Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Estate featuring 2 acres of flowering gardens - private pool- ocean/sunset view

Bedrooms 1
Space 232 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

1 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (sleeps 4) Ocean Views, Surrounded By Botanical Gardens

A short 5 minute drive from Kailua-Kona, our spacious, 2,500 square ft., ocean view, 1 bedroom custom home is centrally positioned on 2 very private acres of peaceful gardens. This unique home includes a swimming pool amidst abundant flowering trees, shrubs, orchids, and fruit trees. Stroll through the extensive garden paths and marvel at the life's work of a master gardener. Depending on the season, our guests are welcome to harvest - for on site personal use - ripe oranges, limes, papaya, lychee, mango, passion, guava, banana, avocado, jabuticaba, figs; there is always something ready to harvest! In the morning, enjoy ocean views with fresh Kona coffee in the gazebo. In the evening, take in the gorgeous sunsets on the expansive lanai. Our property is conveniently located in Holualoa, a quaint artist's village in the heart of Kona coffee country, yet is just a short 5 minute drive to historic Kailua-Kona with its famous beaches, restaurants and shopping. Other unique activities include exporing Volcano National Park, world class Blue Marlin fishing, snorkeling with turtles, or take a front row seat to view the stars from the top of Mauna Kea! Our property manager is located nearby in the detached ohana to assist you with any help/information you might need.

More Details

Property Manager
Kyra Jones
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

About Kyra Jones

My wife and I purchased the Garden House property in August of 2012, and we feel blessed to be the new owners of this unique Holualoa property. We are lifelong educators, currently living and working in Kenya, Africa. After 27 years as public school teachers in Juneau, Alaska, we chose to begin teaching overseas. During our travels we made notes of locations we might want to find ourselves when finished with our education careers. We first came to the Big Island of Hawaii 25 years ago. After a long, worldwide search for our retirement spot we came back to Kona and purchased the Garden House. Until we decide to conclude our life's work as educators and move to Kona, we invite you to be our guests at our Hawaii Garden House. We feel certain you will love this magical property as much as we do. Our daughter, Amber, lives on site and manages the Garden House.

Kyra Jones purchased this house in 2012

Why Kyra Jones chose Hōlualoa

The Big Island of Hawaii: world class golf, ocean sports, perfect weather, and a community of people who practice the aloha spirit. When we came upon the Garden House, we knew we found our sanctuary. The previous owner was a master gardner whose passion for the spacious two acres of gardens can be seen in every square meter of the property. It is our plan to continue his legacy.

What makes this house unique

We absolutely fell in love with the gardens! Walking through the paths of exotic varieties of fruit and flowering trees, dozens of flower varieties at the Garden House brought us back to the many places we have visited around the world. The previous owner cultivated these gardens for the last 30 years, and we are blessed to be the new owners of this property. A perfect location; private country living, yet just a few minutes from beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Include the ocean and sunset views, a very private pool, perfect temperature at 940 ft. elevation, and it doesn't get any better than this!


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Hōlualoa, Hawaii

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 232 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet , Large walk-in double size shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Very large master bedroom
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , 1 double , Couch in living room opens to double bed.
  • King size beds (1) California King in master with memory form mattress, (1) Queen sofa sleeper in living room
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
This is a very unique and very private property. The 2 acres of manicured gardens are a feast for the eyes and the table! Our guests may help themselves to the many varieties of fruit growing in the lava rock bordered gardens. Something is always ready to be harvested; oranges, tangerines, limes, figs, avocados, mangoes, papaya, banana, passion, and more! The Garden House offers a retreat for those travelers looking to get away from it all and surround themselves with the beauty and spirit of Hawaii. Additionally, the Garden House has recently gone completely solar! All power needed for the property is generated on site:)


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Estate featuring 2 acres of flowering gardens - private pool- ocean/sunset view
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews
Eugene, OR

Two weeks of peace and quiet

  • 5 of 5

The property is awesome and well maintained. Pool is perfectly balanced-(just enough chlorine) and very clean. The house is large and very accomodating. The abundance of flowers and fruits provide for incredible birdsong all day long. Wonderful relaxing experience.

  • Submitted: 27-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful and lovely

  • 5 of 5

Can't imagine a more peaceful setting sitting on the deck looking out over the garden to the sea. If you are into magnificent sunsets and quiet-this is where to come. The extensive gardens are lovely but could use a bit more maintenance. The house is spacious. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Submitted: 2-Feb-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Windsor California

A Beautiful, Tranquil setting in a wonderful area of Kona

  • 5 of 5

It is a beautiful setting and a great place for peaceful healing. I was rushing to emergency

4 days after arriving and had surgery for cancer of the colon. After 5 days in the hospital

I was glad to come back to a home that was set away from the crowd. It was a great time for

2 more weeks to just rest, walk the grounds and sleep.

