Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Bright Spacious Beach House Minutes from Nelson.

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-8)

The House

Discover the beauty and quiet of Nelson's south shore.

Bealby Road Beach House on Kootenay Lake is conveniently located just minutes from downtown Nelson. This well-appointed two bedroom home offers the perfect spot to explore all that Nelson has to offer, or to just sit on one of the decks, relax and enjoy the view. This bright spacious inviting house is located on the beach on property which is adjacent to the owner's residence.

Keywords: Private Beach, house, landscaped yard, fully furnished, fully equipped, child friendly, outdoor recreation, lakeshore, spacious, baby friendly

More Details

Bob and Wendy Steed
Member since: 2012
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 24, 2018

What makes this house unique

Bealby Road Beach House is fully equipped home.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Nelson, British Columbia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
kayak, playpen, booster seat, highchair, beach chairs, outdoor fire pit,


4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Bright Spacious Beach House Minutes from Nelson.
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We loved everything about this property and can't wait to come back! It was clean, well maintained, great location and Bob and Wendy are very friendly and helpful with restaurant and activity recommendations. We have two small children (5 and 1.5) and neither of them woke from the train when it passed through during the night. Bob and Wendy have thought of everything a family with kids might need which is so helpful when trying to pack (high chair, booster chair, playpen, kids life jackets, plastic kiddie pool). We loved eating meals on the decks, kayaking and spending the days on our private beach. No doubts that this will become an annual family vacation for us!

  • Submitted: 12-Sep-2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, Alberta

Stress Reliever Extraordinaire

  • 5 of 5

Thank you, Bob and Wendy, for another amazing week in your vacation rental home. For the third year in a row my husband and I brought my parents and enjoyed your property as a base to explore the Nelson area. We spent hours on the beach, swimming, kayaking and just relaxing with our chairs in the water. Your property is fully equipped and absolutely immaculate!! Having a full bath on each floor is great too. Thank you as well for taking the time each year to let us know about new things to do in the valley (We all had a blast on the new zip line!!) Our friends who came over for dinner on our last evening were so impressed with your home, location and view that they will also be calling to book a week or two for next summer. You two are natural hosts and we truly appreciate your kindness and generosity!!! See you next summer!!!

  • Submitted: 10-Aug-2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Calgary, AB

Beautiful beachside getaway

  • 5 of 5

We'd like to thank Bob and Wendy for yet another wonderful vacation on Kootenay lake. It was our eighth consecutive summer holiday in Bealby House. We started coming when our twins were not quite one years old. The house is ideal for families, very comfortably equipped so we can move right in and start enjoying ourselves. Kids love to kayak and swim out to the dock and watch for trains. Bob, Wendy and surrounding neighbours are so helpful with suggestions for kid-friendly activities and restaurants. We didn't hesitate to recommend this place to our friends, and now they are repeat customers as well! Bob and Wendy clearly take pride in their vacation house, and enjoy sharing their piece of paradise with young families.

  • Submitted: 30-Jul-2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

An amazing, relaxing holiday!

  • 5 of 5

This beach house was absolutely fantastic! The house is in a beautiful setting overlooking the lake, just steps away from a private beach suitable for young children and those who want to swim out to the floating raft. The premises are well kept with trees, bushes and a variety of grasses. It is within minutes of shopping and yet on a very quiet dead end street, perfect for chilling out. The amenities of this house were super. The beds were comfortable and all linens and towels were of high quality. The kitchen was spacious and well equipped for all basic cooking needs. It was a pleasure cooking in the kitchen or barbecuing on one of the decks. The owners were welcoming and very helpful when there was a minor power outage. We would highly recommend this vacation property for anyone who needs a relaxing vacation.

  • Submitted: 14-Jul-2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Toot Toot! Surprise! There's a train in the backyard!

  • 1 of 5

House itself was entirely adequate. However, there is only one real bedroom, the twin bedroom off of the main living room. Very noisy of course because directly off of the main room. The "bedroom" upstairs is actually a loft so very bright and noisy as well. Not an ideal set up for families at all, I ended up sleeping in the walk-in closet upstairs with the baby as it was the only place that could be made dark and quiet enough for him to sleep.

Sleep was an issue as every night/early am the train (less than a block away! and not disclosed to us!!!) would let loose a thunderous blare that woke our baby screaming every night. The train was so close it shook the house and when the horn went off you couldn't hear yourself speak. Not cool, so sneaky not to mention it! We would have chosen another rental had we been told about the train.

From day one we had serious issues with the owners, who were condescending, passive-aggressive and just plain rude. When we called to ask about the satellite (not working) we were rudely referred to the directions. It was up to us to figure out that nothing was even connected! They didn't offer to come help us with that, and so I spent about two hours trying to figure out how to hook everything up so we had satellite and dvd. That is not the client's responsibility!

The downstairs toilet then clogged. When we told the owners about that they implied over and over that somehow we were responsible and must have put something down the toilet (we didn't of course). So we spend a good hour pulling poop out of the toilet. No apology for the inconvenience and no thank you for fixing their problem.

On the last day we ran out of water in the cooler (tap water not drinkable) and when we let them know they directed us to a grocery store in town where he had water paid for but we had to pick up. Again, that's not the client's responsibility! If the tap water is not drinkable, you need to keep that bottled water stocked for your guests.

They also requested several times that we stay off their side of the beach (tell that to a 2 year old!). The guest house has a small rocky beach and their home has the large sandy beach. That speaks volumes I think to the type of people they are. Not friendly and welcoming to guests but looking to make a profit.

All in all, Bob and particularly Wendy were rude rude rude! We have stayed at over a dozen vrbo's and own properties ourselves and have never had such a bad experience.

  • Submitted: 13-Jul-2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We read your review and feel badly that you had such a negative experience at our property. At the outset we want to be clear that we take great pride and pleasure in providing a positive experience for our guests That is how we welcome those who rent our property In the eight years we have been offering our house for rent we have never had a negative review in fact we have an exceptionally high return rate. The property is scrupulously maintained,cleaned throughly and prepared for each guest. We hope that you would agree the house was immaculate and in high functioning order upon arrival. Your review left us quite surprised and was singularly the exception to all the reviews that preceded yours We wonder then how you came to have such an unhappy time. As you failed to note our personal home immediately borders the house you rented, this makes it possible for us to immediately respond to each and every concern or need We must be clear however that this is a vacation rental not a hotel with staff and it is simply not possible for us to meet any one persons entire needs. Upon reviewing your week in Nelson we can only surmise that perhaps your expectations of a vacation rental exceeded what could realistically be met. We can note some of the following instances of miscommunication between us: 1.We cannot do your personal grocery shopping for you and were sorry to decline your request prior to your arrival 2.Your late arrival(by several hours)made it impossible to explain all the relevant facts as the hour was growing quite late 3.Your query about the DVD/TV came after 10:30 at night, we were happy to resolve the issue over the phone rather than an onsite visit 4.Our personal property is not part of the rental and perhaps you could understand that we cannot extend this courtesy 5.The toilet was fully functioning before and after your request for assistance and its blockage was a result of your seeming lack of knowledge in how to flush a toilet 6.As you had previously lived in Nelson we assumed that you knew about the train that travels through town twice a day 7.We do apologize for not going to town to procure another water bottle for you We trusted that our house would be left as when you arrived.Your lack of respect for our property has prompted us to now institute a cleaning/damage deposit. We take exception to a cavalier and dismissive maligning of our character. We are sorry you were hurt that we did not accede to your every demand and expectation
Did you find this review helpful?
7 5



Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Nelson, British Columbia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee C$20

upon booking 1/2 of the total rate is required

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.