only 35 miles south, and some of the best groomed Nordic ski trails in the world are only 9 miles away on the Rendezvous trails in West Yellowstone. Groomed snowmobile trail access is within a 1/2 mile of the home, beautiful Hebgen Lake is only a few short miles away... It's in an adventurer's wonderland!


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation lodge rental in West Yellowstone, Montana

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Fall/Winter 2017-2018
Oct 1 2017 - Apr 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
May 2018
May 1 2018 - May 16 2018
2 night minimum stay
Spring 2018
May 17 2018 - May 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Jun 9 2018
2 night minimum stay
June 2018 Fill In
Jun 10 2018 - Jun 18 2018
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2018
Jun 19 2018 - Aug 12 2018
2 night minimum stay
August 2018
Aug 13 2018 - Aug 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2018
Sep 1 2018 - Sep 16 2018
2 night minimum stay
Fall 2018
Sep 17 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
Fall/Winter 2018-2019
Oct 1 2018 - Apr 30 2019
7 night minimum stay
May 2019
May 1 2019 - May 16 2019
2 night minimum stay
Spring 2019
May 17 2019 - May 31 2019
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2019
Jun 1 2019 - Aug 11 2019
2 night minimum stay
August 2019
Aug 12 2019 - Aug 31 2019
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2019
Sep 1 2019 - Sep 15 2019
2 night minimum stay
Fall 2019
Sep 16 2019 - Sep 30 2019
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection C$75.29
Cleaning fee C$253.94 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

No smoking, no pets. Check-in 4:00 PM, Check-out 10:00 AM. Please download and read the Rental Agreement for our refund/cancellation policy and other details, or contact us for for a copy, or see a synopsis of the agreement here:

If you wish to avoid purchasing damage protection, you may make your payment through our company. We will hold your credit card number on file as a security deposit, but we will not charge the card until we have contacted you.

We have other VRBO and HomeAway listings - Call or email and we'll get you what you need!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager

Other Vacation Properties