Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

House - 3 bed, 3.5, renovated historical downtown home, parking

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Summerhill Vacation Home - Prime Location Please note: YOUR RESERVATION IS NOT CONFIRMED UNTIL AFTER YOU HAVE SPOKEN DIRECTLY WITH A REPRESTATIVE AT NIAGARA HOLIDAY RENTALS! Please call Niagara Holiday Rentals to confirm your reservation and check in information.


Our vacation home is in the heart of the old town literally steps away from Queen and King St and Prince of Wales Hotel. From the front balcony you can see the horse drawn carriages stroll by! Never drive to restaurants, local pubs, coffee shops, theatre, parks or even for groceries, this ideal location is close to it all! A half a block from Simcoe Park with the beautiful gardens, playground and wading pool, you are also only a few minutes’ walk to the Commons with the large public swimming pool, tennis courts and walking trails.


Summerhill House was designed specifically for the comforts and practicality of a vacation home. Designed and decorated by the proprietor of Natasha Bradley, you are sure to enjoy the experience of staying here!

The main floor has a charming front sitting room, spacious dining area and a 2 piece bathroom. The fully equipped kitchen has direct access to the patio out back for dining el fresco! We have a bbq/grill for you to show off your cooking skills to your traveling companions.

The three bedrooms (2 queen and 1 king) are located upstairs, and all have updated ensuite bathrooms, and luxurious linens. The highlight of this spectacular vacation home is the upper balcony located off of the front bedroom offering an amazing vista of the town. A place to enjoy your morning coffee or get caught up on the day’s activities with a glass of your favorite beverage!

A few other highlights, wifi, basement play area, laundry facilities stocked for your convenience.

Any questions about Summerhill House please click the Contact Manager and Janet will be happy to respond! Janet and Eric will be your hosts during your stay and we are local! The town of Niagara on the Lake requires that all vacation rentals and home sharing be licensed and insured. All Niagara Holiday Rentals vacation homes comply.

The minimum age of the primary guest who responsible for the house because they booked it is at least 25 years of age.

We accept visa or master card and all payments to Niagara Holiday Rentals are in Canadian $. High season is between May and October, low season is Nov to April (except the holiday season). In Canadian our rates range from $325 to $475 Canadian, plus applicable taxes and fees.

This vacation home is high in demand so call Janet today to book early.

More Details


Accommodation and Amenities for this vacation house rental in Historic Old Town, Ontario

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
  • Books
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
i-pod docking stations in each bedroom, private verandah off master bedroom ovelooking King Street


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
House - 3 bed, 3.5, renovated historical downtown home, parking
average rating of 4.92 based on 26 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful home, very clean and comfortable. Has all the amenities you would need. Excellent location! Highly recommend this lovely home.

  • Submitted: 18-Nov-2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Williamsburg, VA

perfect location-great for family reunion of 6

  • 5 of 5

I would recommend this property to friends and was satisfied that the description was accurate. It was important to us to have a bathroom in each bedroom and the half bath downstairs was nice. My only complaint is one easily remedied--put more hooks in the bathrooms and the "king room" bathroom desperately needs a stand or couple of shelves-there was no place to put toiletries.

  • Submitted: 29-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in the Summerhill House was amazing. The location is meters from the Main Street and close to many other attractions, such as the wine trail and Niagara Falls area. When we walked into the house, we felt right at home. The furnishings were delightful and comfortable, and the three bedrooms were perfect each with its own bathroom. The balcony was a wonderful spot to watch the world go by while sipping the delightful area wines. The back deck was a quiet place to read a book in the sun or shade. The kitchen and dining area were perfect for our small group and the living room table was perfect for our game night. I hope to stay her again when I return to this area. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: 28-Aug-2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

This is our second time at Summerhill House. Great location, lovely home tastefully finished and comfortable for 3 couples.

  • Submitted: 2-Jan-2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Great house! Amazing location!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake at the stunning Summerhill home. The house was perfect for my husband and me plus two other couples! Bedrooms were spacious and they each had their own bathrooms which I find to be an incredible bonus when traveling with friends. The house was clean and the location was amazing - within walking distance to all of the shops, restaurants, and sights NOTL has to offer! We will definitely be renting this house again in the future!

