Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Cozy Furnished Log Vacation Home Near Stream and Mountain Views

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,800 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, 8 Sleeps, Washer/Dryer

This 1800 sq. ft. modern peaceful retreat is fully furnished and spacious enough to sleep 8 guests. Travelers that love to cook will enjoy preparing food in the full gourmet kitchen that overlooks the living space. This is the ultimate 'home away from home'!

Additional amenities include:

-wireless internet

-open great room with 50' flatscreen tv

-large master suite with a queen bed, full bath, walk in closet, TV, and private walk-out deck

-bed linens provided

-spacious guest bedroom with queen size bed, walk in closet, and TV

-sleeping loft with queen bed overlooking the living room

-queen sleeper sofa (living room)

-bathrooms include towels and hair dryer

-satellite TV and DVD player

-washer and dryer

-iron and ironing board

-fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances

-large island and dining room table

-electric fireplace

-large patio with furniture and gas grill

-books, boardgames, and DVDs

-8 person hot tub

*NOTE: There is room to park 2 vehicles or 1 vehicle and 1 trailer, please plan accordingly. MAXIMUM CAPACITY FOR DAY GUESTS =10 (SLEEPING MAXIMUM = 8)

Additional Information:

Check in is at 4PM

Check out is at 10AM

Half of the total is taken at the time of reservation

The second half is due 14 days prior to reservation

Rushmore Vacation Rentals provides guests with the following:

Toilet paper

Paper towels

Kitchen stocked with plates, silverware, cups, baking dishes, etc. (enough for the amount the home sleeps)

Trash can liners

Linens and 1 towel for each person the home sleeps

Hot tub towels

Basic seasonings (salt & pepper)

Propane for BBQ grill

Dish soap

Hand soap

Dishwasher soap

Laundry detergent

(Washers and dryers are free for guests use)

More Details

Property Manager
Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2013
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2018

What makes this cabin unique

Sleeps: 8

Number of bedrooms: 2 plus bedroom loft

Hot tub: Yes

A/C: 1 wall unit & fans

WiFi: Yes, high speed

TV service: Satellite

Cell phone service: Yes

BBQ: Propane

Fire pit: No

Fireplace: Gas

Coffee maker: Coffee pot

City: Hill City

Laundry: On site washer/dryer

Garage: No

Additional amenities: Stream and patio

Parking: 3 cars or 1 & 1 trailer

Gravel: 500 yds

RV Parking available: No

Beds: 3Q, 1Q sleeper sofa

Miles to Mt. Rushmore: 13.4 miles

Miles to Crazy Horse: 11.5 miles

Miles to Custer State Park: 10.3 Miles to Sylvan Lake Lodge

ATVing/Snowmobiling nearby: China Gulch Road across the street

Hiking nearby: Sheridan Lake is 5.3 miles away

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Your 'cabin' was a great stay for us. Lots of room to move around, big table to gather around, and beautiful view to look around. Thank you so much for sharing with us. We had a great time with lots and lots of laughs. Beautiful weather on day one, cooler temps on day two, cool temps plus snow on day three. We drove up to Spearfish on day 3 and ended up at the lodge sipping on hot chocolate next to the huge fireplace (with a mounted buffalo head). Priceless!!!"
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 4


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation cabin rental in Hill City, South Dakota

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full Bathroom on Main Level - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Guest Bedroom on Main Level - 1 queen , Walk in closet, TV, and Dresser
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Master Bath, Walk in closet, TV, Dresser, and Private Deck
    Loft Bedroom - 1 queen , Bed overlooks beautiful great room windows
    Queen size sleeper sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Pack and Play for young child - 1 baby crib
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 garden chairs
  • long term renters welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
18% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy Furnished Log Vacation Home Near Stream and Mountain Views
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 15 reviews


  • 4 of 5

Great cabin to come back too for next year!

  • Submitted: 28-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location in the southern hills. Very easy to access yet still quiet. Perfect size!

  • 5 of 5

We are already planning next year’s trip!!!

  • Submitted: 10-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice facilities. Fully stocked. Nice views. Great location in the black hills for site seeing.

  • 5 of 5

Good for families. Hot tub is a nice bonus. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A combination of delight and disappointment

  • 3 of 5

Hill City is a great location to visit the Black Hills. Day trips to Deadwood (north) or Custer (south) are relatively close and Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, and Keystone are very close. Our biggest disappointment was upon arrival - the home had not been cleaned. After a long day of travel and touring, we were ready at 4p.m. to unload groceries, have supper and relax. But, we were able to get settled in a couple of hours later that day. The cabin was well decorated with quality workmanship and had plenty of room in the living area for the 6 of us. The bedrooms were hotter than I would have liked for sleeping since there was no air conditioning in the bedrooms (only one window air conditioner in the loft). On the main floor, the only bedroom window faced the highway (which was quite close) and I don't feel safe sleeping with an open window (and to let air in, the shade also has to be up). This is probably not an issue in the fall and winter. Maybe a king size bed would have also been better. The kitchen is well stocked with small appliances - blenders, waffle maker, panini maker - and plenty of cookware.

In the end, our vacation was great. The owners refunded the cleaning fee, but the care package they intended to bring to us, never arrived.

We were surprised that there was no opportunity to recycle our plastic and paper goods to preserve the beautiful natural resources of the Black Hills.

I don't know how often a hot tub should be cleaned, but the water did not look as clean as I expected based on the price of the unit. The rest of the grounds were well maintained.

  • Submitted: 1-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay! Unfortunately, we had a mix up with the cleaners and the home you stayed at was not ready when you arrived. While we strive for excellence, we do our best to correct errors when they happen. We quickly addressed this error and had it ready for your check in within two hours and refunded the cleaning fee of $100.00 for the inconvenience. We are so sorry that happened during your stay but are glad to hear you had a great time visiting the area despite this inconvenience. We hope you'll consider us again in the future. Thank you, Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin, convenient to most attractions

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and then some. The location was perfect for most attractions. We would definitely return.

  • Submitted: 22-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy, Relaxing, Getaway Cottage: Made our Black Hills trip perfect!!!!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage/cabin was the best! This Grandma, Grandpa, and two grandsons just loved our four day stay. It was a great location, short driving distance to all the sights: Bear Country, Reptile Gardens, Mount Rushmore, and Jewel Cave. The Circle B Ranch Chuckwagon supper and dinner show west of Hill City was a real treat, and the Black Hills 1880 train ride out of Hill City to Keystone was scenic and fun!!! We recommend this Hill City location as the perfect place to stay for a Black Hills vacation.

The Richardson family, Greeley, CO.

  • Submitted: 10-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation cabin rental in Hill City, South Dakota

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer Rate
Jun 1 2018 - Jul 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Rate
Jul 3 2018 - Jul 5 2018
3 night minimum stay
Summer Rate
Jul 6 2018 - Aug 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
Rally Rate
Aug 3 2018 - Aug 12 2018
5 night minimum stay
Summer Rate
Aug 13 2018 - Aug 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Rate
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
Fall Rate
Sep 4 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$159.47
Property Damage Protection C$78.29

To reserve this home, please visit From the home page there is a search box in the upper left hand corner. Go to the drop box on the bottom that says, view rental, and click on Cottage at Storm Mountain #5.

Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 5% cancellation fee or $50, whichever is greater. Cancellations or changes that are made within sixty (60) days of the arrival date, forfeit any payments made, unless the home can be re-rented; the cancellation fee still applies. If property is not re-rented:

• We will keep the total deposit (50% made at the time of reservation)
• Cancellation on or after 14 days prior to arrival will result in the forfeiture of the entire rental amount.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager