Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Amazing Panoramic Ocean Front Gated 3 BDHouse with Gazebo & Wifi (1 Acre)

Bedrooms 3
Space 232 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Hurricane Maria Update: We have Grid electricity and city water restored already. The house has a 20KW backup generator also just in case. For your convenience, You can book this property instantly, by clicking on 'Book It'. PLEASE NOTE: The calendar on this web site is instantly updated upon any bookings. So all available dates can easily be viewed. Simply go ahead and book the piece of heaven on earth. Please feel free to email us any other questions you may have.

This house is side by side with property number 489901 in case you need two houses. Both properties are private from each other and others. Beautiful and peaceful vacation private property that feels like your exclusive resort with swimming pool, Spectacular and breathtaking Ocean View Gazebo and land, 1 acre of land with 180 degrees of ocean view on high land cliff looking over the ocean. Excellent family getaway. Big ocean view, big sky and big land. Many of our friends and family have gone to our vacation home and all cancelled all other plans and just stayed in the property as it's just so beautiful. We have owned this property for 11 years and kept it like our second home.

There are additional fees for purposes other than vacation stay, such as weddings, parties, etc, to ensure the house is ready and prepared in acceptable conditions guest after guest.

The Calendar on the VRBO web site is up to date. You can simply book the house by clicking on 'Book It' on the web site. You will receive a confirmation of your booking upon payment.

More Details

Matt Bass
Member since: 2011
Speaks english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About Matt Bass

We are Americans. My wife is from Aguadilla and this is our own vacation home . We have been going there for the past 20 years and love it. I have seen many tropical places in the world and Aguadilla still sits on top of my list. Beautiful beaches and lovely scenery. I am a company executive and my wife is a Special Education teacher. We are renting our house and sharing it with you.

Matt Bass purchased this house in 2000

Why Matt Bass chose Maleza Alta

Absolutely one of the most beautiful and comfortable places on the planet. Our children have always loved it there. My wife grew up in Aguadilla and has many family and friends. The house is an absolute gem! It sits on top of a long cliff above sea level. We have been vacationing in Aguadilla/Puerto Rico since 1987 every year! We were looking for a perfect, private, beautiful vacation home to purchase. We saw several. In the year 2000, it took me 2 minutes to see this house and place the deposit on the spot! The view is breathtaking and jaw dropping. It simply doesn't fit your eyes. It is so grand and panoramic that is beyond belief. It is a special place that you will always cherish and remember all the moments you spend there. In February and March whales swim and play in the waters visible from the gazebo!! Lovely and exciting. On 4th of July, the coast guard base celebrates with large fireworks, very close to the house and nicely visible from the gazebo.

What makes this house unique

This house is gated with automatic gate and is exclusive and private. The swimming pool is private and faces the ocean. It feels like home for any one. All the amenities are there. It is perfect for family or friends get away. It is so nice, that you might forget to visit the rest of Puerto Rico!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you Matt. The house was amazing and I cant say anything bad about it. The house and pool were so nice I could hardly get my family to leave and explore.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Maleza Alta, Puerto Rico

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 232 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Max. adults: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • cell phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both standing showers
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 5 bunk bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1) and One Portable baby crib
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Ocean view Kitchen,Three bedrooms, 2 baths, fully gated with gate openner, new appliances, new air conditioners, 20 KW generator backup power, filtered water, solar/electric hot water, Xbox, 2 TV's, DVD Players, Cable, WiFi internet, All appliances, regular gardner and pool keeper. safe and nice neighborhood, cul-da-sac, 5-10 minutes from dozens of beautiful sandy or rocky beaches, 5 mintues from Aguadilla airport (BQN). Very quiet and private area. Our brother-in-law provides Driver, tour, delivery and errands services and can drive you to/from the airport or any other destinations. He will provide you with his rates upon arrival and guide you to our place. Pick up from the Aguadilla (BQN) airport is free.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Amazing Panoramic Ocean Front Gated 3 BDHouse with Gazebo & Wifi (1 Acre)
average rating of 4.8297873 based on 49 reviews
Ashtabula, Ohio

Breathtaking Views

  • 5 of 5

Went to get away from the world and just relax. Succeeded beyond expectations. Full moon lit up the pool as much as the underwater lighting. Diana was always just a text away. Airport close-but not too close. Private. Loved eating at nearby food trucks. Grocery store, gas, and scuba rental within 2 minutes drive. Watched cruise ships, iguanas, kite surfers, local fisherman, all from the backyard. The pool area and yard space are bigger than the picture angles suggest. We actually made use of the generator, and didn't even know it! The power went off momentarily in the early evening. We left the house to pick up friends at the airport at 2 am, and only then did we realize power had been off since that brief (less than 90 seconds) outage hours earlier. In fact it remained off till after sunrise. We had all services, including TV, cable, wifi, appliances and, most importantly, air conditioning the entire time. Isolated issue, but felt good knowing could depend on it.The pool and yard are maintained properly and the workers were very courteous and thoughtful when they were there. We stayed 2 weeks, and they did their work regularly. They did not just clean up before you get there, but make sure it was maintained throughout our stay without being inconvenient to our enjoyment of the property.