  • Submitted: 20-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Stop looking and book this home! The big island is absolutely beautiful and this home is breathtaking! While most places have a small lot or are simply a condo in tourist ridden strips, this property is tucked away on the hillside overlooking the water with sunset views and a HUGE garden full of fruit trees. It's about a 10-15 minute drive to all amenities, restaurants, and the beach. My wife and I stayed there and found it to be the perfect retreat after a day of sunbathing at the beach and exploring the island's volcanoes. You get an authentic local feel in a quiet neighborhood, but yet a short drive from tourist attractions. Truly the perfect mix!

We stayed 6 days and right from the start the owners were friendly, accommodating, and even helped with our airline accidentally sending our luggage to the wrong island. Kyra and Amber (the property managers) stay onsite in separate housing and were there for any questions we had...although we tried not to be too pesky.

The home is private, in the perfect location, has STUNNING views, and very quiet. We absolutely loved the sound of so many exotic birds chirping in the mornings, the cool breeze throughout the day, and the many colors painted in the sky as we watched the sun dip below the horizon over the water each evening. Whether you're looking for a home to retreat to after lots of adventurous exploring, or simply a quite oasis for a restful vacation, this place will not let you down. It certainly has a lot to offer that even the luxury resorts can't live up to.

My wife and I highly recommend staying here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Submitted: 8-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A lovely, private, welcoming home with most accommodating owners.

  • 5 of 5

Not our first visit and certainly won't be our last. This is a lovely home with exceptional privacy. Beautiful sunsets, wonderful grounds with abundant fruit and gorgeous plants and flowers. An inviting and comfortable solar heated pool. All the comforts of home for cooking, barbecuing, and laundry facilities. A peaceful getaway from the busy tourist areas, but with quick and easy access. Mahalo, Kyra & Amy for another outstanding stay! Can't wait til our next visit.

  • Submitted: 13-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Norma, It was our pleasure to host you once again! Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. You are most welcome and we look forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Gorgeous, but needs attention

  • 2 of 5

Where to start… After reading the previous review days before our reservation, we were very concerned about the conditions of things and mentioned those to the owner, which they responded sharing with us that they were concerned as well! When we first arrived, we thought the last review was WAY off. The property was beautiful, the house had an open floor plan with an interesting layout that allowed for daytime breezes to pass through the house easily. Beautiful views of the ocean and aromas of fresh flowers and fresh fruits were waiting for us. All the appliances were seemingly new and modern and worked great, especially the new washer and dryer. The small TV in the house DID NOT work, however we weren’t disappointed as we weren’t there to watch television. We never saw any turkeys or wild pigs anywhere on the property and the pool was clean the whole time we were there. We noticed the geckos right away, but tried to accept it as part of being in Hawaii. But when one ran across our bed, it made us a little edgy to sleep. The geckos were VERY present. Dozens is right. Crawling up and down the screen doors, one scurried across the kitchen counter, one had been squished in between two cabinets doors in the kitchen and left to dry out (which we didn’t notice for a few days because it had browned and so were the cupboards), a few in the bathroom, a dead one stuck and dried up in the screen by the laundry room and even just laying in our bed they would scurry across the walls. One day we watched a gecko poop on the day bed in the living room and began to notice that there was a lot of scat around the house, just like the previous review had described. From here our disgust excelled. We began to notice the amount of dirt and general lack of cleaning that hadn’t been done throughout the house. There were plenty of pots and pans and dishes, but what I think the previous reviewer was referring to was that most of the dishware doesn’t match or create a complete set. Somehow on this huge property there is only 1 bedroom and should be advertised for 2 people, the pull-out sleeper couch in the living room was uncomfortable and a disappointment as well.

If the owners can solve the gecko problem and either advertise for 2 people or get another bed it will be much better. then just a deep cleaning and this place would be fantastic.

  • Submitted: 11-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, We are disappointed to hear you did not completely enjoy your stay with us at the Garden House. We are pleased you enjoyed our wonderful pool, it can be very relaxing to escape the beach crowds. As far as the geckos, they are as part of Hawaii as palm trees and beaches- we love them! They are harmless and keep other pests at bay. We can assure you the TV does work, and we would have been happy to help sort out any problem if you were having issues. Your concern regarding the comfort of the sleeper couch is noted. We have purchased a new mattress to address this concern. Our dishes may not match, but they have been lovingly collected over the years and we wouldn't have it any other way. When using VRBO, remember you are renting someone's personal home - living like a local is a wonderful way to experience authentic Hawaii :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Kona International Airport at Keahole
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Mamalahoa Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Holuakoa Cafe
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Mauna Kea
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Kaloko Beach Park
Car: necessary

Holualoa is a quaint artist's community set in prime Kona coffee country. If you tire of the wonderful ocean/beach activities, golf and shopping, enjoy any of the activities located nearby. Coffee plantation tours, surf school, deep sea fishing, volcano viewing, or just relaxing by the pool. Be as active as you like, or, simply enjoy the peace and quiet of the 2 acres of botanical gardens that surround our vacation home.


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Hōlualoa, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$45 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$320.3
Refundable Damage Deposit C$640.6
Tax Rate 13.4%

Regular Rate: (all dates other than high season), $250.00/night+tax + tax (3 night minimum)

High season: "Iron Man" (October 6 - 17) and (November 15-January 31), $300.00/night+tax + tax (6 night min.)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Manager