  • Submitted: 21-Nov-2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review! We love hearing from our guests. We are currently revamping our on line guide book that will help you plan your next stay. Keep in touch and we'll get you a link to a copy! take care, Janet, Eric and the hard working crew at Niagara Holiday Rentals!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Excellent location for a stay in NOTL ~

  • 4 of 5

My friend & I recently rented the Summerhill House for an five day stay at Niagara-on-the-Lake.

The location was excellent ~ right in the middle of the Historic District .... easily capable of walking to Lake Ontario, Fort George and all the darling shops, restaurants & cafes on Queen Street. We were however somewhat disappointed in the cleanliness of the house. And also, some of the furniture in the photos on VRBO are not what is actually in the house. (?) We were surprised by that as we have rented from VRBO in the past and have never come across this before. Again, the location is highly desirable and cannot be beat. Would stay here again, but doesn't in my opinion, deserve a five-star rating.

  • Submitted: 26-Sep-2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In Niagara-on-the-Lake we have a number of 5 star hotels, Inns and spa's, to me as the owner of Niagara Holiday Rentals, its really important that we maintain the same standards. If anything wasn't up to this standard, then this falls on my shoulders because I made a mistake during my pre inspection of the house before a guest arrival. My apologies to our guest. I live in town and we encourage all our guests to notify us of anything so that we have a chance to rectify and make it right. If we aren't given the opportunity to correct something during your stay, then we can't make it better. Nor can we learn from our mistakes! I have also looked at our pictures and compared them to the contents of the house. Tables, beds, couches , chairs, lamps, TV's etc are all in the house. We have rearranged the furniture a little. In addition we rotate the bedding between guests so it may be that different bedding gives a different feel to the room? We have had to replace decorative pillows as they tend to receive a lot of wear and get stained (especially the out door ones on the upper balcony). We also have slip covers for the furniture that rotate as well (both are cream coloured). I have reached out to the guest to learn more about her concerns, but have not received a response. We hope that you will return to one of our houses so that you can see we took your comments to heart! Janet, Eric and our hard working crew at Niagara Holiday Rentals!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Janet Trogdon
Member since: 2008
Speaks english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Janet Trogdon

We are a husband and wife furniture retail and interior design team who moved to beautiful Niagara on the Lake two years ago and fell in love with the town. We love to restore properties and felt that Summerhill House, with it's enviable location, was the perfect place to enjoy a visit to our town and so decided to open it as a holiday cottage rental. We have tried to make it a comfortable 'home from home' and exactly the kind of place we would choose for our own family getaway.

Why Janet Trogdon chose Historic Old Town

We chose our location because there is so much for people to do in the area. We are very close to all the Shaw theatres, which offer excellent entertainment from April to October. We also love the fact that the horse-drawn carriages pass by our front door all year round. Niagara on the Lake is also famous for the quality of it's many wineries and we are well-positioned near to the companies offering tours and bicycle rentals. We feel it is a great area for everyone to have something to do during the whole lengh of their trip.

Guestbook comments from the owner


My girlfriends and I loved our stay at the Summerhill House! We were very happy with everything. All of us would rate all of your criteria with a 10: value, location, staff and property. The property was as described on the website and very easy to book.The house was very clean, we loved the location being right in the middle of town, parking space was perfect, anywhere we wanted to go was either walking distance or a 15 minute drive. I can't say enough how happy we were with this house. We spent a lot of time on the balcony off the front bedroom, loved it! Between 6 women we had two suggestions: would have liked more towels (had to do a load of towels) and the bathrooms were missing counter space or some sort of cabinet to accommodate our toiletries. Other than that it was Perfect!!

Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1


Nearest Point of Interest
Prince of Wales Hotel
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability


  • From $295/nt
  • Canadian Dollars
  • High Season - May 1st - October 31st $450 plus hst per night *
  • Low Season - November 1st - March 31st $350 plus hst per night **
  • April - $395 plus hst per night
  • * 3 night minimum stay during high season
  • ** 2 night minimum stay during low season
  • 50% deposit required with balance 30 days prior to check-in
  • $25 cancellation fee if cancelled before 30 days prior to check-in, thereafter 50%
  • of total booking price unless we can re-let entire length of cancelled dates.
Contact Owner