Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

4 bedroom beautifully decorated 'Down East ' retreat!

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

Victorian Style 4 Bedroom built in 1874

YOUR DATE NOT AVAILABLE! CHECK OUT OUR OTHER LISTING 999493! Hobo Chalet! Now about the Hobo Retreat. 1500 square feet home (that feels a lot bigger) that sleeps 8 and has everything you need to feel at home. One of the past owners was a sea Captain by the name of Mitchell. After he retired from the sea, he became one of the head gardeners for the Rockefeller family estate. Mr. Rockefeller gave him some wild raspberry sprigs to transplant on this property and they still grow wild on the driveway side of the house. We refer to them as 'The Rockefeller Raspberries' and we think they make the BEST pies and raspberry drizzle over cheesecake! Also check out the Hobo Chalet VRBO listing 999493. It's brand new!

Bob Overly
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2018

About Bob Overly

Bob & Heather from Phoenix Arizona have 6 children and 6 grandchildren. Bob is a small business man and Heather is a physical therapist for more than 36 years. Our favorite past time is coming to Maine, hiking Acadia Park, exploring the Coast, and relaxing (and working!) on our cozy getaway home!

Bob Overly purchased this house in 2007

Why Bob Overly chose Bar Harbor

While vacationing here in July of 2007, Heather saw this house with a 'For Sale' sign in the front yard. Since we were both really 'taken' with this Island, we backed up, took a peek at the house, and soon after, decided to invest in a getaway so different from the SouthWest. After returning home to Phoenix, we made an offer and the rest is history. We have a summer home 3013 miles door to door from our home in Phoenix, and look forward to each summer when we return to Maine!

What makes this house unique

Our home in Bar Harbor is the only place that we really feel like we are on vacation and while we are there, we stop thinking of our work and the problems of the world. It truly is a very relaxing place and you can never run out of new experiences and adventures on the Maine coast.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Bar Harbor, Maine

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Our Maximum capacity 8 is STRICTLY ENFORCED
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1) King Bed in Lighthouse Room, Queen size Beds (1) Red Room, Double Beds (1) Captain's Quarters, Twin or Single Beds (1) Two Twin Beds in Pirate Room
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4 bedroom beautifully decorated 'Down East ' retreat!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews

Perfect home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Hobo Retreat. All the required information for the stay was provided by Bob before arrival. The house was neat and clean and had all the required supplies provided. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The decorations and themes of each and every room were fabulous. Only issue we felt was with the water pressure in the bathroom on the first floor being low. Apart from that, home is very close and accessible to Bar Harbor as well as Acadia National Park. I would definitely recommend stay at this place and would love to come back. Thanks a lot Bob for letting us stay at your home.

Beat regards,

Gaurav Kanojia

  • Submitted: 23-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gauvrv for your kind words. I appreciate letting me know about the water pressure problem. I will take care of that today. God Bless
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mars, PA

Perfect place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautiful, well kept and convenient to attractions. It was very clean and has everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The owner is wonderful to work with. We had a lovely stay here!

  • Submitted: 28-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely house, terrible experience with the host

  • 1 of 5

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay. The house was clean and spacious and had everything we needed including a pack ‘n’ play and high chair. We loved the themed rooms; we were two families with small children so the pirate room was a huge hit. As others have noted it’s on a busy main road; at times the noisy traffic disrupted our sleep, but otherwise, it wasn’t an issue. For us, the layout of the house was a challenge. To access the upstairs rooms (where most of the bedrooms are) you either need to walk through the queen bedroom or a bathroom and the children’s pirate-themed room. We wouldn’t have rented the house if we’d known this in advance. The house is great but I think it’s only convenient if used as a 3-bedroom house.

Unfortunately, our experience was tainted by our dealings with the host, Bob. In a huge lapse of judgment, we allowed our toddlers to handle a couple of the model boats (the ones sold in all of the tourist shops) in the house which resulted in minor damage. We feel terrible about this. We contacted Bob to let him know what happened, apologized and offered to pay the full replacement costs plus a convenience fee. Obviously, this is the least we could do. Bob responded aggressively with insults (including a slur against women) and false claims, some of which were preposterous and threatened us with a bad review unless we paid extra money that went beyond payment for the boats.

We are at fault for damaging two of the model boats and are very willing to pay his costs but this is no justification for his attempt to force us to pay additional money to avoid a bad review. This is unethical and surely against VRBO policy. We complied with the house rules (we were exhausted 2 sets of parents, between us we had 2 toddlers, a young baby, and another baby on the way very soon so it was a very tame vacation), we followed the checkout instructions (eg., emptied the trash, stripped the beds, loaded the washing machine etc), cleaned up after ourselves and restocked items that we used. Yes, we damaged 2 model boats but we offered to pay the full costs. I really don’t know what else we can do to make amends. I’m certainly not going to be bullied into paying a “good review” fee.

  • Submitted: 17-Sep-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My husband (Bob) and I have enjoyed fixing, remodeling and decorating our 1874 home since 2008. We did not rent out "HOBO Retreat" until we were completely satisfied, as we wanted to provide guests a comfortable, well-equipped and beautiful place where vacationers can relax and enjoy Bar Harbor and surrounding sites. This is a place for all to create unique New England memories. We strive to provide each visitor a well-maintained home in a great location. If any guest experiences a difficulty, has questions or a specific concern, Bob has always been timely, respectful and attentive to address each situation. We encourage all persons considering rental of our property to read all reviews listed. Bob and I were very disillusioned when contacted by our housekeeper and caretaker regarding the filth, smell and disarray they noted upon entry to clean and prepare for the next guests. The following are just some of the items noted by them: a foul smell throughout the home, children's stickers on many pieces of furniture, wood shavings throughout the house, crayon coloring on antique pew bench, dirty dishes in dishwasher and dirty pans in closed oven, overflowing trash cans in both bathrooms including dirty diapers and used feminine pads (Bob addressed these as "dirty feminine items", not meaning anything derogatory or insulting toward any women). Our housekeeper spent a total of 6 hours cleaning this home, a job that typically takes no more than 3 total hours. We requested the renters pay an additional fee to cover excessive housecleaning, removal of crayon markings and stickers, as well as replacement of damaged and broken personal keepsakes meant as decorations in the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Hobo Retrear

  • 5 of 5

Delightfully furnished house.

  • Submitted: 22-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This house is decorated so beautifully! Would definitely stay here again!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house and its location to Acadia National Park. Bar Harbor was minutes away. This was a great home away from home for our family to spend a week!

  • Submitted: 15-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect house for a family vacation. We had plenty of room so we were not falling over each other. The house was spotless upon arrival and fully equipped. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: 9-Jul-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Bangor International
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Log Cabin Restaurant
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Hadley Point
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Bar Harbor, Maine

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 1 2018 - Jun 30 2018
5 night minimum stay
Jul 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
5 night minimum stay
Sep 1 2018 - Oct 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$193.28
Damage Insurance C$76.02
Damage Deposit C$386.55

The maximum guests limit is 8 and strictly enforced. Rates are subject to change until booking has been accepted. We do not allow pets!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner