Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Walk to it! Restaurants, shopping, sights. Best central location to see L.A.!

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Apartment, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Actors, musicians, models, directors, writers, tourists, and locals, have all stayed here and enjoyed the Hollywood Hideaway. Relax in the eco-friendly courtyard oasis. Walk to hundreds of restaurants, shops, nightlife and sights! This is a perfect apartment to explore Hollywood and greater Los Angeles or just stay in and get to work on your next big project. Near the Studios for a quick commute to auditions, pitches and meetings, this apartment is an excellent home base for entertainment professionals and beginners alike.

Relax and stretch out on a comfortable Queen size bed. Enjoy HBO and an assortment of channels from DirecTV. Free wifi and street parking.

Notes from the guests:

'This apartment is the perfect place to stay in. The location, amenities, comfort and attentive host is unbeatable. Forget about the touristy overrated noisy hotels. Location was perfect - We were able to walk to the famous Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. You will never run out of touristy attractions or delicious food to eat around here.'

'Less expensive than a hotel but TRIPLE the space with a full kitchen and outdoor patio. Just book it if you can.'

'This apartment is the perfect fit for us. It is convenient, comfortable and safe. Everything is within walking distance. I would rent this place again in a heartbeat and I will recommend it to friends.'


Hollywood/Highland Shopping

Hollywood Walk of Fame

Nightlife, Shops, Restaurants







Buses, Metro Red Line

More Details

Alexander McDonald
Member since: 2011
Speaks english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2018

About Alexander McDonald

I grew up in LA and work as a video editor. I'm proud of my VRBOs and do everything I can to make sure your trip is enjoyable. I'm available via email or phone if you need anything.

Alexander McDonald purchased this apartment in 2011

Why Alexander McDonald chose Hollywood

The location is everything. Close to all that Hollywood has to offer and the best central location in LA to do and see it all.

What makes this apartment unique

It's a great place, with tremendous value at an unbeatable price.


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation apartment rental in Hollywood, California

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(66 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
16% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Walk to it! Restaurants, shopping, sights. Best central location to see L.A.!
average rating of 4.712121 based on 66 reviews

Great place and great price!!

  • 3 of 5

This place was exactly what we needed. We were in LA to visit our new granddaughter. Just needed a place to sleep and it was perfect. Alex was very helpful and the place was very clean. We will be back for sure!!

  • Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location for walking the town and seeing the sites.

  • 5 of 5

The room was great and had private entrance. Alex was ready to help when needed. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • Submitted: 5-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Like a hotel room with a kitchen and a convenient location

  • 5 of 5

Easy to find, easy to check-in, easy to take care of. It's a great location for anyone, whether you're doing touristy things or not - you can easily explore LA from here. The room is basically a bed, a corner table, one chair, a bathroom and a kitchen with stove, fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. It's like having a hotel room, but with the added benefit of having a kitchen.

  • Submitted: 1-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

I'm usually uncomfortable giving bad reviews. Not this time. 1) Anyone off the street can reach into the wide-open fence and bypass the code-lock, easily gaining entrance into your rental property courtyard. Our bikes, locked with a heavy cable to a tree, were stolen. I asked to meet with the owner. To my disappointment he showed up with a beer and an attitude. He weirdly explained the police prefer that kind of security gate. It was not a pleasant encounter. 2) That picture you are looking of the table with the grass is an absurd misrepresentation of what is really there. There is no grass, and that wooden table and chairs is not there. There is a cheap looking table and chairs sitting in dirt. Directly opposite our unit was another unit. 3) The street is EXTREMELY busy and noisy. 4) The air-con unit is situated right next to the bed and TV. It is REALLY NOISY. 5) We heard every step in the apartment above us. 6) Parking on the street is challenging.

I've been doing business with VRBO and HomeAway for 15 years. This place is the absolute worst place my wife and I have booked with VRBO. If this is the kind of place VRBO/HomeAway allows, then I'll be looking elsewhere to find my vacation rentals. They really should make some attempt to validate the information and photos.

Obviously I am not happy that our bikes were stolen from this property; however, I always publish reviews on the property I rent and this is my honest review.

Happy travels!

  • Submitted: 27-May-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Todd I understand that you were very upset that your bicycles were stolen. I do wish very much that you had communicated that you were intending to bring expensive bicycles on your trip and lock them with a cable lock. Not only would I have advised bringing multiple heavy duty U locks but also getting travel insurance for them since they were so expensive. As a person who travels so often I was very surprised that this theft had occurred, and you had no insurance, nor a strong lock for your bicycles. There were two fair points that will be addressed immediately... 1. Wood Gate. I will be closing more of the windows to the street to improve security in the courtyard. This is a great suggestion. Although the gate was originally designed by a master carpenter for style and clear visuals of the courtyard - adding more security seems appropriate in light of this experience. 2. Photos. The landscaping has changed to be more environmentally friendly. The interior photos need to be updated as well because we have some wonderful new artwork and appliances to highlight. If you see some classic artwork that features the history and culture of old Hollywood... a new refrigerator and coffee maker... a peaceful, drought friendly oasis of a courtyard... the photos have been updated. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Good location, good value, very secure!

  • 5 of 5

We were very happy with our time here. Alex is very responsive via email and provides great tips to the area to make it easy to explore. The house itself is older but the appliances are all newer and it is very cozy and homey - if you aren't used to the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles, it can be overwhelming and this was a nice little spot to come back to and relax in, much more comfortable than a hotel. We would be happy to return in the future if Alex would have us back!

  • Submitted: 16-May-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for staying! I'd love to have you back on your next trip to Hollywood. I'm so glad you enjoyed the apartment. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Amazing Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon and it was Wonderful. We wanted a private place close to everything and that's what we got! The location of this place makes it quite a gem. It's a very clean quiet little space, perfect for two people. We really enjoyed the seating area in the yard for our morning coffees. Alex the host is quick to respond to any questions you may have. We loved it here! We will definitely book again for our future stays in Hollywood

  • Submitted: 4-May-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Cat and Fiddle
Nearest Beach
17 Miles
Santa Monica
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation apartment rental in Hollywood, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$92.02
Pet Fee C$26.29

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner

Other Vacation Properties