Know that you may need to provide some of your own supplies (paper products, laundry supplies for the readily available washer/dryer), but the grocery store is close and affordable for the area.

Thank you for allowing us to visit your home. My mother had recently passed away and the serenity of the home reminded me that there was still beauty to be seen and appreciated.

  • Submitted: 16-May-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Debbie for your kind words! I agree with you, that Generator is an amazing backup for the entire house. We went overboard and purchased an oversized one to make sure every electrical item can be supplied. We hope to see you back soon and have a great rest of the year. Matt
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

poor condition

  • 1 of 5

the house was in poor condition the where people all day working on the house also we have visit of dogs from around and because the hurricane part of the gazebo cant be use no a good time.

en espanol la casa no estaba preparada los aires acondicionados no funcionaban ademas todos los dia venia gente a arreglar algo y por el huracan el gasebo era un peligro ademas la cochera apestaba agasolina

  • Submitted: 11-Mar-2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had government contractors in our house, whom have been repairing the electricity grid for millions of people for the past several months! They just left before this guest checking in. We had informed the guest that the Gazebo is off limits due to the fence being blown away. The house is not damaged. Finding contractors to repair the Gazebo has been very difficult. We finally found them and they only could come that week. So sorry for the inconvenience, but we had to lock them in for repairs. All repairs to the Gazebo should be done by the end of March. Previous guests were grateful that they found a house to stay in. Given the circumstances, this is a small inconvenience compare to so many people with much worse scenarios. The Gazebo repairs are finishing by the end of March 2017.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The property is truly amazing, the views are breathtaking, the grounds are beautiful and comfortable for a family to enjoy. The pool and jacuzzi were awesome. The house has all the comforts of home.Oh and the grill gazebo was great too. Seriously your home is wonderful! Thank you for a fabulous 11 days, now back to reality.

  • Submitted: 15-Jun-2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Julie, indeed it's a special place. We are happy to have it available to you and others. Keep well and come back. Matt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home, wonderful view, want to return here on next vacation.

  • 5 of 5

The owner, Matt, has a comfortable home, and the pictures with the listing are very accurate. Diana, his property manager is very friendly and helpful. The views from the pool area, as well as the living room, are at least as gorgeous as the pictures show. It was a pleasure staying here, and I hope we are able to return here again, and soon.

  • Submitted: 18-May-2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Hi Matt,

The vacation homes were wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We look forward to future stays. Diane was wonderful! You made it simple to rent the homes and always responded quickly to any concerns or questions we had.


The Porrazzo Family

Madison, WI

  • Submitted: 3-May-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

View was amazing

  • 5 of 5

The property is great! The gazebo house is perfect for sunsets and enjoying the surrounding nature. Sitting by the pool with the vast expanse of ocean views was so relaxing. The only complaints I would have is that the hot tub is not hot and there was an ant problem. But really minor things compared to the views,

  • Submitted: 25-Apr-2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi April, Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation overall. As for the secondary pool, that is not a hot tub, as it's an extension of the swimming pool. If you noticed, the water falls off from it to the main pool. So it wasn't designed to be a hot tub. That's why we don't list it as such. Ants are a common problem in PR, but we continuously try to minimize them. I will ask Diana to double up on efforts for that. The view is indeed cut out of heaven, magical and amazing. After 20 years, it's still an aww for me! We hope to see you soon again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Aguadilla Airport (BQN)
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Around the corner
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Punta Borinquen
Nearest Motorway
500 Metres
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Just walk down from the cliff road
Car: recommended

Ice skating, Skate park,10 minutes from Ocean view Golf course, 2 minutes from Scuba and recreation sports shop (Aquatica), over 50 restaurants with variety of food within 20 minute distance. Excellent seafood restaurants. 5 minutes from horse back riding, 5 minutes from a nice grocery store, close to Crash boat, Wilderness, Hobos beaches, plus a quick drive down from the property very low traffic beach. Jogging by the beach, on the side roads, biking, Tennis near by, etc.

You can fly to BQN from JFK, EWR, and Florida by Jetblue, Continental and Spirit airways respectively. San Juan is 2 hours away. You can use Google Earth for directions from San Juan to the House buy looking up directiosn from SJU to BQN airport. The house is 5 minutes from BQN airport.

To find Aquatica please internet search for: 'Aquatica Aguadilla'


Rates & Availability

Rental Rates for this vacation house rental in Maleza Alta, Puerto Rico

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Generator Diesel Fuel C$64.06
One Time Cleaning Fees C$320.3
Refundable Damage Deposit C$640.6
Tax Rate 11.5%

PLEASE NOTE: In order to keep our rates low, we need your cooperation, not to leave Air Conditioners on excessively nor when the house is left empty. We will deduct from your security deposit for excessive use of the Air Conditioners. The house is very breezy and nicely naturally aired. No weddings or parties are allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Contact Owner