Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

'The Leeward Studio' at SeaStar Lofts on the Waterfront!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 39 m²
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Gaze at stunning views down East Sound from this beautiful studio condo perched right on the shore! SeaStar Lofts offer the only accommodations directly on the waterfront right in the heart of Eastsound Village, with waves lapping at your doorstep. The Leeward Studio is one of four guest apartments in the brand new Main Street Station, designed to complement beloved historic structures of Eastsound. This is a premium unit, with spacious open floor plan of 430 square feet, queen bed, pull-out sofa, fully equipped compact kitchen, view balcony, and nearby stairs to the gorgeous rocky beach. Architecturally crafted with attention to every detail, and all new furnishings in coastal, organic style we call 'beachy elegance.' The rooms highlight natural textures and products from local artisans. In Eastsound Village you will find all you need -- farmer's market, bookstore, kayak rentals, bicycles, grocery, natural foods, boutiques, gift shops, and more. In fact, you don't even have to bring a car! Skip the ferry lines and pack light, take a shuttle or taxi to Eastsound, and the rest of your trip is easy. Feel free to ask us for any other special details you may desire for your get-away. Simply the perfect spot for your Orcas Island adventure! This unit can adjoin to our Windward Studio for two couples or families that want more room. (See VRBO listings 419265, 420673 and 418375 for more options and group possibilities).


Amenities

Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation condo rental in Eastsound, Washington

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 39 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • For pet owners: no evidence of pets on furniture, towels or quilts; evidence of pet hair or stains will result in an additional charge.
  • Prior to departure please strip beds, do all dishes and tidy up.
  • Please be a courteous neighbor. No loud noise.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Full size sleeper sofa (1).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Unit is on the second floor up a flight of stairs. ADA accessible unit downstairs also available. Call or e-mail for details.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(74 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
'The Leeward Studio' at SeaStar Lofts on the Waterfront!
average rating of 4.8378377 based on 76 reviews
5

Island Retreat - perfect Babymoon

  • 5 of 5

We came here for our babymoon to get away from our busy lives back home. Since it was the off season, not much was open in town and that was just fine for us. The grocery store is within walking distance, so we got some food cooked in our room and snuggled in for three days of us. The views are wonderful, the fireplace is inviting and the bed was like heaven.

I left my only pair of maternity jeans in the closet and the owner mailed them back to me in Colorado right away! We can't wait to come back next time we are visiting the PNW.

  • Submitted: 31-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Well appointed, super clean, spacious area with a great location. Every little detail has been considered making my stay easy and enjoyable from the cozy, soft sheets to the local coffee and spices provided.

  • Submitted: 15-Jan-2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderfully located loft

  • 5 of 5

This loft seems new and is located on the water in the heart of Eastsound. I’d stay here again in a minute!

  • Submitted: 9-Dec-2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Studio!

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have been happier with the studio, it was clean, comfortable and well appointed for our visit. And the view as amazing - the pictures don't do it justice, you have to see it for yourself! It's located within a short walk of great shopping and restaurants, but feel very private. We had a wonderful time, and will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: 30-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super clean and great location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay on Orca Island at our VRBO. The apartment was the perfect size for me and my wife. The room was super clean. The linens and towels were high quality and smelled fresh. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: 27-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Room is lovely and just as photos showed, the view is amazing, the Owner very responsive.

  • 2 of 5

The studio, view and Owner responsiveness are all pros as well as walking access to shops and restaurants. The negatives for us were the noise factors. There is a restaurant to the immediate right of the Leeward Suite, so all the laughter and voices from their outdoor deck carry right up to the Suite, the rooftop kitchen exhaust fan runs non-stop during business hours which makes relaxation on the balcony challenging. Big restaurant dumpsters are right below the Suite and are dumped quite noisely at 7:30 AM twice a week. You also have Suite neighbors - ours included a very large dog that naturally barked when needing something and a family downstairs with a screaming infant and energetic toddler who all enjoyed being on their patio until late in the evening right below our balcony. If commonplace noises like the ones described don't bother you, then this is a great place. If you are craving more quiet and contemplative surroundings, then you might want a different accommodation. A suggestion for the Owner would be to install door closer dampers so that the heavy front and side doors do not slam every time someone goes out. There is a note posted asking guests to close the doors quietly, but the note, unfortunately, is typically ignored.

  • Submitted: 5-Oct-2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and we're glad you found the room and view lovely. Our sincere apologies for the noise, however. Since we're in the heart of the village there are those usual associated sounds, but we regret that you had insensitive neighbors on top of it. Since your visit we have installed a hinge that precludes the doors from slamming, have updated our pet policy so that no pets are to be left on premises unattended, and have asked our local garbage service to alter their schedule. We appreciate constructive suggestions very much, and always try to remedy every issue that we can.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Owner

Susan Gudgell
Member since: 2011
Speaks english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Susan Gudgell

We have been on Orcas Island for many decades (in fact Wally grew up here!), so know the island well. We can suggest not only popular travel adventures, but little know gems on island backroads.

Susan Gudgell purchased this condo in 1990

Why Susan Gudgell chose Eastsound

We purchased this property for love of the historic Porter Building, located next door. For years this portion was vacant, occupied by a parking lot and dumpsters. We dreamed of beautifying the shoreline, dedicating a beach access to the public and building stairs to the water. At last we've completed our vision with the 'Main Street Station.' SeaStar Lofts allows us to welcome travelers to our favorite place in the world.

What makes this condo unique

We provide a complete living experience, with kitchens, washer/dryers, and everything you need for either a short visit or extended stay. Every convenience is just steps away, yet turn toward the water and the town melts away as you enjoy beautiful views, sounds of the surf and abundant wildlife.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for having us at the SeaStar Lofts. Our studio was a perfect home base for our winter get-away, from the cut gas stove to the spectacular view. The kitchen was well-stocked, and the bed was comfortable and welcoming, especially after a grueling hike up Mt. Constitution. Thank you for your hospitality, and we look forward to staying with you again.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 2

Location

Nearest Airport
0.75 Miles
Eastsound Airport
Nearest Barpub
Madrona Bar & Grill, Lower Tavern
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Orcas Landing
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Orcas island Country Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
Allium Restaurant
Nearest Beach
Fishing Bay
Car: not necessary

Orcas Island is the gem of the San Juans, offering all the best that nature has to offer: gorgeous scenery, pristine parks (Moran State Park and Turtleback Mountain Reserve), whale and other wildlife watching, boating, bicycling and more. Combine that with a charming town featuring world class restaurants and great boutique shopping. The perfect place to get away from it all!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation condo rental in Eastsound, Washington

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 2018
Jan 1 2018 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$171
C$1,012
 
 
Spring 2018
Apr 1 2018 - May 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$209
C$1,259
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$310
 
 
Autumn 2018
Oct 1 2018 - Dec 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
C$209
C$1,259
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$310
C$1,898
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.1%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Other Vacation Properties